Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Listowel Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭boroman

Nothing, but the sound of silence from the very heart of boroland, while others run around like headless chickings clutching at straws. However methinks the end is nigh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭John Granville

boroman wrote: »
    Nothing, but the sound of silence from the very heart of boroland, while others run around like headless chickings clutching at straws. However methinks the end is nigh.

You're mixing your metaphors somewhat - but are we getting warmer? Could it be that you weren't thinking 'Bakeries' for your final clue but 'Jeweller's Shops'?
    Not that it changes anything but Fred and Gertie Mann also had a small jewellers shop in Main St. between the former and present bakeries, as I recall.
    Tabhair cúlpla nod eile dúinn ar aon nós, le do thoil.

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭Lovely writer

Church Newsletter

The following are houses in the town, all of which have had one thing in common.

Where am I.

(1) I once contained a fruit and veg. shop and apartments to let.
    (2) I have horsey connections.
    (3) I was once owned by someone with a clerical name.
    (4) I had an owner one time that had two wives.
    (5) I am small but am a sophisticated house.
    (6) I had a front room lodger who numbered Dev as a friend.
    (7) I had a neighbour one time who was a newspaper correspondent.
    (8) I was once a nursery.
    (9) I was next door to a dog that never barked.
    (10) I am now what my neighbour was once.

I do not think that these questions are too hard, anyone that think they have the answers may send them to emmetsabu@gmail.com
    We will keep the powder dry for a week or two.

A previously unused sadistic streak has suddenly come over me, and I am starting to enjoy the apparent feeble attempts to decipher our little quiz,
    and to cap it all Mr Granville is looking for more clues, now, now, why dont you all knock the heads together and try to come up with something, meanwhile a little birdie is saying that the transatlantic phones are very busy.
    If ye think this one is hard, wait for the next one !!!!:p

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭Price of a Pint

A previously unused sadistic streak has suddenly come over me, and I am starting to enjoy the apparent feeble attempts to decipher our little quiz,
    and to cap it all Mr Granville is looking for more clues, now, now, why dont you all knock the heads together and try to come up with something, meanwhile a little birdie is saying that the transatlantic phones are very busy.
    If ye think this one is hard, wait for the next one !!!!:p

Boroman
    I have given up and submitted answers to this evil
    I'm probably totally wrong.

The Irish Times - Thursday, January 21, 2010

Boorman's lifetime work to be honoured

When I saw this headline on the Irish Times last week I thought that they had got the spelling wrong.

They were referring to some little-known film director but on the thread we know it should have read Boroman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭John Granville

A previously unused sadistic streak has suddenly come over me:p

Indeed! I bet you used to pull the wings off flies and tie tin cans to cats' tails!:):)

The following are houses in the town, all of which have had one thing in common.

Where am I.

I do not think that these questions are too hard, anyone that think they have the answers may send them to emmetsabu@gmail.com
    We will keep the powder dry for a week or two.

No, the sadistic streak which I refer to did not surface until the advent of our little quiz, up to that time rather than going around with the gob open hoping to catch an odd fly or two or the persecution of the feline form, my spare time was taken up in the assiduous assimilation of knowledge of the various aspects of history of our lovely town and its denizens therein, so that when time was ripe all of this could be used in the form of quizzes and so forth to test the knowledge in the grey matter between my fellow townies ears.
    Now my little Einstein’s the answers to the quiz will be pasted on boards, Listowel thread on Friday, 29th January at 6pm.
    Watch this space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Miss Cellaneous

Boroman
    I have given up and submitted answers to this evil
    I'm probably totally wrong.

I also gave up on 24th and submitted my answers
    I'm probably totally wrong....actually there is no probably about it :D
    Miss Cellaneous here, lost my log in as the original email I used back in 06
    is no longer active :(
    Good Luck to all . Looking forward to the Fridays answers and finding out just how EVIL Boroman truly is. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭Cherry Tree

Finally I'm back on line and guess what? I have the connection.
    It's betting shops.
    What gave it to me was Parsons; the clerical name.
    Chic is small and sophisticated
    Bruce was a veg shop
    Now go find the connection for Paddypower and Berkie Brown's etc.
    We'll have it by the deadline by hook or by crook.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 listowel8

If i remember growing up paddy powers was a nursery at one time.i think the owners were leahys from moyvane.berkies was once a butcher like his neighbour murphy and the only other betting shop i can remember was owned by gleasure just above john B.s.he went out of business when mr. what won the grand national and could not pay off the full winning odds.

