Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

CL and UEFA Cup draws

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭thejollyrodger

shels broke through to the 3rd round and narrowly missed out on the champions league group stages !! thats serious progress IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

EIREBHOY :mad: IVE BEEN TO MORE GAMES IN TOLKA THAN YOU HAVE HOT DINNERS
    Jolly - I've never met you in my life but I can almost say for certain that you have never been to a Shels match. :) Every Ireland/Shels match you're always posting either on this forum or foot.ie during the match. Don't try to make out you're a die hard Shels fan:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1806081&postcount=29
    hehe took Eb 2 years to come out of the closet about being a Pats fan :D
    Wasn't even 2 years ago: :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1403704&postcount=38

I don't claim to be a Pats fan really though. I probably will in a few years time but atm I'm letting them grow on me. ;) I've been to Richmond about 4 or 5 times since that post and could name the first 11 so thats a start. :)

Eireboy i dont pretend to be a die hard supporter (unlike some , not naming names ) but i have been to plenty of EL matches.. far more than you ever have , yet you post on it like you have attended every EL match Ever.

lol. :)

/edit - PM me Jolly and lets leave this thread alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Delighted with the first round draw, and the ROmanians believe they're 90% through, so fingers crossed the complacency destroys them! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

eirebhoy wrote:
    lol. :)

/edit - PM me Jolly and lets leave this thread alone.

FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!

kdjac

Hajduk thought they had already qualified to play Depor after the 1st leg last season. The more complacent Steaua are the better.

Haha:d

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

narrowly missed out on the champions league group stages !

so a 3-0 defeat is narrow then ;)

jank wrote:
    so a 3-0 defeat is narrow then ;)
    In fairness, if Jason Byrne knew how to score in Europe they'd probably have made the group stages. :)

come on, Depor were lucky. the first goal by hector or whatever the mugs name is shouldnt have counted cos we pratically gave them the ball. the goal at the end was just given by the ref cos he wanted Depor to have a respectable scoreline. Depor went off the boil and if byrne was in top form it would have been a totally different story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

gimmick wrote:
    ^ Without making too much of a thing of this TJR, before last season, when did Shels do anything of note in Europe?

you mean aside from being the first LOI team to win away from home in nearly two decades and draw away with Rosenborg, and if you want to go way back afaik being only the second loi team to win a european tie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

come on, Depor were lucky. the first goal by hector or whatever the mugs name is shouldnt have counted cos we pratically gave them the ball. the goal at the end was just given by the ref cos he wanted Depor to have a respectable scoreline. Depor went off the boil and if byrne was in top form it would have been a totally different story
    A lot of ifs and buts there.

But lets face facts, an unprepared and underperforming Deportivo side still ended up winning the tie 3-0.

Well, we were totally unprepared for such a weak Depor team. we won 4-2 last night but I wont pretend were in good shape. Neither were that Deportivo team.

There was no way that last goal was a free !! i never have seen such a dodgy ref decision in my life.

If we had scored one, it would have been such a different story.

A lot of ifs and buts there.

But lets face facts, an unprepared and underperforming Deportivo side still ended up winning the tie 3-0.
    He did say " narrowly missed out on the champions league group stages !". That is true. If Byrne took one of the two superb chances he had in the 2nd half Depor would have needed 2 goals against Shels sitting back with 11 men.

Well, we were totally unprepared for such a weak Depor team. we won 4-2 last night but I wont pretend were in good shape. Neither were that Deportivo team.
    How were Shels unprepared? How many months into their season were they? Three? What does the shape Shelbourne were in last night have anything to do with the Depor game?
    If we had scored one, it would have been such a different story.
    Well it did finish 3-0, so I fail to see how one goal would have changed it.
    eirebhoy wrote:
    He did say " narrowly missed out on the champions league group stages !". That is true. If Byrne took one of the two superb chances he had in the 2nd half Depor would have needed 2 goals against Shels sitting back with 11 men.
    But the bit I quoted was that almost everything that Depor got in the game was lucky.

If Byrne was a striker of better standard of the EL he might have scored. Theres another if. But he's not, and he couldnt cope with the pressure and nerves required of the champions league.

Deportivo did score three goals, and its not as if Shels were coming out all guns blazing until it was 2-0.

