Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"pings of 150 should be OK" according to IBB rep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭JNive

Perhaps some clarity on my post lol.

Nowhere do they advise the customer that they may receive below max speed or service. Ie, it would appear to the average person looking at the site that there should be no reason why you should not get low-latency 1MBit internet connectivity. I realise its contented also, but that generally implies that there will actually be an off-peak period when you can get full speed. If lines are contended so horribly then it no longer becomes a 1MBit contended line, but just an over congested mast being advertised as 1MBit.

IrishBroadband do seem to be skimping on capacity in many places it would appear, but obviously not all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

OK i made call 3 today got though to a guy called Jeff. He is the guy from my first call but not the guy who said 150 was an ok ping. Anyway he said he pinged my ariel fine so I directed him to this thread to look at my trace route info. He made some changes but as im in work now I cant test them out till I go home. In about an hours time. Im not too hopefull though if it was that simple a fix call 2 should have fixed my problem. Im taking notes on all my calls and who I speak to from now on at this point. If it goes on for months like the last time im getting on to comreg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

I made 4 calls today there is a guy called Tom working there to be fair he is very helpful, But my connection is still crap, and even worse they said if it doesnt improve tonight then there is no more they can do, los seems to be fine etc I got ratty saying you cant just turn around and say there is nothing you can do its not a content ratio issue They keep blaming my router, they said its impossible that i am on a 2mb connection because it hasnt happened yet, and then just said i was a heavy downloader, i download about 3 gig a month. I have recorded the calls (good old 6230) and ring up the Cork office and let them deal with them, One of the directors works there and he has always sorted it out for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Legion

Dunno if this is right or not but this is the first time ive seen a hop from ballymun to ballycoolin ( i think )

Tracing route to www.jolt.co.uk [82.133.85.65]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
    2 2 ms 2 ms 4 ms DN16-ballymun-lo0.irishbroadband.ie [62.231.57.6
    5]
    3 8 ms 7 ms 9 ms DN40-ballycoolin-lo0.irishbroadband.ie [62.231.5
    2.173]
    4 11 ms 17 ms 18 ms DN03-fe-1-3-1-30-tallaght.irishbroadband.ie [62.
    231.32.145]
    5 35 ms 36 ms 33 ms DN42-as1-0-ibis-access.irishbroadband.ie [62.231
    .52.134]
    6 51 ms 47 ms 47 ms DN42-ae0-50-ibis-gw.irishbroadband.ie [62.231.52
    .157]
    7 42 ms 34 ms 33 ms lvl3gw.thn.packetexchange.net [212.187.197.193]

8 35 ms 45 ms 37 ms lon1-9.nildram.net [195.66.224.59]
    9 31 ms 37 ms 34 ms jolt-gw.nildram.net [195.149.20.126]
    10 88 ms 89 ms 92 ms 82.133.85.65

Ping's to jolt are all over the shop,is there much of a directional difference between coolin and the atrium barry?? if there is just gret up onto the roof and make sure that your pointing at the Atrium and not Ballycoolin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Further to my post on the other IBB thread where I was experiencing packet loss over the weekend...

I was told that 4% packet loss is "not bad" and is "normal".....

IBB had really wanna do something about some of their tech support/cust service staff.. It really is appalling sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Oh it is pointing directly at the Atrium.

We rang them again.
    Same first level customer support ( definatly not techincal), and got the same
    speil again.
    We were asked to dl nvida drivers, file size 18.9mg and it took 7 mins 13 secs
    so thats about 44k. The run arround and still no answers.
    We are trying to be fair and have rang now 3 times and tried pming people
    but still no answers.

And just now I went to try play some cod, and no joy.
    I will have to find another way to kicks spookeys ass, as i was pinging the sever at 157.

pinh%2015.png

OK call number 4 and I seem to be getting some where. I spoke to a guy with a foregin accent I think his name was reddy or eddy or something like that. Any way this guy is the 1st guy to actually admit that I had a problem I showed him the trace route on this thread and said when he did a trace route back there was a high ping from the atrium to me. About 160, he did mention that there was a lot of traffic on the atruim but the latency was still very high. He said he would escalate the problem to network operations after i explained this was my 4th call. He also tried remodulate my ariel, said the power on the signal was weak. Told me he would get back to me tomorrow or I was to ring him. So i`ll do that. Asuming the remodulation dosent work. Im not at home now so I cant check.