The house next door to Celtic Bet was once a betting shop ;)

If I remember there was also a bookies up opposite Mike the Pies.
    Didn't last long though.

I'm on my third password. When I reset the previous two to something that I could remember they each worked only once and then were refused the allowed 5 times until I was timed out. I have not changed this one and hopefully it will work.
    Here goes
    1. Bruce
    2. Brendan Daly's was once Hogan's betting shop
    3.That's the one opposite Mike the Pies i.e. Parsons
    4. That was a O'Flaherty man in Church St.
    5.Chic
    6. Stumped here. Help needed
    7. stumped again
    8. Paddy powers
    9. soon to be Boylesports
    10 Celtic next to Hogans
    Apologies for the misspelling in the subject line. I've just discovered that one cannot edit the subject line. Boards!!!

I'm on my third password. When I reset the previous two to something that I could remember they each worked only once and then were refused the allowed 5 times until I was timed out. I have not changed this one and hopefully it will work.
    Here goes
    1. Bruce
    2. Brendan Daly's was once Hogan's betting shop
    3.That's the one opposite Mike the Pies i.e. Parsons
    4. That was a O'Flaherty man in Church St.
    5.Chic
    6. Stumped here. Help needed
    7. stumped again
    8. Paddy powers
    9. soon to be Boylesports
    10 Celtic next to Hogans
    Apologies for the misspelling in the subject line. I've just discovered that one cannot edit the subject line. Boards!!!
    Victor Broderick also had a betting shop in the deli beside the freezers.
    Could the neighbor be woulfe?

• Registered Users Posts: 35 listowel8

price of a pint,i think it was ollie broderick that had the betting shop which i think he now has a trinket shop.it was once moss obrien harness maker which might be the horsey connection.the only betting shops i remember growing up was alf hogan,skellys,gleasures andjohnny moriarty who was a bookmaker.

:pAnswers to quiz

(1) Q I once contained a fruit and veg. shop and apartments to let.
    A. The old technical school building, P.Whelan had a fruit and veg. shop and
    Ml Barrett had apartments to let. Now, Bruce Betting office.

(2)Q. I have horsey connections,
    A Brendan Daly, Race Co. Secretary, lives in what was a Betting office.

(3) Q. I was once owned by someone with a clerical name
    A. Number 41 Patrick St. was occupied by Ml. Parsons Betting office.

(4) Q. I had an owner one time with two wives.
    A. Paddy Browne great grand father to Berkie Brown, was married twice and
    he lived where Berkie has the Betting office.

(5) Q. I am small but am a sophisticated house.
    A. Chic Boutique once housed Malachy Skelly and O’Flaherty Betting office.

(6) Q. I had a front room lodger, who was a great friend of Devs.
    A. Jim Clarke, Ballybunion bookie and grandfather to Brenda and Kevin
    Woulfe, was a personal friend to Dev, (you can ask Brenda to verify)
    he had the front room of Moore’s , 9 Patrick St. rented in the 1950s, here
    Paddy Kinlon from Ballybunion ran the Betting office.

(7) Q. I had a neighbour once who was a newspaper correspondent.
    A. Oliver Broderick’s (rudai deasa, now Jack the Boots) had as a next door
    neighbour, part of the Sheeben now, a man who was a correspondent
    for several Tralee newspapers, his name, D.C. Hennessy, there was a
    book of his verses launched at Writers Week some years ago, called The
    Lays of North Kerry, T. Rogers was associated with the Betting Office.

(8) Q. I was once a nursery.
    A. Senator O Sullivan now owns this property; it was also part of Cronin’s
    hardware, Leahy nurseries from the Athea side ran a business there in
    the 1950s, a certain Denis VG had a shop there as well. Now it is
    occupied by the Paddy Power Betting office.

(9) Q. I was next door to a dog that never barked.
    A. I really liked this one! This is the lower half of the Arcade shop,
    (Where the bould Damian has his sign Small Window-Big Shop), this
    is, we all should know next to John Bs, the original owner
    was T.D.oSullivan and what was the name on the window,
    The Greyhound Bar (one that never made a sound), if you don’t
    believe me ask Mary Keane, anyway back to the business, where
    Damian has this shop was occupied by firstly, in the late 1940s early
    1950s by Johnny Moriarty and then until 1957 by Bysie Cleasure and
    what business did they have ?, a Betting office.

