Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Gen:FX

Thanks for the shouts so far lads -

NovaGSi and ES-Cee - PM'd you both.
    Nice one chief but any chance you can fire it up on your web site any time soon cant see feckin youtube here:mad:

C-Quence - Move it Everybody (iPOD - MP4 / H.264 format)
    Download Video - http://www.mediafire.com/?d5yz5nwiy23
    Download Audio - http://www.mediafire.com/?ygrzdjj3kkm

The video I have of them live has no audio on it. The audio in the video is from a 2track cassette that the lads gave me about 15+ years ago and I only recently found it doing a clear out, it's not actually live either, I mixed it up a bit (added Mc Deco K *aka DJ Thyme* and some other discreet samples) to give it a live feel. Deco did Mc for them that night, so I feel it all gels well together.... ;)
    just got my hands on 4 VHS tapes. Recordings from Mayday Germany, two from 1995 and two from 97. Record off satellite back then. Should be interesting watching :D if there any good ill upload them..
    Yo Stomp - Post them anyway, regardless of quality / content. If their from 95+97 they'll be good no doubt. - Look forward to it. ;)

Nice1 Derra - I'll have a bit of that Video.... good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Gen:FX wrote: »

Download Video - http://www.mediafire.com/?d5yz5nwiy23
    Download Audio - http://www.mediafire.com/?ygrzdjj3kkm

Your a gent Caf fair play for bangin it up on MP4 so quick for D/L;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭derra

NovaGSi wrote: »
    Morning folks,

heading to Frankfurt on Thursday morning, I'll be staying their one night only - heading on up to Spa for the GP in a camper van via the Nurburgring on Friday morn...thats another story:)

Anyway, does anyone have any clubs to recommend in Frankfurt??? Looking for techno, plain and simple stuff a bit dark and dirty maybe:D

A bit like this..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=178ou4nnU7k

Cheers,
    Mick

From what i hear Mick ya seem to be out of luck for this Thurs. and would really wanna be heading to Frankfurt for a oldskool night as the scene has changed so much over there, even getting anything to enhance the evening is a task in itself..
    With it being a Thursday night your looking to go out your not spoilt for choice either unfortunately,am told the places would not be busy..
    Few things that are on but don't think it be our cup of tea especially with track ya posted which is brilliant but unless it's an oldskool night ya won't be hearing anything like it..
    So far i heard of these on and they be getting back to me if they spot anything else that would suit ya more, think U60311 club is split into two sections,minimal and hard techno ,so hopefully something could be on there.
    Anyway will keep ya posted if anything is recommended :)
    23:00 Uhr
    Marvin Hinkel & Friends
    Vinylbar (Frankfurt am Main)

22:00 Uhr
    Electronic Lifestyle
    U60311 / U-Bar (Frankfurt/Main)

20:00 Uhr
    Julian Smith
    Unity (Frankfurt am Main)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tdv

Wats the story lads, trying to get a tracklist for Ed Case Magic Roundabout mix. This is what we've got so far.

Part 1:
    1.Cordial - Candle Light (???? remix)
    2.Helicopter - Jamama (aquarius remix) - http://www.discogs.com/release/829162
    3.Short N Curly - Getin Funky - http://www.discogs.com/release/254940
    4.????
    5.Rollin Gear - Get It Together - http://www.discogs.com/release/266432
    6.The Beat Syndicate - Dancing Daffodils - http://www.discogs.com/release/165654
    7.Dirty Harry - Make My Day - http://www.discogs.com/release/412039

Part 2:
    1.U.P.M. - Put Down The Body - http://www.discogs.com/release/1743128
    2.Funkysensuals - BG Tips - http://www.discogs.com/release/320271
    3.Tao - Power House - http://www.discogs.com/release/100042
    4.????
    5.Blue Room - Spread Love -http://www.discogs.com/release/428142
    6.G & V Jay - I Gonna Get The Boy (Zone Mix) - http://www.discogs.com/release/596702
    7.Planet E Team - Goroo - http://www.discogs.com/release/139937

Any help would be great. Cheers.

