Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

yes.. and deep down I'm a world class Jazz pianist.

Take this scenario, from me, a nobody. If I entered a competition to represent Ireland and was won by a majority created majorly by teenagers voting for me I'd fully expect to be laughed at when people who actually know what they're on about see me. Come to think of it, you'd be mental not to realise you're setting yourself up for a fall. You're a Star is not the way to pick a Eurovision entry. At this stage, picking names out of a hat would be an easier and cheaper method. I'd support a Eurovision act 100% if it wasn't complete crap. The general thought these days seems to be enter the cheesyest act possible in an effort to distinguish yourself from all the rest of the cheese.

If they truly are fantastic singers... well, they'll release album after album and become famous at least Nationwide. If not, I hope Bosco knows how to salt chips and flip burgers properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Dimitri

Only Human wrote:
    Some of the posts in here make me want to puke. I wonder what it feels like to represent their country knowing that you don't have the full support of your country and knowing that there are people watching back home thinking the same as some what's been said in this thread. They did their best and it's not their fault that their song was sh!t. They're fantastic singers.
    In the end they chose to sing that song, that doesn't mean we have to like it, and from what i've seen they're only alright singers. I cant sing therefore i dont expect the nation as a whole to support me in song contests same applies for them. Although it is a shame that they were given false hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

Poz3D wrote:
    Watch it mate! You can stop flaming Westmeath. Then again, I'm sure no mod will dare ban you because they love to see this bashing. God I love these boards :rolleyes:
    well its true! ye hate offaly. Not our fault if ye sore losers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

Why couldn't we enter U2 or westlife or someone famous into the contest. The Uk get to enter in Jamelia? What exactly are the rules of entrance for the acts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

It was partly down to inter-county rivalry that these two ended up singing for Ireland in the first place. [pedit] I doubt any other act would have made a better job of that POS "song"
    Take the txt voting out of the nomination system and get some professional people on the job...that's ASSUMING that we actually want to win and have the bother/hassle/EXPENSE of hosting this lame duck televisual mess...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

and inevitably it all comes back to the Father Ted scenario... we enter ****e knowing were going to lose because we don't want to host. It's worked for years now, why ruin a good thing?

Wertz wrote:
    It was partly down to inter-county rivalry that these two ended up singing for Ireland in the first place. [pedit] I doubt any other act would have made a better job of that POS "song"
    Take the txt voting out of the nomination system and get some professional people on the job...that's ASSUMING that we actually want to win and have the bother/hassle/EXPENSE of hosting this lame duck televisual mess...
    well ya can be sure that i didnt vote for the pair of twits.
    wouldnt let them sing in kareoke if i have the choice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

jezza wrote:
    well ya can be sure that i didnt vote for the pair of twits.
    wouldnt let them sing in kareoke if i have the choice
    Maybe you should have been there singing instead then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

The UK also entered the Stock Aken and waterman act, Sonya , back in the eighties after she had a string of singles, as well as Katrina and the Waves.

Im not too sure on the criteria though for entrants.

Ireland had a rubbish song, full stop. Norway had the best song, A little dissappointed to see that Estonia didnt make it, but at least two of the three I have money on are through. that being norway and Latvia.

The line up for saturday

1. Hungary
    2. UK
    3. Malta
    4. Romania
    5. Norway
    6. Turkey
    7. Moldova
    8. Albania
    9. Cyprus
    10. Spain
    11. Israel
    12. Serbia & Montenegro
    13. Denmark
    14. Sweden
    15. FYR Macedonia
    16. Ukraine
    17. Germany
    18. Croatia
    19. Greece
    20. Russia
    21. Bosnia & Herzegovina
    22. Switzerland
    23. Latvia
    24. France

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭dundealgan

Only Human wrote:
    Why couldn't we enter U2 or westlife or someone famous into the contest. The Uk get to enter in Jamelia? What exactly are the rules of entrance for the acts?

Sorry mate, youre a bit off there. The UK are entering Javine not Jamelia.

Jamelia is slightly more well known (Superstar, Thank You are 2 of her songs) . Javine was one of the girls who never made it into Girls Aloud, had one or 2 solo songs, which were ok i suppose.

I agree that Youre a Star (for all the wrong reasons) needs to be scrapped, or Ireland will never win Eurovision again, let alone make to a semi-final.

Fair dues to them, they sang their hearts out for their country, even if they didnt win. Agreed the song wasnt the best, but there were worse songs.

And that girl from the Netherlands, who was like another Whitney Houston, how did she not get through, a fantastic voice!! Something dodgy about the way the whole thing is organised, another change of some sort is needed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Brilliant. Best news I heard all night.

