Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hill 16

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭McClane

Well Mc Clane some supporters have a sense of humour and take these things as they are intended.

Oh ha ha ha the firework i threw blow up in someones face, ha ha ha.

Oh ha ha ha i'm shouting insults at the best corner forward in the country because hes not playing for Dublin.

Oh ha ha ha i'm booing the opposition everytime they have a freekick because i'm an unsporting scumbag.

Very funny.

I've seen die hard Cork fans praise Brendan Cummins, i've seen die hard Tipp and Cork fans praise Henry Shefflin, i've seen die hard football fans from every other county praise Peter Canavan. I've never before seen such unsporting scumbag behaviour towards the opposition before.
    n relation to the bottle and firework, evry Dublin fan that has psoted in this thread has deplored the act, but it has happened in other matches with other teams without this kind of reaction. The fact that you cannot remember these instances only really goes to prove

Name another match where a firework was thrown ?

Name another match missiles were launched during a penalty ?

Name another match where a player was being inslted and booed without doing something to deserve it.

I didn't forget any instances, they never happened. Its up to you to tell me when they did.
    Regarding your idea Dublin fans should travel away to matches so they dont go

I wasn't being serious and you know that. Something does have to be done though.
    Your point that you have no interest in the behaviour of Meath fans, again displays a bias against Dublin

I said i had no interest watching Meath play and i can't remember the last time i did. My point was that someone said they act like the scumbags on hill 16 did the other day, but i couldn't say they do or don't because i haven't seen it and rarely watch them.
    as I do not see why you should have any more interest in Dublin matches then in Meath matches?

Dublins matches are usually on the telly, I love waching good football ad Mattie Forde is an absolute joy to watch. I wasn't watching it for ye,i was watching it for Wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,000 ✭✭✭The Rooster

McClane wrote:

Oh ha ha ha i'm shouting insults at the best corner forward in the country because hes not playing for Dublin.

Oh ha ha ha i'm booing the opposition everytime they have a freekick because i'm an unsporting scumbag.

I've seen die hard Cork fans praise Brendan Cummins, i've seen die hard Tipp and Cork fans praise Henry Shefflin, i've seen die hard football fans from every other county praise Peter Canavan. I've never before seen such unsporting scumbag behaviour towards the opposition before.

Name another match where a player was being inslted and booed without doing something to deserve it.

Dublins matches are usually on the telly, I love waching good football ad Mattie Forde is an absolute joy to watch. I wasn't watching it for ye,i was watching it for Wexford.
    The firework was a disgraceful incident. The individual who threw it should have been arrested. But it was one individual who threw it. Focusing the discussion on the firework has no logic. As you said its never happened before, and hopefully it wont happen again.

I also think the abuse Forde got has been exagerrated. There was an incident that sparked it in the first half when he gave Griffin a slap while Forde himself had possession. The ref did nothing and the Hill got upset. Its not particularly nice but its not uncommon among every county's supporters when they feel an injustice is done. There was little or no abuse of Forde from the Hill in the second half because he was down the opposite end.

Every county has supporters who boo opposition freetakers.

I've see die-hard Dublin supporters praising Graham Geraghty for his performance against the Dubs, particularly in the first half, a few weeks ago. Every fan was talking about how brilliant he was in fact. He still got plenty of booing because of his thuggery on the pitch including stamping on Conal Keaney as he lay on the ground, and waving a celebratory arm to the Hill afterwards!

Take off the blinkers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

McClane wrote:

Can't remember and do not think there have been firework incidents at a GAA match before, I was more referring to bottles. Can't remember the game but last season as teams were walking off the pitch they had bottles thrown at them.

As regards the booing, you seem alot more upset about ti then Mattie Forde would be. It is merely banter, just loud noise. Get off your moral highground and stop trying to lecture fans in their behaviour. I have often heard Dub fans complimenting players from other teams, in fact after the Meath game just gone many dublin fans were heard to utter very positive feedback about Graham Geraghty who is possibly the most disliked man in Hill 16. In fact if you go and check the thread here relating to that game you should see some of those comments. We have no problem applauding an opposition player, but similarly we will try to wind them up a bit and put them off their game. I am pretty sure it does not work but it is a bit of craic.

Please do not be puttinmg wrds in my mouth, I never said the firework was a bit of craic, in fact I said that I was strongly against that act, but mentioning that does not aid your farcicalarguement so you chose to gloss over that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I think Cavan showed last weekend that they do have the ability to win Ulster. They did draw with the 10-11 bookies' favourites after all.

I also said Dublin had the ability to win Leinster but not the All-Ireland and I'm still sticking to my guns with that prediction.