New forum barely started by couple of the lads off YT for all things oldskool Ireland & Uk..
    Only takes a min to register, be a good base to have all mixes ,tunes ,flyers,videos etc
    So try and take the time to sign up and have an oul gander now and then :)
    http://properoldskool.forumsmusic.com/forum.htm

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

derra wrote: »
    New forum barely started by couple of the lads off YT for all things oldskool Ireland & Uk..
    Only takes a min to register, be a good base to have all mixes ,tunes ,flyers,videos etc
    So try and take the time to sign up and have an oul gander now and then :)
    http://properoldskool.forumsmusic.com/forum.htm

Good stuff, registered!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭loveforcelbridg

Anyone found mrs roy yet :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

Anyone found mrs roy yet :pac::pac::pac:

i'll do it 2morrow.

sorry for annoying ye over it, ive been dying for the tune:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭NovaGSi

From what i hear Mick ya seem to be out of luck for this Thurs. and would really wanna be heading to Frankfurt for a oldskool night as the scene has changed so much over there, even getting anything to enhance the evening is a task in itself..
    With it being a Thursday night your looking to go out your not spoilt for choice either unfortunately,am told the places would not be busy..
    Few things that are on but don't think it be our cup of tea especially with track ya posted which is brilliant but unless it's an oldskool night ya won't be hearing anything like it..
    So far i heard of these on and they be getting back to me if they spot anything else that would suit ya more, think U60311 club is split into two sections,minimal and hard techno ,so hopefully something could be on there.
    Anyway will keep ya posted if anything is recommended :)
    23:00 Uhr
    Marvin Hinkel & Friends
    Vinylbar (Frankfurt am Main)

22:00 Uhr
    Electronic Lifestyle
    U60311 / U-Bar (Frankfurt/Main)

20:00 Uhr
    Julian Smith
    Unity (Frankfurt am Main)

Fair play derra,

you must have a few good contacts in frankfurt then??

It looks like we are going to hit U600311, I had a look at their website, it looks promising.

Thursday night doesn't seem to be a big night out in Frankfurt, the recession has had an effect on their weekends aswell, no such thing as the weekend starting on a Thursday never mind a Wednesday:( Just like back in the day when it was Fri and Sat in Sides DC or the likes:D

Thanks again for all the help.

Cheers,
    Mick

NovaGSi and ES-Cee - PM'd you both.

The video I have of them live has no audio on it. The audio in the video is from a 2track cassette that the lads gave me about 15+ years ago and I only recently found it doing a clear out, it's not actually live either, I mixed it up a bit (added Mc Deco K *aka DJ Thyme* and some other discreet samples) to give it a live feel. Deco did Mc for them that night, so I feel it all gels well together.... ;)

It gels together very well, you had me fooled:o it all works really well, fair play, as usual you put a lot of effort into your productions.

Any chance of MP3??? or can you convert mp4 to 3?

Cheers,
    Mick

Any chance of MP3??? or can you convert mp4 to 3?

Cheers,
    Mick

Caf already posted it Mick:rolleyes:

Doh...I just assumed (big mistake) it was mp4 when I saw the above text... that'll teach me:o

Just listening now:D, it has that base echo as if it was live from the Ormond, deadly

Cheers,
    Mick

MRS ROY - FANTASY (FLIP SIDE).mp3

Code - vnhmdvndxod

MRS ROY - FANTASY.mp3

Code - 1zjmzeyyjuu

Fair play derra,

It looks like we are going to hit U600311, I had a look at their website, it looks promising.

Thursday night doesn't seem to be a big night out in Frankfurt, the recession has had an effect on their weekends aswell, no such thing as the weekend starting on a Thursday never mind a Wednesday:( Just like back in the day when it was Fri and Sat in Sides DC or the likes:D

Cheers,
    Mick

Was over there a couple months back for an oldskool night and met a few i knew from YouTube and that..
    One day be enough there for ya anyway , if ya think it is bad outside Tara St.,wait till ya see directly across from Hauptbahnhof central train sation,
    Ya will see alot of junkies dealing and shooting up there in a main tourist area and it also the Red Light Area but no getting away from it as it leads ya down to main shopping area which is nice and so is the rest of the city in fairness..
    Ya will probably go for few scoops in O'Reilys bar across from that station and ya will see what i mean.
    Go for a pint on top of zeilgallerie shopping centre ,wicked view of the city from there,ya will come across it easy..
    Just got another message there saying that U60311 is the only place worthwhile visiting on Thursday,it's only a fiver in so if it's dirt just head on a pub crawl :D

aceberg wrote: »
    MRS ROY - FANTASY (FLIP SIDE).mp3

Code - vnhmdvndxod

MRS ROY - FANTASY.mp3

Code - 1zjmzeyyjuu

SOUND!!, thank you sooo much, if theres ever a bouncy hardhouse tune you want, ill get i for ya :pac:.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭Fitze

jonny68 wrote: »
    HARCORE UPROAR 2009 TRAILER

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qe8n_63TZcs

IMO this is the best tune in the history of dance music,i never forget hearing this tune for the first time and it is an absolute classic, i know Jay Kay done a remix,and a good job he done as well but im seriously looking forward to this release,vintage stuff :cool:

Cracking stuff Jonny, how is the nipper??

