Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland Vs Faroe Islands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Update:
    Fog may cause Irish fans to miss crucial World Cup qualifier

12:31 Wednesday June 8th 2005

Hundreds of Irish football fans are set to miss tonight's crucial World Cup qualifiers.
    Thick fog has caused the only airport on the Faroe Islands to close.

One flight out of London last night was forced to divert to Copenhagen, where's its remained since due to the conditions.

A charter flight from Dublin this morning has been diverted to Stavanger in Norway, while another charter plane has yet to leave.

All flights are currently on hold, and hopes are slim that the weather will improve.

The closed airport is fifty kilometers away from the capital, where the game is due to take place, but fog is slowly starting to descend over the city.

The team hotel in hills overlooking Torshavn, is already shrouded in mist, with players and management unable to see anything beyond a few yards in front of them.

The game's not in danger yet, but the players, media and supporters who are there may be forced to stay another night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭mada999

don't worry lads have faith we'll win easy 2-0....relax!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I had a dream last night that Ireland won 6-0 against the Faroes. May as well use that as my prediction. :)

Believe it or not Paddy Power are only giving 18-1 for that result.

If the matched is played I'd go for a 3-0 or 3-1

B.

If we get anything more than 2 it will be a massive bonus. No other team has won more than 2 here in a long long time. Lets hope we dont do a scotland (2-2)

But the Swiss did put 6 past them.

B.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

BaZmO* wrote:
    But the Swiss did put 6 past them.

B.
    Something like 6 or 7 shots on target and 6 goals. If only we could do that. :)

Aye, Jolly is right. From the Faroes last 11 home matches, only 2 teams have kept clean sheets and not one could win by more than 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

From our current form I would say it will be a really, really messy 1-0 to ireland. lots of kicking and messing on their part. hope we do get a few more. I would have to say that Elliott should be more than upto playing against opposition of this quality. not even championship quality for most of their players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

But, in the Championship, teams don't stick ten men behind the ball when playing against Elliott, do they?

I reckon 4-3-3 is the way to go myself, or a 4-3-2-1, with the 2 being Duff and Andy Reid playing wide and just behind a central Clinton.

Three midfielders should be enough also, with Kilbane, Keane and probably Holland operating in there, Keane doing the dog-work in sitting back, Kilbane pushing more forward, and Holland generally getting involved in attacking play.

seansouth wrote:
    or a 4-3-2-1, with the 2 being Duff and Andy Reid playing wide and just behind a central Clinton.

Yep thats what I'd go with too, actually thats what I was trying to show earlier.

eirebhoy wrote:
    Something like 6 or 7 shots on target and 6 goals. If only we could do that. :)

LOL. If only!

EB do you have the stats from the match on Saturday? I can't find them anywhere and I know you're good at all that stuff.

B.

BaZmO* wrote:
    LOL. If only!

EB do you have the stats from the match on Saturday? I can't find them anywhere and I know you're good at all that stuff.

B.
    I seen them somewhere, can't remember where sorry. All I can remember is that we had 60% possession. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Any news on the weather in the Faroes

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Stimpyone

andyman wrote:

Bad news for the supporters, but the match is still on.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/2005/06/08/story206247.html

Hundreds of traveling football fans will miss tonight's World Cup qualifying match after their flights were cancelled.

Supporters have been turned back at Dublin airport while others are stranded in Norway and Denmark due to fog.

The fogbound airport in the capital Torshavn has been closed since last night.

One plane carrying Irish supporters from London is on the ground in Copenhagen, while another which took-off from here this morning's been diverted to Stavanger in Norway.

The Irish team's hotel nestled in hills overlooking the city is shrouded in mist with visibility down to a few meters.

The game has not been abandoned so Ireland will have to fight for their three crucial qualifying points in front of a much-diminished green army.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

andyman wrote:
    It was drizzling at 4pm. Humidity 95%. More here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭thejollyrodger

Elliott to start !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WELL DONE KERR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Cianan2

Is Morrison injured?

