Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Essential Albums

• 25-05-2005 2:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭

I have a lot of Hip-Hop albums, and I do mean a lot. However I'm still missing a load of old stuff and recent stuff so there is still a massive scope to grow.

So, I'm asking what in your opinion are essential albums to have. All suggestions welcome, and please don't flame other peoples choices. For once it would be nice to keep a thread clean and on topic. If you want to throw in a little synopsis for each album even better.

To get the ball rolling, here is a few I think should be in everyone's collection.

A Tribe Called Quest - Midnight Marauders / Low End Theory
    Boogie Down Productions - Edutainment
    Beastie Boys - Paul's Boutique
    Biggie - Ready To Die
    Binary Star - Masters of the Universe
    Blackalicious - Nia
    Cannibal Ox - The Cold Vein
    Common - Ressurrection
    De La Soul - De La Soul Is Dead
    Dead Prez - Let's Get Free
    DJ Shadow - Endtroducing
    Eric B & Rakim - Paid In Full
    Gravediggaz - Niggamortis
    Gang Starr - Step In The Arena
    GZA/Genius - Liquid Swords
    Jurassic 5 - Quality Control
    Lexicon - It's The L
    Masta Ace - Disposable Arts
    MF Doom - Operation Doomsday
    Mos Def - Black on Both Sides
    Mr Lif - I Phantom
    Nas - Illmatic
    Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth - Mecca & The Soul Brother
    Pharcyde - Bizare Ryde II Da Pharcyde
    Public Enemy - Fear of a Black Planet
    RJD2 - Dead Ringer
    Slick Rick - The Great Adventures of Slick Rick
    Souls of Mischief - 93 Til Infinity
    Soul Position - 8 Million Stories
    Talib Kweli & Hi-Tek - Reflection Eternal
    The Roots - Things Fall Apart
    The Perceptionists - Black Dialogue
    Ugly Duckling - Journey To Anywhere
    Wu-Tang Clan - Enter The Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Jarlath

Lamar you twat, banned again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Jarlath wrote:
    Congratulations on havin a lot of albums! wish i was like you! heres a few essentials which ya probably already have in your MASSIVE collection!
    D12 - Devils night
    Chingy- Jackpot
    Nelly-suit+sweat, Both masterpieces!
    J-kwon-hood hop
    Ja Rule-The last temptation

Is your dick as big as your collection?.. Nah didnt think so, better luck next time :(

Ah jaysus :D Either its "oh god not another one" or Lamar has returned with vengence

Cannibal Ox, do ya still have those Cyanide Pills about the place? Or did Ay Cee munch the lot during the last infiltration?

Sweet jaysus Jarlath, Devils Night is the only decent one there (tbh ive never understood its detractors, Eminem and Swifty were at their best on that album)

Anyway, Doggystyle, The Chronic and Cuban Linx are essentials imo, as well as the aforementioned Ready to Die and Illmatic of course

But aye, no collection is credible without doggystyle, fook me what an album

And no, me lad isnt bigger than my collection, even Ron Jeremy would have trouble sizin up to 80-90 odd CDs stacked on top of each other

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭hiphopfanno1

Sweat and Suit are good albums but even though I am a big Nelly fan, I would consider them more R'N'B and rap than anything else.
    My best albums are
    Nas-Street Disciple Disc 1 and 2.
    Tupac- Greatest Hits-It has all of his best work.
    Kanye West- College Dropout
    And now this I AM going to be mocked for
    City Highs album-if you listen to it its actually very good even though they split up because the girl got pregnant with one of them!Its more R'N'B and rap like Nellys too but I think its decent anyway!
    I was trying to think of a new hip-hop album to buy but there are so many out at the moment its hard to choose.I'll probably just gt the Black Eyed Peas new one even though I kind of want a classic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Jarlath wrote:
    Is your dick as big as your collection?.. Nah didnt think so, better luck next time :(

Actually it's far bigger.
    Don't feel bad about it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭ogy

My favourite is De La Soul - 3 Feet High and Rising
    I think power in numbers is better than quality contorl as far as j5 goes but the first ep/mini album is still there best stuff i think
    Jungle Brothers - Raw Deluxe is pretty great i think
    Handsome Boy Modelling School - White People for something modern
    I love abs stuff on the dj format album too (though i was took fucking dumb to realise what day the gig was)
    Cyprus Hill - Black Sunday is great even if only for the daftness of it all (and those loops that have high squeaky things in every single song)
    Cant think of much more to add to makavelis list
    oh yeh, and that freshest of cuts: house of pain - jump around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

