Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Listowel Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭boroman

And so it came to pass, Doodle had arrived and the awaiting crowd were ready to escort him through the town.
    I am indebted to William O Neill of Listowel and Dublin who some years ago send me this unpublished account of his recollections of the evening.

We were in the middle of our Leaving Cert. examination at St. Michaels when news of Doodles imminent arrival in town was announced, come hell or high water we would not be denied the opportunity to act as the Praetorian Guard to Doodle, this invitation coming at the behest of the evenings master or ceremonies, the late and great Johneen Keane, however to take part we had to dress as in Mardi Gras, wearing football ganseys, rarely used pyjamas, various facemasks and cork blackened faces. This added to the frivolity of the evening and also acted as a disguise so the Collage President would not recognise any of the examination candidates.
    I remember Bunny Dalton was in the lead lorry with the other musicians, Eddie Flaherty, Spud Murphy, Athie Chute are some I remember. Before the start I heard Bunny asking what music would be appropriate and John B. saying, ‘sambas, marches and anything else that ye can think of’
    The parade started and a grand tour of the town took place, Pound Lane, Charles St, Courthouse Rd and Church St. To this day I cannot forget the faces of the crowd lined streets, most were of joy and happiness, some were in awe, an old lady with rosary beads in hand, went on her knees thinking it was some senior Church dignitary while another brought outside having been Attic domiciled for years thought Doodle was the reincarnation of Parnell who had travelled the same route fifty years before.
    What followed was the funniest night I ever spend at home in Listowel’.

The above account gives us a great flavour of the occasion and I will conclude this section with a piece which John B. once wrote on his memory of the tour of the streets.

Everywhere we went, enthusiastic crowds lined the footpaths. Dogs howled unceremoniously, children bawled and old men held up their sticks in salute. Matrons held their children aloft to witness the advent of the great man. Even the Guards holding back their smiles, saluted stiff- backed as the cavalcade passed by. It was one of those scenes that never comes about by forethought. It was just the right blend of personality and atmosphere and time’

And so the scene has now been set for Doodles triumphal entry into the Small Square and into the hearts and minds of Listowel people for posterity.

For Doodle followers more to follow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 listowelbelle

boroman wrote: »
    Am I been hypercritical when I point to the fact that the Labour candidate (and a fine outstanding young man at that) in the forthcoming election is an elected member of the Tralee U.D.C. who do not allow any election literature to be displayed in the centre of Tralee town. Is it hypocrisy then that the Labour party (along with the other parties) festoon our town with posters due to the fact that our esteemed council did not have the foresight to pass a similar law? Is it possible the Labour party by showing an example and taking the honourable lead by removing their posters, then the other parties will follow suit. My vote will go to those who do not deface the streets of Listowel.

I live in Stokers and to date ive had three yes 3 pieces of literature from the juicey man but no actual person. This literature appears through my letterbox by day while I am at home. No doorbel ring and no human being!! I happen to know ARthur and he's a sound enough chap but he should seriously stick to what he knows as recently he made a speech and thought he was in the Dail !! hello!!! KERRYMAN 2 WKS ago.

I AGREE NO POSTERS MANY OF MY NEIGHBOURS HAVAE PUT UP SIGNS SAYING NO CANVASSERS!! AND MY UNCLE AGED 80 CAME TO TOWN TO BUY A PADLOCK IN Mc Kennas so he could lock his gate!!

As the Doodle cavalcade passed Cotters corner (nowadays Scullys) and into the Small Square, not even the most pessimistic of that small group, who sat in Curly Connors bar, dreaming up and planning this event many months previous could had envisaged such a large turnout which was now before their very eyes. Readers can see some of this crowd from the only photograph which is in existence of that event. (This photograph can be seen on www.irishoriginals.ie if one looks under unique collections, don’t take my word, look at it yourself!!)
    A small timber stage (the gig rig of the day) had been erected outside the premises of Listowel’s only jeweller at that time, Fred W Mann, who also kindly obliged the Doodle Executive with the stage amplification and electrical connection for the evening.
    As I have said at the outset this night is now part of Listowel folklore, at any gathering of townspeople mere mention of Doodle will draw a response of one or a number of his and his party’s promises, already we have tweaked ‘up the ashes’ into action. The following is John B Keanes eye witness account from the stage of the evening.