Thaed wrote:

I will have to find another way to kicks spookeys ass

A big pair of Steel toe'd boots springs to mind :D heh sorry Barry :)

Hope you get it sorted soon m8..I still havent got my upload problem sorted :(

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭Couch Potato

something definitely wrong on Ballycoolin ..

current speeds from irishisptest.com/myspeed

159kbs down / 184 up ... ???

back to my dsl line for this evening .. didn't cancel yet ..

something 'happened' at 6pm as it dropped from 1.9mbps at that time

something definitely wrong on Ballycoolin ..

current speeds from irishisptest.com/myspeed

159kbs down / 184 up ... ???

back to my dsl line for this evening .. didn't cancel yet ..

My plan is to get Smart BB when the Santry Exchange comes online, was going to give the boy the dsl and I keep the IBB but with the upload speed the way it is I think i be canceling once smart arrives.

I might have to go see when Smart comes to my area so. I feel like giving up on IBB tbh. This is the second time in 5 months this has happened and was 2 months getting it sorted last time.

Wel after my call yesterday when I go thome from work my pings were s obad they went through the roof. Over 300 at midnight last night. Then at 12pm today It seemed to get really good. Not ideal mind but a lot closer than it has been this last week. Between 50 and 120. i want to do more testing later on tonight to see if things get better.
    Hopefully it is fixed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 G|N|T

HEY SPOOKY!!! CHECK OUT THE PINGS :D

Pinging 217.158.176.40 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 217.158.176.40: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=118
    Reply from 217.158.176.40: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=118
    Reply from 217.158.176.40: bytes=32 time=14ms TTL=118

Ping statistics for 217.158.176.40:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 14ms, Maximum = 19ms, Average = 17ms

IM ON IRISH BROADBAND AND WOULD YOU LOOK AT THAT :D NEVER HAVE PROBLEMS!!! TIS A GREAT BB COMPANY IN MY BOOKS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭Drapper

G|N|T wrote:

Pinging 217.158.176.40 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 217.158.176.40: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=118
    Reply from 217.158.176.40: bytes=32 time=14ms TTL=118

Ping statistics for 217.158.176.40:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Minimum = 14ms, Maximum = 19ms, Average = 17ms

IM ON IRISH BROADBAND AND WOULD YOU LOOK AT THAT :D NEVER HAVE PROBLEMS!!! TIS A GREAT BB COMPANY IN MY BOOKS

Ehhh read the thread name mate.......... IBB gloating somewhere else

This is not a trace route thread !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

Its a bad day today normally they are quite good around 20-40ms for me

G|N|T wrote:

yeah there grand when they work just wait till you ring them with a problem and they try to tell you there is nothing wrong with what you are getting, try play the contention card at ya. I played for a bit just now to that server was getting pings around 120-200 at 9pm. Good pings are no use at 2am or 11am when no one is playing games.
    I supose its phone call number 5 tomorrow. Its suposed to be going to higher powers and all, according to IBB tech support.
    They also said they would get back to me today.

C:\>ping -n 100 83.141.106.65

Pinging 83.141.106.65 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=14ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=389ms TTL=255
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=21ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=55ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=255
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=60ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=177ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=86ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=199ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=255
    Reply from 83.141.106.65: bytes=32 time=49ms TTL=255

etc . etc. etc. et.

This is just pinging the feckin gateway ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Have the exact same problems as couch potato...

I escalated to IBB on Friday by email with example. I called them yesterday (Monday) and the person I spoke to firstly tried to fob me off by saying a small percentage of packet loss is acceptable. I then told him it was not acceptable and he then went "ohhh thats right, there was a problem this morning but it was resolved".

I done a ping test and it did actually seem ok..

The problem then re-occurred later on that evening and persisted throughout today. I called them again and was once again told that "2% or 3% packet loss is acceptable, as were the ping spikes". I told him that it was not acceptable as the first occurence was only on Friday and I had never experienced it in the 12 months prior.

He then told me "he would escalate it to someone in second line".

I have a feeling means it has been put into the IBB black hole.

must be a problem - my story goes as follows :

Install last Thursday - eveything ok - pings 4-8ms to gateway - watched the installer guy like a hawk.

d/l and u/l fine until yesterday after 6pm - then all went to hell.

Sent an extremely snotty e-mail to support/sales guy detailling the problem first thing this morning ... outlining that I had to switch back to my DSL line last night (haven't cancelled yet) due to the speed probs - I had to actually connect to the office to try and resolve a system problem.

rang at 6:30 pm this evening to follow up on call - pings to my "radio" in the 100's ... I said not acceptable - didn't seem to bothered - won't be able to check until tomorrow ...

