Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭gwood1234

Can anyone please identify this track? Been bugging me for ages!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭theoldalfer

rob d- hard times -rdr records

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭theoldalfer

I have to say lads "some fookin thread" it'd make a grown man cry

Perfect! Thanks theoldalfer, you've made my day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

did any of the younger oldskoolers or older ones too, ever attend the scout den raves out in malahide.

ed case and liam something i think use to play...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭NovaGSi

sgtbilko01 wrote: »
    NovaGSi wrote: »
    Any chance you have that on mp3?

Lookin for it for ages.....

I have it on Cd somewhere.I'll try route it out 4 ya 2mr.

If you could that would be great, as I said, lookin for ages. Someone else on here, can't remember who...said they had it but didn't to put it up...ahwell.

Felixdhc wrote: »
    Have that Breakdown 12" - wouldn't have even clicked that it was the Dark mix had I listened to the clip you posted.... years since I've listened to it.

This is a huge favourite of mine, also from One Dove... White Love (Slam Mix)

What a track, do you have a mix of it called psyshic masturbation?

I got it off here ages ago but cant put my hands on it.

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    I lost a great job over unions years ago, TEEU = Muppets;)

yeah, complete fools, they are wreckless and don't actually care about peoples jobs. The unions are going to cause more harm over the next 12 months, wait and see!
    Táck wrote: »
    did any of the younger oldskoolers or older ones too, ever attend the scout den raves out in malahide.

ed case and liam something i think use to play...

Never got there, was always in town or if we ended up in malahide it would be for pints and j's in Gibneys. I made it to a rave in the GA club onece, not bad. A mate of mine used to do DJ at the scout den, Frank Siminson, a reat man for the tunes. He was the one that got dolly out there...he was ment to be rubbered that night:o

Anyway,

nice to see the thread of the century still going strong...I haven't contributed much since rejoining the workforce but still keeping an eye on things;)

Cheers,
    Mick

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5labhy9PonA&feature=related

What a tune.....

Never heard it in Sides or the Ballroom but did hear it in Club M:p

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hPVGyGD9QSQ&feature=related

This is a great mix of it , real dark....

Cheers,
    Mick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 mickam

HERE IS AN OLD MIX FROM THE EARLY 90"S BY MYSELF GET YOU IN THE MOOD FOR THE HARD TRANCE ROOM IN THE VAULTS HALLOWEEN NIGHT.
    FOR THE REACTIVE"S TOTAL RECALL GIG...........ENJOY.

http://www.mediafire.com/?iitzyjym3wm

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

What a track, do you have a mix of it called psyshic masturbation?

I got it off here ages ago but cant put my hands on it.

No don't have that mix, rare as fook on vinyl... well, certainly was a few years back when I went looking for it.

Would like a copy of it too if anyone has it.

mickam wrote: »
    HERE IS AN OLD MIX FROM THE EARLY 90"S BY MYSELF GET YOU IN THE MOOD FOR THE HARD TRANCE ROOM IN THE VAULTS HALLOWEEN NIGHT.

Just DL'd. I'll have a listen on the way to work in the morn:D cant wait.

Cant make it on the 31st...trick or treating with the kids and on to a party:o

Is anyone going to do the honours and record the sets????? Caf might know how to:P

Cheers,
    Mick

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭moany

No don't have that mix, rare as fook on vinyl... well, certainly was a few years back when I went looking for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 mickam

Just DL'd. I'll have a listen on the way to work in the morn:D cant wait.

Cant make it on the 31st...trick or treating with the kids and on to a party:o

Is anyone going to do the honours and record the sets????? Caf might know how to:P

Cheers,
    Mick

Yeah man caf should sort out the recordings as far as I know,enjoy the mix it's an old one from a tape I converted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Yeah man caf should sort out the recordings as far as I know,enjoy the mix it's an old one from a tape I converted.

Cheers chief.....D/Ling now.....love all that old hard trance from way back its what really made 6am in the ASYLUM a world apart from anything else.

Undecided whether or not to go into the Gig........will be partying in a gaff in rathmines that night so it a close one just dont like all that fancy dress nonsense on halloween @ gigs......never did like it and you would never have seen it years ago anyway at the rave bar one or two people so the toughts of 10 people (at least) with scouser wigs on locked all thinking they are gas at doing terry impressions while im reliving the Rave doesnt influence me strongly:mad:
    But hope its a great gig for all who are heading in.....each to their own.

May just stick to the tunes i like pumping at an all nighter house party but still wont get away from the fancy dress nonsense im afraid.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭derra

Sound is not great on the vids as tape itself from what it was recorded from is not great either !
    But serious tunage :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

derra wrote: »
    Sound is not great on the vids as tape itself from what it was recorded from is not great either !

good post derra lad, ill have 2 d/l that mix on properoldskool.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭bmooney

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5labhy9PonA&feature=related

What a tune.....

Never heard it in Sides or the Ballroom but did hear it in Club M:p

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hPVGyGD9QSQ&feature=related

This is a great mix of it , real dark....

Cheers,
    Mick

Capricorn 20Hz always reminds me of cocos up in the belgard in tallaght

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

what tracks r on this 1 derra.

Great mix, most of the tracks (90%) I never heard before...I think...did youever play that type of stuff in Sides DC? Some of the sounds remind me of altern 8, just bits of it now:)

Very good quality conversion, the tape must have been in good nick.

I'm sure an ace will be pulled out of the bag.;)
    bmooney wrote: »

Is that a good thing or a bad thing???

I remember being in Club M up in the VIP bar in the jacuzzi off my head on some capsule, stange feeling. You'd want to see the dirt ring on the side of the tub at the end of the nite..:eek: a dozen ravers in and out of it and I wouldn't say we were the cleanist bunch to start with:P

Good times all the way, even in the likes of Club M.

Cheers,
    Mick

Originally Posted by aceberg viewpost.gif
    http://www.mediafire.com/?ctexgznntxa

MICK WALSH - HANDS IN MOTION (SIDE B)

http://www.mediafire.com/?6j11xyps9xd

MICK WALSH - HANDS IN MOTION (SIDE A).

Sorry to be a pain in the H ace but any chance of this again???

aceberg wrote: »
    what tracks r on this 1 derra.
    Couple of Roughage tracks, Machina Nera, Goahead etc
    Its a great mix keeping a constant rhythm and flow throughout :)
    Would ya know the first track in this video Ace :confused:

Es-cee , might upload it and maybe asylumkey can do a job on it cleaning it up as it's in a bad way :(
    Uploaded it ages ago but have'nt seen it about for a while ..

Es-cee , might upload it and maybe asylumkey can do a job on it cleaning it up as it's in a bad way :(
    Uploaded it ages ago but have'nt seen it about for a while ..

Whats the tracks Derra i cant see Youtube here (pain in the H saying that at this stage:D) are they off an album????

No probs cleaning it up as best i can if ya get me a link;)

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Steo32

://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bTwGElgiCoo

Whats the tracks Derra i cant see Youtube here (pain in the H saying that at this stage:D) are they off an album????

No probs cleaning it up as best i can if ya get me a link;)

It's a Warren K mix i have on tape from '93 in the Asylum.
    Leave it with me , may find the other side on another hard drive(s) and the tape is mixed up in a box of loads of others :rolleyes: :)
    Will post it up when i find it again yeah

Leave it with me , may find the other side on another hard drive(s) and the tape is mixed up in a box of loads of others :rolleyes: :)
    Will post it up when i find it again yeah

Ready & Waiting to clean it up boss;)

Do what ya can Key, some parts ain't bad.
    Or if anyone has a cleaner copy of this from back in the day, upload it please :)

Warren K Asylum '93 pt1
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?ji3zaipak90
    Warren K Asylum '93 pt2
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mdmuw3yyjmo

[/I]

o **** man really sorry was forgetting all about this.will try do it 2morrow.it's not on my pc at the minuate.will root out the dvd back -up and sort it for ya.

sound derra don't think i have this 1.sorry derra don't know that track.but i ya find out.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

bmooney wrote: »

Cocos:D:D That one reminds me of the very early Asylum days, army nets and all that jazz;)
    If any of ye want an mp3 let me know

[/I]

there ya go bro.Mick Walsh - Mans in Hotion

MICK WALSH - HANDS IN MOTION (SIDE A)

http://www.mediafire.com/?ezzy444zeiz

http://www.mediafire.com/?omatieenw2z

Do what ya can Key, some parts ain't bad.
    Or if anyone has a cleaner copy of this from back in the day, upload it please :)

Warren K Asylum '93 pt1
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?ji3zaipak90
    Warren K Asylum '93 pt2
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mdmuw3yyjmo

Here ya go Derra did what i could with it......it really was in a bad way alright must have used tapes from the pound shop when you recorded it years back:D

Heres the best i can offer.......B is slightly louder than A but it kind of loses a bit of the clarity when i set the Decibels at the Max they can go. If anyone does have a better copy i will have another go at it if they want......best off uploading it at 320kbps also to retain what clarity you can from an MP3.......

Warren K ASYLUM 1993 A.MP3.MP3

Warren K ASYLUM 1993 B.MP3.MP3
    Whats the track that starts @ 10:00 mins into this mix??????........anyone got an MP3 please.
    aceberg wrote: »
    there ya go bro.Mick Walsh - Mans in Hotion

MICK WALSH - HANDS IN MOTION (SIDE A)

http://www.mediafire.com/?ezzy444zeiz

http://www.mediafire.com/?omatieenw2z

Thanks a million ace it is greatly appreciated;)

Can anyone tell me what this track is? It's from a Liquid Grooves tape around 1995-96.