Jarlath wrote:
    Congratulations on havin a lot of albums! wish i was like you! heres a few essentials which ya probably already have in your MASSIVE collection!
    D12 - Devils night
    Chingy- Jackpot
    J-kwon-hood hop

Are you serious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

Eminem - The Marshall Mathers LP
    Kanye West - The College Dropout
    Dr Dre - 2001
    Obie Trice - Cheers

some of my faves :-P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭ubu

Jarlath wrote:
    D12 - Devils night
    Chingy- Jackpot
    J-kwon-hood hop

Thats some of the funniest shít ive read in a long while, those albums will probably go down as some of the worst albums ever. anyway on topic,

You've most of the bases covered there but id make the following additions:
    Immortal Technique - Revolutionary Vol. 2
    id probably throw in BDP - Criminal Minded aswell
    Brother Ali - Shadows on the Sun
    Jedi Mind Tricks - Violent By Design is a savage album
    Immortal Technique - Revolutionary Vol.2
    Mos Def & Talib Kweli - Blackstar

Did I Mention Immortal Technique? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Evzer

So good ya put it twice wha?

Heres a few i think are Essential

Gza- Liquid swords
    Mobb deep- The infamous
    Reakwon- Only built 4 cuban linx
    Sage Francis- Personal journals
    J5- Power in Numbers
    Talib Kweli and Hi-tek-Train of thought
    Gangstarr- Moment of truth
    Outkast-Aquemini
    Ice cube- Death certificate

Do you all rate Power in Numbers ahead of Quality Control?
    I find it quite lacking when compared to the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Cannibal Ox

Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five - The Message
    Ultramagneitc MCs - Critical Beatdown
    Afrika Bambatta....dunno where to start with him, maybe Planet Rock?

Anyway, three decent old school hip hop. If your really interested in Old School it's worth checking out old Funk stuff and some Mo-Town, even if just to see where all the samples came from.
    Cannibal Ox, do ya still have those Cyanide Pills about the place? Or did Ay Cee munch the lot during the last infiltration?
    That rappin' bastard ate them all
    *shakes fist*
    Damn kids...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Makaveli wrote:
    The Perceptionists - Black Dialogue

got this last night. What a great album. What a great, great album.

Get Mr. Lif - I Phantom too. You wont be disappointed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

dead prez : Revolutionary But Gangsta is better than the one you named i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Gangstarr-Step into the Arena.
    Wu Tang Clan-Enter the 36 Chambers.
    Nas-Illmatic
    Eric B and Rakim-Paid in Full.
    AZ-Doe or Die.
    Ice Cube-Death certificate.

There is a helluva of a lot of other essential albums of course but those are the first albums anybody that wants to get into rap should buy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Ay Cee

That rappin' bastard ate them all
    *shakes fist*
    Damn kids...

You'll have to move fast to beat me to them when there's so much sh"te talking goin on boys :D

Any way I'm not gonna list the Illmatic's etc. But here's a few off the beaten track to consider.

OC - Jewelz, Primo with some bangers!
    Smif N Wessin - Dah Shinin, if you like your hip hop underground and bassy
    Black Moon - Enta Da Stage, see above
    Ice Cube - Death Certificate, nice to see this in a few lists
    Jedi Mind Tricks - Visions of Ghandi, Blood In Blood Out...nuff said
    Louis Logic - Blame It On The Hooch, a newbie sneaking in
    Cee Lo Green - The Soul Machine, great tracks on this album
    Bumpy Knuckles/ Freddie Foxxx - Industry Shakedown, one of the rawest MC's...ever
    Gift Of Gab - 4th Dimensional Rocketships, incredible MC
    Blackalicious - Blazing Arrow- see above
    Showbiz & AG - Full Scale - banger, follows banger, follows banger

That'll do yis for now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 P O'Neill

OutKast - Aquemini
    OutKast - Southernplayalisticaddillacmusick
    Devin the Dude - Jus' Tryin' Ta Live
    Snoop Dogg - Doggystyle
    Wu Tang Clan - Enter The 36 Chambers
    Twista - Kamikaze

