Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

its shaping up to be an oldskool house friday :D

• Registered Users Posts: 32 slim

dont forget folks 9-12 tonite on www.techradio.org with myself playin some nice old skool tunes from back in the day talk to yiz then....

bangin mix, scratchmaster sy rockin it!!!

http://soundcloud.com/mattbell/sy-8th-wonder-1994

cool mix this, no mc either :D

http://www.mediafire.com/?xvv873jsvoax99h

tracklist:

1 Redeyes / Battle Sweet Things*(Spearhead)
    2 Redeyes & Mutt / Ode To The Ghetto*(Good Looking)
    3 Calibre / Alien*(Unknown)
    4 A-Sides / Tokiado*(East Side Records)
    5 Paul T / Beautiful Girl*(Fizzy Beats)
    6 Zero T / Make It Home*CIA)
    7 A-Sides / One Love*(East Side)
    8 J- Layze / Memoryz*(Looking Good Records)
    9 Calibre / Out The Box*(Signature)
    10 Mutt / Era Draft*(Unknown)
    11 Furney / Pipez*(Good Looking)
    12 Ink and Perpetuum / Say Never*(Colours Audio)
    13 Redeyes / The Science Of Sleep*(Unknown)
    14 Furney / You Were There*(forthcoming Good Looking)
    15 Furney / Missing Her Missing You*(Good Looking)
    16 Utah Jazz / Cloud 9*(V-recordings)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Lads have yiz seen this:eek: it doesn't get much better than this, im gonna attempt something ive never done before, im gonna go to this and then fly back to Dublin for the Asylum reunion with Oliver Lieb, jaysus ill be in bleedin tatters but there is no way i can miss these events particularly Genesis, come on who's up for joining me on this adventure.:D

Genesis'88 Reunions - The True Acid House Experience

28 October at 22:00 - 29 October at 06:00
    Created by:
    Wayne Anthony, Shrinechick Nx, Chrisso Enter Blackwell
    More info
    Genesis 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992 and now 2011

GENESIS'88 Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/thegenesis88

DJs: Tyree Cooper (Chicago House Pioneer & Legend), Colin Dale (Acid House Legend), Mark Ruston (Spirit of '89), Wayne Anthony (Genesis'88 & Class of 88), Richie Fingers (all city) , Dem2 (Fantastic Ibiza'89), Dominic Spreadlove (Zigi's'87) No Music Beyond 1990

MC: Chalky White (Genesis, Sunrise, Biology, Energy)

Genesis'88 were one of the pioneering companies of Acid House and large scale all night dance parties. We use the words 'all night' because at the time all clubs closed at 2.20am. During the first three months of 1989 Genesis reputation grew as the only organisers staging a large scale warehouse party on every Saturday, Regardless... We became known for getting the job done...so much so that Genesis'88 staged events with all the big boys of the period Sunrise, Biology, Energy, Freedom to Party etc

Genesis'88 / Wayne Anthony is mentioned in no less than twenty books covering the subjects of Acid House, Electronic Music and Social History. Genesis partner Andrew Pritchard (Urban Smuggler) staged massive concerts for A-List artists. The entire Genesis tale is told in Class of 88 - The True Acid House Experience (Kindle on Amazon)...

What should you expect? 1,000 Happy-go-lucky Humans

'No-one in our association has a time machine so unless YOU personally transport your ego back to that uninhibitating sensation of pure empathy, it's just gonna be another warehouse party. I don't have a magic wand i cant transport us to that idyllic forum BUT you can, its within you to make it happen in the way it did back in the day. I guess what Im saying is if you plan on coming please suspend your ego at the door and enjoy the freedom of being alive during this unique period in our history. ' Wayne Anthony

MUSIC RULES: Strictly 1987-1990

We've found an amazing warehouse space run by some cool people who have been granted the necessary licenses to stage an event from 10pm-6am. Completely legal venue we have no intention of crashing buildings or stealing electricity like we did back then (Come On!). We do intend on keeping the address secret at this time though if the police want to know then do contact us.

3 Young Minds: Wayne Anthony, Andrew Pritchard, Keith Brooks

In the Event the Page Gets Shut Down PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO WAYNE ANTHONY'S PERSONAL LIST WAYNEANTHONY88@GMAIL.COM

More News to Follow...News is Hot Off the Press

Wayne's Acid House Blog: http://acidhousehistory.blogspot.com/

If you want to post tunes and video or general chat try our pages

Classof88
    https://www.facebook.com/theclassof88

EVERYONE NEEDS A PRIORITY PASS TO GET TICKET

Download Flyer: http://www.flickr.com/photos/wayneanthony/6124780496/sizes/o/in/photostream/

will have some of this:cool:
    es-cee wrote: »
    cool mix this, no mc either :D

http://www.mediafire.com/?xvv873jsvoax99h

tracklist:

1 Redeyes / Battle Sweet Things*(Spearhead)
    2 Redeyes & Mutt / Ode To The Ghetto*(Good Looking)
    3 Calibre / Alien*(Unknown)
    4 A-Sides / Tokiado*(East Side Records)
    5 Paul T / Beautiful Girl*(Fizzy Beats)
    6 Zero T / Make It Home*CIA)
    7 A-Sides / One Love*(East Side)
    8 J- Layze / Memoryz*(Looking Good Records)
    9 Calibre / Out The Box*(Signature)
    10 Mutt / Era Draft*(Unknown)
    11 Furney / Pipez*(Good Looking)
    12 Ink and Perpetuum / Say Never*(Colours Audio)
    13 Redeyes / The Science Of Sleep*(Unknown)
    14 Furney / You Were There*(forthcoming Good Looking)
    15 Furney / Missing Her Missing You*(Good Looking)
    16 Utah Jazz / Cloud 9*(V-recordings)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭holy_macaroni

jonnny68 wrote: »
    Lads have yiz seen this:eek: it doesn't get much better than this, im gonna attempt something ive never done before, im gonna go to this and then fly back to Dublin for the Asylum reunion with Oliver Lieb, jaysus ill be in bleedin tatters but there is no way i can miss these events particularly Genesis, come on who's up for joining me on this adventure.:D

Genesis'88 Reunions - The True Acid House Experience

28 October at 22:00 - 29 October at 06:00
    Created by:
    Wayne Anthony, Shrinechick Nx, Chrisso Enter Blackwell
    More info
    Genesis 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992 and now 2011

DJs: Tyree Cooper (Chicago House Pioneer & Legend), Colin Dale (Acid House Legend), Mark Ruston (Spirit of '89), Wayne Anthony (Genesis'88 & Class of 88), Richie Fingers (all city) , Dem2 (Fantastic Ibiza'89), Dominic Spreadlove (Zigi's'87) No Music Beyond 1990

MC: Chalky White (Genesis, Sunrise, Biology, Energy)

Genesis'88 were one of the pioneering companies of Acid House and large scale all night dance parties. We use the words 'all night' because at the time all clubs closed at 2.20am. During the first three months of 1989 Genesis reputation grew as the only organisers staging a large scale warehouse party on every Saturday, Regardless... We became known for getting the job done...so much so that Genesis'88 staged events with all the big boys of the period Sunrise, Biology, Energy, Freedom to Party etc

Genesis'88 / Wayne Anthony is mentioned in no less than twenty books covering the subjects of Acid House, Electronic Music and Social History. Genesis partner Andrew Pritchard (Urban Smuggler) staged massive concerts for A-List artists. The entire Genesis tale is told in Class of 88 - The True Acid House Experience (Kindle on Amazon)...

What should you expect? 1,000 Happy-go-lucky Humans

'No-one in our association has a time machine so unless YOU personally transport your ego back to that uninhibitating sensation of pure empathy, it's just gonna be another warehouse party. I don't have a magic wand i cant transport us to that idyllic forum BUT you can, its within you to make it happen in the way it did back in the day. I guess what Im saying is if you plan on coming please suspend your ego at the door and enjoy the freedom of being alive during this unique period in our history. ' Wayne Anthony

MUSIC RULES: Strictly 1987-1990

We've found an amazing warehouse space run by some cool people who have been granted the necessary licenses to stage an event from 10pm-6am. Completely legal venue we have no intention of crashing buildings or stealing electricity like we did back then (Come On!). We do intend on keeping the address secret at this time though if the police want to know then do contact us.