In the Small Square a makeshift platform had been erected outside Fred W Mann’s, the jewellers’. Fred had obligingly installed a microphone free of charge. Here the crowd was enormous. A great sea of faces was upturned expectantly towards the platform where we now found ourselves. Here too was our President, Michael Gulliver Stack, in full regalia, replete with side whiskers and spats.
    I started forward nervously to say a few words, but no sound came from my throat. The hush that followed was adamantine, undeniable. I shall never know what I said. All I remember now is that Michael Gulliver Stack was giving his immortal introductory speech to Doodle. Stack’s final sentence was drowned in a mountainous wave of laughter and shouting. And then Doodle was before the people.
    His speech is too well known to bother outlining it here. What is important is that he held three thousand suspicious North Kerrymen in the throes of laughter for nearly an hour. He began by stressing the importance of his five point plan. Here are the points.

*To plough the rocks of Bawn:
    *To build a factory for shaving the hairs from gooseberries:
    *To develop the periwinkle industry:
    *To give free treatment for sickheads:
    *To salvage the skins of black puddings after the contents had been eaten

He then went on to speak of the necessity for humour in everyday life, laughing in the face of odds and last of all, of the guiding policy of the Independent Coulogeous Party, i.e. to put the community before oneself.’

And then suddenly before people realised it, he had vanished- spirited away to parts unknown in Willy O Connor’s motor car, and has not been seen nor has identity been disclosed to this day.
    All members of that Doodle Executive have now passed to their eternal reward and with their demise the true identity of Doodle. Idle speculation arises from time as to who he was and whence he came, many names are mentioned but unless we hear it from beyond the grave, that is what it will always remain, idle speculation.

Next, life after Doodle, and Doodles legacy.

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭Price of a Pint

:DCheck out " Ballotbox.ie"
    Let the debate continue!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭Hasschu

Both FF and FG have little to gain and a lot to lose by allowing the overseas Irish a vote in national elections. It is abundantly obvious that both parties have lined their pockets and bestowed many favours on their supporters. The voters have voted for immediate favours as opposed to supporting candidates that might be inclined to manage the economy and steer the ship of state with a steady hand toward continued prosperity. Being bribed with our own money is a national addiction. Neither FF or FG would have their hooks into the overseas Irish which means they would be impervious to irrresponsible promises and would be inclined to vote for a party that would not be issuing favours. God in heaven help us, voters outside of our control. An Irish pols nightmare. As long as the tweedle dum and tweedle dee game continues to be played the overseas Irish can go fly a kite.

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭UpTheAshes

:cool:Life after Doodle.

As I have said, Doodle made just the one public appearance, however in a later recollection by John B. Keane in which appraised the contribution of Doodle, he said,

Now, the question may be asked- what was the precise function of Doodle ?That can be answered by asking if any one of us has a precise function, but that would not be enough. His function on that particular occasion was to chase ‘the bitterness out of local politics’. A General Election was held a few days after his appearance and never was there a better conducted one in the history of the locality. The bitterness was gone. Doodle, therefore, for that alone was well worthwhile.
    He was, too, it cannot be denied, an outlet for the high-spirited youth of the town. He was a preoccupation that kept us out of mischief and away from the corners. His creation was also an unforgettable phase inasmuch as we were never happier than during this time’

The Doodle Executive remained in place for some years after; the members were Tommy Murphy, John B. Keane, Sean Grogan, Danny Kelliher and Willy O Connor.
    On the last Monday of January in subsequence years they held a banquet ( these were called Doodle Frolics) in memory of Doodle, attendance was by invitation only and strict rules applied. The following is a menu from the 5th Frolic.

