Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

es-cee wrote: »
    i'm thinkin bout movin to ntl ot upc as they're known now, for the same price ya get 15MB BB and unlimited useage, not sure if they have a cap???? but speed wise its a bargain compared to eircom.

Yes you would need to check the cap alright for large downloads........im loving right now the 119MB .wav of this beauty you posted a while back sean........them 119MB's per tune posts could seriously eat into your bandwidth:pac::pac::pac:

Thanks again for the full Quality 12 minute .wav of this one sean;)

Just have to say thanks again for this one Seany.......always brings a smile & a little light into the gloom for me this one.......:D:D:D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=65437109&postcount=8667

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

Yes you would need to check the cap alright for large downloads........im loving right now the 119MB .wav of this beauty you posted a while back sean........them 119MB's per tune posts could seriously eat into your bandwidth:pac::pac::pac:

Thanks again for the full Quality 12 minute .wav of this one sean;)

no worries, another thing bout eircom. they signed an agreement/contract with artist/musicians stating that basically they will rat out any1 they catch d/l tunes for free. there was a story on the radio about a woman stuck over in spain with flight cancelations, anyway she didnt want to miss some show she watches so d/l it with her moblie. when she got home there was a €46,000 bill waiting for her because of an illegal d/l. wasnt eircom that she was with but if this is the kinda fines bein handed out its worth considerin are a few tunes worth this kinda money??? obviously not.

es-cee wrote: »
    no worries, another thing bout eircom. they signed an agreement/contract with artist/musicians stating that basically they will rat out any1 they catch d/l tunes for free. there was a story on the radio about a woman stuck over in spain with flight cancelations, anyway she didnt want to miss some show she watches so d/l it with her moblie. when she got home there was a €46,000 bill waiting for her because of an illegal d/l. wasnt eircom that she was with but if this is the kinda fines bein handed out its worth considerin are a few tunes worth this kinda money??? obviously not.

I would like to know how they calculate the bill....€46,000:eek:

They would have as much chance of getting that outta anyone as Fidel castro becoming the President of the USA:D

Is there a similar type of fine for Uploading????

key there was a case of some bird in th U.S. in 2008 that was fined $2M for downloading 12 songs illegally. now granted they weren't oldskool dance that she was d/l but i mean they're handin out heavy fines now for thieving as they call it. your woman happened to be a single mother of 2 aswell so no sympathy bein shown at all.

don't know bout u/l mate, but if ya can't pay i'd imagine some short term prison time would be considered by the cu*ts.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Have a read of this...
    Illegal download decree: Eircom, IRMA & the three strikes rule
    FeaturesFri, Apr 23, 2010

It has been over a year since Eircom, prompted by Irish Recorded Music Association’s (IRMA) court proceedings, announced they were to implement a “three strikes and you’re out” rule designed to stop internet access to those who download music illegally. Last Friday, a High Court decision, which clarified that the rule adhered to data protection legislation, has now allowed that plan to become a reality.
    Under the “three strikes” rule, IRMA (which represents Warner Music, EMI, Universal Music and Sony Music) is allowed to pass IP addresses to Eircom so the Internet Service Provider can warn the customer up to three times to desist illegal downloading before an ultimate internet disconnection.
    This ruling paves the way for IRMA to place pressure on other ISPs to follow suit. The High Court judge noted that the “three strikes” protocol will not lead to criminal proceedings or court sentencing and that the rule itself is lawful. It’s unclear at present, whether an accused downloader will be able to challenge the rule.
    The fight over copyright is not just happening here. In Britain, the Digital Economy Act was recently brought in legislation. The British equivalent of IRMA, the British Phonographic Industry (BPI) pushed for the law which potentially allows internet connections to be cut off, websites to be blocked (like Eircom’s blocking of The Pirate Bay for example), and copyright holders to sue illegal downloaders.
    No doubt the record labels, their representatives, some of their artists and the entertainment industry are happy that they’ve managed to make this happen. For the ordinary Joe and Jane, along with yet-to-be established artists, it’s scary and uncharted stuff. On the upside, the chance of being sued for damages in Ireland is reduced but at the cost of potential censorship of websites and users.
    Now that these internet cut off actions are lawful where next? Let’s hope no-one listens to this country’s biggest loudmouth rocker, Bono who in a New York Times editorial recently, deduced that technologies like the national firewall used to suppress Chinese internet users could be used to track everyone’s movement’s online. Or worse, the American equivalent of IRMA (RIAA) which wishes for us all to install spyware that identifies and deletes infringing material on our computers. Sounds outlandish but you can read more about it here.

http://dayandnightmag.ie/2010/04/23/illegal-download-decree-eircom-irma-the-three-strikes-rule/

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

Just have to say thanks again for this one Seany.......always brings a smile & a little light into the gloom for me this one.......:D:D:D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=65437109&postcount=8667

No problem Key, as always there’s a story to this tune.
    A gang of us used to go back to a shed in Palmerstown for a session after the Olympic and one week there was a girl there who went to the Olympic week in week out, Lorna from Palmerstown. Well I had a tape and Parra Dice was on it and it came on at about 8 in the morning and she lept up and gave it loads in the shed. I was some sight to see at that hour when everyone else was in ribbons:eek:

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    No problem Key, as always there’s a story to this tune.
    A gang of us used to go back to a shed in Palmerstown for a session after the Olympic

Do you remember the old ruined gaff on the greenhills road across almost from where lidl is now when it used to be woodies?........we had one of the small lean to rooms off the back of sheeted over with Ply, car seats & a sofa, smilies sprayed on the walls etc. and used to buzz there after the OLYMPIC with a radio sometimes if we didnt go back to anyones gaff.......can remember a few times good few of us giving it loads still when the sun was coming up in the field in front of which is all factorys now.......used to only be Johnson bros there at that time........pills where certainly different then to be still buzzing at 6 am like you were at 12 midnight.........Clovers, Phase 4's, Rhubarb & Custards, Grey & White Biscuits, China Whites, Adams & Eves, Callies, PT's & of course then white doves......by then the OLYMPIC's reign had well & truly ended.

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

Do you remember the old ruined gaff on the greenhills road across almost from where lidl is now when it used to be woodies?........we had one of the small lean to rooms off the back of sheeted over with Ply, car seats & a sofa, smilies sprayed on the walls etc. and used to buzz there after the OLYMPIC with a radio sometimes if we didnt go back to anyones gaff.......can remember a few times good few of us giving it loads still when the sun was coming up in the field in front of which is all factorys now.......used to only be Johnson bros there at that time........pills where certainly different then to be still buzzing at 6 am like you were at 12 midnight.........Clovers, Phase 4's, Rhubarb & Custards, Grey & White Biscuits, China Whites, Adams & Eves, Callies, PT's & of course then white doves......by then the OLYMPIC's reign had well & truly ended.

Yeah I remember that place but was never in it. We ended up in the ruins of the old Tallaght Town Centre a few times. A kip but as long as you had a stereo thats all that mattered. We used to comandeer the batteries from the security light in factories behind Dunnes. You could break open the sealed packs which then had the normal fat batteries inside:cool: there was always an endless supply of dance music round my way:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

lads -good interview with old skool photographer Tristan O Neill, some great images too

http://www.kmag.co.uk/editorial/blogs/old_skool/tristan-oneill-photography

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Was rummaging through some old dance CDs from way back and I came across a CD that I used to play a lot back in my younger days. Some of the tracks on it are serious cringe stuff but there's one or two gems on it. This one in particular, I used to play it non stop in my yoof. Funny how your forget some tracks though.

jonnny68 wrote: »
    lads -good interview with old skool photographer Tristan O Neill, some great images too

http://www.kmag.co.uk/editorial/blogs/old_skool/tristan-oneill-photography

Just in case you misssed this jonny while we are on the subject of images here........i posted this for ya over on another thread you may like it.......details are on original post link here

Mandelbrot_zoom_1.gif

Just want to post up some of my favorite Mixes/Tapes from back around the time of the ASYLUM if anyone hasnt grabbed them,

http://www.mediafire.com/?bvz120motv1ignorance pt 1 (jay carey)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?d139y4jdefw ignorance pt 2 (jay carey)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?skyni4txndj ed case live @ asylum Friday night
    http://www.mediafire.com/?7duem3ebzn1 ed case triple xxx
    http://www.mediafire.com/?wvwnt9h2zcj Warren k live on power fm 13-10-1995
    http://www.mediafire.com/?3rdxdjnhw3h Pressure - Gradiation
    http://www.mediafire.com/?myj55zryzyo Jay carey - Trance seduction A
    http://www.mediafire.com/?eij2mmrzm5w Jay Carey - Trance seduction B

I am loving this one all over again right now....havnt listened to it in about 6 months or so,

http://www.mediafire.com/?x5tl4awd2mo parlsley & thyme live @ the asylum 93

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭DUB33

Just want to post up some of my favorite Mixes/Tapes from back around the time of the ASYLUM if anyone hasnt grabbed them,

http://www.mediafire.com/?bvz120motv1ignorance pt 1 (jay carey)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?d139y4jdefw ignorance pt 2 (jay carey)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?skyni4txndj ed case live @ asylum Friday night
    http://www.mediafire.com/?7duem3ebzn1 ed case triple xxx
    http://www.mediafire.com/?wvwnt9h2zcj Warren k live on power fm 13-10-1995
    http://www.mediafire.com/?3rdxdjnhw3h Pressure - Gradiation
    http://www.mediafire.com/?myj55zryzyo Jay carey - Trance seduction A
    http://www.mediafire.com/?eij2mmrzm5w Jay Carey - Trance seduction B