Which is what I and most other Dublin fans on this forum have been saying all along. Yet you criticise us for saying it. I am not having a go at you Lemlin, just trying topoint out that when we do what other fans do, there seems to be double standards in operation.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

McClane wrote:

You must have a problem reading or something. Everybody has said the firework was a bad thing. I said the banter between the sets of supporters was a bit of craic. During the match there was a section of Wexford fans sitting in the lower Hogan close to the hill who were constantly standing up shouting over at the hill sticking there fingers up and doing the w*nkers gesture towards the hill. So what? Its only banter. When the game is over its forgotten about. Also the people who were in the hill knew they were gonna get that kinda thing sung at them its only a laugh as the girl from Wexford beside me knew. She was joking about it with us. Would you stop being such a dry sh1te!!

Your whole problem seems to stem from one firework being thrown in one game by one individual. Now you are given dub fans a bad name because of it. Would you stop its only one time that is very unlikely to happen again. I already said it was a terrible thing to do and nobody here is saying otherwise. Accept it was a once off and deal with it.
    McClane wrote:
    Name another match where a player was being inslted and booed without doing something to deserve it

Jaosn Sherlock has been racially abused many a time by oposition fans but I suppose you are just simply choosing to ignore that now arent you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Well what do you expect in a thread named Hill 16, namely about the disgraceful behaviour of a section of the fans on the Hill

Just an aside on the drink, I was in the lower Hogan and it was available there. You werent allowed bring it into the actual ground afaik.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

ColHol wrote:
    Well what do you expect in a thread named Hill 16, namely about the disgraceful behaviour of a section of the fans on the Hill

Ok then tell me about the disgraceful behaviour OTHER THAN THE WEXFORD GAME??

I also think the abuse Forde got has been exagerrated. There was an incident that sparked it in the first half when he gave Griffin a slap while Forde himself had possession.

Ah now thats a different story. I didn't see that and no one else mentioned it. Thats perfectly alright so, i'd do the same thing myself. I apologise. I honestly didn't know that.
    Every county has supporters who boo opposition freetakers.

Not for doing nothing wrong they don't. Thats crap. I don't believe it was the majority of dub fans either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

McClane wrote:
    Not for doing nothing wrong they don't. Thats crap. I don't believe it was the majority of dub fans either.

...every game I've seen the opposition fans have made noises whilst players have been trying to take frees.

are you differenciating between booing and the other noises made while guys/gals are trying to take frees?

As regards the booing, you seem alot more upset about ti then Mattie Forde would be.

I thought he didn't do anything to deserve it. Since he slapped yer man and got no punishment then thats perfectly alright.
    I have often heard Dub fans complimenting players from other team

Read my posts. I said i get on with a lot of dub fans, i wasn't saying they never complimented othe teams players. I was referring to the scumbas on Hill 16 who were throwing stuff and shoutin abuse for no reason. I also take issue with slagging other supporters, thats not on at all.

Jaosn Sherlock has been racially abused many a time by oposition fans but I suppose you are just simply choosing to ignore that now arent you.

By who ?

I think your not listening to the people heres arguments. We're not labelling all dub fans, we're simply complaining about the scumbags who were at the last dub v wex game. I've never had problems with any other supporters except for dubs. A large crowd of one teams supporters slagging off another teams supporters is not right. I enjoy chatting to opposition supporters and i enjoy the fact we can mix freely without the type of bull**** that goes on at soccer matches happening. I have had trouble with dub fans before, namely when we played them about 4-5 years ago. They were nice and loud and shouting their mouths off, very insulting towards us.

Yes every county has their scum but dub just seems to have a much larger percentage and they seem to be much worse then anyone elses.

Saying that i know my fair share of very decet dub fans who i'd enjoy chatting to and going to games with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

shut it down................shut it dooowwwn quick!!!

Dublin are getting a hard time FFS!

as for happening in every sport. I for one think GAA is above what happens in any other sport.

That is about the level of discussion I have come to expect from you over the years mighty mouth. Such a pearl of wisdom! :rolleyes:

I do have to back up Mighty Mouse. Alot of topics which result in the Dubs getting a hard time are often locked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Just a quick one on the nets
    I suppose the nets were taken down behind the goals so that they could get straight into setting the stage up for this weekends gigs on Monday morning.
    So why just take down one net......and why take the net on the Hill end if its full of scumbags who do nothing but toss bottle and fireworks :rolleyes: .....take it down off the Canal End if thats the case!

YES the firework was a disgrace!!