Only Human wrote:
    Maybe you should have been there singing instead then.
    now theres an idea...
    we should bring the decks :rolleyes:

jezza wrote:
    now theres an idea...
    we should bring the decks :rolleyes:
    dont get too carried away- your a star has yet to be defeated :mad:

Dimitri wrote:
    dont get too carried away- your a star has yet to be defeated :mad:
    sarcasm...sheesh :rolleyes:

jezza wrote:
    sarcasm...sheesh :rolleyes:
    sarcasm? really? i hadn't noticed! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

I thought our song was much better than some of the ones that got through e.g. norway. Donna and Joe performed well, we just don't have enough neighbours to vote for us!

well we'll never get the turks onside, now that they think we call them kebabs!!

I thought our song was much better than some of the ones that got through e.g. norway. Donna and Joe performed well, we just don't have enough neighbours to vote for us!

norway was the ones compared to the 80s group 'Europe'??

I thought they were quite good, something completely different and matched by nobody. Although Moldova were a class act altogether, the granny was the height of the show hehe!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

My Lovely Horse

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

dundealgan wrote:
    norway was the ones compared to the 80s group 'Europe'??
    Didn't that pop group sing "the final countdown"? dunno why, I just have it in my head that they did. As for the Eurovision, we could win it no problem if we sent out another Celtic song along the lines of "I am the voice" or something like that. However as pointed out by previous posters the powers that be don't particularly want Ireland to have the expense of hosting it. Thats why they go along with the Your a star nonsense :cool:

blondie83 wrote:
    Didn't that pop group sing "the final countdown"? dunno why, I just have it in my head that they did.

They did indeed, that cheesy song that my boyfriend loves so much...... ah the 80's!!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭steppen

Sangre wrote:
    Jesus, could they have picked two uglier pikies to represent us?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

Wouldn't it be horrible if the Irish duo are members of boards and they log on only to find a thread applauding their failure. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Its not applauding their failure, I'm sure they are perfectly nice people, its applauding the failure of ****e manufactured ****e tripe.
    This failure is the only way people will learn

will they learn though, we have had mickey hearte, with his Olsen brothers rip off song, Simon Casey, Chris Doran, and they havent learned. as long as O2 are making money we will still have people voting for their county rather than their favorite song.

These people literally came in off the street and were handed a song and told "sing that"

maybe a better idea would be to let entrants write their own songs and let the public vote for them, without revelaing which counties they are from.

I bet Rte still have plans for anther series next year.

Of course they do. O2 and RTE make a few bob from text voting, and they dont have to worry about the cost of hosting the eurovision. Its a win win situation for RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Of course they do. O2 and RTE make a few bob from text voting, and they dont have to worry about the cost of hosting the eurovision. Its a win win situation for RTE.

Exactly.

You're A Star has destroyed our hopes of ever winning the Eurovision which was the one thing we were better than the rest at.

This year's song was utter horsesh*t and we have been made look a laughing stock. Shame on you RTE! :mad:

Exactly.

You're A Star has destroyed our hopes of ever winning the Eurovision which was the one thing we were better than the rest at.

This year's song was utter horsesh*t and we have been made look a laughing stock. Shame on you RTE! :mad:
    exactly. Not that the judges were in any position to judge.
    That sh!t is ok to make people famous ala simon casey, or 6.
    i dont believe that its eurovision stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭golfgirl

It's a shame we didn't make it into Saturday night's show, not much point in watching it now. We need to revert back to the old format, I agree with Billy the Squid - singers/bands singing their own songs, and looking comfortable in their own skin. A few years back when Ireland was a popular place to visit, Love? would have won ... I mean remember Linda martin's number 'Terminal 3' (I still laugh thinking about it) ... I think that came second at the time, and it was tripe. And her song 'Why Me' that actually won, was awful. I just think Ireland has lost a lot of popularity, and there are so many countries in the competition now, it's harder to do well. We could still text vote on who we want, but let the songs do the talking - not Dave Fanning, by the by, what was he doing on Eurostar if he hated it so much .. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

I do feel a bit sorry for the two lads alright, but in fairness what did we send out there? Its like they won the Connemara Kareoke competition by singing "your the one that I want."

The girl looked like a 40 year old alcaholic and the guy looked like he had parkinsons disease. She just swayed like a tree and he shook uncontrolably while doing the "joe Dolan Click" with his fingers. Destined for failure from day one.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Stephen wrote:
    Norway got through!

ROCK ON!!
    Yeah!

\m/,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Dr.Feelgood

They should put forward a Irish Trad Session Group for next year- I bet they'd win.

Bodhrán, Fiddle a Guitar or two. Tin whistle, uilinn pipes.

Go on get that shhhht on the go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Commissar

The little I saw was worth watching if only for the outfits.
    There was one act (can't remember which) with a female singer wearing a big glamorous dress and three male dancers around her smothered in frilly shirts.
    I started laughing and he says "She's going for the princess look."
    Me "I'm not laughing at her." ........
    Him "A princess and three queens." :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭pat kenny

When judges picked the winners we won almost every year. Then sueddenly we start to lose when they let the public pic.
    Its a win win situation though, get loads of money from idiots stupid enough to call in for the acts, get loads of advertising revenue, and to top it all off the acts are crap so we never win and never have to pay to host the contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

pat kenny wrote:
    When judges picked the winners we won almost every year. Then sueddenly we start to lose when they let the public pic.
    Its a win win situation though, get loads of money from idiots stupid enough to call in for the acts, get loads of advertising revenue, and to top it all off the acts are crap so we never win and never have to pay to host the contest.

