Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinion on 94 BMW 318is veteran mileage

• 07-06-2005 8:24pm
    Registered Users Posts: 10,257 ✭✭✭✭

looking for some ideas for my coupe, it has 97000 miles at the moment and is running like a charm. Last 2 services have been fairly hefty at about €1000 each ( for stuff like bushes, control arms and such ) I was thinking of 1. trading it in for something else with less mileage but a few grand dearer or 2. putting about 2 or 3 grand into the car to do the shocks, timing chain, brake discs and generally the big jobs that have to be done.... what do you think??? other cars I have been looking at are Laguna's, Mondeos, or some Jap thing like an FTO or Celica......??

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,934 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

There is 160,000 on my 318is. Only thing ever replaced was the fuel pump. I think you are spending way too much on services.

Replace the timingchain tensioner if it starts to rattle, no need to replace the chain.

Stick with the car it is an engineering masterpiece and it generally wont give you any problems if you look after it well.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,257 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Thanks Chief

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I can't really comment on the Laguan or Mondeo as I haven't driven them long enough.
    However, I presume you are paying €1k at a main dealer.
    Use a decent specialist and save a packet!
    Some are listed @ www.bmwcarclubireland.com

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,934 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Buy your parts here aswell

www.gsfcarparts.com (clondalkin)

Main dealer quoted me E90 for a timing chain tensioner. Got it in the place above for about 20 quid.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭lomb

will definately need brake discs though and pads. buy them at gsf as suggested above. u can either fit them urself or pay someone 100 euro to fit them. kwikfit will do shocks cheaply. its unusual bushings need replacing on a light car like that at those miles. main dealer is probably seeing a small crack in the rubber which is 'normal' with age and recommending replacement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭damo605

These BMWs like all BMWs are useless money pits!
    You'll only end up keep wasting all your hard earned dosh trying to keep the heap of junk going.... So why not get shot of it and buy a Mitsubishi or a Toyota which you can trust and enjoy? Bet you'd never look back...
    BTW, If you're thinking of getting an FTO be sure to get insurance quotes first as they aren't the easiest machines to get cover on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 JayDee

it is an engineering masterpiece

Compared to what? Other BMW's or other manufacturers?

Go and trade it in and get yourself a proper engineering masterpiece from the east and buy a Jap. You've mentioned an FTO or Celica - go for it - you won't regret it. The Japs have left the likes of BMW so far behind in every way it's scary.

If you have any sense ignore all the BMW heads on this forum - they're just trying to make themselves feel better about their cars by getting others to buy them and have them in the same boat!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭lomb

Aye ive always said it but old BMs are nails. just talk to x in the city and he will tell u.even the new 7 series is apparantly totally unreliable.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭kdevitt

JayDee wrote:
    Go and trade it in and get yourself a proper engineering masterpiece from the east and buy and Jap. You've mentioned an FTO or Celica - go for it - you won't regret it. The Japs have left the likes of BMW so far behind in every way it's scary.

Oh yeah, the FTO is renowned for its reliable engine... and those spare parts are real easy to source for it too...

BMW have won more engine of the year awards than any other manufacturer, next up is Honda... I've had no major hassle with any of my BMW's, or Hondas for that matter... difference being that the BMW is enjoyable to drive and doesn't give me a headache after a two mile journey.

Like all cars though, buy a complete dog and its will cost you a fortune...
    JayDee wrote:
    they're just trying to make themselves feel better about their cars by getting others to buy them and have them in the same boat!

You're dead right - I need to feel better about my car... :rolleyes:

The FTO *is* renowned for it's reliable engine and parts ain't too difficult to source if you know where to look. You could probably order an FTO and have it shipped to Ireland for the price of an inspection service on a BMW.

Who gives a crap about a manufacturer winning engine of the year awards on 3 litre+ engines? Most people around here couldn't tax, insure or service these petrol guzzling beasts. These awards won't take into account how these engines will age either. If they looked back on some older awards BMW recieved and deducted points for reliability i reckon they would change their minds!

And the only reason you get a headache after a two mile jouney is probably from you ranting an about how great these buckets of crap BMW's are.

I think the title says it all: "Opinion on 94 BMW 318is veteran mileage" -At 97k miles a Jap car would be just about run in, certainly not considered veteran :D
    As for comments on the FTO, my Fiancee has one and in my opinion it's far superior to anything BMW every came up with :cool:
    Anyone who has a BMW - think about all the major and niggling problems you have, how everytime you hit a bump or a peddle on the road how the car rattles, bangs and shakes and the cost of all the inevitable repairs then think to yourself, should I get a Toyota?
    Anyone who doesn't have a BMW - Ever wonder why you see so many of these yokes broken down at the side of the road, if not keep an eye out and you'll be amazed!!!!
    BorderFox, I hope the garage where you were getting it serviced didn't charge you extra for the vaseline ;)

I am starting to feel that Damo605 and I think there is sand in the jar too!! :eek: A couple of years ago I had a Civic VTI and really regretted selling it to buy an Alfa 156 ( bit's started falling off from day one and 20mpg from a 1.8) I had a lot of trouble with the stater motor in the BMW had to get 2 recon ones in it. Might be swaying to getting another Jap car, I didn't have a days trouble with the Civic and I caned the nut's off it.... I got it serviced out in Rathdown Motors and it cost me £60....