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭me and the biz

******DX CLASSICS LIST *******
    1- raekwon - only built for cuban linx --
    2- jay-z - reasonable doubt
    3 -eric b and rakim - paid in full
    4- Public Enemy - It Takes A Nation of Millions To Hold Us Back �
    5- Nas - Illmatic ---
    6- Wu-Tang Clan - Enter The Wu-Tang: 36 Chamber �
    7- Ready 2 Die - Notorious B.I.G �
    8- GZA - Liquid Swords �
    9- Brother Ali - Shadows on the sun. �
    10- Raising Hell - Run DMC �
    11- Resurrection � Common �
    12- Dr. Dre - The Chronic �
    13- jay-z the blueprint ---
    14- Doggystyle - Snoop �
    15- The Cold Vein - Cannibal Ox �
    16 -A tribe called quest - Low end theroy �
    17 -Great Adventures of Slick Rick -
    18- Madvillainy � Madvillain �
    19- The Marshall Mathers LP � Eminem , --
    20- eminem - Slim Shady LP �
    21- bone thugs- e 1999 eternal �
    22- Big L � lifestylez
    23- Straight Outta Compton - N.W.A --
    24- Pac- All Eyez on Me �
    25- Cypress Hill - Cypress Hill �
    26 -mob deep � the infamous �
    27 -Scarface - The Diary �
    28- jay-z - Black Album �
    29- Beastie Boys-Paul's Boutique --
    30- Ice Cube - Amerikkkas Most Wanted �
    31-- Big Pun - Captial Punishement �
    32- Mos Def � Black on Both Sides �
    33- - Atmosphere - Lucy Ford �
    34- talib kwali- reflection eternal �
    35- Redman - Whut? The Album�
    36 -Ghostface Killah - Ironman --
    37- dela soul-3 feet high and rising �
    38- lauryn hill - miseducation of...
    39- Methodman - Tical �
    40- Daily Operation - Gang Starr �
    41- aesop rock - labor days --
    42- Outkast- Atliens �
    43- blackstar-blackstar --
    44- Tribe Called Quest - Midnight Marauders. �
    45- No One Can Do It Better-Doc ,

a couple others off top of my head: mop - firing squad, cormega, realness, mega - true meaning, jean grae - attack of the attacking things, redman - muddy waters, capone n noreaga - war report, kool g rap - road to riches, g rap - wanted: dead or alive, epmd - business as usual, ditc - worldwide, immortal technique - revolutionary vol 1

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭Intox

sage francis - a healthy distrust
    apathy - wheres your album
    atmosphere - god loves ugly
    c-rayz-walz - ravipops
    jedi mind tricks - visions of ghandi / violent by design
    biggie - ready to die
    taskforce - music from the corner vol 2
    aesop rock - labour days
    jakki da motamouth - built to last
    dj shadow - entroducing
    the streets - a grand dont come for free
    blacklicious - blazing arrow / nia
    immortal technique - revolutionary vol 1 / vol 2
    eminem - the slim shady LP
    the fugees - the score
    big l - lifestylez of the poor and dangerous
    mjex - whats confusing you?
    jehst - falling down
    krs-one - prophets vs profits
    mc supernatural - the lost freestyle files
    nas - it was written
    non phixion - the future is now
    outkast - aquemini
    mobb deep - hell on earth

dont get sucked in

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭Intox

Evzer, did you like power in numbers yeh? i was a bit disapointed

2 or 3 good choons imo, that one with nelly flurtardo is a gem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭ubu

Intox wrote:
    nas - it was written

One of NaS's weaker albums in fairness, nowhere near illmatic, Stillmatic, God's son, Lost Tapes or even Streets Disciple and definatly not an essential album, a few good songs alright but no classic

ubu wrote:
    One of NaS's weaker albums in fairness, nowhere near illmatic, Stillmatic, God's son, Lost Tapes or even Streets Disciple and definatly not an essential album, a few good songs alright but no classic

The Message,Street dreams,Watch dem niggas,take it in blood,affirmative action,the set up,shootouts,live nigga rap,if i ruled the world,silent murder are hardly a few good songs.If he had done what he did in Illmatic(keep the album tight with no more then 10 songs)then it would have been another classic not far off his incredible debut imo.It was his second best album lyrically although maybe not production wise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 bondiballer

No offence guys but 1 and a half pages of posts and no1 put in:

NWA - Straight Outta Compton ,,, thats the essential hip hop album.