3 Young Minds: Wayne Anthony, Andrew Pritchard, Keith Brooks

In the Event the Page Gets Shut Down PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO WAYNE ANTHONY'S PERSONAL LIST WAYNEANTHONY88@GMAIL.COM

More News to Follow...News is Hot Off the Press

Wayne's Acid House Blog: http://acidhousehistory.blogspot.com/

If you want to post tunes and video or general chat try our pages

Classof88
    https://www.facebook.com/theclassof88

EVERYONE NEEDS A PRIORITY PASS TO GET TICKET

Download Flyer: http://www.flickr.com/photos/wayneanthony/6124780496/sizes/o/in/photostream/

love to have your shillings jonny :D

jonnny68 wrote: »
    will have some of this:cool:

its a killer mix man, just had it blasting here ;)

love to have your shillings jonny :D
    i dont know where the money is coming from mate im bleedin smashed big time but ill defo have to be going to these events, i haven't been out in about 5/6 months clubbing

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

Like the break.Good track alrite :D

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭BoDiddly

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭bluemoon2010

Heres a mix done few weeks ago lovely bit of oldskool :D tracklist below :p

http://soundcloud.com/eddiesargent/eddie-sargent-live-on-tonik?utm_source=soundcloud&utm_campaign=share&utm_medium=facebook&utm_content=http%3A%2F%2Fsoundcloud.com%2Feddiesargent%2Feddie-sargent-live-on-tonik

1 Teknique - Intelligence
    2 Mind over Music - Jacobs Ladder
    3 Bum Bum Club – Freaky Jam
    4 Illusive – Take Me Higher
    5 Decktition – The Rise E.P
    6 Dum Dum – One Earth Beat
    7 White - Slide
    8 Stereogen – Hi-Q
    9 M.A.N.I.C. – Gotta Get Loose
    10 The Delorme - Beatniks
    11 Zero The Hero – Direct To You
    12 Astronuts - Voyager
    13 Airscape - Cruisin
    14 3 Steps 2 House
    15 The Digital Blonde - Stars
    16 Neon
    17 Keithmac & Funkydory - Good Times 94
    18 Duece - Call It Love
    19 Olympic Moonshine - Leave Me There (Mr Spring)
    20 Sub-Bass - Elevation
    21 Luna Eclipse -The Return Home
    22 Masoko - Masoko
    23 Rock And Roll
    24 Star Fighter - Eddie On Groove (Marc Mac Edit)
    25 Gigi D'agostino
    26 Emmanuel Top - Acid Phase
    27 Atlantic Ocean - Waterfall (Remix)
    28 Tacayo - Shake your body
    29 P-C-L - When Your Moving
    30 Minimal Man - Treatment Feel
    31 Bizarre, Supreme! – Just Not Satisfied
    32 Bum Bum Club – Freaky Jam
    33 Stereogen – Hi-Q
    34 Ritmo De Vida - The Spirit Is Justified
    35 Libido - The Second Coming
    36 Worp
    37 Dream Plant - Giraffe
    38 Sesta Synergia - Extactica
    39 Lionrock - Carnival
    40 Romero - La Tormenta
    41 Jagga - Finito
    42 Airborn - Mirage
    43 Mo Tune - Infinite Climax

Heres a mix done few weeks ago lovely bit of oldskool :D tracklist below :p

http://soundcloud.com/eddiesargent/eddie-sargent-live-on-tonik?utm_source=soundcloud&utm_campaign=share&utm_medium=facebook&utm_content=http%3A%2F%2Fsoundcloud.com%2Feddiesargent%2Feddie-sargent-live-on-tonik