Thanks to everyone for their comments I really appreciate all your help.... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 65,400 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Borderfox wrote:
    Last 2 services have been fairly hefty at about €1000 each ( for stuff like bushes, control arms and such ) I was thinking of 1. trading it in for something else with less mileage but a few grand dearer or 2. putting about 2 or 3 grand into the car

Did you buy a trashed lemon and have it serviced at the BMW $tealer$ or what? :eek:

Madness to spend €3 grand on a 11 year old 318is imho. Cut your losses, mate
    kdevitt wrote:
    Like all cars though, buy a complete dog and its will cost you a fortune...

Very true - I hope you're not speaking from experience
    JayDee wrote:
    Who gives a crap about a manufacturer winning engine of the year awards on 3 litre+ engines?

You're right - let's not muddle the waters. If you're looking for a small engined reliable car that is cheap to run, get something Japanese like a Micra or a Civic
    damo605 wrote:
    all BMWs are useless money pits!

You sir, are an eejit :rolleyes:

unkel wrote:
    You sir, are an eejit :rolleyes:

You sir, are entitled to your opinion :p

I've based my opinions of BMWs on my own experience and the majority experience of everyone I know who has had one!

Too many design flaws, poor quality and very poor longetivity of overpriced components (especially in comparison with other car brands) equals a useless money pit in my opinion....

damo605 wrote:
    You sir, are entitled to your opinion :p

And so are you :)

Sorry to hear you've had problems. I've been driving V8 BMWs for the last 4.5 years without trouble. No big repairs, servicing done by trusted expert that charges me cost for parts. My current late '96 735 has 200,000 kms on it and engine and tranny feel like new

BMWs are generally very reliable cars (don't trust me on this or yourself, do some research) but proper care (oil changes!) is essential. You will not get away with trashing one, especially the 4-pitters that have a hard life, without maintaining it

Personally I would never buy a 4-pitter...

I had a 6 Cyl and the other people I know had both 4 and 6 Cyl - I'll admit I don't know anyone who's had an 8 Cyl....
    None of these were trashed and were minded and serviced very well and still gave nothing but trouble :(
    Maybe BMWs just aren't able for the bad Irish roads and wet climate?

Jeez dunno about it being just the roads and wet climate. It'd take a bloody bumpy road to put an engine on fire...and when it happened a shower of rain wouldn't have been unwelcome in this wet climate of ours!!!

Have had 7 BMW's between myself and my dad (E21/E30/E34/E36/E46) , he's now driving my old E36 320i which is on 110K and as good as new, I'm in an E46 328i thats the best all round car I've ever driven, and have had the pleasure of driving a lot of cars... next up is an M3 hopefully.

Only one that ever gave any hassle was my dads E34 520i - he refused to service it at all, and gave it away to our local mechanic. Last time I saw it was in Ballincollig looking pristine.

If you buy all your parts through the dealer you will get shafted, go to GSF or ECP and your servicable items won't cost anymore than those for a Honda.

As for reliability and quality - BMW came second and third to Toyota in the JD Power Exec and Luxury class this year...
    http://www.whatcar.com/News_SpecialReport.asp?NA_ID=214562&EL_ID=3121181

Thats Lexus mate. I know, i know, same company and all but i hate when people try to take a dig and call them Toyotas - not that it's such a bad thing mind!

You don't hear people calling Acura's "Honda"...

Does anyone have any experience of using the Brembo max brake discs, GSF are doing sets of these front and back, would be good to change to these instead of the OE ones....?

They supposed to be good - but I reckon you'd be hard pressed to notice any difference over OE. They do look nice behind your alloys though :)

The Civic I owned had an AP big brake kit on it and it was the business, the best mod I did to it. Priceyest too at £1600 for the kit and new larger alloys..... might try the Brembo's...

Borderfox wrote:
    The Civic I owned had an AP big brake kit on it and it was the business, the best mod I did to it. Priceyest too at £1600 for the kit and new larger alloys..... might try the Brembo's...

:eek: Would you not rather save all those thousands and put them towards a good car?

unkel wrote:
    :eek: Would you not rather save all those thousands and put them towards a good car?

Dudes with Civics can afford to do them up and spent money on them - why? 'Cause Civics ain't bleeding them dry just to keep 'em running like a bmw would :eek: