Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JavaC

Options
  • 16-05-2005 8:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭

Hey im studying java with tony mullins keyboard and screen classes, we use notepad for writing the code and then we use javac nameofprogram.java in the dos window to compile and run the program, now i cant seem to get the compiler for my computer to download, anyone that could help me id really appreciate it. I understand you need to go onto either java.com or sun.com but i cant find the relevative download, j2se and different versions and all and net beans are ver confusing, if anyone can point me to the right download id be greatful, i have a pc running windows XP and i have a celeron processor.

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭Thordon

The compiler is included in the JDK (also known as J2SDK), you may as well get the newest version (1.5). Dont get the JRE, thats just the runtime, and doesnt come with compiler etc.

http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.5.0/download.jsp

I think its the one marked: JDK 5.0 Update 3

NetBeans is a Java IDE that Sun offer, I havent used it so cant comment, Im more of a notepad guy myself :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭neon_glows

Thanks a million, you really saved me, getting a little practice in before exam tomorrow.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Notepad as a Java editor seems like bloody-minded masochism. Not as much as it would be for Python, say, but painful nonetheless. Is there an overwhelming reason not to use a decent code editor?

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭Thordon