Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

17/09/05 - safest day in Dublin in years!

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

I say we take off, nike the site form orbit....its the only way to be sure :rolleyes:

Jaysus theys be sweeping up elizabeth duke gold soverigns and burberry caps for months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

getting into fights as a teeny is to be accepted when you have an attitude towards tracksuits and are surrounded by them. These days my life is one of thirty something tranquillity :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Deadwing wrote:
    I say we take off, nuke the site form orbit....its the only way to be sure :rolleyes:

****ing eh!

I agree with peeps above, These people do have the choice to dress the way they do, thus they label themselves as scum and therefore deserve to be treated the way they are treated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Bambi wrote:
    getting into fights as a teeny is to be accepted when you have an attitude towards tracksuits and are surrounded by them. These days my life is one of thirty something tranquillity :D

Getting into fights as a teenager is to be expected when you have an attitude towards tracksuits and are surrounded by those sporting them. These days my life is one of thirty-something tranquillity.

The state spent enough on your education for you to do them the kindness of using it.

Does that sentence not imply that you also judge people based on their appearance? I haven’t mentioned track-suits once in my posts. The track-suit is only one part of the skanger uniform.

Sleepy wrote:
    Getting into fights as a teenager is to be expected when you have an attitude towards tracksuits and are surrounded by those sporting them. These days my life is one of thirty-something tranquillity.

The state spent enough on your education for you to do them the kindness of using it.

Does that sentence not imply that you also judge people based on their appearance? I haven’t mentioned track-suits once in my posts. The track-suit is only one part of the skanger uniform.

Obviously the state didnt spend enough on your comprehension skills

I wrote accepted and i meant accepted. If you have a bad attitude towards TRACKSUITS and you live in an area where there are many TRACKSUITS around then you should ACCEPT that conflict is inevitable.

"Does that sentence not imply that you also judge people based on their appearance? "

Once again, basic comprehension skills: "judged" would have been the correct word. Past tense.

Look, i know you've lost the argument here but really if you're going to fall back on pedantry DO try to get it right, theres a good chap. :)

Now, how about we bomb that iron maiden gig and get rid of all those villainous hells angels that will be in attendance? y'know the type, long hair, leather jackets. How vile :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Bambi wrote:

I wrote accepted and i meant accepted. If you have a bad attitude towards TRACKSUITS and you live in an area where there are many TRACKSUITS around then you should ACCEPT that conflict is inevitable.

"Does that sentence not imply that you also judge people based on their appearance? "

Once again, basic comprehension skills: "judged" would have been the correct word. Past tense.

Look, i know you've lost the argument here but really if you're going to fall back on pedantry DO try to get it right, theres a good chap. :)

Now, how about we bomb that iron maiden gig and get rid of all those villainous hells angels that will be in attendance? y'know the type, long hair, leather jackets. How vile :rolleyes:

How exactly has he lost the argument? Because you said so?
    Answer me this, why is it that on crimeline, etc on the cctv cameras and in the reconstructions - the majority of the time the people instigating the crime are wearing nike/adidas/reebok/baseball caps/etc and not metallica/iron maiden t-shirts and baggy jeans?

pfft i've been given hassle by these biker types and so have my friends/co-workers/pet goldfish. The way they CHOOSE to dress clearly shows their contempt for society. Why can't you accept that people who choose to dress in such an agressive and anti-social manner deserve our disdain :confused:

I've also seen plenty of video evidence on COPS and other shows that baggy jeans/mullets/metallica t-shirts are the fashion statements of the delinquent. I work right beside the RDS and have seen this type of behaviour first hand, drunkeness, fights, urination, blocking traffic... the humanity.

Also i saw iron maiden 15 years ago and they sucked tbh. nuke 'em :mad:

Bambi wrote:

If one applies correct grammatical comprehension towards your writing you get the 'sentence': "Getting into fights as a teenager when you have an attitude towards track-suits and are surrounded by them is accepted" (or at least if one assumes by 'teeny' you mean teenager. This would still leave the question as to who is accepting the violence. Most members of society take issue to violence so I can only assume this means that you're speaking (badly) for yourself.

And regarding the spelling of track-suit: http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=track-suit

Decoding your writings is far from basic comprehension.
    I find it strange that you know the outcome of something which hasn't happened yet. Or are you confusing the verb 'to know' with the verb 'to believe'. Is English your second language? Otherwise you've really no excuse. Can I suggest copying and pasting your posts into Microsoft Word and running the spelling and grammar checker before clicking 'Submit Reply'?
    You know, for their violent appearance, I've never met a metalhead who acted in that manner.

Sleepy wrote:
    If one applies correct grammatical comprehension towards your writing you get the 'sentence': "Getting into fights as a teenager when you have an attitude towards track-suits and are surrounded by them is accepted" (or at least if one assumes by 'teeny' you mean teenager. This would still leave the question as to who is accepting the violence. Most members of society take issue to violence so I can only assume this means that you're speaking (badly) for yourself.

And regarding the spelling of track-suit: http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=track-suit

You know, for their violent appearance, I've never met a metalhead who acted in that manner.

oh man, where do we start with this lad. arguing over the correct spelling of track-suit in order to hide an inability to make a counter-point :rolleyes: dearie me.

Allow me to explain something: when i, and most others it seems, post here i generally use informal language. If I'm sending an RFP off to a company I'll cross my i't and dot my t's... otherwise I'm afraid ur just gng 2 hv 2 liv wit it m8 :p

yep, technically english is my second language, primary and secondary education was through irish. Nice attempt at smart arsedness though, now how about getting back on topic and leaving the ad homeenumms (oh no!! misspelt) to someone who can carry em off with a bit o klass?? theres a good chappie.

i have. loads.
    but im sure you'll understand that yours, or anybody elses, experiences have no bearing on my prejudices. After all, thats your core argument here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

This thread is a perfect illustration of my earlier comment. Most dubs are either tracker-knackers or pretentious yaw yaws that spend their time looking down their nose at everyone who doesn't appear to measure up to their own perceived social status.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

how's that chip treating ya...? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

RuggieBear wrote:
    how's that chip treating ya...? :D
    Which one? Have a whole plate of them in front of me! :)
    Edit: After reading this thread I don't think anyone can single me out as having a chip on my shoulder!

Which one? Have a whole plate of them in front of me! :)
    Edit: After reading this thread I don't think anyone can single me out as having a chip on my shoulder!

lol...

tbh, if you ever met me..i'd live up to many of your prejudices.... :o :eek: :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

a rascist posh knacker white/black guy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭nadir

Bambi :cool:

a rascist posh knacker white/black guy?
    that's pretty close..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Deadwing wrote:
    I say we take off, nike the site form orbit....its the only way to be sure :rolleyes:

Do you not think niking the site will make the problem worse ;)

Bambi wrote:
    oh man, where do we start with this lad. arguing over the correct spelling of track-suit in order to hide an inability to make a counter-point :rolleyes: dearie me.

Allow me to explain something: when i, and most others it seems, post here i generally use informal language. If I'm sending an RFP off to a company I'll cross my i't and dot my t's... otherwise I'm afraid ur just gng 2 hv 2 liv wit it m8 :p
    I've made plenty of points in this thread. You just chose to ignore them. Your point so far has been that it's rascism to discriminate against scumbags. This has been repeatedly explained to you but you're either too thick, or too stubborn to absorb the points made to you.
    yep, technically english is my second language, primary and secondary education was through irish. Nice attempt at smart arsedness though, now how about getting back on topic and leaving the ad homeenumms (oh no!! misspelt) to someone who can carry em off with a bit o klass?? theres a good chappie.
    Well, in that case, I sure hope your Irish is a hell of a lot better than your English. It's still not an awful lot to ask that you learn how to write in the main language of the country you were born and raised in, was it.