Do any of you guys collect mixtapes ( I'm not talking about tapes u made yourself but ones from pro DJs like DJ Whoo Kid www.mixunit.com www.mixtapemurder.com) . If so there are loads more you need to add to this list. The very first of which would be:

Jay-z feat The Beatles - The Grey Album ( mixed by Dj Danger Mouse)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Nate Dogg

To add 2 what’s already been mentioned

Cormega The Realness
    Cormega True meaning
    Cormega The True Meaning (pitty it was released nearly 10 years late)
    Gza Liquid Swords
    Rza Birth of the Prince
    Madvillian Madvillainy
    Dead Prez RBG
    CNN War Report
    The Roots The Phrenology
    Chino XL – Here To Save You All
    Canibus Mic Club
    Canibus Can-I-bus
    Shyne - Shyne
    Foxy Brown ill na na
    Celly Cell – Killa Kali
    Richie Rich – Seasoned Veteran
    X-Raided – Psycho Active
    Luniz Operation Stackola
    2pac Makaveli
    Westside Connection Bow Down
    Snoop Dogg Doggystyle
    Ras Kass Soul On Ice
    Del – The 11th Hour
    DJ Quik Dollaz + Sense
    Tha Dogg Pound Dogg Food
    Kurupt Streets Iz A MuthaF*****
    Easy-E – It’s on 187um Killa
    Easy-E – Easy-Duz-It
    Alcoholics – 21 & Over
    Warren G Regulator
    Warren G Return Of The Regulator
    Twista Adrenalin Rush
    Psycho Drama Time Vs Life The Neverending Story
    Common Resurrection
    Common Be
    Killer Mike Monster
    Devin Just Tryin To Live
    Scarface The Fix
    Hot Boys Let Em Burn
    Kool G Rap – Greatest Hits
    Pharoahe Monch – Internal Affairs
    Paris – Sonic Jihad
    Masta Killa – No Said Date
    Necro – Glory Days
    Slick Rick – The Art Of Story Telling
    Masta Ace – A Long Hot Summer
    Saigon – Warning Shots
    Vakill – Darkest Cloud
    Brother Ali – Shadows On The Sun
    Diamond D – Stunts, Blunts & Hip-Hop
    Kool G Rap – Best Of Cold Chillin
    Kool G Rap – Giancana Story

I don’t care if u don’t think some of these albums are essential albums in Hip-hop, cause each one of them is essential to me.

Nate Dogg wrote:
    To add 2 what’s already been mentioned

Cormega The Realness
    Cormega True meaning
    Gza Liquid Swords
    Rza Birth of the Prince
    Madvillian Madvillainy
    Dead Prez RBG
    CNN War Report
    The Roots The Phrenology
    Chino XL – Here To Save You All
    Canibus Mic Club
    Canibus Can-I-bus
    Shyne - Shyne
    Foxy Brown ill na na
    Celly Cell – Killa Kali
    Richie Rich – Seasoned Veteran
    X-Raided – Psycho Active
    Luniz Operation Stackola
    2pac Makaveli
    Westside Connection Bow Down
    Snoop Dogg Doggystyle
    Ras Kass Soul On Ice
    Del – The 11th Hour
    DJ Quik Dollaz + Sense
    Tha Dogg Pound Dogg Food
    Kurupt Streets Iz A MuthaF*****
    Easy-E – It’s on 187um Killa
    Easy-E – Easy-Duz-It
    Alcoholics – 21 & Over
    Warren G Regulator
    Warren G Return Of The Regulator
    Twista Adrenalin Rush
    Psycho Drama Time Vs Life The Neverending Story
    Common Resurrection
    Common Be
    Killer Mike Monster
    Devin Just Tryin To Live
    Scarface The Fix
    Hot Boys Let Em Burn
    Kool G Rap – Greatest Hits
    Pharoahe Monch – Internal Affairs
    Paris – Sonic Jihad
    Masta Killa – No Said Date
    Necro – Glory Days
    Slick Rick – The Art Of Story Telling
    Masta Ace – A Long Hot Summer
    Saigon – Warning Shots
    Vakill – Darkest Cloud
    Brother Ali – Shadows On The Sun
    Diamond D – Stunts, Blunts & Hip-Hop
    Kool G Rap – Best Of Cold Chillin
    Kool G Rap – Giancana Story

I don’t care if u don’t think some of these albums are essential albums in Hip-hop, cause each one of them is essential to me.

Thts a farily good list. ciouple ao mixtapes in there.... I think. cudn't be too sure some of them r pretty obscure

NWA - Straight Outta Compton ,,, thats the essential hip hop album.

