Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Another one's just come back to me, this one from the mushies. Was well young at this stage, still had a curfew - think it was 11pm maybe, maybe around 15/16

Got home, trippin balls, sat on the couch for a while to try to seem normal. My Dad was reading a paper or something, younger brother was sitting on the floor playing 'Mortal Kombat'. Watched that for a while, chuckling away at the moves on the telly, until the couch started BREATHING! I found out later this is a pretty common hallucination where objects appear to breathe, anyway I'm sitting there slightly on edge that the couch is breathing, up and down it's going, so I say "I'm off to bed" and leg it upstairs. Lay there for a couple of hours as the Mortal Kombat figures danced around in front of my eyes - 1 character in particular from the game, can't remember the name, anyway he's doing this high kick, well just outlines of his character in various colours. Very strong hallucinations, enjoyable though :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

Sounds great.....ya got your moneys worth Ace:)

Coincidentally a few of us also really digged that album back then when we were tripping.......know it from the start to the end word for word,

the start & end of the album have the same very low tune playing & the final words are,

"Isnt this where......."

And the first words on the album are,

".......we came in?"

Suggesting you listen again & again......which we did:D

Certaily did get my moneys worth Key still get flashbacks about the 1 even now.:eek:

Anyways Roger Waters is touring the wall.He's playing the o2 next may.Have me tickets and all.Can't wait.

Had manys a nite tripping to the Floyd.Also some nites watching the Beatles movies.Ever watched Yellow Submarine tripping.Man what a trip.Everything in that movie just makes so much sense lmfao.#
    "Sea of holes""Eleanor Rigby" the blue meanies all you need is love ah man i tell ya magic.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

joker77 wrote: »
    Another one's just come back to me, this one from the mushies.......................Very strong hallucinations, enjoyable though :D

Woah......mushies lying in bed!!!!!

Never done mushies without a serious compliment of beer & ha.sh to go with them or else it would be meltdown.

Similar story about once i had dropped two dollars i think they were over a couple of hours in a mates gaff & he was playing Mario world i think it was, anyway, it went into a cavern in the game & all the sounds had very trippy echoes to accompany every move or sound......i could hear the sound of mario hitting a box & collecting a coin for hours after in my head:)

Remember also talking to my ma once after dropping a penguin & was waiting until i was starting to come up before i headed out..........totally forgot about it & only noticed when my ma got up to put on the kettle & all i could see was the trippy tracking of her walking across the room.........Time to go now:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas......the ultimate tripping movie. Watched it only a few months ago after indulging in Albert Hoffmans. First trips in ages and great craic.:eek:

SteoL wrote: »
    Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas......the ultimate tripping movie. Watched it only a few months ago after indulging in Albert Hoffmans. First trips in ages and great craic.:eek:

Have any of you ever seen Terry Gilliams - Brazil,

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brazil_(film)

Dare you to watch it tripping.......one of the most if not the most bizarre film i have ever seen........i seen an intervew with Gilliam before where he was asked what the film is all about & he replied,

"Its about whatever you make of it"

With a smile.

Have any of you ever seen Terry Gilliams - Brazil,

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brazil_(film)

Dare you to watch it tripping.......one of the most if not the most bizarre film i have ever seen........i seen an intervew with Gilliam before where he was asked what the film is all about & he replied,

"Its about whatever you make of it"

With a smile.

It's going on my to see list now though. I love obscure films. Here's another one to watch tripped to the gills

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Forbidden_Zone

or anything by the great David Lynch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

It's going on my to see list now though. I love obscure films. Here's another one to watch tripped to the gills

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Forbidden_Zone

or anything by the great David Lynch.
    Jesus don't do it! Watching those movies on hallucinogenics you'd never been the same again! Well, that or you might find some hidden meaning.

Lost Highway - he's in the party, the guy with the telephone - "I know you, in fact, I'm in your house now, ring home" He rings home, it answers something like "I told you I knew you"
    Freaky sh*t!

joker77 wrote: »
    Jesus don't do it! Watching those movies on hallucinogenics you'd never been the same again! Well, that or you might find some hidden meaning.

Lost Highway - he's in the party, the guy with the telephone - "I know you, in fact, I'm in your house now, ring home" He rings home, it answers something like "I told you I knew you"
    Freaky sh*t!

That's freaky alright, but I love that film. You should checkout Inland empire for freaky as well. If you can stick 4 hours plus of freaky s*t.:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭holy_macaroni

yea.me too actually,

lol

Chesck this 1 out.Came accross this on a Dougle mix.Bit heavey but banging.listen all the way tru.

Actually i'm liking these aswell

And i'm after an id on this 1.

Track at 7;00
    I felt that i was in this long dark tunnel

i think it's ****ing deadly.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭harsea8

Valley of the shadows - origin unknown

harsea8 wrote: »
    Valley of the shadows - origin unknown

Cheers man legend.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

fukkkkkkkkin tune!!!!! 1 of me fav tracks ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Again some of you may have seen these but for those that have not..

Sides
    59078_158860100807653_100000509926356_467119_3922612_n.jpg

The Asylum
    59472_158861204140876_100000509926356_467125_6506572_n.jpg

The Asylum
    59472_158861207474209_100000509926356_467126_7978125_n.jpg

The Asylum
    59472_158861210807542_100000509926356_467127_6815814_n.jpg

Warren k in the Asylum
    61649_158861150807548_100000509926356_467123_5866640_n.jpg

The Asylum
    The_Asylum.jpg

The Asylum
    The_Asylum.jpg

Jeeeeeesus........man they really have taken me back:D:D:D:D:D:D
    Never seen them before,

More More More More!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That last one is fuc.kin legendary.........it all happened right there downstairs at the front of the DJ box till the very morning, two huge stacks of speakers flanking you left & right with pounding tunes thumping out all night..........ahhhh they are quality pics........please tell me theres more???

Jeeeeeesus........man they really have taken me back:D:D:D:D:D:D
    Never seen them before,

More More More More!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That last one is fuc.kin legendary.........it all happened right there downstairs at the front of the DJ box till the very morning, two huge stacks of speakers flanking you left & right with pounding tunes thumping out all night..........ahhhh they are quality pics........please tell me theres more???

There might be a few more.. definitely a few more from sides.
    The one outside the dj box is cool alright.

There might be a few more.. definitely a few more from sides.
    The one outside the dj box is cool alright.

Please do be a gentleman & fire them up before you go for a cup of tea:D

Sides

The Asylum

The Asylum

The Asylum

Warren k in the Asylum

The Asylum
    The_Asylum.jpg

GRRRRRR....all I see is an "X" in box. Poxy work pc :mad:

Sides

The Asylum

The Asylum

The Asylum

Warren k in the Asylum

The Asylum
    The_Asylum.jpg

Ah ****ing deadly Paddy.The 1 in front of the dj box is brilliant alrite and the 1 of the guy with the bald head peeping over the top all starey eyed is animal.:D

GRRRRRR....all I see is an "X" in box. Poxy work pc :mad:

Can you see attachments??

Last one

Last one

Yep can see it that way alright, nice one:D

Can you see attachments??

i can see the attachments buddy, but need to click on the link.but there grand :)

I think that's all the photo's i can find Eoin.
    This was probably on a flyer?
    new1.jpg

i can see the attachments buddy, but need to click on the link.but there grand :)

I think that's all the photo's i can find Eoin.
    This was probably on a flyer?
    new1.jpg

Sound paddy....ill attach it to this post so Steo can see it also,

There is a better quality version of it somewhere back at the beginning of this thread but god knows where!

Steo.......click the link in my Signatire for CAF's site also & he has a link on his site to a load of pics from SIDES.

Sound paddy....ill attach it to this post so Steo can see it also,

There is a better quality version of it somewhere back at the beginning of this thread but god knows where!

Steo.......click the link in my Signatire for CAF's site also & he has a link on his site to a load of pics from SIDES.

Nice one man. Have seen CAFs site. F*n deadly one alright. Can't get over all the photos (when there would have been no mobiles etc around at the time). Mad seeing them after all this time.