Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭crispsandwiches

Not heard any mention of yolks? Did anyone get their hands on any decent ones? Or was it mainly mandy?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

aceberg wrote: »
    Rite Stephen i'm a little bit confused can ya clear things up for me a bit please.I was introduced to to a Nolan on Saturday nite which i think was Marc Nolan,but i could be wrong it may have been u.But the guy i was introduced to had no hair and i'm sure if ssen photo's off him before and he is Dubb33 aka Marc.But never knew so surname so.................Who's who :confused:

Nah that was mark aka Asylumdub on NIO I still have most of my hair :D I actually saw nearly no one I just wandered around dancing but old age defo caught up with me lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭JCarey70

Ah Jon - Pat played a blinder ! Lots of peeps commenting on his set!

Each DJ played in the VIP room also while waiting there turn to play the main area. It was mostly a deep house Policy there but you would want to here Warren K set , Magic so it was :) and of course J Carey's set was Deadly early in the evening :)
    Nice one J for playing the Underground Resistance - Jupiter Jazz ! :)

No probs Paddy. Twas great meeting you again after all them years. Look forward to the next one. More of the same please. Deadly night... :)

For those of you who can't wait till September for more Old School madness then pop along to this one in two weeks time. We'll try our best to make it a great night even though it is on the same weekend as Oxygen :eek: :);)

255126_223014874383790_100000258373128_862537_4052998_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

JCarey70 wrote: »
    Look forward to the next one. More of the same please. Deadly night... :)

Howya Jay, I was (still am - and will remain so) gutted to have missed out on this one, anyways, firstly ,well done I believe you played a blinder! looking forward to hearing the recordings if they become available ;)

Just wondering if there's been any details re: the planned Sept 3rd event? according to the asylumdublin website details were to be released yesterday but as yet nothing

They've stuck up a few pics though
    http://asylumdublin.com/#/gallery/4550569009

After what by all accounts was a great night you must be still buzzing? got any stories to share?

EarlERizer wrote: »
    Howya Jay, I was (still am - and will remain so) gutted to have missed out on this one, anyways, firstly ,well done I believe you played a blinder! looking forward to hearing the recordings if they become available ;)

Just wondering if there's been any details re: the planned Sept 3rd event? according to the asylumdublin website details were to be released yesterday but as yet nothing

They've stuck up a few pics though

After what by all accounts was a great night you must be still buzzing? got any stories to share?

Recovered now Earl thank God. **** that was some hangoever. No mad after party stories I can remember but when they start coming back to me I'll fill ya in :) To be honest I didn't think I played that well or at least mixed that well on the night. Tunes were good but the mixing left a bit to be desired tbh. Just couldn't really hear the bleeding thing properly in the ear phones. Ah well not to worry :) Not sure about details of the the next one. I'm as in the dark as you are on that. Not even sure if it will be held in the Vaults or not. I have some footage of Warren K who came on after me. Its a bit blurry and the sound isn't great but I'll UL anyway at some stage. Hitting the hey now, back to work tomorrow :( Talk soon...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

heres a few random pics from the vaults set up from the gig on saturday mostly, but theres a few of peeps in the place too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

Recovered now Earl thank God. **** that was some hangoever. No mad after party stories I can remember but when they start coming back to me I'll fill ya in :) To be honest I didn't think I played that well or at least mixed that well on the night. Tunes were good but the mixing left a bit to be desired tbh. Just couldn't really hear the bleeding thing properly in the ear phones. Ah well not to worry :) Not sure about details of the the next one. I'm as in the dark as you are on that. Not even sure if it will be held in the Vaults or not. I have some footage of Warren K who came on after me. Its a bit blurry and the sound isn't great but I'll UL anyway at some stage. Hitting the hey now, back to work tomorrow :( Talk soon...

JAY - I was the red haired dude with no top who was standing right in front of the DJ box all night and you're set was f****n animal. Nice one man :)

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

Ah thats a pitty Seanboy.Was on the look out tru out the nite for any familiar faces.Most of the lads i would have only seen pictures of on facebook,so thats all i had to go on.But did manage to recognise Winnie who was with Ken Brady.Also managed to recognise Keith Behan and Pablo as i was to one to approach each of them.I'm just thinking now tho that i may have seen a photo of you on facebook.Is your surname Molloy.If not the only picture of you i had to go on is your Asylum membership.God knows how much you changed since then...lol

Yeah my name is Molloy alright, oh and that Asylum i.d. is way outta date. The head is shaved shall we say at this stage:D I do be onto Paddy on Facebook now and then so I knew his mug but couldn’t spot him. Should have PM a phone number before hand, intended to but sure the week leading up to it was all over the place with me with work and home. And Pablo said you just were talking minutes before I arrived, sure I had a cracker of a nite with the Mrs who is good friends with Pablo too.
    Me and Mrs were talking in there to a mister 'Daisy' who we know from yesteryear, remember him Key:D
    Hoping that the night comes back to me more as I was cough, cough fairly inebriated. Do you think the lads might either push the week forward and bring it back only by a week so i can make the next one as I'll be away:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    Me and Mrs were talking in there to a mister 'Daisy' who we know from yesteryear, remember him Key:D
    Hoping that the night comes back to me more as I was cough, cough fairly inebriated. Do you think the lads might either push the week forward and bring it back only by a week so i can make the next one as I'll be away:pac:

Jesus i do indeed, is he still playing tennis;):D

Would be good if they pushed out the date alright & better again if they got another venue as it seems the soundsystem is a let down alright.