I thnk pats hit the nail on the head...
    I don't have any interest in the eurovision, in fact I think anyone involved in it should be tarred and feathered, then set alight and finally put out of their misery with an elephant gun....
    That said, my one question is how on earth did the RTE or whoever decided on the song and the singers think that tripe was any good enough to beat the other, em, less tripey songs...
    Send the muppets, yer woman looks like a knacker and yer man is like bosco with a blazer on, they'll never win.....
    Answer is that they didn't....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭johnnyc

thk god ireland entry was like someting from turkey i hate eurovision pure rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

In fairness your one has a pretty fúckin powerful voice, but the bloke just looks like a bad pikey dancer down at the local dishco. Terrible song. I say we get Johnny Logan back in to sort them out. Although I think he's in a bit of a jock nowadays.

I voted for Israel. It was a good pop song. She had a fantastic voice and a large set o baps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

yea the israeli one should definitely win. because she's so eh... talented!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭The General

jezza wrote:
    so am i was so happy..
    idiots.
    Bet there ragin!! ha at least chris doran got there!
    and linda martin was right!!
    Hahahahahahahahaha.
    westmeath bastids

but he didnt have to qualify :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

I only heard the 'song' for the first time yesterday, and honestly, how did they expect to get anywhere with that festering pile of rancid tripe? This is what happens when joe public gets to vote for what goes into eurovision. Maybe now rte will realise these reality tv vote off piles of sh!te are just that..a pile of sh!te, and it just doesnt work. Im f*ckin delighted the song didnt get through, to quote bill hicks, i dont mean to sound bitter, twisted and cynical, but well..i am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

joejoem wrote:
    Ihe girl looked like a 40 year old alcaholic and the guy looked like he had parkinsons disease. She just swayed like a tree and he shook uncontrolably while doing the "joe Dolan Click" with his fingers. Destined for failure from day one.

I totally agree, I thought that about the lad. Too many caffeine tablets. To win I don't think it's about the song anymore but about the appearance. Either have some glam rock band or a blonde big busted girl dancing around the place and we'll get through!

I can only think what the papers will say today about them. Poor fellas.

That Glam Rock group from Norway is it, defo have to win! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

rte.ie wrote:
    Speaking afterwards, Donna McCaul said: "We just can't beat this block voting, we went out there tonight and did our very best. I hope the people in Ireland are proud of us."

Her brother added: "This isn't the end, we intend on pursuing a singing career and I hope that the people in Ireland aren't too disappointed."

Pursuing a singing career: too much drugs there young fella.
    As an Irish person I will lose sleep over this result. :'(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Poz3D wrote:
    God I love these boards :rolleyes:

golly gosh, i do love them too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

"Geez, where did all these flamers suddenly come from? I think Donna & Joe were a great act. Sure their song mightn't be everyone's favourite, but you think you'd be slightly patriotic for your own country in a European song contest. The amount of mocking that you're doing is unbelieveable!"

Patriotic my hole.

The country we live in is run by a bunch of ****in knobs who wouldnt know there own arse from there face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

this whole patriotic arguement is a load of bollocks

the song was ****

end of discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

People, you can't blame block voting for Ireland not qualifying. The song is sh!t, face it. Countries like Slovenia and Iceland have lots of neighbours and they didn't qualify.

I was shocked myself that Iceland and Netherlands didn't get through, especially as Iceland was a favourite. And I can't believe Denmark (awful song) and Latvia (awful performance) did. I'm afraid Norway's going to win now, I hate that song. :(

Tiffany wrote:
    People, you can't blame block voting for Ireland not qualifying. The song is sh!t, face it. Countries like Slovenia and Iceland have lots of neighbours and they didn't qualify.

I was shocked myself that Iceland and Netherlands didn't get through, especially as Iceland was a favourite. And I can't believe Denmark (awful song) and Latvia (awful performance) did. I'm afraid Norway's going to win now, I hate that song. :(

Its been a while since my last geography lesson in school but Ivaguely remember Iceland being further away from mainland europe than Ireland. hence no neighbours.

"Geez, where did all these flamers suddenly come from? I think Donna & Joe were a great act. Sure their song mightn't be everyone's favourite, but you think you'd be slightly patriotic for your own country in a European song contest. The amount of mocking that you're doing is unbelieveable!"

Patriotic my hole.

The country we live in is run by a bunch of ****in knobs who wouldnt know there own arse from there face.

Patriotic? It's a song contest for f*ck sake.

agreed.

This is the problem, when your a star was running people were being "patriotic" for their counties and neighbouring counties and ended up sending a crap song forward.

There is a time and a place for patriotism, and this is not it.