Menu & Programme
    Guest of Honour- Jacko Lenihan
    Patrons: Frank the Barber.
    His Lordship Rev Cornelius O Sullivan,
    Bishop of Gurtenard and the Quarry.
    The Buganda of the Doodle Whachs.
    Townarki piddle fondoo malanki filliongkong.
    (joy to him of the porter tooth)
    Under the Tutelage of Tom Doodle D.F.L.
    The erection of two firkins of Guinness Stout followed by tapping of same, whereat silence will prevail.
    Ante- dinner toast to the late George Finucane, S.O.D., honoured member of the executive.
    Toast to Guest of Honour.
    Grace and brief oration by his Excellency The Gulliver Stack M.I.D.
    Dinner.
    “Joy to him of the Porter Tooth” sermon by Very Rev. Dr. Cornelius O Sullivan on the beneficialness of drink. (St. Paul’s Epistle to the Joeys)
    Lecture by Tim Shanahan entitled “Raimeish”
    Vocal contributions by various Party Members.
    Porter.
    Soup.
    Doodle Anthem.
    Our song is sung for Doodle Tom, he set us free
    He is no gom, our Doodle Tom, the champion of love and liberty
    Three cheers for Tom, Three beers for Tom
    Three cheers and beers for Tom and victory
    In conclusion I will leave the final words to the late John B Keane who inspired the Doodle story and what was to become a legend, who quoted the immortal words of his great friend Michael Gulliver Stack when he was asked?
    What of Doodle, friend’ and Gulliver’s reply through pursed lips was:
    ‘Doodle will appear again when his country needs him’
    Viva La Doodle

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭UpTheAshes

Use your noodle,
    Vote for Doodle!

• Registered Users Posts: 35 listowel8

I would like to thank boroman for all the effort he put into putting all the tom doodle on boards.It was really enjoyable reading about it again but also as the picture of doodle and the crowd was taken facing my old house [sheehy]
    which i have not been inside in over 45 yrs.I probably am one of the kids in the window with my mother looking it it all.also it is the only picture that i have of it and thanks to boroman and his listowel originals have 4 placemats which each of my kids have one to show what a wonderful town that i came from.Strict orders No hot plates on the mats,any damage out of the will.When i see the gob****es running the country and even the next bunch could Tom Doodle be any worse.We have some of the same here now,yet we have to pay and no one sees the inside of a jail.Maybe the Boroman will venture into the political ring again.you would get the immigrant vote hands down.Up the small square.

]

]

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭Lovely writer

Church Newsletter

;) Thank you listowel 8, whoever you are, flattery will not get you anywhere, I dont know about further potitical ambitions, however, maybe if there was nobody around interested in the Irish Presidency then I might think about given it a go. !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭John Granville

;) Thank you listowel 8, whoever you are, flattery will not get you anywhere, I dont know about further potitical ambitions, however, maybe if there was nobody around interested in the Irish Presidency then I might think about given it a go. !!!

Now is your chance, Boroman. Change your name to 'Doodle' and enter the political fray. You'll be guaranteed a strong vote in North Kerry, and other areas will certainly sit up and take notice - especially if you adopt the same policies as the original Doodle. You could add some new ones to spice things up a bit. Any suggestions out there?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,072 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Now is your chance, Boroman. Change your name to 'Doodle' and enter the political fray. You'll be guaranteed a strong vote in North Kerry, and other areas will certainly sit up and take notice - especially if you adopt the same policies as the original Doodle. You could add some new ones to spice things up a bit. Any suggestions out there?

I think that a fictitious politician has probably done a lot more for Listowel than the real live ones.

For anyone with an interest in the North Kerry championship, the delayed final between Emmets (going for their three in a row)and Tarbert was played yesterday in wet, windy and cold Ballybunion. The game which never rose to great heights ended in a draw, considering the poor ground conditions I think that was a fair result. The date for the replay is been fixed tonight, some say it might go out to March. Will keep the thread posted.

The replay of the North Kerry final is on in Moyvane on Sunday, 27th February.
    Up the Emmets.

This may be of help to those people who want to vote in the general election.

It comes from today's Irish Times.

The website is the brainchild of young Irish emigrants Brian Reynolds and John Byrne, both of whom are living and working in Toronto.
    “Our aim is to highlight how emigrants are immediately disenfranchised once they leave Ireland in stark contrast to all other European Union countries, except Greece,” Mr Byrne said. “A vote at Ballotbox.ie may not be a real vote, but it’s the next best thing,” he said.
    The site has a full list of constituencies and candidates, and voting is based on the traditional proportional representation by the single transferable vote (PR-STV) system.

Participation will be restricted to those living outside Ireland through the use of IP technology. The site will also discourage multiple voting by using e-mail and SMS technology to identify voters.
    More than 2,500 people have registered to vote with the site, which is being administered by volunteer staff in Dublin. The results of the ballot will to be released shortly before next Thursday’s vote.
    Founder of the Irish Voice newspaper in the US, Niall ODowd said Irish citizens abroad, like those of all other EU countries, should be afforded the right to vote.
    "Those same emigrants have been deeply impacted in their life decisions by the policies Irish politicians and governments have pursued. They are entitled to make their views known too. I welcome the launch of Ballotbox.ie and hope it raises awareness of this important issue," he said.

Church Newsletter

I do not know if Doodle read The Irish Times but I think this from Irish Man's Diary is recognition at last.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2011/0219/1224290287185.html

Is'nt it great that the goings on of our humble thread are been monitored by such a renowned newspaper as the Irish Times, it brings back uncanny similarities with the headlines on the Skibereen Eagle when they warned the Russian Empire that " We are watching you"
    Doodle could yet be the genesis of a peaceful revolution. :eek:
    Viva La Doodle.

Is'nt it great that the goings on of our humble thread are been monitored by such a renowned newspaper as the Irish Times, it brings back uncanny similarities with the headlines on the Skibereen Eagle when they warned the Russian Empire that " We are watching you"
    Doodle could yet be the genesis of a peaceful revolution. :eek:
    Viva La Doodle.

Some of those lazy journalists are always sniffing around Boards.ie for a Pulitzer prize winning story. Most of them never leave their desks and have vitamin D deficiency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭John Granville

Now that Tom Doodle has been given national prominence in the Irish Times and the Lartigue Railway had a programme all to itself on TG4, it might be timely to mention another North Kerry institution. I refer to the wonderful Teach Siamsa in Finuge.
    “A Celebration of Siamsa Tire & the Sounds of Kerry” takes place in the National Concert Hall, Dublin on Sat. March 5. The NCH blurb describes the event as “An enchanting evening of traditional song and Irish dance featuring the very best in Kerry and Southwest talent.”
    The organisers hope to raise much-needed funds for Teach Siamsa in Finuge. Come along and support if you can and be sure to tell all your Dublin based friends about the event.

A little birdie has told me that Doodle will be mentioned again in tomorrows Irish Times/ Frank McNally.. An Irishmans Dairy.
    I shutter to think what an effect our own Doodle would have had on the country at large if he had been unshackled sooner. He would have been unrivaled in any debate, benign but nerves of steel. He also had the benefit of a real classical education and had a PHD in Bog Latin. His early mensa, mensae and alpha, beta were honed and polished between rain induced breakes during long days of turf cutting and saving on the wind swept Stacks Mountains many years ago.
    Viva La Doodle:cool:

And there I was minding my own business having a few pints for nourishment at the Shebeen last Monday night when who walked in but the bould and brave "price of the pint"
    I must say that he is looking as well as ever,considering that he was snowed under and housebound for so long this passed winter.
    He tells me that he hopes to renew friendship over a few pints(what else)with an old sidekick Dylan fan at the Races in September.

Church newsletter

This video shows The Town Park And the Community Centre

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-foPISEb0Pk

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭AnBealBocht

This video shows The Town Park And the Community Centre

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-foPISEb0Pk

Good luck.

Nice video, Lovely Writer. Thanks.

Church newsletter

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭Cherry Tree

"While in Kerry North West Limerick, Labour Deputy-elect Arthur Spring has seats to fill on both Tralee Town and Kerry County Councils. However the party says it's not going to allow newly elected TDs to co-opt family members to their council seats. "

Deo Gratias!!!!
    Looks like the penny has finally dropped.

"While in Kerry North West Limerick, Labour Deputy-elect Arthur Spring has seats to fill on both Tralee Town and Kerry County Councils. However the party says it's not going to allow newly elected TDs to co-opt family members to their council seats. "

Deo Gratias!!!!
    Looks like the penny has finally dropped.

They must have some cronies lined up for the positions instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭Cherry Tree

Where will we go now for a safety pin or a reel of thread?

Another of the town's old businesses closing. The people of North Kerry will be sad to see it go.
    Thank you to the Moriarty family and all the staff, who were always so nice to deal with. You will be missed.