Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

3) CYBERTRANCE TRACK - 28 JUNE 1994 TRACK 2 is:

Extract - The Story http://www.discogs.com/Extract-Line-Of-Depth/master/44447

****ing love that track.1 of me favs..............After the music is stopped.Asylum stomper.ccooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmee oooooonnnnnnnnn:D
    Felixdhc wrote: »
    Had a listen to them all too ace but no joy.

Anyone know these? Got a message on youtube from someone looking to id them...

http://www.trixysvinyl.com/tuneid.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭deckie27

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭hamguy

Hi everyone,
    I'd share a link to a Sunset mix, featuring Sunset anthems and some other tracks from that Era.

http://www.zshare.net/audio/71685019f15d6cb8/

Mix Factory Take me away, Lionrock Carnival, OT Quartet Hold that sucker down, U2 Lemon Perfecto remix, Hells Party Glam Party, Moby Go, Sagat Funk Dat, Bjork Violently Happy, Goodmen Give it up, Quench Dreams , Capella U Got to let the music.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

aceberg wrote: »
    3) CYBERTRANCE TRACK - 28 JUNE 1994 TRACK 2 is:

Extract - The Story http://www.discogs.com/Extract-Line-Of-Depth/master/44447

****ing love that track.1 of me favs..............After the music is stopped.Asylum stomper.ccooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmee oooooonnnnnnnnn:D

Cool cheers, must listen to the full track on youtube so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Gen:FX

Good to see the shop back up and running.

It was a bit of a Rig'ma'Roll trying to remember the email addy to retrieve the new password, then I had to get the password for that old account, then have that sent to another addy which I totally forgot about... :o - I think that's how it went.... Anyways here's a video from 2007. It's raw un-edited footage from 2 cams using the original soundtrack from the cam behind the decks.

FAO DERRA : You make a cameo in this video. :)

FAO JDXTRA : Thanks for the Track ID's.

FAO RICHIERICH : Alright stranger, yeah, still at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 ruthfly

One love promotions presents the opening of Kinetic Dance Club, on the top two floors of Puzzles Bar (old Earl Inn), Earl St, Dundalk, on Saturday 13th of February. This long overdue, new and exciting venture will showcase the best Dj’s and live PA’s from both north and south of Ireland and beyond, as well as our own home grown Dundalk talent. The opening night sees the return to Dundalk of favoured and accomplished Dj’s, Mick Walsh and Warren K, who between them have managed and worked with many of Ireland's top dance clubs and venues for over 15 years such as The Kitchen, The Red Box, Sides, The Asylum and the Ormond Multimedia Centre. They have brought their unique dance sounds around the world and have worked with such acts as Kraftwerk, Underworld, Carl Cox and Sinead O’Connor to name but a few. Also on the opening night, 13th February, we have Dublins Paddy Hughes and one of Dundalks finest Paul Farrell, who will both be bringing their own unique sounds and flavour.

The opening of Kinetic Dance Club will be bring it like never before, our very own night club right in the centre of town. The up and coming weeks will also see the return to Dundalk of such Dj’s as Ed Case and Liam Dollard.This will be a venue to remember and the opening night is just the first of many great nights to come.

no sweat paddy thks for trying.
    No Joy i'm afraid Ace :( there hard ones.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

Anyone on Facebook, check this group out

Some class ASYLUM Pics here, Featuring, The Topless Chinese Bloke!!!:rolleyes:

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/group.php?gid=87655357097&ref=ts

BTW - Didn't make this page, and don't own the pics, Just thought a few on here will enjoy the pics

Luke G wrote: »
    Anyone on Facebook, check this group out. Some class ASYLUM Pics here, Featuring, The Topless Chinese Bloke!!!:rolleyes: http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/group.php?gid=87655357097&ref=ts BTW - Didn't make this page, and don't own the pics, Just thought a few on here will enjoy the pics

Ahhh, fair play Luke.. Went to the page when you gave me the nod, later I just had to laugh when I read the post from some lad who got all hot and bothered because he didnt get credit...... (did he actually post 2wice..;) )

Anyways, welcome to the fu*ked up world of copyright. Don't let it scare you, just do the do, you'll get messages like that every single day. If you dont give a 'nod' to the owner of the original material, then they get all flustered. Best to give them a credit where credits due, that seems to make'em sleep a little better from my experience. - (Yeah, ok, I know it takes the fun out of what your doing because you need to check everything twice, and check to give the proper credit, but your work will always be there). ;)

Example : The Laurel & Hardy Video spoof I did on Youtube is still there ONLY because I'm playing ball with UMG, (Universal Music Group) - They own the rights to the motion picture AND own the rights to the audio I used. (That was a double whammy to me when I got sussed.... ouch :o ) They are happy because I gave as much background info on the movie as I could find, plus they (Youtube & UMG) embed a link ontop of the video to iTunes to buy the sountrack / audio. So.... I get the hits and they make the cash. We're both happy.

ALL my Gen:FX303 videos are 'siphoned' from the youtube severs and broadcast on a mass load of other video channels (and to mobile networks) - I cant stop that, - I DONT wont to stop that. - I have other folk pretending to be me, or part of NR:GEX and reposting what I posted, I dont really give a toss to be honest, - It's nice to see folk are interested enough to do that.

Just stick with it luke, there's always1 somewhere to throw a spanner in .... (but when your online.... there's a billion and 1) :rolleyes:

FAO EVERYBODY - If I have content on ANY of my sites that you actually OWN and you didnt get a credit / shout out, just send me a heads-up and I'll sort it on my next update. (Scans of flyers and mix tapes dont count, you need to OWN the audio or visual... You dont get a shout for re-inventing the wheel, not even if you make a 'Bigger' wheel, ok folks. ;) ) - Simples

GENFX303 http://www.youtube.com/genfx303

super luke nice 1.

BTW - Didn't make this page, and don't own the pics, Just thought a few on here will enjoy the pics

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

Ah nice one Luke, so the Urban Myth is true, there are real phtos from inside the Asylum, nice one. Jaysus I can remember that Chinese fella, now theres a blast from the past;)

Just came accross this cracker. One of Warren K's essentials back in 1993.

Eat Static - Lost In Time

R-78983-1131745053.jpegR-78983-1147195250.jpeg

DISCOGS : http://www.discogs.com/artist/Eat+Static

YOUTUBE : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T74qcCCaN-A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭NovaGSi

Don't know if this was posted on here before,

Rare Dance Classics – MediaFire ‘07

Great site,, nice one for the link Al.
    Gen:FX wrote: »

It was a bit of a Rig'ma'Roll trying to remember the email addy to retrieve the new password, then I had to get the password for that old account, then have that sent to another addy which I totally forgot about... :o - I think that's how it went.... Anyways here's a video from 2007. It's raw un-edited footage from 2 cams using the original soundtrack from the cam behind the decks.

2007 is a long time ago now, old skool vid there....well nearly
    ruthfly wrote: »
    One love promotions presents the opening of Kinetic Dance Club, on the top two floors of Puzzles Bar (old Earl Inn), Earl St, Dundalk, on Saturday 13th of February. This long overdue, new and exciting venture will showcase the best Dj’s and live PA’s from both north and south of Ireland and beyond, as well as our own home grown Dundalk talent. The opening night sees the return to Dundalk of favoured and accomplished Dj’s, Mick Walsh and Warren K, who between them have managed and worked with many of Ireland's top dance clubs and venues for over 15 years such as The Kitchen, The Red Box, Sides, The Asylum and the Ormond Multimedia Centre. They have brought their unique dance sounds around the world and have worked with such acts as Kraftwerk, Underworld, Carl Cox and Sinead O’Connor to name but a few. Also on the opening night, 13th February, we have Dublins Paddy Hughes and one of Dundalks finest Paul Farrell, who will both be bringing their own unique sounds and flavour.

The opening of Kinetic Dance Club will be bring it like never before, our very own night club right in the centre of town. The up and coming weeks will also see the return to Dundalk of such Dj’s as Ed Case and Liam Dollard.This will be a venue to remember and the opening night is just the first of many great nights to come.

Good luck with the new venture...Trying hard to get to the opening nite. Used to live in Dundalk, I was a student in the RTC...that's a long time ago and spent many a nite in the earl inn, kicked out a few times but no harm in that..student bums and all that. Saw Mick in PA's and Laceys a few times.

Dundalk is a great party town, this will turn into a great nite and the earl in is a good spot. Keep it dark and hot and no dress code...I'll be at the head of the queue in a pair of max:D

Cheers,
    Mick

PS. Great to see this thread still live

ok lads here's the famous Billy Nasty mix meself and Felix were on about a while back.For anybody that aint got it here ya go.

Below you will find side a/b of the mix.Plus the samples from the tracks i can't get or just don't know.I'm sure i know 1 r 2 more but sometimes it's hard to remember weather or not you got an id for the track or that your just very familiar with it,if yez get whati'm saying.:cool:Below you will also find the tracklist so far.

BILLY NASTY _SIDE A_.mp3

http://www.zshare.net/audio/721575925d6ef19a/

BILLY NASTY _SIDE B

http://www.zshare.net/audio/72157650916372dd/

Samples:

Azimuth - Structure
    http://www.zshare.net/audio/72158297be066457/

http://www.zshare.net/audio/72158291a4efae25/

http://www.zshare.net/audio/72158286a18c13ba/

http://www.zshare.net/audio/721578277455c2d0/

http://www.zshare.net/audio/72157819c2c580dd/

http://www.zshare.net/audio/72157814af9d4bcc/

http://www.zshare.net/audio/72157789b167568d/

http://www.zshare.net/audio/721577729941d4c7/

Fixation - Pulsator
    http://www.zshare.net/audio/72157747fe6fc8f8/

Tracklist so far:

Billy Nasty - BILLY NASTY

Side A :

1)
    2)Melonhaus - Dophamine
    3)
    4)Mory Kanté - Yeke Yeke (hardfloor remix)
    5)DJ Tim and Ortega - Heartbreak
    6)
    7)Fixation - Pulsator
    8)

Side B :

1)
    2)Finitribe - Love Above
    3)r-damski - acoustic nature
    4)nexus 6 - ab chic
    5)Tandu - Tranceido
    6)Azimuth - Structure
    7)
    8)

I swear ace, if it fckin takes till I'm in an old folks home, I will eventually get all the tracks off that mix and the Warren K one from 94 or so that I always used to bang on about, the one actually with Eat Static 'Lost in Time' posted a few posts ago.

Someone mentioned on tuneid.com that one of the tunes was Funky Rumble but I found an MP3 of that and although similar its not the same, maybe another mix though from the same 12"

My original thread on tuneid...

http://www.tuneid.com/trance/37801-mixed-bag-tech-trance-acid-trance-etc.html

Accelerator EP on discogs...

http://www.discogs.com/Accelerator-Next-Level/release/54393

Accelerator - Funky Rumble... which does sound quite similar to the id on tuneid, quite possibly a remix on the same ep.

ok lads here's the famous Billy Nasty mix meself and Felix were on about a while back.For anybody that aint got it here ya go.

Below you will find side a/b of the mix.Plus the samples from the tracks i can't get or just don't know.I'm sure i know 1 r 2 more but sometimes it's hard to remember weather or not you got an id for the track or that your just very familiar with it,if yez get whati'm saying.:cool:Below you will also find the tracklist so far.

BILLY NASTY _SIDE A_.mp3

BILLY NASTY _SIDE B

Samples:

Source Experience, The - Point Zero

Quench - Hope Remix E.P. (Carl Cox's MMR Mix)

Tracklist so far:

Side A :

1)
    2)Melonhaus - Dophamine
    3)
    6)
    7)
    8)Quench - Hope Remix E.P. (Carl Cox's MMR Mix)

Side B :

1)Source Experience, The - Point Zero
    2)Finitribe - Love Above
    4)nexus 6 - ab chic
    5)Tandu - Tranceido
    6)
    7)
    8)

**** i actually knew that Quench 1.Melt.Some lad just id'd them for me on discogs.Yeah Felixdhc i feel your pain man.Another 2 marked off the list tho.Super.

Haha yeah I did actually get that ID before for Quench, I should have got Point Zero actually too, have the feckin cd with that track on it.

ha ha i know it's funny when that happens.i was sure i knew 1 r 2 more of them meself.thats why i9 getting down to sorting out tracklists.means you'll never forget again.:D
    Haha yeah I did actually get that ID before for Quench, I should have got Point Zero actually too, have the feckin cd with that track on it.

ha ha i know it's funny when that happens.i was sure i knew 1 r 2 more of them meself.thats why i9 getting down to sorting out tracklists.means you'll never forget again.:D

Yeah I must do too, did it before with a whole load of IDs from some Justin Robertson mixes, got the names and then went looking for them again a couple of years later :D Must be feckin old age :pac:

Suppose the best thing if cash allowed would be to just buy the 12" once you get the id.

yeah,you can't beat having the aul vinyl.was doing that there for a while.but the aul funds have run out for that so will just have to make do with the next best thing.....an i'd,a tracklist and a rip from youtube............lol.
    Yeah I must do too, did it before with a whole load of IDs from some Justin Robertson mixes, got the names and then went looking for them again a couple of years later :D Must be feckin old age :pac:

Suppose the best thing if cash allowed would be to just buy the 12" once you get the id.

BILLY NASTY _SIDE A_.mp3

BILLY NASTY _SIDE B

Samples:

Azimuth - Structure

Fixation - Pulsator

Tracklist so far:

Side A :

1)
    2)Melonhaus - Dophamine
    3)
    6)
    7)Fixation - Pulsator
    8)

Side B :

1)
    2)Finitribe - Love Above
    4)nexus 6 - ab chic
    5)Tandu - Tranceido
    6)Azimuth - Structure
    7)
    8)

2 more added.And i only took a rip of that Azimuth from y/t a couple of weeks back. x c lent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Crimbo

Some of you might remember this tune.

Tracklist so far:

Side A :

1)
    2)Melonhaus - Dophamine
    3)
    6)Heuristix II - Twisted
    7)Fixation - Pulsator
    8)

Side B :

1)
    2)Finitribe - Love Above
    4)nexus 6 - ab chic
    5)Tandu - Tranceido
    6)Azimuth - Structure
    7)
    8)

another 1 added.6A - Heuristix II - Twisted:D
    Went looking for Fixation - Pulsator on y/t and found it and then stumbled accross this aswell Heuristix II - Twisted.brilliant.very productive night.:D

NovaGSi wrote: »
    (MK Video was here [ x ] )
    2007 is a long time ago now, old skool vid there....well nearly
    ?? - I dont get what you mean Mick - ?? (Well..... maybe I do,... I think ;) )

CDJ's don't cut it for me if you're entertainin' punters under the guise of an Aul'Skool DJ. There's no effort in digital playback. - The vid was posted for a reason, digital just aint old skool clubbin,.... but most of the kids on the floor dont understand that, even though they lost 15 bucks at the door. - No offence to DJ's who have gone / might go / are going the CD route. - I think if you have 2 Tecknoir-Tronix 5600 GXL's with Quad Dynamic Hyper Thread Drives running 2 Peta-bytes of Audio Buffers.... that just aint aul'skool. :rolleyes: (have I got the wrong end of the stick ? ... yikes.. :o )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

?? - I dont get what you mean Mick - ?? (Well..... maybe I do,... I think ;) )

CDJ's don't cut it for me if you're entertainin' punters under the guise of an Aul'Skool DJ. There's no effort in digital playback. - The vid was posted for a reason, digital just aint old skool clubbin,.... but most of the kids on the floor dont understand that, even though they lost 15 bucks at the door. - No offence to DJ's who have gone / might go / are going the CD route. - I think if you have 2 Tecknoir-Tronix 5600 GXL's with Quad Dynamic Hyper Thread Drives running 2 Peta-bytes of Audio Buffers.... that just aint aul'skool. :rolleyes: (have I got the wrong end of the stick ? ... yikes.. :o )
    Or moreso don't care.

The Vinyl vs. CD debate is as oldskool as the tunes themselves.

Tracklist so far:

Side A :

1)
    2)Melonhaus - Dophamine
    3)
    6)Heuristix II - Twisted
    7)
    8)

Side B :

1)
    2)Finitribe - Love Above
    4)nexus 6 - ab chic
    5)Tandu - Tranceido
    6)Azimuth - Structure
    7)Fixation - Pulsator
    8)

another 1 added.6A - Heuristix II - Twisted:D
    Went looking for Fixation - Pulsator on y/t and found it and then stumbled accross this aswell Heuristix II - Twisted.brilliant.very productive night.:D

Brilliant, fair play! Maybe I won't need to wait that long to get all of them id'd. I definitely am going to pick up each track from this as I can afford, without doubt one of my favourite mixes from that time, listened to it so much back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

- I think if you have 2 Tecknoir-Tronix 5600 GXL's with Quad Dynamic Hyper Thread Drives running 2 Peta-bytes of Audio Buffers.... that just aint aul'skool. :rolleyes: (have I got the wrong end of the stick ? ... yikes.. :o )

No i dont think ya have Caf.......even back when the ASYLUM was kicking & when i read it now i think to my self.....(what a load of waffle that is on the end of this flyer)......

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/58660/36001.JPG

10K Quadrophonic!, moon flowers!, Videodrome........nonsense........i dont remember the ASYLUM that way at all &......it was just big fu.ck off speakers cranked right up with a big fu.ck off lights set up to go with it, Vinyl on the decks & open all night!

The way it should be:D

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

Nice one CAF, I was there that night;) Well if it was the Olympic Reunion Night I was and waffled poor Derras ears off too if i'm not mistaken:rolleyes:
    Didnt get a chance to compare vid with mp3 so sorry if this is not it, either way its good to have if you dont do already;)

Mark Kavanagh - Rejuvenation Olympic Night
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?goxjxdjjt4j

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Or moreso don't care. The Vinyl vs. CD debate is as oldskool as the tunes themselves.
    It sure is Baz, though what I meant was from a presentation end of things, not the sound quality. :)
    No i dont think ya have Caf, even back when the ASYLUM was kicking & when i read it now i think to my self, (what a load of waffle that is on the end of this flyer) - https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/58660/36001.JPG - 10K Quadrophonic!, Moon Flowers!, Videodrome, nonsense........i dont remember the ASYLUM that way at all &......it was just big fu.ck off speakers cranked right up with a big fu.ck off lights set up to go with it, Vinyl on the decks & open all night! The way it should be:D

Hehe, Yeah, that was called 'Hype' - lol. The 10K Quadraphonic Sound System was 4 speakers stuffed into a stereo pa-amp. There was 1 Moon Flower, a few mini gobos, several mini red lasers and loads of pinspots directed at disco domes (half a discoball) - The Videodrome ??? well that was the Videogame 'Robocop' on the top floor, on loan from Dr Quirkeys. Back then we just made it up as we went along, there was nothing really you could imitate, if it sounded or looked space-age, we went with it.
    SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    Nice one CAF, I was there that night;) Well if it was the Olympic Reunion Night I was and waffled poor Derras ears off too if i'm not mistaken:rolleyes: Didnt get a chance to compare vid with mp3 so sorry if this is not it, either way its good to have if you dont do already;)Mark Kavanagh - Rejuvenation Olympic Night
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?goxjxdjjt4j
    Thanks Sean, though this was a Reactive gig, I didnt do the RejuvEnation night. I'm currently editing** the Total Recall night, your in it a few times... I'll cut the part out where you're waffelin' the ear off me while I'm filming.... all 7 minutes of it... ok... lmfao ;) - All's Good.

**If there's anyone else here on the boards that was at the Total Recall @ The Vaults night, give us a shout and tell me what you were dressed like, I'll include you in the vid (or remove you) whatever you like. :D - Thanks.