But cos the Guards and Security didnt do anything about it.......just looked up in the general direction it came from in disgust.......what are the few other scumbags going to think now!
    They are saying to themselves.....sure nothing was done then.....nothing will be done sunday 3 weeks!
    They are going to chance their arms and there will be 3 guys with fireworks!

The Guards show have done something about it there and then! A bit of heavy hand the first time it happens and it will never happed again!

If I was a garda or security guard I wouldn't be willing to run into a gang of about 20,000! Would you!?

Even if the majority were good, honest fans.

I didnt mean just one lad run up!
    I hope the GAA request a few more Garda for the Final....cos if it happens again it really does need to be sorted there and then!

And before you start saying the Guards have better things to be doing on our streets while the match is on.......theres how many scratching their holes in the Garda band!!!!
    Though it is nice to hear them play....but the Artane Boys are just as good! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

Dublin-Cork

Both counties have a large city in their county, yet there is a big difference between the sets of fans that follow them - just can't put my finger on it...

Is it the style of wit that Cork has?
    Is it the fact that Cork fans will stop and mingle with the opposition fans - Win-Loose-or draw?

Any ideas?
    Anyone???

I would rather 1000 times more to loose to Cork than loose to Dublin. Why is that? Would my feeling of loosing to Cork be held by many others???

Comments please!

Danno wrote:
    I would rather 1000 times more to loose to Cork than loose to Dublin. Why is that? ......Comments please!

Oh boy.........you wont like it in 3 and a half weeks time then!! :D

Cant speak for every Dubs fan...but im always up for a bit of banter after the match while walking for the stadium or in the pub!!
    I love the banter.....and thats why i go.......watch the spectal of the game and enjoy the craic after!!

There are a few sour grapes in the bunch.........but cos our bunch is so big (after all Dublin has about 1/3 of the population of Ireland).........it just seems that the whole bunch is bad.....but they're not if you look closely!...Arent they? :confused: ....i hope they are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Waylander wrote:
    ColHol you have to bear in mind that there are usually alot more Dublin fans then any other counties, so there are bound to be more halfwits. Not much can be done about this. As regards the booing I really do not think it was that bad form, and I think the throat infection and the flu Mattie had in the run up to the game had alot more to do with his relatively quiet performance, as opposed to dubs booing him. There are sveral Dublin fans who post here regularly, none of them have ever shown themselves to be scumbags on these boards, and all have shown themselves to be knowledgeable about the game. I cant speak for Al, Rooster, Flukey etc, but personally I feel that their are certain posters on this site who take pleasure from trying to lay the boot in to the Dublin team or Dublin fans. Without these record attendances that Dublin fans consistently give the GAA Croke Park would still be a glorified shed, and we would not have the magnificent stadium that is currently there. Maybe soneone should start a thread patting the Dublin fans on the back for a change instead of laying the boot in!

Hey Waylander...you're nearly funny! I could bring up the fact that Dublin has, at least, 30% on the population of the country. The record attendences were because RTÉ decided not to have either game live. The Kildare V Laois match was originally the highlight of the day. (Thankfully it wasn't televised...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Danno wrote:
    Dublin-Cork
    Both counties have a large city in their county, yet there is a big difference between the sets of fans that follow them - just can't put my finger on it...

Is it the style of wit that Cork has?
    Is it the fact that Cork fans will stop and mingle with the opposition fans - Win-Loose-or draw?

Any ideas?
    Anyone???

I would rather 1000 times more to loose to Cork than loose to Dublin. Why is that? Would my feeling of loosing to Cork be held by many others???

Comments please!
    Danno, I'm a Danno too (a bit). And a person who didn't like what happened between Kildare V Laois. ( But fair play to Laois for doing what they did).

Thing is....a lot more Dub fans are into the 'soccer' rather than the national sport.

(I know it's ironic that I'm from Kildare, a county lacking in hurling history...but hurling's marvellous) And I love it....)

The thing is that other fans are always going to hate Dublin because of the media coverage they get. For example, I know its not much of a paper but for the last week running The Sun has had at least a two-page story on the Dubs, with the rest of the country's teams getting a page between them.

The Herald and Sunday World are also two papers that could be reminded that there are 34 teams in the All-Ireland football championship and not one. They're trying to sell papers so they're trying to appeal to the mass audience. This probably can't be avoided but it does annoy other fans. Hence the bias.

The one thing I wouldn't agree with at all though as the organising of last year's qualifiers to keep Dublin in the Championship. I don't care what anyone says about the draw being legitimate but in my mind there's no way that Dublin could have got the easiest team in each draw on consequence. London, Leitrim and then Longford, you couldn't dream it up. The weakest teams they could face in each draw by far.