1 Teknique - Intelligence
    2 Mind over Music - Jacobs Ladder
    3 Bum Bum Club – Freaky Jam
    4 Illusive – Take Me Higher
    5 Decktition – The Rise E.P
    6 Dum Dum – One Earth Beat
    7 White - Slide
    8 Stereogen – Hi-Q
    9 M.A.N.I.C. – Gotta Get Loose
    10 The Delorme - Beatniks
    11 Zero The Hero – Direct To You
    12 Astronuts - Voyager
    13 Airscape - Cruisin
    14 3 Steps 2 House
    15 The Digital Blonde - Stars
    16 Neon
    17 Keithmac & Funkydory - Good Times 94
    18 Duece - Call It Love
    19 Olympic Moonshine - Leave Me There (Mr Spring)
    20 Sub-Bass - Elevation
    21 Luna Eclipse -The Return Home
    22 Masoko - Masoko
    23 Rock And Roll
    24 Star Fighter - Eddie On Groove (Marc Mac Edit)
    25 Gigi D'agostino
    26 Emmanuel Top - Acid Phase
    27 Atlantic Ocean - Waterfall (Remix)
    28 Tacayo - Shake your body
    29 P-C-L - When Your Moving
    30 Minimal Man - Treatment Feel
    31 Bizarre, Supreme! – Just Not Satisfied
    32 Bum Bum Club – Freaky Jam
    33 Stereogen – Hi-Q
    34 Ritmo De Vida - The Spirit Is Justified
    35 Libido - The Second Coming
    36 Worp
    37 Dream Plant - Giraffe
    38 Sesta Synergia - Extactica
    39 Lionrock - Carnival
    40 Romero - La Tormenta
    41 Jagga - Finito
    42 Airborn - Mirage
    43 Mo Tune - Infinite Climax

nice1 mate, i'll have a go of this, cheers :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭bluemoon2010

nice1 mate, i'll have a go of this, cheers :)

no worries dude enjoy:), would you know any of these taken from a show d oder nite :D

http://www63.zippyshare.com/v/3141558/file.html

http://www63.zippyshare.com/v/82978185/file.html

http://www63.zippyshare.com/v/5337601/file.html

http://www63.zippyshare.com/v/89219355/file.html

1st ones this

don't know the other 3, maybe ace or tdv can shed some light on those?

i do have to laugh at some dj's (who will remain nameless for obvious reasons) who pass off late 90's and even early 00's as oldskool. seen an advertisement on FB earlier for an "oldskool" night which ranges in years from 1990-2005. since when has anything in the 00's been considered oldskool? thats like sayin the temple theatre was oldskool ffs, and it was anything but lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

i do have to laugh at some dj's (who will remain nameless for obvious reasons) who pass off late 90's and even early 00's as oldskool. seen an advertisement on FB earlier for an "oldskool" night which ranges in years from 1990-2005. since when has anything in the 00's been considered oldskool? thats like sayin the temple theatre was oldskool ffs, and it was anything but lol.

That could be interpreted two ways sean,

You have nailed a very valid point with an astute observation.

or,

Your era is becoming oldskool & you dont want to admit it:D

That could be interpreted two ways sean,

You have nailed a very valid point with an astute observation.

or,

Your era is becoming oldskool & you dont want to admit it:D

i see what your getting at, but tracks that are six years old being classed as oldskool? i really can't see it myself, its probably coz i really don't consider anything after '95 to be oldskool, synths, production techniques, beat & drum machines all drastically changed beyond that point resulting in a very polished sound that oldskool just doesn't have. i still don't consider the temple to be oldskool tho, i'm not that old yet :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

i see what your getting at, but tracks that are six years old being classed as oldskool? i really can't see it myself, its probably coz i really don't consider anything after '95 to be oldskool, synths, production techniques, beat & drum machines all drastically changed beyond that point resulting in a very polished sound that oldskool just doesn't have. i still don't consider the temple to be oldskool tho, i'm not that old yet :D:D:D

Another way of politley saying it all went shít after 1995:D

it all went tits up with sub genres and stuff, trance was heading into commercial territory, and then into out n out cheese by '98. hard house was the mainstay of clubs during this period as well, as it hadn't mutated into the unbearable hoover and horn donk sound yet, and was pretty decent tunage. hardcore had gotten very happy and cheesy too, with chipmunk vocals taking centre stage, drum n bass was still very much one of my favs in this period, was one of the only genres that hadn't become commercialized yet. techno became very repetative and bland and i totally lost interest in it.

yeah it was pretty sh1t alright :D:D:D:D