Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Listowel Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭Lovely writer

Thanks for continuing the church newsletter.
    I heard it is now available on line via the church web site.
    But i find it easier to go to boards to see other postings about Listowel.
    Keep it up!
    Up Cork!!....and i hope you got Drisheen!!

Unfortunately, Price of a Pint, there are very few postings now. Judging by the numbers who look at the newsletter, there are still a number of "lurkers" as Sandhill Road called them. Maybe now some of them may contribute to the thread.

Still no Drisheen (to be honest I disliked it in Cork where we had it on Sunday morning). Maybe my taste as improved now. Tripe on the other hand was delicious with onions.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,072 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If anyone knows someone searching for a pair of missing specs, I found some in Garvey's SuperValu car-park yesterday evening, and left them at the customer-service counter.

Church newsletter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 TG100

Hi can any of ye listowelers help me - I am here (not far from Listo) for a few years now (from another part of the country) and still dont know anyone and have not made any friends (my other half does not go out much !!)..anyway any advice for a young momma who wants to meet people and make friends ????????????????????

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

TG100 wrote: »
    Hi can any of ye listowelers help me - I am here (not far from Listo) for a few years now (from another part of the country) and still dont know anyone and have not made any friends (my other half does not go out much !!)..anyway any advice for a young momma who wants to meet people and make friends ????????????????????
    have you enquired about joining the local swingers club? they meet once a week and its a great way of mingling.you would be surprised who you would see there.

if you havent done it before,theres nothing to be embaressed about they will guide you through.

its a help if you have your own clubs,but if not you can rent a set.pitch and putt is also a great way to keep fit.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭cyning

TG100 wrote: »

Hiya... I made a post like this in this thread a year ago!! What do you like doing??

Thanks Michael 9x6 ;) that actually gave me a good giggle but not quite what I am looking for this time :p anyone else got any suggestions ?

Hiya Cyning - gosh anything really - love arts and crafts, dancing, drinking !! socialising and having a good laugh and a bit of craic and some company..!

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭Cherry Tree

My advice is join everything you can. The badminton club is a brilliant place for making friends. Call in to Mark at The Man's Shop or drop into the Community Centre and they will give you all the contact details. You don't have to be able to play.

There are Arts and Craft classes in the Community College. The Family Centre has flower arranging. There is a branch of the I.C.A. here too.

There is super camera club in Listowel and a dancing club in Clounmacon. If you like to sing, you could approach the Church Choir or the folk group

I am an old Momma but I think that there are groups for young mothers in the Family Resource Centre. There would definitely be a good place to start to find like minded people in Listowel.

If you would like to do a bit of voluntary work there are lots of organisations in Listowel looking for volunteers.

Good Luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭John Granville

The Four Year Economic Plan and predictions of austere times ahead reminds me of how poor many people were in the ‘50’s. One enterprising family in Listowel would endeavour to raise a few extra shillings for Christmas. The father, a widower, would send his teenage daughter from door to door in the locality selling tickets for a ‘gamble for a goose’. I can’t recall how much the tickets were – a shilling or two- but certainly no permit was received from An Garda Siochana for the said ‘gamble’.
    We never won the goose and I don’t know of any neighbour who did either. I strongly suspect that the goose was of the fictitious variety!

The Four Year Economic Plan and predictions of austere times ahead reminds me of how poor many people were in the ‘50’s. One enterprising family in Listowel would endeavour to raise a few extra shillings for Christmas. The father, a widower, would send his teenage daughter from door to door in the locality selling tickets for a ‘gamble for a goose’. I can’t recall how much the tickets were – a shilling or two- but certainly no permit was received from An Garda Siochana for the said ‘gamble’.
    We never won the goose and I don’t know of any neighbour who did either. I strongly suspect that the goose was of the fictitious variety!

I'm surprised that the enterprising family's goose wasn't cooked after this.

Church newsletter

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭AnBealBocht

Much good luck, now and in the furure, to Listowel in dealing with these troubled economic times.

I was much sorrowed to hear of our old neighbour's ( Dr. Bob Corridan) death.
    I greatly enjoyed my last chat with him in his sitting room in October 2008.
    My heartfelt condolence to his family.

Yesterday in The Square a sculpture was unveiled to honour the contribution of the Presentation Sisters to North Kerry. The unique and poignantly beautiful statue was designed by Padraig Tarrant of Tralee and New York and made and engraved here in Listowel by Jimmy O'Shea.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

So Quilters Pub is opening again in the next week, (Star and garter?) should be a good opening night on the 11th of December with The Mudcat Blues band playing.

Finally a pub that can support some live music in the town.