Elliott and Clint up front.. doc on the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

JoS at centre half, he is due a good game (I hope!).

I wouldn't have minded seeing Doc there, then Kerr could mix it up without making any subs, even try and blitz them just before half time with three up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭Ping Chow Chi

posted for someone else whoes in Oz
    Ireland are playing tonight (4am in oz) but the prob is no one here can watch it... think its due to sky sports or sommit owning rights. not sure, but does anyone know if its possible to watch it on the net? streeming is fine.. poor or not? cheers for any help

is there anyone who can help this fella out?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,024 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Someone set up a shoutcast. You can roar commentary between pizza and beer then hold mic to telly for Bill and lads' commentary at half time. Who in Oz could resist? :)

Good to see Elliott in. Not so good to see O'Shea in but Doc isn't much of an improvement.

Josh had a few matches at centre back for Man Utd but it was a disaster.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,024 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

JOS must read this forum. Hes out to prove ye wrong. Nice move.

In fact my prediction is Beglin to pick JOS as MOM already.

This is poor stuff by ireland. That goal by morrison should have stood. the pace of the game is all wrong. This is going to be a fustrating game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I am not at all confident about this game at all :/
    We live off 3 players, and you really see it when one of them is missing.
    Tonight its one of the Keano's, and where Elliot was, Keane would have scoreed both :(

i totally agree. this might be another lichenstein. i get that feeling in my bones..

Is this a "get out of jail for free card" I see before me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

elliot has been doing fantasticly this half anyway. looks a real threat, not like clint. poor clint looks knackered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

i need direct tv here :) 2-0 up Ireland, kilbane and harte penalty. *checks aertel online*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Brian017

Team MP W D L GF GA Pts
    Rep. Ireland 7 3 4 0 11 4 13
    Switzerland 6 3 3 0 13 4 12
    Israel 7 2 5 0 10 8 11
    France 6 2 4 0 5 1 10
    Cyprus 6 0 1 5 4 12 1
    Faroe Islands 6 0 1 5 3 17 1

What about Elliott ?? Looks good as they say. Can he partner Robbie though ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Dear lord what a poor game id almost go as far as say the better team lost :)

Okay, not as much of a doom and gloom match as the anaylists are saying, some good things came out of it.

1 - Given is still very sharp, even after a tough season, Mr. Reliable
    2 - John O'Shea has had his first ever good game at centre-half, well done!
    3 - Kevin Kilbane was playing as Roy keane played 5 years ago, amazingly well, quick feet, simple passes all completed, very impressive touch.
    4 - We have seen that we have a striker who can play, and play his heart out. What impressed me about Elliot was not his ability (I don't think he's that great at all really), he just did not stop running, and putting in challenges. Also, he always seemed to know the right thing to do, the right move to make, he's got a great footballing brain. Witha bit more competitve football, he could be a real star in Green.

there wasn't much else to note, other than all three of Harte, Carr and Reid are overweight, this is unacceptable at this level.
    Also, very dissapointed with Cunningham tonight, didn't seem to be clued in, and made several mistakes.

Fell asleep...jsut woke up, 2-0?! Was kilbanes goal any good? Elliot impressed me, hope he can play like that again in the future!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

kilbanes goal was ****e deflected could of been some sort of terrible goalwards pass i dunno

Kilbane's goal was more of an og really, wicked deflection.

Elliot had a great game for his first competitive debut, I have to say though my heart skipped a beat when Ian Harte picked up the ball to take the peno, I had terrible flashbacks to the spain game! But Fair play he took it well and his 2 goals were very important.

One bad thing about tonight was Roy Keane getting booked for giving out about the goal being ruled off-side, and it did look like off-side, if he gets booked in the next game he'll be badly missed for the game after it.

We done what we had to do, wasn't pretty but got the result and Morrisson got some competition for his place.

I couldnt belive hearte took the peno either. This had MISS written all over it. Fair play to hearte .. if I were him i would had not taken it.

I'd say RMK will take care of himself next game. he will defintely be all phyched up for it. He probably wants to get one back at Viera for the FA Cup.