Dont get me wrong Shelbourne did really well, and gave a great account of themselves, but they lost the tie 3-0. The class showed when it had to. I dont remember each goal clearly at this stage but I remember the first was a mistake by a Shels player, that could happen at any time, and the second was a thumping long ranger, which you cant defend against. Fair play Shels, but Depor upped their game when they had to and were clinical when they got their chances.

Shels were expecting a strong Depor team.. if we knew they were going to be as weak then we could have went with 4-4-2 at home and got a 1-0.

As for the Riazor , well that was a mis calcuation as well. Depor look incredibly nervous. They dont have the best of mentality and an early goal there would have completely changed the whole game.

Shels were sitting back for all of the match. It wasnt class that seperated the two sides, it was a lack of concentration by Shels on their part and a one sided ref !

Depor were far from clinical, they were dodgy as fúck and was our best oppurtunity of getting to the group stages ever and probably for the next foreseeable few years

Shels were expecting a strong Depor team.. if we knew they were going to be as weak then we could have went with 4-4-2 at home and got a 1-0.
    Of course this is fact.

Who's to say that if Shels went 4-4-2 at home they wouldn't have been beaten 3-0?
    As for the Riazor , well that was a mis calcuation as well. Depor look incredibly nervous. They dont have the best of mentality and an early goal there would have completely changed the whole game.

Shels were sitting back for all of the match.
    So even though in your own words Shels "were sitting back for all of the match" (like they would have done if they got an early goal) and still conceeded THREE goals, if they got this early goal they somehow wouldn't have conceeded three in reply?

I don't follow.
    It wasnt class that seperated the two sides, it was a lack of concentration by Shels on their part and a one sided ref !
    If Diego Tristan or Albert Luque got some of the chances that Byrne got I would imagine that they would despatch them, because they are players of better class.

As for the ref, I don't remember any really contentious issues going in Depor's favour.
    Depor were far from clinical
    They put the goals in at the vital times, and killed the game off when they were already leading. That to me is clinical.
    they were dodgy as fúck and was our best oppurtunity of getting to the group stages ever and probably for the next foreseeable few years
    I agree. But just because it was Shel's best chance I don't think it was unlucky that they didn't qualify.

Of course this is fact.

Who's to say that if Shels went 4-4-2 at home they wouldn't have been beaten 3-0?

because Deportivo had hardly a shot on goal. We gave them far too much respect, they werent very fit either. Fenlon could have went for 4-4-2 after 60 minutes
    So even though in your own words Shels "were sitting back for all of the match" (like they would have done if they got an early goal) and still conceeded THREE goals, if they got this early goal they somehow wouldn't have conceeded three in reply?

I don't follow.

No, I said , or meant, that shels policy was to keep the game tight for 90 minutes and hopefully nick a goal. We rarely went forward and pressurised them. Spanish sides play best when they arent pressurised and have lots of time on the ball. Once you get at them its a different story, they havent the strongest of mentalities.

If Diego Tristan or Albert Luque got some of the chances that Byrne got I would imagine that they would despatch them, because they are players of better class.

As for the ref, I don't remember any really contentious issues going in Depor's favour.

Obviously we need a better striker for the European games. But I remember the deportivo game. The scored goals out of our mistakes and produced nothing of their own apart from the second goal i think. the first and third were just stupid mistakes by us.
    They put the goals in at the vital times, and killed the game off when they were already leading. That to me is clinical.

I agree. But just because it was Shel's best chance I don't think it was unlucky that they didn't qualify.

I think you over rate Deportivo, they were in decline when we played them and we were a lot better than a 3-0 defeat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,982 ✭✭✭Big Ears

I seem to remeber the free that lead to the 3rd goal (Pandiani I think) wasn't actually a free , but the game was over by then .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Slash/ED wrote:
    you mean aside from being the first LOI team to win away from home in nearly two decades and draw away with Rosenborg, and if you want to go way back afaik being only the second loi team to win a european tie.

My point was that before Shels great run last season, they didnt do much everytime in Europe like some are trying to make out. Some are trying to make out that City etc have embarrassed themselves and the eL in general down in Europe on a consistant basis, when that blatantly isnt true.

Anyway, this point has gone away on a tangent. No one cares about Shels Vs Depor last season. Its history. Shels went further than they could have expected and made a tidy sum in the process. As for couldas, wouldas, and shouldas, thats just boring.

Now lets hope the other eL teams dont go the way of Bohs.

As for Shels and their impending trip up north - is it possible this tie will be switched, or Glens' home tie played in Wales/Liverpool a lá Rangers Vs Shels a few seasons ago (Prenton Park)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

The Glentoran away game is on the 13th of July, in Belfast, this is confirmed.

Provisions have been made for travelling support, there will be Garda and NIPS escort, and you have to book the package through the club, match tickets will be distributed on the bus only. We'll be brought into the stadium, then back out under escort.

And yes, I really, really hope the other eL clubs don't go the way of Bohs.

the trip to Glentorian wont (yes wont) be a stroll in the park but we shouldnt be under the impression that we cant beat them in both games.

Nutsy has to get the tatics right. I know 4-5-1 has served us well but this is more like a EL game and 442 might be better. It should defintely be 442 in Tolka. The 2nd leg should be held in Tolka as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

the trip to Glentorian wont (yes wont) be a stroll in the park but we shouldnt be under the impression that we cant beat them in both games.

Nobody is under that impression, we're clear favourites and expected to progress but it wont be easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Interestingly enough, Cork City actually came out of the hat opposite Longford. What a glamour tie that would have been! Obviously City were thrown back into the hat.

Also, just after Shels' draw, Ollie was seen having a loud chat with a UEFA official saying something to the effect of - "Theres no way we are travelling up there on July 12th".

Im surprised that it will happen, as it surely must be a massive security risk.

The Shels team will have to be in NI at least 24 hours before the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

that ollie byrne looked like a awful scruffy f*ucker. Say it on SPN, to be honest, it was a bit of a let down for the EL. He was shaikng hands with the glens chairman(or CE) next to the CL trophy. HE looked like a farmer. His terrible dunnes shirt, big fat guiness beer belly.

I was expecting him to stick some straw in his mouth and chew it. With al the money they earned last season, he should of bought himself some decent clobber.

Is this the pic you were on about?

http://www.glentoran.net/240605a.htm

Ollie has done so much for the club but sometimes I wonder if he is holding it back. In situations like that and in tense matches I wish we had a more accomplished chairman. Maybe shels should appoint a PR man for those shin digs.

anyway, the 13th is going to be no holiday for us in the north. Maybe Shels should just stay in Newry with PSNI protection

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

seansouth wrote:
    Is this the pic you were on about?

http://www.glentoran.net/240605a.htm

haha, thats the one.

shocking.

because Deportivo had hardly a shot on goal. We gave them far too much respect, they werent very fit either. Fenlon could have went for 4-4-2 after 60 minutes
    And by doing so Depor could have easily scored. You are working that on the assumption that by changing to 4-4-2 that Shelbourne had a better chance of scoring, which is probably true, but they would also have had a bigger chance of conceeding.
    No, I said , or meant, that shels policy was to keep the game tight for 90 minutes and hopefully nick a goal. We rarely went forward and pressurised them. Spanish sides play best when they arent pressurised and have lots of time on the ball. Once you get at them its a different story, they havent the strongest of mentalities.
    I would imagine a side of the technical ability of Depor could more than cope with a Chaltonesque "put em under pressure" attitude. One touch passes could have picked them off.
    Obviously we need a better striker for the European games. But I remember the deportivo game. The scored goals out of our mistakes and produced nothing of their own apart from the second goal i think. the first and third were just stupid mistakes by us.
    Ive read back through match reports and they had plenty of chances. Put fact of the matter is that Shels are not a top class team and will make mistakes at this level. And even if you think they produced nothing apart from the goal that second goal would have still been enough to win the tie.
    I think you over rate Deportivo, they were in decline when we played them and we were a lot better than a 3-0 defeat
    No I dont, Depor were crap last year, by their standards. But crap by their standards is still streets ahead of Shels and I dont think 3-0 flattered them incredibly.

Ive said it before, they did great, but they were not unlucky to go out. The caught Depor at the best time possible for them, as they were well into their season and Depor hadnt even started theirs, they battled theirs hearts out but the class showed in the end. Nothing you say will change this.