SOUND!!, thank you sooo much, if theres ever a bouncy hardhouse tune you want, ill get i for ya :pac:.

na prabs :D

Heres a real gut buster of a track to mark page 500 im not sure where i obtained it from but it is most likley from somone on here......absolute fuc.king belter

Infrequent Oscillation - Burning Phibes
    61zt5jxnmyy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Heres a real gut buster of a track to mark page 500 im not sure where i obtained it from but it is most likley from somone on here......absolute fuc.king belter

Infrequent Oscillation - Burning Phibes
    61zt5jxnmyy

nice track indeed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,493 ✭✭✭francois

seeing as we are at 500

And UFO :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

Evening Lads & Lasses of the old skool variety.

I recently recorded my 1st old skool mix on the 1s & 2s and thought it best to post in here as I would really appreciate any feedback from
    posters on this forum. Its by no means perfect but Im happy enough with it. Couple of little messy bits here and there but alas!!!

A bit of background about myself, Im only 25 but absolutely love all the oldies more than anything and I collect all them on vinyl, I got my 1st set of decks 3 years ago after years of wanting to!! I grew up listening to dance music as Im the youngest of 4 siblings and the lot of them were into the scene back in the day. If I could have one wish in this world it would be that I was born ten years earlier so I could have experienced the dance explosion. :pac:

Anyways the mix is a collection of some of my favourite tunes of all time.

Hope yee all enjoy and as I said i'd appreciate any feedback. ;)

http://www.mediafire.com/?q3wadjquiyd

Tracklist

1. Choo Ables "Hard to Get"
    2. Funk Machine "I've closed the Door"
    3. Paolino & Gianni Bini "I'm Falling" (F.O.S Theory)
    4. Slam "Eterna"
    5. Mombassa "Cry Freedom"
    6. The Wildchild Experience "Let me tell you"
    7. Coco Steel & Lovebomb "Feel It" (My favourite tune of all time!):p
    8. Deep Beats Volume 1
    9. Solar Plexus "Solar Plexus"
    10. V.O.A.T "Moonchild"
    11. Karen Pollock "You cant touch me"
    12. M.A.W feat. Xavier Gold "Gonna get back to us"
    13. Intuition "Dance with me"
    14. Atelier "Got to live Together"

Cheers Fintomiginto, will have a blast of that ,few tracks there that don't ring a bell so might be a few tune ids in there :)

Nice one derra, really appreciate you downloading it.
    Its a very housey set.

I recently recorded my 1st old skool mix on the 1s & 2s and thought it best to post in here as I would really appreciate any feedback from
    posters on this forum. Its by no means perfect but Im happy enough with it. Couple of little messy bits here and there but alas!!!

A bit of background about myself, Im only 25 but absolutely love all the oldies more than anything and I collect all them on vinyl, I got my 1st set of decks 3 years ago after years of wanting to!! I grew up listening to dance music as Im the youngest of 4 siblings and the lot of them were into the scene back in the day. If I could have one wish in this world it would be that I was born ten years earlier so I could have experienced the dance explosion. :pac:

Tracklist

4. Slam "Eterna"
    8. Deep Beats Volume 1
    10. V.O.A.T "Moonchild"

will give it a blast meself m8.nice 1.

dito derra.

aceberg wrote: »
    will give it a blast meself m8.nice 1.

dito derra.

Nice one aceberg, appreciate it.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Tracklist

4. Slam "Eterna"
    8. Deep Beats Volume 1
    10. V.O.A.T "Moonchild"

I can't not listen given the nice story behind the mix! Fair play...

Fair play chief will listen to it now......decks & Vinyl need a good dusting off in my gaff.....all mp3's from laptop this last while:(

francois wrote: »
    seeing as we are at 500

And UFO :-)

Cant see the vid here francois:mad:
    Have you an MP3 of it 'Model 500 - No UFO's'

Tracklist

4. Slam "Eterna"
    8. Deep Beats Volume 1
    10. V.O.A.T "Moonchild"

Just had a listen to it here quickly and have to say its not my bag but its not mixed bad at all......better than anything i ever did for sure........did like that track V.O.A.T. - Moonchild;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

Fair play derra,

Cheers,
    Mick

head to dolly busters, in frankfurt :D