Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you going to cheat

• 31-05-2005 11:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 45

How many of you or going to try to cheat, i mean it must be so easy!
    They say if u get caught u get a 9 yr ban or something but that is total rubbish, has never happened to anyone, all u have to do is go to toilet and take a few sheets out of your pocket/boxers/notes written on your chest whatever!
    or bring in a full a4 sheet of notes and thry and pop it onto the desk, its not like school exams the examiners dont move around

Will u try to cheat 13 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    38% 5 votes
    Not sure
    61% 8 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭<Jonny>

Yeah I would imagine it would be easy to cheat, but imagine the scandal if you were (by sod's law) found out.

I don't mean to be rude but I want this thread binned immediately. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Cherry_Pie

I wouldn't advise it to anyone!!! I did the leaving last year and let me tell you , the examiners most likey will catch you! They don't move around but are always watching you!!! Plus if you're caught then all you're subjects results will be NG! Im not preaching just saying, not the best idea!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Well I cheated in every one of my exams and it was the only reason I got over 500!

I highly recommend it. Got caught once but I faked crying and got away ahhahaha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Hugo Reyes

Sangre wrote:
    Well I cheated in every one of my exams and it was the only reason I got over 500!

I highly recommend it. Got caught once but I faked crying and got away ahhahaha!

How did u cheat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭randomfella

i agree its sooo easy to cheat. Take ur index cards, bit of sellatape put them anywhere, pref behind and underneath toilet, where nobody can find them. Then when ur in there go jacks in the cubicle. it really can't be that hard. Firstly i never went to jacks in junior cert so i don't know the drill but i'm sure they just follow u to the entrance of the jacks not inside where u wash ur hands and outside cubicle. PLUS even if they do, tenor bets u already know them. THreaten them or slip them money or just ask. u will prob know the type they are. can anybody fault my method

ON A PERSONAL BASIS I WOULDN'T DO IT. UNLESS I KNEW MY METHOD WAS BULLETPROOF FROM DETECTION. WOULDN'T DO ANYTHING STUPID LIKE WRITE STUFF ON ARM OR PENCIL CASE.

i reckon ur bull****ing sangre and if u did u'd keep it on the low.

I'm pretty sure he is. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

tut tut tut..for shame....

I'd cheat but I'd feel guilty. And more than likely get caught. Somehow..

Don't hax the leaving cert..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Da_IRISH_ONE4U

i agree its sooo easy to cheat. Take ur index cards, bit of sellatape put them anywhere, pref behind and underneath toilet, where nobody can find them. Then when ur in there go jacks in the cubicle. it really can't be that hard. Firstly i never went to jacks in junior cert so i don't know the drill but i'm sure they just follow u to the entrance of the jacks not inside where u wash ur hands and outside cubicle. PLUS even if they do, tenor bets u already know them. THreaten them or slip them money or just ask. u will prob know the type they are. can anybody fault my method

ON A PERSONAL BASIS I WOULDN'T DO IT. UNLESS I KNEW MY METHOD WAS BULLETPROOF FROM DETECTION. WOULDN'T DO ANYTHING STUPID LIKE WRITE STUFF ON ARM OR PENCIL CASE.

yeah but suppose your landed with some lickarse that runs in and squeels!

I agree with randomfella!! Do you take fun about screwing up a bunch of people who at this stage are extremely nervous and would therefor be likey to make silly decision!!!

Basically had one of those tin rectangle pencil cases and put a load of flash cards with notes in the top lid so I could flip it open and read them. I also had this fake metal thing that could be popped over it so I looked like nothing was there!
    Examiners never walk around either except that one time I got caught >:( But I just started the ole waterworks and it was grand, only wasted 5 minutes outside!

Also knew the guys who escorted you to the jacks because they're the year below me, got them to put books in the jacks for when I was really stuck...hah easy!!

The best part is my cheating stopped someone getitng a place in college :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

I don;t think you can cheat effectively. Yes, you may be able to look at some notes in the toilet. But so what? How will that effect your grade? You going to bring notes on the whole subject down your pants?

The bits and pieces you bring in and try and look at in the toilet can be learned at home before the exam starts anyway. Also, going to the toilets more than once in the exam, i think, is dodgy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

Wouldnt recommend any form of cheating. My friend in Uni was caught cheating. He went to the toilet, had answers stored on his phone.... the examiner went into the next cubicle and looked over the top into his cubicle and saw him using his phone. I could hardly believe it when I heard it but he's being threatened with Expulsion. He has to go before a committee. Its not worth it if you do get caught. It will come back to haunt you when you go to get a job. They will think you are stupid if you needed to cheat in order to pass exams. Also if you cheat and get into a hard course you probably wont be able for the course as its beyond your level

Im actually disgusted right now! Can we not have this thread shut down!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Hugo Reyes