Church newsletter

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭boroman

John Granville is right when he recalls the tough times of the 1950s, there was a lot of poverty and massive emigration. However people just got on with their lives and as I remember would go out of their way to help each other. There was a greater sense of neighbourness than there exists today. Then if you got a tear in your pants, there was a patch put on it, likewise socks that were holed were not replaced at once, they were darned. Shoes when needing repair were taken to a shoemaker and only when he would deem them irrepairable would a new pair be bought, many (myself included) would take off our shoes and go barefoot during summer days.

Most families would deem themselves very lucky to be able to go to Ballybunion on a Sunday during the summer, Spain or any of the must go holiday destinations of our recent past were only to be found in school geography’s or atlases. Very few people owned telephones, these when required were availed of in certain pubs or shops who offered a public telephone service. Not every house had a radio and televisions were a generation away. Most fun was to be had outside the home and games were made up by children themselves, DVDs, Consoles, Nintendo’s and dare I say Computers were at the time light years away.

Christmas came just the once in the year and was eagerly looked forward to, Santa’s gifts, for boys most likely guns and holsters, a hat and tin badge, games as, shakes and ladders, ludo or for the more mechanical, Macano sets and for the girls, a doll and pram. These presents would be valued for the year and only discarder as a last resort, again when irrepairable.

Life back then was uncomplicated, ordinary people in the main requiring simple everyday things.

I was prompted by John’s reference to the draw for the goose to unearth some draw tickets which I have and share them with the readers, as said, it seems that no permit was sought as can be seen in the following.
    (1) TO BE DRAWN FOR
    At the market Listowel
    On Sunday 8th March 1931
    A splendid Silver Watch
    …………………………..
    The property of Michael Walsh
    Tickets ………………6d each

(2) TO BE DRAWN FOR
    At Michael Doyle’s Dromin
    On Saturday 19th May 1929
    A Splendid Bicycle
    The property of Michael O Brien
    ………………………………..
    Tickets ………………………1/- Each

And the third one which I think is real social history.

(3) No. 344 BAZAAR AND

Grand Drawing of Prizes
    Fe Comairle Ceanntair Sinn Fein, Ciarraide Tuaid
    PRIZES

1. Photo of Austin Stack. 3 Six of our North
    Kerry Martyrs.

2. Alarm Clock. 4 A Watch.

Luac………………………….6d

Drawing starts at 7.30 p.m. in the Hall at BEDFORD, LISTOWEL.
    on January 26th. 1930.

EIRE SAOR. EIRE SEANMAR.

Church newsletter

The church newsletter as I have just got it.

DEATHS

John Sexton, William St, Listowel.

Borys Bieszczanin, Ashfield, Listowel.

Mary Thornton nee Devlin, late of Lixnaw.

Mary Cronin, died in England late of Knocknane, Listowel.

ANNIVERSARY REMEMBRANCE: Anne & Kevin Croghan, Joseph & Ann Cusack,
    Jack & Margaret Wheelan, Eddie Leahy, George Sweeney, Eddie Scanlan,
    Nora Kelly, Tim O’Sullivan.

MASSES this week

Saturday 18th Sr. De Lourdes O’Connell & Maurice O’Connell /
    Jeremiah & Margaret Scannell / William & Hannah Corkery / Peter (Junior) McCarthy / Joe, Sheila & John Costello & Deceased Family Members / Paddy Healy 1st Anniversary / Richard (Dick), Pat, Jim & William Hudson, Moyvane / David Cronin / Mary Ellen & Donie Hartnett /
    Dr. Robert Corridan – Months Mind.

Vigil
    7.00pm

Sunday 19th Deceased Members of the Stack & Buckley Families & Timothy Foley / John & Maureen Joy. 9.00am
    Deceased Members of the Browne Family &
    Bill O’Sullivan / Edmond Murphy / John Galvin /
    Deceased Members of the Hickey & Coppinger Families / Thomas Paul Nolan.
    11.00am
    Monday 20th Special Intention 10.30am
    Tuesday 21st 10.30am
    Wednesday 22nd 10.30am
    Thursday 23rd Jack & Mamie O’Connor 10.30am

Christmas
    Eve

Friday 24th
    Thomas & Joan Keating & Richard O’Connell & Teresa Healy

Thomas & Kitty O’Shea & Deceased Family Members / Kieran Corridan Birthday Remembrance / John Walsh / Ned, John & Paddy Faley & Joan, Hannah & John Walsh / Michael McDonnell & Deceased Family Members & Catherine, Maurice & Connie Kelliher & Deceased Family Members

Mass of the Nativity People of the Parish Mass
    10.30am

Vigil
    7.00pm

10.00pm

Christmas
    Day
    Saturday 25th
    Patrick & Kathleen Stack & Deceased Family Members & Nell & Jack O’Connell
    9.00am

Deceased Members of the Bartishell Family
    11.00am

St. Stephen’s
    Day

Sunday 26th
    Edel O’Halloran 2nd Anniversary
    9.00am

Tadhg Laide & Deceased Family Members

Special Extra Mass
    11.00am

12.30pm

CHRISTMAS OFFERING ENVELOPES 2010: Are available at the back of the Church. These Offerings, which support your Priest. Please return your offering into the Offertory Basket, the sacristy or into the Parish Office. Thank you for your ongoing support.

