Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users Posts: 360 ✭✭locked 1

• Registered Users Posts: 238 ✭✭germulhall

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

aceberg wrote: »
    Funny u say that Jay cause it reminds me of the 1 and only hour or so i spent in the Olympic.I remember walking in and Dj Professor - Rock me Steady was playing.And i rememer thinking surley they gotta be playing newer better fresher music than this lol :D.See i had this on vinyl and it was at least a year or 2 old so i was dissappointed straight away with the music :eek:the thing is it was only very early in the night but i'd have to say meself and the m8 i was with (George Dolye,Paddy might remember him ) were probably a little nieve.we should have hung on till the crowd filled the place up a bit as it was a little empty aswell.altho George was really out for the women and there were'nt to many in there at this stage so we left and went to the appartements :eek: as you were always gaurenteeded to grab a hen in there.Not that i was on the look out as i was already courting my sweetheart :D still with each other 18 years and 3 kids later..

That was the way the Olympic always started off. They only put on all the sound system and the lazers at around 11.
    Older tracks at the start of the night and the place didn't really get going early but by 12 the place would be in full swing, packed.
    You should have stayed to witness it. It was better than Sides and the Asylum when it was at its best IMO.
    I am going out with the same girl I met in the Olympic in 93 and have 3 kids too Ace:eek:

Olympic classic

Ah i love that EP Ace!! I was only listening to it all earlier myself. So many great releases from them. The Nasty(Remix) EP is a crackin and i also really like The Knowledge EP as well. I can PM it to ya mate if your looking for it. Such a happy feeling track that SLD - Gettin Out one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    That was the way the Olympic always started off. They only put on all the sound system and the lazers at around 11.
    Older tracks at the start of the night and the place didn't really get going early but by 12 the place would be in full swing, packed.
    You should have stayed to witness it. It was better than Sides and the Asylum when it was at its best IMO.
    I am going out with the same girl I met in the Olympic in 93 and have 3 kids too Ace:eek:

Mmm...not to sure if i could say it won out over the ASYLUM now but i hear ya,

Would have said it was about 1:00am meself you would have to be there to have got the best from the OLYMPIC, really was kicking for the last almost 2 hours & the narcs would have been in full effect also by that time adding to the atmosphere in the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

Mmm...not to sure if i could say it won out over the ASYLUM now but i hear ya,

Would have said it was about 1:00am meself you would have to be there to have got the best from the OLYMPIC, really was kicking for the last almost 2 hours & the narcs would have been in full effect also by that time adding to the atmosphere in the place.

Yep exactly, the last 2 hours in there were sublime, never was in a place like it since. Its something that you cannot articulate, only those who experienced it know what I mean.

Its something that you cannot articulate, .

'Ecstasy', perhaps:D

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Steo32

Yep exactly, the last 2 hours in there were sublime, never was in a place like it since. Its something that you cannot articulate, only those who experienced it know what I mean.

Seany,

I know what u mean, the last half of the night was an experience never to
    be had again but great to have the memories all the same. fair play to Jay
    for posting Manic - I gotta get loose havnt heard that since the Olympic days great tune that use to have the place buzzing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Dirt bird

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭craig_b

Dirt bird wrote: »

no dats not cheese it's a quality tune '92 aswel....:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

Dirt bird wrote: »

at the risk of bein slated :rolleyes: i'm gonna go with undecided :D

not exactly what ya'd call pure cheddar but, still has a
    commercial kinda sound DEFFO goin on there!!!!!!! :p

*enter 'is mise le key' with several reasons why i'm wrong* lol

:pac::pac::pac::P:P:rolleyes::D:D:D

only jestin mate

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

germulhall wrote: »
    Ah i love that EP Ace!! I was only listening to it all earlier myself. So many great releases from them. The Nasty(Remix) EP is a crackin and i also really like The Knowledge EP as well. I can PM it to ya mate if your looking for it. Such a happy feeling track that SLD - Gettin Out one.

Yes Ger please if ya don't mind.

es-cee wrote: »

only jestin mate

Love that track!!! Nowhere near a hint of easy single off it for me!!

Yes Ger please if ya don't mind.

I dont mind at all Ace!! Just sent them there to your PM mate.

The mix Pressure played on Wonderland!!

germulhall wrote: »
    Love that track!!! Nowhere near a hint of easy single off it for me!!

not exactly cheese as i said ger, but it deffo wiffs of commercialism man :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭JCarey70

Sorry for the bad sound quality on this one but just thought I ul it anyway. A classic from back in the day...

Cool n' Deadly - Unknown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

only jestin mate

:DLoL classic .... nice 1 Es *golf clap* .... no doubt our good friend Key has a perfectly sound argument to the contrary .... and a convincing one I might add!! however i'm with ya on this one m8 , this one's got the slight stench of a good stilton .... i wasn't enamoured to it way back when and having listened to it again just now i'm still of the same opinion.....but I could yet be swayed by the power of an argument in its favour :o

EarlERizer wrote: »
    :DLoL classic .... nice 1 Es *golf clap* .... no doubt our good friend Key has a perfectly sound argument to the contrary .... and a convincing one I might add!! however i'm with ya on this one m8 , this one's got the slight stench of a good stilton .... i wasn't enamoured to it way back when and having listened to it again just now i'm still of the same opinion.....but I could yet be swayed by the power of an argument in its favour :o

i stand by my comments :rolleyes:, same as what i said about nikolai & grace.
    commercial with a capital C!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lolololololol ;):D

JCarey70 wrote: »
    One of the first tracks ever to be played in The Asylum... This was the kind of sheat that was kickin it when that mad club opened up. Great days :D Still lovin this...

The House Crew - We are Hardcore (Magic fantasy Remix)

Fookin cracker tune Jay , have this on vinyl meself (also have the original), the flipside is savage too ! :D

i stand by my comments :rolleyes:, same as what i said about nikolai & grace.
    commercial with a capital C!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lolololololol ;):D

lol good man Es ...... i still love Nikolai though , has fond memories for me , it wasn't the tunes fault it become so "commercial" .....as for Grace :rolleyes:....used to hear that fookin tune n wish to jaysus "why ,why ,why isn't it fookin over yet?? it's not over...should never have fookin started!!! :mad:

only jestin mate
    lol good man Es ...... i still love Nikolai though , has fond memories for me , it wasn't the tunes fault it become so "commercial" .....as for Grace :rolleyes:....used to hear that fookin tune n wish to jaysus "why ,why ,why isn't it fookin over yet?? it's not over...should never have fookin started!!! :mad:

The world doesnt need another couple of cardboard oldskoolers lads:pac::pac::pac:

Great tune i think if im honest,

*opens text book for answer & reads from index*

1. Ecstasy back at the beginning
    2. Venues Open all night
    3. The heat & sweat
    4. The Strobes & Smoke
    5. The people & lack of inhibitions
    6. The early house
    7. The law
    8. Rubbish Narcotics
    9. The emmergence of the 'Trancecracker'

etc etc............:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

JCarey70 wrote: »
    Sorry for the bad sound quality on this one but just thought I ul it anyway. A classic from back in the day...

Cool n' Deadly - Unknown

Great Track J! Prefer this mix tho...

Chill out Room track from the Asylum :)

Fair Play to you Seany! I'm with you on that one! for me there was no club like it, ever! It's just impossible to explain what it was like to someone that never experienced it! ;):D

Who remembers this from the Olympic :D

One of my all time favorites paddy,

I doubt es-cee or earle will be able to bring themselves to slate this one:D

One of my all time favorites paddy,

I doubt es-cee or earle will be able to bring themselves to slate this one:D

Had to dig deep into my Olympic collection to get approval from the Asylum posse :)