A new venue would be perfect I think. Out in the sticks, away from civilisation where we can rave until the sun comes up. Brutal kicking people out before 3AM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

No probs Paddy. Twas great meeting you again after all them years. Look forward to the next one. More of the same please. Deadly night... :)

Looking forward to the next J! I feel it's going to be better again :) was great see yourself and all the old faces.

I hope they get a different venue for the next one, The sound in vault2 was not the best,Pat H was saying at he start of the night that there was to much bass and it needed a lot of bodies to soak it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Seriously tempted by this, anyone who was in the old Camden Palace will tell you what a top club it was, very much like the old Olympic Ballroom but bigger.:)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUjY8ymszpM&feature=youtu.be

SteoL wrote: »
    A new venue would be perfect I think. Out in the sticks, away from civilisation where we can rave until the sun comes up. Brutal kicking people out before 3AM.

yeah i cant be dealing with this 3am closing crap they need to move it elsewhere OR have a warehouse sorted for ther afterparty;)

JAY - I was the red haired dude with no top who was standing right in front of the DJ box all night and you're set was f****n animal. Nice one man :)

Ah yeah I remember you. Think I have some footage of you and your mate boppin at the front - check the vids below and let us know if thats you. And thanks for the compliment. I'm telling ya it will be even better the next time once I can get the mixing just right. I thought Warren played a stormer though. Loved his set. And DJ Computer's set too. First time meeting him, sound bloke. I was doing the smoke machine and the strobe the whole time Warren was on. Couldn't believe he dropped 'Mind War' by CJ Boland. Brilliant!!! He also dropped 'The House is Mine' by the Hypnotist and 'Adrenalin' by N-Joi, both sounded savage and they were both well received by all the ravers. Proper!!!

Here's me vids of the night. Again, a bit blurry (My Camera has problems focusing sometimes, like meself :) ) But feck its something anyway...

DJ Computer

DJ Computer

Warren K

Warren K

Warren K

Looking forward to the next J! I feel it's going to be better again :) was great see yourself and all the old faces.

I hope they get a different venue for the next one, The sound in vault2 was not the best,Pat H was saying at he start of the night that there was to much bass and it needed a lot of bodies to soak it up.

I was using CDs and when it came time to get on, the bleeding CDJs weren't even plugged into the mixer. Didn't know what was wrong for about ten mins. ****in ten mins silence at the start of me set. Sweating like a pig I was, but we eventually found the problem and fixed same and rocked it... :pac:

Ah yeah I remember you. Think I have some footage of you and your mate boppin at the front - check the vids below and let us know if thats you. And thanks for the compliment. I'm telling ya it will be even better the next time once I can get the mixing just right. I thought Warren played a stormer though. Loved his set. And DJ Computer's set too. First time meeting him, sound bloke. I was doing the smoke machine and the strobe the whole time Warren was on. Couldn't believe he dropped 'Mind War' by CJ Boland. Brilliant!!! He also dropped 'The House is Mine' by the Hypnotist and 'Adrenalin' by N-Joi, both sounded savage and they were both well received by all the ravers. Proper!!!

Here's me vids of the night. Again, a bit blurry (My Camera has problems focusing sometimes, like meself :) ) But feck its something anyway...

DJ Computer

DJ Computer

Warren K

Warren K

Warren K

Yeah man can see meself in that last video alright at the one minute mark :D

Yeah remember them tracks but Adrenaline in particular was stand out for me as I was big into N-JOI back then.

Nice one again - there's now an 18 year old Steo raving in the Ormonde and a 33 year old Steo raving in the Vaults on you tube. Deadly :D

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

Ah Jaysus he lost his serve a long time ago:D

Spot on SteoL, I still cannot get my head around the fact that this government has decided that I cannot socialise in a club bar whatever after 3A.M.:mad::mad::mad: Pathetic but lets not open that can of worms again
    jonnny68 wrote: »
    Seriously tempted by this, anyone who was in the old Camden Palace will tell you what a top club it was, very much like the old Olympic Ballroom but bigger.:)

Jonnny68 I remember going to that night club with lads from Kevin Street Tech after a piss up and I though that this would be a perfect spot for a proper club night too but its now a pool bar and a good one at that although I wouldnt say it is bigger than the Olympic was.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

DJ Computer

DJ Computer

Warren K

Warren K

Warren K

I'm sure that is me in the first Warren K clip as i was rite up the front for the hypnotist-this house is mine which i think was his first track if i'm not mistaken.

Ritght at 36/37 secs but ya gotta pause it.And light put's me rite in the spotlight.:D Defo looks like my snout and hair and shirt i was wearing.

Reckon thats me again at 1.17 in the spotlight hand in the air giving it socks.Not great but it's my clain to fame.Paddy and E's yous gotta be there somewhere.

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    Ah Jaysus he lost his serve a long time ago:D

Spot on SteoL, I still cannot get my head around the fact that this government has decided that I cannot socialise in a club bar whatever after 3A.M.:mad::mad::mad: Pathetic but lets not open that can of worms again

Jonnny68 I remember going to that night club with lads from Kevin Street Tech after a piss up and I though that this would be a perfect spot for a proper club night too but its now a pool bar and a good one at that although I wouldnt say it is bigger than the Olympic was.

id say it's of similar size anyway, it's called Koko now and is the same club but it's been revamped in recent years
    http://www.koko.uk.com/

shirt i was wearing.

.......:rolleyes:

Haha yeah man I had to pause it too but it's def me. A colleague asked why didn't I just sit on the speaker instead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭bluemoon2010

es-cee wrote: »
    heres a few random pics from the vaults set up from the gig on saturday mostly, but theres a few of peeps in the place too.

hmm i like pic 22 very much ;) 23 is alri:D

• Registered Users Posts: 233 ✭✭DEVOTION

DJ Computer

Loved hearing this (Mismoplastico) when it was dropped. Had to leave that vault at one stage over the strobe though!

Posted this on "Track of the Day" but it's an oldie so could probably have a home here too :D

Would love to hear this on the next oldskool night - absolute banger of a track :p

• Registered Users Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

Just reminder to any1 who wants to drop in for some Darkness & D'n'B, Full Moon Wednesday is startin @ 5pm this evening over on http://onlyoldskool.com/radio.html always great banter in chat, but heres the media player link if your too shy but still wanna listen :Dhttp://api.viglink.com/api/click?format=go&key=190cd6dc27c66f8edf4cd0d943583f3b&loc=http%3A%2F%2Fonlyoldskool.com%2Findex.php&v=1&libid=1309360272610&out=http%3A%2F%2F84.234.18.82%3A7994%2Flisten.pls&ref=http%3A%2F%2Fonlyoldskool.com%2Fviewtopic.php%3Ff%3D518%26t%3D30398&title=The%20No.1%20Oldskool%20Music%20Forum&txt=Click%20here%20to%20Listen%20to%20OnlyOldskool%20Radio%20through%20MediaPlayers

SLOTS112.jpg

its shapin up to be one killer night of tunage!!!!!!!

cheers, es ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭DUB33

DJ Computer

DJ Computer

Warren K

Warren K

Warren K

Agree wit ya there Jay sorry i missed ur set but im defo glad i was n 4 warren as pressure as usuall playing wat he liked & not giving a fcuk about us he was playing "hole in one" a tune from 2000ish im just glad i didnt hav high expectations on hearing top Asylum tunes all nite but the atmosphere was brilliant & sorry i didnt get 2 chat wit ya jay an it was good 2 meet a few of here wit wat i cn rember :pac::pac: LoL

yeah that's Marc me aul raving mate for a few years:) haven't seen him online in a few days so probably still recovering :pac:;)

HaHa yea that was me & ur spot on Jon, u wud of lved the atomsphere, r u going the shaft reunion in sep. b good 2 meet up u been awhile :D

DUB33 wrote: »
    HaHa yea that was me & ur spot on Jon, u wud of lved the atomsphere, r u going the shaft reunion in sep. b good 2 meet up u been awhile :D

Who's playing at the Shaft reunion DUB? Don't remember seeing any details on it.

Rite lads sounds.I was getting meself mixed up as i asked 1 of the lads over on Tech radio there last week for a DJ Computer mix.I was sure it was Stephen N i asked.So he said he would post it over here.So when it was posted it was posted by Dub33 who i know as Marc.Then i was confused altogether thinking Stephen N and Dubb33 can't be the same person as i was always sure they were 2 different people.So it must have been MarcNolan1 who i asked to post the mix.

Ace it was me haha

Blue Bannana = full of knackers and scum i went there once never again random ***** - "where you from bud" me - "cabra mate" what ye doin over here are you selling yokes on our patch" me - you wha, i haven't a clue what your talking about" i went there with someone i used to know from the area even they said it was a poxy place,could never even be considered to be a proper rave club in my opinion.

Jon i went 2 it 1 nite wit Lar & his cousin's & sister mad place the lazer's were great but at the end the bouncer's cudnt let anybody out as they were getting lashed out of it by a load of blokes an big rocks were been thrown at the door never again & i thought tiffanys was bad out here in coolock lol