I am loving this one all over again right now....havnt listened to it in about 6 months or so,

Its great when u put a mix on that you havnt heared in ages btw that is a brill mix

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Was rummaging through some old dance CDs from way back and I came across a CD that I used to play a lot back in my younger days. Some of the tracks on it are serious cringe stuff but there's one or two gems on it. This one in particular, I used to play it non stop in my yoof. Funny how your forget some tracks though.

Thats an exelent tune always loved the vocal in it, i rember the first time i heared rave generator on the hitman and her rember that show lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭CelticSpirit

That's a great mix Key, been my workout soundtrack for the last few months, always gets the adrenaline pumping. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Steo32

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    Here is the mp3 people
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mhjwku23xtn

A real Olympic gem there Paddy;) I have it in a mix on tape ,somewhere although the version I remember is a bit more housey
    I remember this one also maybe the housey version

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=slo+moshun+bells&aq=f

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Steo32

Steo32 wrote: »
    I remember this one also maybe the housey version

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=slo+moshun+bells&aq=f
    Sorry wrong link The track I think you are on about is Rejuvination - Requiem I cant seem to put it up here for some reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭antoinb

Le Key-thanks as always :)

As I mentioned in a previous post Im putting together a guide for ripping vinyl to wav/mp3.
    For now it will comprise of what i know and how I go about it (slightly fudged) but Im hoping that with others input it can grow into a concise guide for getting those priceless vinyls digital and drive traffic to my site (any links to the guide from other sites will be really appreciated)
    I havent added the audio clips yet,hopefully Ill get them up over the weekend.
    Ive only finished the first part,record cleaning but would love any feedback and I hope to get the next part up in the next week or so.

http://www.littledogdiscs.co.uk/vinyl--to-wavmp3-3-w.asp

• Registered Users Posts: 360 ✭✭locked 1

hi lads havnt been on this site in about a year and a half but would anybody got a tracklist 4 edcase triple x 1 of his finest tapes

locked 1 wrote: »
    hi lads havnt been on this site in about a year and a half but would anybody got a tracklist 4 edcase triple x 1 of his finest tapes

No but i'll tell ya what i do have........side one tracks all clipped into small sections that should make it handy for anyone who wants a go at it.......You can play them on 4Shared without having to download them for ID purposes,

Triple EX Side A 1.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 2.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 3.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 5.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 6.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 7.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 8.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 9.MP3

No but i'll tell ya what i do have........side one tracks all clipped into small sections that should make it handy for anyone who wants a go at it.......You can play them on 4Shared without having to download them for ID purposes,

Triple EX Side A 1.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 2.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 3.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 5.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 6.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 7.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 8.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 9.MP3

That 2nd one is wrecking my head, have it but the name won't come to me.

Number 7 is this...

Instant Zen - Plutonia (Gotenborg Remix)

http://www.discogs.com/Various-Remix-EP/release/138234

Remember now, it's this (the 2nd track)...

Phax feat. Steve Bug - Tri Top (Humate Remix)

http://www.discogs.com/Phax-Feat-Steve-Bug-Tri-Top-Remixes/release/34861

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

Triple EX Side A 1.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 2.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 3.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 5.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 6.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 7.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 8.MP3
    Triple EX Side A 9.MP3

The first sounds like Luxor___The_Big_Bang

i think the 3rd could be a track from Syncrotron i'll dig it out

5 is Twisted Systems Vol.1 - Murdoch Most Foul great track imo tis on the last nite @ Asylum

9 is unreal - after hours

aceberg wrote: »
    The first sounds like Luxor___The_Big_Bang

i think the 3rd could be a track from Syncrotron i'll dig it out

5 is Twisted Systems Vol.1 - Murdoch Most Foul great track imo tis on the last nite @ Asylum

Yeah just listened to the first again there, hadn't listened full through the last time - defo a remix or something of The Big Bang.

I'll get Side B done over the next day or so when i get a minute & fire it up here also the same as Side A for ID'ing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

Grand save me the hassle.The 3rd aint the one i thought it was either,sure i know it tho.
    I'll get Side B done over the next day or so when i get a minute & fire it up here also the same as Side A for ID'ing.

aceberg wrote: »
    Grand save me the hassle.The 3rd aint the one i thought it was either,sure i know it tho.

I always did like that track in particular off the mix........had me sweating like fu.ck giving it socks many a time.:D