After all, thats your core argument here
    Nope, my core arguments are as follows:

1. It is not rascism to discriminate against a group of people that *choose* to include themselves in a group of social degenerates. For a predjudice to be rascism it must be based on ethnic and racial distinctions, of which scumbags have neither.
    2. The discrimination against scumbags is well warranted.
    3. That an Eminem concert will attract scumbags and when mixing that fact with the woeful security you get at Slane every year, that concert is a recipe for trouble.

Sleepy wrote:
    I've made plenty of points in this thread. You just chose to ignore them. Your point so far has been that it's rascism to discriminate against scumbags. This has been repeatedly explained to you but you're either too thick, or too stubborn to absorb the points made to you.

now, now dont go calling people names just because you're safely ensconced behind a forum, its a bit naughty
    Sleepy wrote:
    Well, in that case, I sure hope your Irish is a hell of a lot better than your English. It's still not an awful lot to ask that you learn how to write in the main language of the country you were born and raised in, was it.

Hmm no one else seems to have problem with my english :confused: is it cos i is fick?? But i can even use clever phrases like "clutching at straws"!! im sure you're familiar with that one

Nope, my core arguments are as follows:

1. It is not rascism to discriminate against a group of people that *choose*
    to include themselves in a group of social degenerates. For a predjudice to be rascism it must be based on ethnic and racial distinctions, of which scumbags have neither.

its the same mentality that drives racism. That of a dog who's afraid of all steel tubes because someone pointed a hoover at him once..woof!!

Now, are you going to agree with me that all marilyn manson fans choose to ally themselves to a group of social degenerates and get in on this plot to nuke the RDS or WHAT?

Its is, and also discrimination against anyone who fits your/mine/your pet goldfish's mental picture of a scumbag, especially those tracksuits/hells angels/MM fan types :mad:

3. That an Eminem concert will attract scumbags and when mixing that fact with the woeful security you get at Slane every year, that concert is a recipe for trouble

Some guy got a breeze block smashed over his head at bob dylan in slane (damn hippies), there was a far bit of trouble at that too. There could be killings at U2. I've been to metal gigs that were riots basically. You nearly had a point there, but it fell off that high horse a while back :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Christ, another class wars skanger thread......

Look, as said, all scumbags wear trackies, but not all trackie wearers are scumbags. Stop the press: I LIKE TRACKSUITS! Why? Because they are looser and more comfy than jeans
    Will Eminem attract scumbags? Yes. Plenty. He will also attract 13 year old girls. He will also attract a few people in their late 30s. He will also attract the parents of kids who want to go who need supervising (sweet jesus, I honestly cant imagine bringing my mam to a rap gig, fcuk me like)
    Heres a question- when Oasis play Marlay Park, will there be scum in attendance? Yes. Two of them will be on the stage performing for a start :D They mightnt be as big of a scum draw as they were in the mid 90s, but there will still be a few in the crowd
    When U2 play Croke, will there be scumbags there? Yes there will, because whilst rap and dance are what they blast out of the car, quite a few think yew tew are bleedin raphid
    About 1% of Irish scumbags wear burberry. Most of them avoid it, terrified someone might mistake them for a pikey

Festival security are indeed a shady crowd. I know a lad who did Oxegen last year, often drugs seized were either used or resold. I remember in the dance arena on the sunday evening last year a pile of security men out on the floor in their uniforms off their tits on yokes :D IIRC they used to get paid on arrival, so alot of them would just **** off inside

For all your whining, most of you like bands or football teams with members who are fabolously rich retired howiyas

Bambi wrote:
    its the same mentality that drives racism. That of a dog who's afraid of all steel tubes because someone pointed a hoover at him once..woof!!
    Racism is driven by the fear of the unknown and ignorance. Choosing to cross the street when you see scumbags is motivated by experience and common sense. To a scumbag, violence and ignorance are ways of life.
    Now, are you going to agree with me that all marilyn manson fans choose to ally themselves to a group of social degenerates and get in on this plot to nuke the RDS or WHAT?
    That's just silly.

Its is, and also discrimination against anyone who fits your/mine/your pet goldfish's mental picture of a scumbag, especially those tracksuits/hells angels/MM fan types :mad:
    I don't know why I'm bothering to explain common sense to you any more but I'll give it one last try:

Choosing to ally yourself to a subculture of our society known for it's inability to speak coherently, it's attitude towards violence, it's lack of respect for anyone or their property, it's ignorance and it's criminality is reason enough for others to treat you as beneath contempt.

Being a scumbag is a lifestyle choice. As is being a goth, D4 prat, metal-head or even *shock horror* being a regular person who doesn't fall into any of these subcultures. However, the ignorance, violence etc. while they may exist within the other subcultures (at pretty much the same level as the ordinary joe bloggs), are not it's defining features. If you choose to become a goth and wear the dark clothes, pale make-up and piercings you choose to live a lifestyle where in all probability no-one will ever hire you for a job where you have to be presentable to the public. When you choose to be a thug, you choose to be discrimated against for being a violent little idiot by society at large.
    3. That an Eminem concert will attract scumbags and when mixing that fact with the woeful security you get at Slane every year, that concert is a recipe for trouble

Some guy got a breeze block smashed over his head at bob dylan in slane (damn hippies), there was a far bit of trouble at that too. There could be killings at U2. I've been to metal gigs that were riots basically. You nearly had a point there, but it fell off that high horse a while back :(
    Again, violence can occur anywhere but when you have a group that are predominantly from one subculture (scumbags) and that subculture features violence and thuggery as it's defining features the chances of violece occuring en masse sky-rocket.

[EDIT] And are you sure you've got the right concert or do you really mean to say you're using an incident from a concert that happened 21 years ago in an argument on modern day scumbags?[/EDIT]

Tha Gopher wrote:
    For all your whining, most of you like bands or football teams with members who are fabolously rich retired howiyas
    Don't even get me started on Aslan :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Whatever_fools

Sleepy seriously put a cork in it, you're boring everyone now...

Just go sit in a corner and you can be as petulant as you like there fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Piste wrote:
    And perhaps some kite-flying too down Capel street?
    Just keep away from that Lewis chap, shocking altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Easily_Irritated

Sleepy wrote:
    Just go sit in a corner and you can be as petulant as you like there fool.

'I pity the fool' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

Why not just drop a bomb on Slane that day?Then we'd be sorted for good.
    Brilliant, I fully support your idea. In fact, I will sit on that bomb and ride it all the way down, hooting and waving my cowboy hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭nadir

Ive always stayed away from threads like these, but man ..... this one takes the biscuit, you guys suck, it's like ye are so scared of tracksuits, roflmao.
    Giblet, Ajnag, and Bambi are totally right!

this is pure racism btw imho. Same sentiment at least.

heh, well at least ye live in fear, it's punishment enough i guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

nadir wrote:
    Ive always stayed away from threads like these, but man ..... this one takes the biscuit, you guys suck, it's like ye are so scared of tracksuits, roflmao.
    Giblet, Ajnag, and Bambi are totally right!

this is pure racism btw imho. Same sentiment at least.

heh, well at least ye live in fear, it's punishment enough i guess.

I don't live in fear, I live sensibly. FFS they can teach this stuff to hamsters, if a hamster gets an electric shock, he is not going to go near the source of the shock or anything that looks like it again.

Fear? Not at all. A sense of disgust that these muppets are allowed to exist, procreate and waste my taxes? Very definitely.

You seem to mistake hatred for fear. Contrary to what the Bible bashers of the southern states of America would have you believe, they are not the same thing. That said, the existence of scumbags certainly casts doubt on Darwinism which I'm sure the rednecks would be happy about :rolleyes: