Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you take your shoes off?

• 16-06-2005 5:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭

I meant to post this before the weekend but kept forgetting.

So I'm in English or whatever, and I take a moment to look around. I suddenly notice that about a dozen people (and that's only the ones I could see) around me have taken off there shoes and are just doing the test in their socks. Isn't that weird!? It is weird! I mean, who does that? It's not the first time I've seen it either. I saw it in the mocks too but only one person was doing it.

Do any of you take your shoes off during tests?

Have any of you seen others do it?

Isn't it weird!?

Well do ya? Punk! 11 votes

Yes, I love the smell of cheese in the morning!
    0% 0 votes
    No, that's weird!
    100% 11 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

Nope no one in my year does it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

When I was doing the JC, I never saw people taking off their shoes, not once. I admit I would have been surprised if I saw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭jennyq

Never happened in my school, & I'm so glad, because I have this thing about feet, I just hate them. If anybody had a hole in their sock or if I could see their actual foot at all it'd ruin my concentration & I'd feel kinda ill.

What? Don't look at me like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭J Campion

Yeah! Saw 3 guys (out of 30) shoeless durin the exams today! Two had their shoes under their chairs totally off, the other was kinda flickin his on and off. I glared at them. Then again, I get really warm during exams sometimes and I take off my jumper. Maybe that's why they take off their shoes.

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭Alqua

I've haven't seen people with their shoes completely off, but sometimes their shoes would be hanging off and they'd be kicking them around a bit.
    Then again, I get really warm during exams sometimes and I take off my jumper.
    Speaking of that, do you think they'd have noticed today if I took off my cardigan and started looking at the tag to get a man-made material for science? I didn't, but I was wondering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

It's too cold in our hall to take off shoes.
    A lot of people (including me) did it in the mocks though, because we were in a different hall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

jennyq wrote:
    Never happened in my school, & I'm so glad, because I have this thing about feet, I just hate them. If anybody had a hole in their sock or if I could see their actual foot at all it'd ruin my concentration & I'd feel kinda ill.

What? Don't look at me like that.

I know exactly how you feel,I swear to god if someone took off their shoes 'd probably have and get sick.Eugh icky feet............. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Sweetness!

Thats really weird, uhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

spiderlegs wrote:
    I know exactly how you feel,I swear to god if someone took off their shoes 'd probably have and get sick.Eugh icky feet............. :(
    Don't worry, you're not alone.

(My girlfriend has that weirdo thing about feet too)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭*Angel*

You weird juniors, or maybe just Hugh's year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,548 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Do you take your shoes off?
    Yes, every night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Fobia

Victor wrote:
    Yes, every night.

Weirdo. If I saw someone who takes their shoes off before they go to bed I think I'd get sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

I was shoeless for my art exam (coincidentally the same day I was wearing socks with holes :rolleyes: ) because people are eejits, forgot to bring shoes to draw, and then didn't want the shame (scarleh for yeh!) of not wearing shoes, so I so kindly lent them mine.

Otherwise, I didn't notice. I don't think anyone took their shoes off... seems kinda weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Fobia wrote:
    Weirdo. If I saw someone who takes their shoes off before they go to bed I think I'd get sick.
    Sometimes, I wander from bathroom to bedroom, with wearing my gloves. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

I hate wearing shoes! but I keep them on in school. I dont like if people touch me with their feet though, its just....ugh...horrible! My examiner dude wears sandals with socks and that bothers me soooo much, I dont even know why!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

I keep mine on, but I can see why people would take them off. It makes sense to be as comfortable as possible in a big exam, less chance of getting distracted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Mysteryfish

no i don't take off my shoes in an exam. Although in the mocks, when we were in our uniforms, i tended to flick the heel of my shoe on and off my foot when I couldn't think of anything to write...

Not concerning shoes but interesting, a girl in my school came to home ec. exam today in her pyjamas! She lives 5 seconds away from the school and she just decided to wear her PJs to the exam! You couldn't really tell that much 'cause they jsut looked like those velour tracksuits, but then someone asked her why she was wearing her pyjamas. She was just like, " 'cause I wanted to."

There's being comfortable for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Flashling

I think I know who that is...is it the same person who drank shampoo (long story) and was off sick for two weeks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Casserine

No way. Well, I sort of jiggle them on and off a bit, but that's just because they're loose on my feet. My supervisor takes off her shoes though. She's so distracting. She kept sneezing, coughing and laughing to herself. Once, her phone went off during an exam. It was only CSPE though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Funnily enough, I always do this during exams. Pretty much as soon as I start writing my shoes come off. My feet like their freedom. :)

Flashling wrote:
    I think I know who that is...is it the same person who drank shampoo (long story) and was off sick for two weeks?
    Sounds like the first year with the potassium permanganate stains for three weeks. :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Diarmsquid wrote:
    It's too cold in our hall to take off shoes.
    How was it too cold? It's been such hot weather all through the exams!!

I don't take my shoes off during exams, but I used to always take my school shoes off when I was in class cos I didn't like them - thankfully I could wear whatever I wanted during the Leaving Cert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭DAEDULUS

because there was no teachers in the hall while we were doing our exams,i decided the examiners werent going to do anything if i sat back,put my legs up on the desk and put my paper on my thighs,twas very comfortable :D

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Irishstabber

DAEDULUS wrote:
    because there was no teachers in the hall while we were doing our exams,i decided the examiners werent going to do anything if i sat back,put my legs up on the desk and put my paper on my thighs,twas very comfortable :D

HAHA your a legend :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Diggins

Did ye all have to wear your uniforms into school or something? most of the girls in my school were wearing flip flops the and the lads (including myself) did not take off their runners why would a lad do that, just to stink up the hall or sumthing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

We had to stay in our full uniforms. Some girls tried wearing tracksuits and they got given out to quite thoroughly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

DAEDULUS wrote:

Thats TOO EASY to picture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

Yeah we had to wear the full uniform. Kinda annoying but it's just clothes so who gives a toss?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭Strokesa

We had to wear our uniform too...it annoyed the **** out of me cos i wanted to wear something comfortable. Also my jumper was falling apart and the sleeves kept getting in my way. Honestly my jumper is extremely embaressing(how the **** do u spell that word?)to say the least. It likes like I was attacked and half eaten. It has to be believed to be seen...hmmm isnt that a song line???
    Anyway yes down with uniforms during the junior cert(join the support group-D.W.U.D.T.J.C)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Diggins

we were told to wear our uniforms but nobody did and they didnt give a toss sure it wasnt really school it was our option (well mine since im 16) to go or not so we woar normal clothes was deadly craic during the exams i wasnt stressed at all

Strokesa wrote:
    Honestly my jumper is extremely embaressing
    Embarrassing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭declan_lgs

I've never noticed anyone without their shoes on during an exam... Well, not really...
    We sometimes play this game where ya see who can take off the most clothes during class without the teacher/supervisor noticing... Quite fun :D

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Irishstabber

hahahahaha you crazy people...I hope your school is mixed :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭declan_lgs

I hope your school is mixed :eek:
    Of course.
    We've never been caught but I guess it's kindof inevitable. One day the teacher will look up and someone will have their trousers at their ankles.