I really hope this is going to get fixed quick ... or they can come back and take it away ...

If I have learned anything from these guys they dont do any thing quick. Im heading for the 2 week mark now soon. And my story is so like couch potoato and jasus the great. Phone support seems to be the same ol story for every one.
    Also I have heard they have a tendancy to delete email.. try do some of mail checking recipt thingy lads if ya mail see if they actually read them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 IDUBasher

Hey all,

I just upgraded from ripwave to breeze 2MB today and I'm shocked to find very little in the differance regarding performance between the two packages. My ping times are all over the place <10ms-2000ms for ns1.irishbroadband.ie with about 10-20% packet loss over 100 pings. This to me seems pretty rediculous considering the localality of the host. Hosts further away provide even more amusing results with packet loss and spikes in pingtime seriously increasing. My downloads start off ok at 200Kbs+ but rapidly decrease to 50Kbs if I'm lucky, but often <10Kbs. Another phenomenon is an occasional and complete stall of my connection. Links that are clicked do nothing and time out, Active connections drop and everything goes quiet, then just as suddenly it's back. I didn't want to jump to any conclusions before speaking to tech support but after reading trough this thread and some others on this board, things don't look so good. If IBB fail to do something about the completely retarded performance of this product I'll be left with no other option than to poke it with a big stick. If anyone has any suggestions for nice things to say to IBB tech support that may help my case I'd be really appreciative. Also am I correct in assuming the 20:1 ratio means that they only guarentee 1/20 of the 2MB at peak traffic times?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭JNive

In theory , no, it should be a minimum of 1/20 of 5MB or 10MB ( as was the case with ADSL before ) or whatever the speed of the DSLAM equivalent in wireless is. Since if its contended on 2MBit for the 2MBit service for instance, then that would make it 95% unlikely that you would ever get much above 50% if there are a number of people using it concurrently.

Methinks this is indeed close to what they are probably doing, Hence why performance varies so much.

IBB actually rang me back today I was suprised by that. Anyway they guy said I was using my 1 meg connection all the time causing latency. This I found very strange cause I dont have downloading going all the time. I used to be a very heavy dloader when I first got it in but not any more. Then all of a sudden on Sunday the 15th it goes bad. He did sugest that spyware could be using my connection without me knowing so I ran addaware found some spyware and removed it. Dont know if this has fixed it yet as I need to do more testing tonight. They guy said he would keep the ticket open and raise it to secong level. Time will tell.

Just off the phone - the Ballycoolin mast is HEAVILY contended .. no probs with connection - contention is the problem.

I checked at 08:20 am this morning and it was running speed tests at about 1.92 down/1.6 up average. Now speeds gone back to hell again ....

Asked the question why the hell don't they get more bandwidth - guy agreed with me without question .....

Call escalated and awaitinfg resolution tomorrow ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

pingsCOD.GIF

Spooky asked me to post up the last set of pings from him trying to play this evening.

I am also getting time out errors from web sites I know are live and functioning.

So heavily contended again, Same as the last time the connection was buggered up. Last time we were told we had to await the back haul , that is it this time ?

Will this be how it goes ? two mnts of decent service until they squeeze in as many people as possible and then 6 weeks of lousy service until they learn to juggle it properly, or get more b/w ?

I called them again to let them know that spy ware wasent an issue as I had updated adaware and ran it, found a few spy ware thing removed them and pings still bad as in the above pic. That was after removing spy ware. So I just asked them to add it to the case file and send it all on to second level. I odnt know how long this will take them. Thats 5 calls to them now, and 1 call from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 IDUBasher

Yay, after a bit of an outage on the guinnesses node today ping times have improved considerably.

Pinging www.jolt.co.uk [82.133.85.65] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=58
    Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=58
    Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=19ms TTL=58
    Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=58
    Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=58
    Reply from 82.133.85.65: bytes=32 time=14ms TTL=58

Ping statistics for 82.133.85.65:
    Packets: Sent = 20, Received = 20, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Minimum = 13ms, Maximum = 19ms, Average = 15ms

Bandwidth is still a little low at 20-50KBs. Now to see how long things stay this way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Blaster99

A little low? That's an outrage on a supposed 2Mbps service. You should be getting over 200KB/s.

hmm seems to have been fixed going well tonight. I have droped from 2 meg to 1meg but pings are great so i dont care. But IBB being what they are I wont hold my breath just yet see how it pans out tomorrow as I wasent online much today.