PREPARATION FOR CHRISTMAS: Advent Eucharistic Adoration will take place on this Sunday of Advent, from 3.00pm to 6.00pm, in the Adoration Chapel.

SAMARITANS ANNUAL CHURCH GATE COLLECTION: Will be taken up on 24th & 25th December at all Masses.

PRESENTATION SECONDARY SCHOOL LISTOWEL: The Staff & Pupils wish to invite parishioners to a celebration of the season with Christmas carols and festive songs. This event will take place on Tuesday 21st at 7pm. in the school hall. Everybody welcome.

ST. MARY’S Church, listowel - christmas schedule
    We invite you to share in the following Christmas celebrations with us.

MASSES

Mass daily at 10.30 a.m. from Monday, December 20th to Friday, December 24th .

Christmas Eve (Friday, Dec. 24th) 7.00 p.m. Vigil (with Listowel Parish Folk Group) This Mass will be broadcast live on Radio Kerry.

Christmas Night Mass of the Nativity at 10.00 p.m. (with Listowel Parish Choir). Preceded by Carol Singing at 9.40pm.

Christmas Day (Saturday 25th) 9.00 a.m. & 11.00 a.m.(with Listowel Parish Choir). Preceded by Carol Singing at 10.40am.

Sunday, December 26th (St. Stephen’s Day) 9.00 a.m. & 11.00.am. (with Listowel Parish Choir) & 12.30 p.m. (Extra Mass with Listowel Parish Folk Group).

Mass daily at 10.30 a.m. from Monday, December 27th to Saturday 31st .

CHRISTMAS CONFESSIONS

Special Penitential Service for Christmas, Monday, December 20th at 7.30 p.m.
    We invite as many as possible to avail of Confession on this night. It will consist of a short Penitential Service and individual confession with 9 priests present.
    Wednesday, December 22nd to Friday, December 24th after the 10.30 a.m. Mass daily and also on Friday ( Christmas Eve) 12.00 noon to 1.00 p.m.

Parish Office Closed for Christmas:
    From 1.00 p.m. Friday, Dec. 24th (Christmas Eve) to
    10.00 a.m. on Wednesday January 3rd 2011

No virus found in this message.
    Checked by AVG - www.avg.com
    Version: 10.0.1170 / Virus Database: 426/3322 - Release Date: 12/17/10

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Anyone else around listowel notice the two speed camera vans are always parked one in front of the other outside buckleys agri on the tralee road.

Surely it would make more sense to have them in different locations?

Church Newsletter

I wish everyone who reads and contributes to this thread a very happy Christmas. I hope everyone who has to travel arrives safely at his destination.

Here are a few photos I took today:

The river Feale today.

I went for a stroll through the graveyard, into the Cows' Lawn and from there to the river. The freezing fog had turned the landscape into a spooky scene reminiscent of The Road. Here are a few photos to give you an idea of what it was like. The full span of the river was frozen.

I think that Listowel's Christmas lights are the most boring an unimaginitive ones that I've ever seen anywhere.

Shoot me now.:P

I beg to differ with Ejmaztec re the lights. I think that they are classy and understated. They and the music add to the festive atmosphere.

Happy Christmas everyone! :D

Listowel is still in the grip of Jack Frost.

I beg to differ with Ejmaztec re the lights. I think that they are classy and understated. They and the music add to the festive atmosphere.

Happy Christmas everyone! :D

Some people are easily pleased.:P

...and a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to all those in Listowel and its vicinity. I hope Santy brings you all some new lights in his sack.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭cyning

The lights around the own I really like... the ones on the Christmas tree not so much! But the atmosphere is great and there are people shopping which is great too!

Merry Christmas everyone :)

... and thanks for the photos too Cherry Tree they are fab :)

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭UpTheAshes

Thank you Cherry Tree for posting the pics for those of us who are not there to see for ourselves, although I was in Listowel at the end of November. It was very cold then too and we got about an inch or an inch and a half of snow, which fell on the freezing roads and was packed into ice by motorists making for very dangerous driving. The weather is very unusual: this is two very "could" winters in a row. In my time in Listowel I can only remember snow on a handful of occasions, and it was usually melted the same day. The river hasn't frozen over since the forties, now it has frozen last year and this year. Makes you wonder.

Happy Christmas to all.