Er no i don't think so.The essential would be something that doesn't age but Dre's basic beats,the juvenile lyrics and the fact that Eazy and Dre are weak rappers means it sounds pretty poor nowadays.Even when it was realised it only had 4 good songs.Compare it to Wu's Enter the 36 chambers or dozens of albums from the 80s.

• Registered Users Posts: 906 ✭✭✭big syke

Jay-z - reasonable doubt
    2pac - Me Against The World
    Various - above the rim o.s.t (althought some good songs where left out from that where in the movie e.g pain etc)
    O.D.B - o.d.b.e.p
    Biggie - Ready To Die
    Outkast - Aquemini
    Eric B and Rakim - Paid In Full

You ask any pro rapper whast the most influential hip hop album of all time is and at least 7 out of 10 will say straight outta compton. It's what started everything off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭David19

You ask any pro rapper whast the most influential hip hop album of all time is and at least 7 out of 10 will say straight outta compton. It's what started everything off.

Proof to back this up. Links?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Ice2900

Jay z the black album
    Dr. Dre the chronic
    Eminem The eminem show
    Outkast southernplayalistic
    Outkast Speakerboxx/ love below

It never ceases to amaze me where people pull these figures out of the air.
    So 70% of all rappers will say Straight outta Compton is the most influential album of all time? Please back this statement up with some actual fact.

Straight Outta Compton released 1988.
    Run-D.M.C. / Run-D.M.C. - 1984
    Run-D.M.C. / Raising Hell - 1986
    Eric B. & Rakim / Paid in Full - 1987
    EPMD / Strictly Business - 1988
    Big Daddy Kane / Long Live The Kane - 1988
    LL Cool J / Bigger And Deffer - 1987
    Boogie Down Productions / Criminal Minded - 1987
    Boogie Down Productions / By All Means Necessary - 1988
    The Beastie Boys / Licensed To Ill - 1986

Started everything off my ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Ay Cee

Gerrup Ourra Dat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Everything has pretty much been mentioned apart from Lyrics Born - Later That Day which is easily the best original release on the Quannum label (not by Quannum members.. that'd be Nia/Endtroducing).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭hiphopfanno1

So does anyone/everyone agree with the list on mtv.com of the top 10 Hip-hop albums?? I don't remeber the correct order but I remember that Eric +Rakim -Paid and Full was No 1.
    Then I think Nas-Illuminatic was 2) and I can't remeber the rest!
    Anyway what does anyone who has seen the list think of it?

01. Eric B. & Rakim - Paid in Full
    02. Nas - Illmatic
    03. Dr. Dre - The Chronic
    04. Notorious B.I.G. - Ready to Die
    05. Run-DMC - Raising Hell
    06. Jay-Z - Reasonable Doubt
    07. N.W.A - N---az4life
    08. Ice Cube - Death Certificate
    09. Tupac - The Don Killuminati: The 7 Day Theory
    10. Public Enemy - It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back

http://www.mtv.com/bands/h/hip_hop_week/2005/greatest_albums_0505/

No BDP? What's up with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Nate Dogg

Orginally posted by me

Sorry I meant Cormega The Testament

Makaveli wrote:
    01. Eric B. & Rakim - Paid in Full
    02. Nas - Illmatic
    03. Dr. Dre - The Chronic
    04. Notorious B.I.G. - Ready to Die
    05. Run-DMC - Raising Hell
    06. Jay-Z - Reasonable Doubt
    07. N.W.A - N---az4life
    08. Ice Cube - Death Certificate
    09. Tupac - The Don Killuminati: The 7 Day Theory
    10. Public Enemy - It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back

http://www.mtv.com/bands/h/hip_hop_week/2005/greatest_albums_0505/

No BDP? What's up with that?

Typically safe list from MTV but niggaz4life?Jesus... :rolleyes:

NWA started off crap lyrics and swearing in every sentence.Truth is if you ask the decent rappers in the 90's and 00's the greatest infleunce on there music the answer will probably be Rakim.He's the GOAT...the godfather of proper rap.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 729 ✭✭✭popinfresh

Every-one seems to be forgetting

50cent - Get Rich or die Tryin

popinfresh wrote:
    Every-one seems to be forgetting

50cent - Get Rich or die Tryin

Hate it or Love it was good but in general 50 is an average rapper elevated by brilliant beats.