(10) Q. I am now what my neighbour was once.
    A. The house I required was once owned by Jamsie Stack, it is next
    door to Brendan Daly’s which was once a betting office ran by
    Alf Hogan and then Eddie Walsh, now Stacks is occupied by
    Celtic Betting office.

In case anyone has not copped on by now, what all the houses have in common, they are or were betting offices at one time. As the answers are long I hope they will go up on boards all right. A review of the ANSWERS will take place along with the BANKING enquiry.

:rolleyes:The result of the enquiry into out little quiz, and the names of the first 3
    contributors into emmetsabu.
    While the quiz is really a bit of fun, it does have a few rules. Which are,
    All answers are to be posted on emmetsabu,
    Boroman is a firm believer in ‘one man/woman, one vote’ and as of now
    there has never been gerrymandering in Boroland.

So the gist in what I am saying is this, the first answers which I got into emmetsabu, are the ones that I am accepting.

Public tickle/tackle has made its unwelcome way on to the Listowel thread in the past week or so, and this goes against the principle of competition on the quiz, with many throwing in their own twopence worth, it’s a free country, however if they are so knowledgeable why not enter into the spirit and put their answers on emmetsabu.

The truth is, that anyone looking up the different contributions on the thread in the past week would want to be a melted dulamoo if they could not get, some, most, or if not all the answers. Thankfully there are a lot of people who enjoy the craic and detective work.

The following are our Non –Winners.
    (1) MisCellanneous ; on the 23rd Jan. wrote on Emmetsabu. Was
    correct on the bookies/betting shops connection, and was correct on
    No’s, 1, 4, 5, 8 and 10, this was 5 correct, also mentioned Parsons,
    the house number given with the answer was 37, this however was
    Jotty Holly’s, Parsons was No.41. Also gave the funniest answer.
    When in answer to question 9, said it was the model guide dog
    sometimes positioned outside Harnetts Chemist shop, however it
    is not next to a betting shop. Also missed out badly on No’s 6, a
    best friends granddad, need I say any more.

(2) Price of the Pint, on the 24th Jan. wrote on emmetsabu. Was correct
    On No’s.1, and went on to say that the common thread was they were
    all rented properties.
    Sorry there, old stock.

(3) Cherry Tree, on the 25th Jan. wrote on emmetsabu. Was correct on
    No’s 1, and then said, ‘all the answers 1 to10 are Number 1 Main
    Street, but where, oh where, is Number 1, Main Street. You would
    need to ask a postman, but if you do, ask the right one!!

I enjoyed our little quiz and I enjoyed the answers even more. Interesting stuff, indeed.
    Thank you for enlivening a dreary January

I had some good laughs with this quiz. No trouble getting the connection but lots of trouble getting the answers. :D You make it all sound so easy. You are a mine of information.
    Thank you Boroman

Church newsletter

• Registered Users Posts: 46 ChurchStreet

I have a couple of photos that have come into my position of classes from the boys school. Not sure how they are in the family as none of my relatives are in them. See can spot anybody you know!:)

Church St. you should talk to Brendan Kenny who lived in Patrick St. and is 5th from left in back row. He now lives in Clieveragh. From a quick glance I know quite a few, not all. I despair when unnamed fairly recent pictures photographs are posted.

Back row;
    S.Stack, ?.o Neill, Ml o Connell, P. Flaherty, B Kenny, J Woulfe, M o Sullivan, M. Lawlee, P.Dowling, D.Hartnett, N.Roche , T OConnor.

Middle row;Ml Conway, ? J.Neville ,P. Mulvihill, Ml Keane, Ml Gorman, P. Walsh, ? Reilly, J. Behan, R. Gunn, J. Nolan, J. Sayers, B. Gannon.[/FONT][/SIZE]

Front row;
    P. Loughnane, Ml. Holyoake, Ml. Galvin, L. Lawlee, T. Lawlor, Ml. Mc Elligott,
    D. Murphy, T. MCDonagh, J. Shea, ?. Fitzmaurice, ?? O' Connor, ?. Mulvihill, P. Guerin,
    P. Fitzgerald.

Yet more road works

Church newsletter

Feb 16 2010 ;
    early morning;
    Listowel

This one is on the news.