Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Favorite Classic Dance Tune of all Time...

• 02-06-2005 5:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭

Whats your favorite dance tune of the past 15 years?

Heres mine:

Grace - Not Over Yet

Culture Beat - Mr Vain

Duke - So in Love With You

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭boidey

leftfield. storm 3000
    daft punk. daft punk

that'll do for now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Seanie M

Usura - Open Your Mind
    Westbam - Wizards of the Sonic (Red Jerry 95 Remix)
    Andy Ling - Fixation
    Li Kwan - Point Zero
    Pulsedriver - Slammin'
    DJ Jurgen feat Alice Dejay - Better Off Alone

To name a few...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Has to be Nalin and Kane - beachball or
    Mothers Pride -learning to fly
    or The Grid -Swampthing
    havent heard the last2 in a while -but they were quality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭kinkstr

Paul van Dyk - For an angel
    my mind just went blank, to be continued

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

jeeeesus.... you people really like your music dont you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

has to be "Theme from Pony Express" by Thee Milkjackhammerz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Snap! - Exterminate

Followed by:

The Shamen - Phorever People
    SL2 - On a Ragga Tip
    The Grid - Swamp Thing
    Strings of Life - Rhythim is Rhythim
    Perfecto Allstarz - Reach Up (Papa's got a brand new bag)
    808 State - Pacific State

U.S.U.R.A. - Open Your Mind was also a favourite of mine when I was a nipper

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭clairey

legend B - Lost in love :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Pacific Symphony - Transformer2
    Belfast - Orbital
    Kaleidoscope - Art of Trance
    Rollercoaster - Amoeba Assasin
    Love Stimulation - Humate
    Blue Air - Blu Peter (x-cabs mix)
    Greece2000 -Three Drives

Where do I stop? So many others that I either don't know the name of or can't recall due to being inebriated at the time I heard them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Stephen P

Seanie M wrote:

Li Kwan - Point Zero

Great tune! The Leama & Moor Remix is the best!

All time favourite classic = Chill n Force - Move Raver (House Is Not A Home Mix)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭fish fingers

d ream ur the best thing sasha mix
    age of love
    energy 52 cafe del mar
    react to rhythm intoxication
    toxic two rave generator
    pvd for an angel
    morales needin u
    bob sinclar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 541 ✭✭✭chern0byl

Indo Silver Club: Daft Punk (BrainWasher on the new album is very similar...very easy to blend the two in a mix)

Open Up: LeftField

..and all time favourite is Underworld: Moaner (not really classic yet though..so "Open Up" for this thread :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭whatstherush

Space Frog - Follow Me, absolute classic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭JoeSchmoe

jaysus lads, yiz have Horrific taste in tunes Mr vain?, swamp thing? beachball? better off alone? crap of the highest order

about the only tunes up there of note are belfast and strings of life

edit: actually Jonny68 nice selection, a bit of taste on display there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭gungo

Second vote 4 moaner- have a live in cologne version- top vibe! :D
    CJ boland- the prophet
    Orbital- belfast/chimes
    The Chemical Brothers- The test

That'll do for now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭wideangle

slam - posative education
    the grid - crystal clear
    robin s - show me love
    ebtg - missing
    new atlantic - i know

I could list hundreds more....
    I also like
    slo motsion - the bells of new york im trying to track it down proving hard,its from 93 and was the first uk release to be shrink wrapped so it looked like a us import!!I even forget what it goes like but I know its a classic!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

JoeSchmoe wrote:
    jaysus lads, yiz have Horrific taste in tunes Mr vain?, swamp thing? beachball? better off alone? crap of the highest order
    Beachball is a classic - along with pretty much anything nalin & kane have touched imo...
    the rest are shockingly crap though :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 lennykravitz

dj tiesto - adagio for strings

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Some that spring to mind...

Sabres of Paradise - Smokebelch 2 (David Holmes Mix)
    Joey Beltram - Energy Flash
    Green Velvet - Flash
    Lemon 8 - Model 8 (Lemon 8 remix)
    The Orb - A huge ever growing...(Orbital Dance Mix)
    Golden Girls - Kinetic
    Lionrock - Tripwire
    N-Joi - Adrenaline EP
    Laurent Garnier - Astral Dreams
    Orbital - Lush 3-1 (All early Orbital really, Lush has special memories though)
    Underworld - Rez / Cowgirl / Born Slippy
    Poltergeist - Vicious Circles
    Fix - Flash
    Speedy J - Pepper
    Bedrock - For What You Dream of
    Sunscreem - Perfect Motion (Boys Own Mix)
    Fix - Flash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Some fcuking awful songs there.

Odeon Groove
    Lion rock anything really but packet of peace mainly or carnival(me looking for that).
    Atlantic Waterfall
    Bassheads is there anybody out there.
    Jam and Spoon Follow Me uber super damn long mega turbo mix
    Union Jack 2 full moons and a trout
    U96 das Boot
    Underworld Born slippy /Rez thanks poster who beat me by a minute
    Robert miles children
    Poltergeist vicous circles.
    Bedrock For what you dream of / thanks poster above again but wasnt bedrock part of Lionrock in some way ?

kdjac

Seriously doubt it to be honest. Justin Robertson is Lionrock, forget who made up Bedrock but will check..

Carnival should be easy enough to pick up on gemm or htfr etc

Bedrock / artists (B)
    Profile: Long-running collaborative project between big-circuit DJ John Digweed and producer Nick Muir. Their early singles "Set In Stone" and "For What You Dream Of" were progressive house hits, but in 1999 when they founded the Bedrock record label and released "Heaven Scent" they found themselves garnering even greater praise. "Heaven Scent" was a worldwide smash hit, and was followed by "Voices" (2000) and "Emerald" (2002), among other tracks. They've also racked up a remixography including credits for New Order, Luzon, Humate, Underworld and Heller & Farley.

Lionrock / artists (L)
    Members: Justin Robertson, MC Buzz B, Roger Lyons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Vague recollections of hearing the words lionrock and bedrock in same line in reference to a song Oh well.

Still a nice list from you ,original poster Culture Beat - Mr Vain seriously wtf?

kdjac

Couldnt rule it out but never heard myself! Very different too in terms of what they produce.

Nice list yourself, I actually thought some others were joking as to their choices. Could actually be typing all night my all time fav classics!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

Bedrock is Digweed

Lionrock is Robertson

As for my fav's:

For what you dream of
    Age of love
    Rythim is rythim
    San Transisco (****ing tune that hasnt been mentioned yet :) )
    Crescendo

Just to name a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

KdjaC wrote:
    ...Still a nice list from you ,original poster Culture Beat - Mr Vain seriously wtf?

I know, I know Cheezville...

It is one of those tracks that brings back happy memories (showing my age!) and sounds better second time around. Some DJ played it at at a place called Revolver in Melbourne one night. Not sure if it was a white label or if he just mixed it really well but it sounded alright.

OK seriously...

Dave Clarke - Southside

Full Intention - I need Your Love (Subliminal Records)

Constipated Monkeys - Cro Magnon (Subliminal Records)

Kayestone - Atmosphere

LSG - Netherworld (Hooj Choons)

Medway - Resurrection EP (Hooj Choons)

Golden Girls - Kinetic '99

Robert Armani - Ambulance

Sensation - Beautiful Morning (this is an all time classsic tune!)

Sabres of Paradise - Smokebelch (Good call Felixdhc!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭boidey

Joey Beltram - Energy Flash
    :cool:

ahhhhhhhhh. Joey Beltram - Energy flash. I've been goin crazy trying to remember that one.
    Felix you can do me a CD for for my "when I win the lotto party" or my sons 1st communion party, whichever happens sooner.
    Puttin it diplomatically though theres some very suspect tunes in this thread. Swampthing? /me shudders

boidey wrote:
    Puttin it diplomatically though theres some very suspect tunes in this thread...

You're not wrong!

Remember these...

Josh Wink - Higher State of Consciousness

Gus Gus - Purple (Sasha Remix)

Lustral - Everytime (Nalin & Kane)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

Nightcrawlers - - Push the Feeling On

&

S'Express - - The Theme from S'Express

i don't think anybody has mentioned

New Order - - Blue Monday

or

Laurient Garnier - - Man with the Red Face

(Shame)

JoeSchmoe wrote:

Pr1ck. Is your taste THE taste in dance music? FFS stop bashing other peoples tastes man.

Apologies mods if I've upset you, but it ad to be said. Hate feckers who say things like this schmuck has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭kinkstr

Seanie M wrote:
    Pr1ck. Is your taste THE taste in dance music? FFS stop bashing other peoples tastes man.

Apologies mods if I've upset you, but it ad to be said. Hate feckers who say things like this schmuck has.

I agree with Seanie, everyone has different tastes, no need to bash on this thread, twas a good idea, its brought back alot of good memories for me and id say it has for alot of peeps in here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

OT Quartlet- hold that sucker down
    sneaker pimps- Spin spin sugar

to name a few

Seanie M wrote:
    ...Hate feckers who say things like this schmuck has.

Totally Seanie!

I was willing to let it go but then thought the original intention was to get people to post their favorite dance anthem.

Who cares if there is some cheese in there. That is the whole point! It is always the big anthems that bring back the memories of getting off it in some dodgy club.

Mouthing off in here just shows how intolerant you are and changes the whole tone and vibe of the board.

I am not gonna let some nobody ram their idea of what is cool music down my throat. I have been into dance music from the very beginning and have helped to put on some of the biggest events in San Francisco, Melbourne and Dublin before a lot of people even knew what house music was.

My brother plays some of the biggest nights in Dublin and has been kicking around since the beginning too. He has put on some of the best underground events in Dublin going back to the 'Purple Onion' and 'Elevator' in the Multi Media Centre.

Don't try to tell me what is cool mate!!

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭galactus

bleh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭FuzzyWuzzyWazza

My favorite dance track is William Orbit's remix of Samuel Barber's Adagio For Strings. Classic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Yeah I really liked William Orbit - Adaigo for strings when it came out ;).

It's a pitty Tiesto had to release his own crap version.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

I still reckon my selection of tracks cannot be topped (me big headed) :rolleyes: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭spyro_2001ie

DMX Krew - You Can't Hide Your Love (Hidden Love Mix)

Thats all for now may post more later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,592 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

A few that always do it for me

Trax on the Rocks 2 - Thomas Bangalter
    Minus/Orange - Richie Hawtin
    Positive Education - Slam
    You cant hide from your Bud - DJ Sneak
    Rollin' and Scratchin' - Daft Punk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

kinkstr wrote:
    Paul van Dyk - For an angel

am loving that!

Another of my favourites:

Shade of Rythm - Big Bass Drum (with extra bass as your equaliser allows!)
    Nostrum - Brainchild
    Scooter - Back In Time
    U96 - Das Boot
    Blue Alphabet - Cyber Trance
    Marusha - Go Ahead
    Alien Factory - Tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Hmmm, Energy 52 Cafe del Mar has to be up there as one of the greats. I've heard so many classics over the years, and so many that I don't know the names of, but there's this one track called the Return Home by Luna Eclipse - it's from House Pressure 6 (on tape of course!) though I managed to get it on mp3. Probably from around 95-96.

More modern tunes I can't get enough of are;

1-800 Ming - Brothers Love Dubs
    Run - Ecano
    Mercury and Solsace & Flaming June - BT
    Arkham Asylum - Sasha

I could go on hehe!

Si.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 mmbtt

yeah I've gotta agree, tiesto's remix of adagio for strings is woeful, william orbits version is one the best dance tunes ever! no doubt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Young Braves – “Reach”
    Void – “No Stopping”
    Gat Décor – “Passion”
    Underworld – “Dark and Long”
    Voodoo Ray
    Liquid – “Sweet Harmony”
    More Kante – “Yeke Yeke”
    Robert Armani – “Circus Bells (Hardfloor Remix)”
    Tori Amos – “Professional Widow (Armand's Star Trunk Funkin' Mix)”
    Heller & Farley Project - Ultra Flava
    Adamski – “Killer”
    Robin S – “Show Me Love”
    Bizarre Inc – “Playing With Knives”
    The Future Sound Of London – “Papua New Guinea”

To name but a few off the top of my head.

B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭kstanl

BT - Mercury and Solace (Sasha remix)
    Laurent Garnier - Man with the red face
    Orbital - Belfast
    Sasha - Wavy Gravy
    Tracesetters - Synesthesia
    ...and lots of selected tracks from GU that I don't remember the names of now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭carbsy

Classic? Has to be Project J Feat. Linda Rice - Out Of Control.

carbsy wrote:
    Classic? Has to be Project J Feat. Linda Rice - Out Of Control.

Classic? Never heard of that one! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Sensation - Beautiful Morning
    Mix Factory - Take me Away
    DOP - Manifest Your Love
    DJ Spy - Close to your Heart
    Love 4 Sale - Do you feel so Right
    Elevator - For your Love
    Hope AD - Tree Frog
    Joe T Vanelli - Playing with the Voices
    Lionrock - Carnival/Packet of Peace
    Sabres of Paradise - Smokebelch