Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

F1 car revving engine - no bodywork vid

• 28-05-2005 10:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭

link :
    here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Savage.......any one for marshmellows??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 541 ✭✭✭chern0byl

I applauded too! Applauding an engine...christ im pathetic :)
    The exhausts are absolutely amazing. Williams were using a material a few years ago..beryllium i think and even when then engine was on tick over it became translucent and almost totally invisible at full RPM.

FIA ofcourse banned it rather quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

I remember a few years ago seeing a feature before a race about engine technology and they showed a Honda engine, if I remember correctly, being tested on a dyno. Amazing to see the exhaust pipes actually becoming see-through, they got so hot, just like that video clip there.

Applauding an engine, nah, that's not pathetic at all, chern0byl. Amazing what a lump of metal making a really loud noise and spitting flame can make you do, isn't it? In 2001 I went to see the EuroBoss race at Mondello and was standing around at the back of the garage when they fired up Klaus Zwart's ex-Gerhard Berger 1995 Ferrari. The sound of that V12 engine, the last ever V12 Ferrari F1 engine produced, almost brought tears to my eyes, I swear. Everybody standing around me just had huge grins on their faces and were cheering...... just at the sheer noise of the thing. That high-pitched scream from a Ferrari V12 has got to be one of the most amazing sounds you'll ever hear.

As I said, amazing the kinds of feelings and emotions a big piece of metal can stir up in a person, isn't it? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭scudster

ABSO-BLOODY-LUTELY FAN-F*CKING-TASTIC!!!!!!!!! :eek:
    More of the same please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

One of the lads on the 300zx forums had it, looks like its at the arrows factory tbh, and it looks like a maiden fire-up too. Anyone else think that??
    Great vid though. He has another of an rx7 on a dyno, with 6, yes 6 jap guys sitting in the boot to keep it on the rollers. The noise of that yoke....d'yas want it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Yeah, it's definitely an Arrows alright. As for it being a maiden fire-up, well, who knows. But, if I were there, I'd probably be applauding and cheering it each and every single time the thing was fired-up, to be honest! :D

Yeah, post up the link to the RX7 vid, Kersh. Should be interesting to have a look at.

P.S. Saw you finished 5th in the Formula Vee 'A' race at Kirkistown last weekend, Kersh (yes, I was able to just about make out your name on the side of the car in that pic your posted before! ;) ). Good job. Well, that's if 'Motorsport News' had the results correct anyway. :D

Ye, got from 8th to 3rd, and eventually missed 4th place by 0.01 of a second. 2 huge crashes during the race, and many rows as to why it wasnt red flagged. A whole front suspension assembly was blocking the back straight for 2 laps, and we had to thread through (albeit at near full throttle) , thats what gave the top 3 guys a break from me and Dave Heavey.
    cos they werent slowing down much....

rx7 dyno

Check it out.
    Supra dyno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭Redrocket

HOLY CRAP
    thats crazy, id love to see a longer version!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 541 ✭✭✭chern0byl

Applauding an engine, nah, that's not pathetic at all, chern0byl. Amazing what a lump of metal making a really loud noise and spitting flame can make you do, isn't it?

Driving through Tallaght once and there was a 550 parked in a garage. Made my mate stop so we could check it out. Ran my index finger along its lines...genuinely!!, the closest thing to a hot girl and her curves.

Best "car" moment was the 98 British GP [which was my 1st gp]. Pissing rain on the sunday morning, we were standing at the exit of club corner[with some soup and sambo's]....1st car out on track for practice was Pedro de la Rosa.

Screaming down the hangar straight with a plume of spray 50ft in the air...stiill could'nt see him. Exit stowe corner, i can see de la rosa and hear properly the full on scream of a V10 @ 17000rpm..knees went weak and had to hold on to my dad to stay upright. Magical moment! It was only an Arrows but my god it gave me a range of emotions that was only topped by liverpool in the CL.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Yup i too was at the BOSS racing in Mondello.
    The best bit was friday practice sitting in the pit lane as them beast scream by @ 160 mph on that small start/finish straight.
    That Ferrari V12 was awesome but equally so was the ex Mika Salo Tyrell which owned everything else on the track.
    Will always remember my shock at hearing an F1 v12 at full chat but the funny bit was when i rang my brother to come over as they were gonna come out for second practice session.
    The bro arrives when mondello was all quiet wondering why i dragged him over,was worth it when the first BOSS car eventually roared past the pit wall we were leaning on ,i will never forget seeing his face drain to white with shock,frightened the crap outta him lol.
    His words were "fooking hell,thats unreal,jesusthats pure voilence,them drivers are insane" lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭viking

I remember a few years ago seeing a feature before a race about engine technology and they showed a Honda engine, if I remember correctly, being tested on a dyno. Amazing to see the exhaust pipes actually becoming see-through, they got so hot, just like that video clip there.
    I remember this one too, great clip indeed. Wonder if its out there in cyberspace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

oh yes that was excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭nanook

for some reason it will not open for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭green-blood

I'll see if I dig out the BRM V16.... now thats a gorgeous sound, you should hear that thing in the metal...wow, pity it had driveshalfts made of plastecine and no cooling!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭green-blood

http://www.farzadsf1gallery.com/f1_sounds/brm_v16.mp3

there ya go, this is a lap of donnington (I think) just listen for the blipped down changes, sweet, dont have this up too loud in the office, managers have been known to actually run!!!

Sweeeeeet :)