Doesnt look like Elliott will start the game against France but he should defintley be used as a sub if Clint or Robbie arent doing the business up front. He should also get a start in the game against Italia. I think Elliotts competitive debut is the best thing that can be taken from tonight (along with JOSH's performance).

I think we can win all 3 remaining matches as long as we have everyone fit

There was no midfield in the first half. It was going from defence to attack. Duff, Reid, Keane and Kilbane were non existant. Kerr must have mentioned this at half time because Reid got a lot of the ball and we created a lot more.

Elliott had a bad first half but was definitely the best player in the second half.
    Duff was crap, worst I've ever seen him for Ireland.
    Roy wasn't at his best.
    Carr was below par yet again.
    Morrison was terrible.
    Reid and Elliott played well but the rest were average at best.

Anyway. 2-0, Decent result to take home when you consider their record and the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Job done bring on the french and hopefully no major injuries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Missed the game kinda glad there some posts before it then nothing till about 5 minutes left, so doubt i missed much.

2.0 job done Elliot playing major plus.

bring on Les Blues.

kdjac

I never thought I would say it but YES duffer was useless

Our whole team is nearly on a yellow card going into the France game.

Morrison
    Cunningham
    Reid
    Kilbane
    Duff
    O'shea
    Roy Keane

Lets get Morrison, O'Shea and Kilbane booked in the France game. We'll do without them against Cyprus but wouldn't want to risk going to Cyprus without any of the others. :)

Hopefully Reid Duff and Keane dont get the booking in France match...

Pleased with Elliott, but for me Kilbane was MOTM, he was excellent in the second half, and worked hard in the first half putting in a few good challenges. Alongside Keane he looks the part, they complement each other well, good to see him amongst the goals too, he should be scoring more.

Another thing to take from the game is that Reid and Carr cant work on the right flank. They have zero understanding with each other, similar to the game in Tel Aviv. Reid always drifts inside and means Carr never gets a chance to overlap which is what he is best at. Carr definately looks overweight and had another bad game. He really needs to sort himself out when he comes away with Ireland because he has been poor for a while.

Kerr got his tactics right, and the team was patient in front of a subborn defense. I was just disappointed Steven Reid didnt get 20 minutes or so. The game went a bit stale and he could have come on for either Reid or Duff and given the side more balance. S.Reid was in great form towards the end of the season and is an option that Kerr has not yet explored.

Mission accomplished, and no suspensions going into the big one. Its good to get the bad result of Saturday off our minds with the win tonight.

And since a lot of people like to take any opportunity to slate Kerr, I'd like to say fair play to him for spotting what was wrong at half time and sorting it out. We actually had a midfield in the second half.

Jivin - I thought Reid played well. He got more of the ball than anyone else in the second half and I thought created a few chances. He's great at hitting the ball into space for players to run on to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Dreadful game but it was never going to be anything but especially the way they play Football,it was a case of "job done" we were a bit s hit in the first half but got our act together in the second and thankfully got all 3 points in the end,pity about those Ireland fans who missed out,hope at least some had insurance so they wont lose out completly ;)

eirebhoy wrote:
    And since a lot of people like to take any opportunity to slate Kerr, I'd like to say fair play to him for spotting what was wrong at half time and sorting it out. We actually had a midfield in the second half.
    Yeah but he probably wont get the credit for it here.
    eirebhoy wrote:
    Jivin - I thought Reid played well. He got more of the ball than anyone else in the second half and I thought created a few chances. He's great at hitting the ball into space for players to run on to.
    He did ok in the second half, but I just felt that he had no understanding with Carr.

I also thought he crossed poorly at times, and was just generally sloppy. I dont think he worked hard enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

At half-time I put €300 on this game having less than three goals... I nearly had a heart attack after the restart (2 goals in 10 minutesish)

Luckily, so luckily, it stayed 0 - 2.

WOOO! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

what price you get for that ?

terrible performance

clint needs a tail and another set of legs and people will call him donkey !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

:D "Here We Go! Here We Go! Here WE Go!"