Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish paper 2

• 10-06-2005 11:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭

I thought that was a really easy paper. The poems were easy and so was the reading thing about the refugee. What did everyone else think of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

Simple!
    The unseen prose was like a dream come through.
    I understood everything. Poetry- First poem was hard so i answered the 3 questions about the other one. All the right themes came up for seen prose and poetry.

The 4 small comprehension things were evn easier than previous years.
    Letter - good.

Overall, what a legend of an exam (never thought i'd say that)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

My letter was pretty good, I kinda messed up writing about the poem I studied, other than that the whole thing was a doss! I mean the "fill in the gaps" thing...hah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭eoghan h

The whole paper was simple. Cspe should be easy enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭modular

I understood the unseen prose but thought it was hard.
    Kind of understood the poems, think I did OK on questions.
    Had heard the Fill In The Gaps as a joke before, that helped. Other mini-comprehensions were easy enough.
    Letter was easy.
    I think I did grand on the studied stuff, but realised after the exam I used the wrong words for some things in it. Oh well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭Strokesa

The unseen prose was so easy i understood it all...and that never happened with the past papers.
    Studied prose and poetry were perfect for the themes which i had studied(which were very limited) so i was really lucky.
    I didnt understand **** all on the unseen poetry, seriously i thought that was really hard? What the hell were they about???
    And the comprehensions were ok but 4 the squirrel one i said that the red squirrel eats the green squirrel...whoops...
    I cant believe they had a comprehension about HILARY DUFF! "Like oh my god im totally the same as every girl my age, i love shoes and clothes and my favourite hobby is shopping! Like TOTALLY!"
    I didnt want to answer in protest but in the end i had to cos i ddint understand the first one...

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Fenny

The squirrel short comprehension was really annoying. I ended up doing the fill in the gaps, which I think was simpler than past years. The prose was great; I think I did pretty well on that, although my poetry was a little off. My themes came up - I could have cried with relief! All in all, a decent paper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Holly Golightly

Can someone please tell me what the second poem was about? I think I did OK on it but I didn't really get it, lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Fobia

It was about Seán O Leocháin being a twat, I hope ;) . Nice exam but too easy (I never thought I'd say that, but there can only be a certain number of B's, so I hope my handwritting wont lose me those precious few marks).

^ Amen to that. Towards the end of it, my handwriting started to swirl crazily and there was a whole lot crossed out, so I'm pretty sure I'll lose a few marks for handwriting. Damn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

For one of the unseen poetry questions (think it was the last B one) I rambled on for about five lines trying to explain what the HELL the second poem was about.

Was it something about the people slagging him 'cause he decided to become a poet?

Otherwise it was pretty good. The letter was lovely, I did the one about the ocáid speisíalta. Options for the studied poetry and prose were great. I wrote about a poem I had never written about before, which may have been a bad idea but meh, I like the poem, felt like doing it.

The unseen prose was great, really simple. Giottaí gearra were pretty good too. Damn squirrels though. Thankfully I already knew about the whole.. grey squirrel taking over red squirrel thing so I didn't have to understand it particularly much.

For one of the unseen poetry questions (think it was the last B one) I rambled on for about five lines trying to explain what the HELL the second poem was about.

Was it something about the people slagging him 'cause he decided to become a poet?

I meant what I said, I basically wrote in one of the B questions that it's because the poet is a twat :) . I used "bródúil" alot afaik....

I don't even know how to say 'twat' in Irish...
    My entire vocabulary of Irish just left me during that exam, so I started using really really weird tenses of Irish to make up for it.

At one point I contemplated making up a new word and hoping that the examiner wouldn't notice.

I did that.

"Seinnteoirí" - Musicians. Couldn't remember the actual word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

Fobia wrote:
    It was about Seán O Leocháin being a twat, I hope ;) . Nice exam but too easy (I never thought I'd say that, but there can only be a certain number of B's, so I hope my handwritting wont lose me those precious few marks).

I said that too.
    I said "Is maith leis e fein" (He loves himself) and "Ta se an-broduil do fein"(very proud of himself)

Really easy one i thought

I don't even know how to say 'twat' in Irish...
    My entire vocabulary of Irish just left me during that exam, so I started using really really weird tenses of Irish to make up for it.

Hehe I know the feeling - I forgot how to say "thank you" when writing my aggallamh in paper 1, it ended "is aggallamh mhaith é seo!" "slán"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

erm I ran out of time and couldnt do the letter which was worth 10%
    but o well still going for a B hopefully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Casserine

I was pleased with that paper. The comprehension was the easiest in years, I thought. Some of my friends disagreed though. A girl in my class thought it was about a woman who had a secret, she could talk to birds. Haha. Short comprehensions were okay, I did all four just in case. All my themes came up. My letter was decent, I hope. I did the first one. I had to write about something happening in Ireland, so I did the smoking ban. I couldn't remember the word for ban or illegal, so I wrote "Listen, let me tell you about something in Irish life. It's not able to smoke in public! It's against the book. I think it's a great idea, but the country doesn't agree with me."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

Ha! They'll definitely give you marks for trying.I said that our taoiseach had been stabbed by a "stranger in black" Eh does it count if its totally made up??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭jennyq

I thought it was grand, except for the unseen poetry, which I didn't understand at all. There was a really good choice of themes for the studied prose & poetry. I did my longest letter ever at almost 2 pages :o