GStormcrow wrote:
    Wouldnt recommend any form of cheating. My friend in Uni was caught cheating. He went to the toilet, had answers stored on his phone.... the examiner went into the next cubicle and looked over the top into his cubicle and saw him using his phone. I could hardly believe it when I heard it but he's being threatened with Expulsion. He has to go before a committee. Its not worth it if you do get caught. It will come back to haunt you when you go to get a job. They will think you are stupid if you needed to cheat in order to pass exams. Also if you cheat and get into a hard course you probably wont be able for the course as its beyond your level

Absafriginbeautiful just use your mobile its so simple!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

GStormcrow wrote:
    He went to the toilet, had answers stored on his phone.... the examiner went into the next cubicle and looked over the top into his cubicle and saw him using his phone.

That examiner
    A) needs a hobby and
    B) is so sacked if your friend went any further with it.

using ur mobile is dody as fuuck. u'd want a small computer. IF u knew the attendant u would be flying. I don't know whether to believe Sangre but i know its totally viable. Aswel looking into cards would provoke other lads, guaranteed. Old trick i used in summer tests was sharing a ruler with someone and passing answers - brutal method.

I'd say that cards would have a major impact on ur grade. YEs u can learn them before but if that was the case everybody would get 600. People have a limit and forget stuff.

I disagree with the comment that if u don't get the points u aren't able for ur course. THats complete bull****. ur entry to a course is determined by how many apply to the course not how hard the actual course is.

I still don't condone cheating.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Brian017

I cheated last year but I better stop now incase they track me down.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

Beyond your level? Can't agree with that. The leaving cert is one of the worst tests of your abilities I've ever come accross. As long as you don't pick a course that you know you won't be able for your fine. People know their own intellegence and strength. Moreso than someone who reads over your answer booklets anyway. If you're clever enough to successfully cheat, then you're clever enough for college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Da_IRISH_ONE4U

Ro: maaan! wrote:
    Beyond your level? Can't agree with that. The leaving cert is one of the worst tests of your abilities I've ever come accross. As long as you don't pick a course that you know you won't be able for your fine. People know their own intellegence and strength. Moreso than someone who reads over your answer booklets anyway. If you're clever enough to successfully cheat, then you're clever enough for college.

agreed

please post ur methods im intrigued sp???

RandomFella. Look at medicine. If I had cheated and got 550 or whatever it is for medicine then I wouldnt have been able to do the course. Trust me I have a friend studying medicine. College courses require work. If someone is stupid enough that they need to cheat they shouldnt be going to college. Also there are requirements for certain courses such as a B3 in Maths etc. If you cheated in Maths and got into a course that required a B3 in it you wont be able for the course. If it is a requirement it is probably a big part of the course. Cheating meant you got your B3 even though you are only capable of say a C3. The course will be based on harder Maths that you wont be able to do if you cant naturally acquire a B3 with study. These are minimum requirements and the work itself is usually a lot harder than what the minimum requirements are

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Sarah**

Im going to go insane! i agree with cherry, is it my imagination or am i the only person who is tired and stressed and tbh fu*k*n worried that i may not get the points and here are you all suggesting ways of cheeting!!

Gstormcrow, you sir are an idiot and have no understanding of how college applications work or the relevance of the leaving cert.

How do you cheat for a Maths exam may I ask?

Sarah** wrote:
    Im going to go insane! i agree with cherry, is it my imagination or am i the only person who is tired and stressed and tbh fu*k*n worried that i may not get the points and here are you all suggesting ways of cheeting!!
    Hey, its a dog eat dog world. If you don't have what it takes to make then you'll never suceed in the real world. Cheating is a fact of life!!

Nice people finish last!

Ro: maaan! wrote:

Ok if you wanna cheat go ahead. I'll be laughing at you all when I have my degree and you drop out of college because its too hard.
    Any half assed monkey can cheat. There were completely unintelligant people in my school who got away with cheating in the LC and I know for a fact they would not be able for college. If someone knows their own intelligance and strengths then should be able to get by without cheating. I agree that LC is a terrible system of testing your knowledge but thats what we are stuck with and its the same for everyone so there should be no excuses such as that.

Sarah don't worry!! Stress is normal!! as for this cheating malarchy , if you didn't work and you get caught well I have absolutely NO sympathy for you!

• Registered Users Posts: 37,302 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Hugo Reyes wrote:
    How many of you or going to try to cheat, i mean it must be so easy!
    They say if u get caught u get a 9 yr ban or something but that is total rubbish, has never happened to anyone, all u have to do is go to toilet and take a few sheets out of your pocket/boxers/notes written on your chest whatever!
    9 year ban, it has happened before, and without your leaving cert, you can't do sh|t!

No college.

No PLC course.

No decent job.