Then, they get Roscommon, the weakest of the teams left to fill Croker again and then the GAA must of decided that they'd beat none of the teams left anyway so pit them against Kerry to guarantee a full house.

You may say that the draw could not be rigged but I know in my mind it definitely was. Have you ever seen any other team get such an easy run?

The one thing I wouldn't agree with at all though as the organising of last year's qualifiers to keep Dublin in the Championship.

Maybe i'm nieve but i really hope it wasn't fixed. It has looked that way most definately last year and i remember feeling the same way in years past but i certainly hope its not.

Lemlin there has been buggeralll threads closed on this forum, and the only one recently closed was because of something I said to TMT, not because Dublin fans were getting a hard time. Badly Drunk boy, funnily enough living in Dublin I am aware of how many people live here. I am also aware that the match was not live, but that does not effect Dublin attendances, even if it had been live they would use their allocation, and if the Kildare Laois game was meant to be the big game, it would not have been a cutrtain raiser for the Dublin Wexford game! Lemlin your conspiracy theory about the draw last year is pure BS, would you please cop on to yourself. I do not mind discussing legitimate points but that is just arse! BDB, I am not sure what your point about the soccer is. Can people not support more then one sport? BDB your preference to lose to Cork over Dublin is quite easily explained. There is a local rivalry between Kildare and Dublin, you probably work with or live near Dubs, Cork is not so local so there is not so much riding on the result.Curran the nets were taken down the hill 16 end, because that is the end they set the stage up at, but I am only guessing here.

Well sorry Waylander I can't see how it is pure BS. The fact is there's no way that a team could get the easiest team in each round without it being a fix. Have you seen it happen to any other team?

Cop yourself on. London, then Leitrim, then Longford, followed by Roscommon. That was some run to the quarter finals when you consider the teams that Derry and Fermanagh had to play to get the far.

I agree with you though, the Dubs will take up their allocation because they have a vast majority of fans who know absolutely nothing about football but go along for the ride. A die-hard Dub was even saying this to me yesterday. He was telling me about a few fellas he knew who went to the game that didn't even know the rules of GAA.

That's why the papers write about them and the GAA do their best to keep them in the Championship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

okey dokey.

relax lads. last years draw is no different that some of the soccer draws over the last number of years.

try not to drag it back up please. thx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

on the topic of media coverage. The Irish Times (i think) failed to even mention the Roscommon line up in a tiny side article about the game last saturday!! The listed mayo starting line up but not Roscommon!!

How fcked up is that! BUT I understand the need to sell papers and as I have said already I think the interested Dublin creates by a good run in the championship can only be good for the game.

Also Dub supporters are mostly colourful and full of craic but there is also a scumbag element that I have personally not witnessed or heard about in other counties.

I agree with you MM that there should be a write up on each match, and the fact that you could not even find the Roscommon line up is definitely wrong, however this is hardly the fault of the Dublin fans. Finally, and I think this will be the last post on this thread as noone is convincing anyone of anything, but my point was never that all Dublin fans are angels, they are not. But I genuinely believe that there are alot of fans out there who cannot wait to see the bad, and point out the bad in Dublin fans (and team by association). I find it hard to believe that you have never witnessed equally bad behaviour from another county's supporters, as particularly the bottles thig, happens fairly often. Also, there is a tendency to tar all Dublin fans with the same brush, and that gets very tiresome very quickly when you are a genuine GAA supporting Dublin fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Vunderground

I worked for a disablity organisation for many years and got to know a lad who was a member of the Dublin Supporters Club. He would not go on Hill 16 as his disability was obvious and he was mocked by his fellow fans. I post this in sadness not in anger as I live in Dublin and most of my friends are Dubliners.
    You get nasty people eveywhere.

Lemlin wrote:
    He was telling me about a few fellas he knew who went to the game that didn't even know the rules of GAA.
    So where does someone, who thinks the game looks interesting, begin to learn about the rules of GAA.........where better than Croke Park??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,192 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Fireworks bottles - at a gaa match!!! FFS! But god forbid one word is written in the papers about it.

There was some d!ckheads amoungst the Waterford support (I'm ashamed to say) with those fúcking firework bottles at the Waterford-Cork game this year. One went off right in my ear, couldnt hear anything for about 25 mins

KevIRL wrote:
    There was some d!ckheads amoungst the Waterford support (I'm ashamed to say) with those fúcking firework bottles at the Waterford-Cork game this year. One went off right in my ear, couldnt hear anything for about 25 mins

AH HA.............now everone who called the Dubs (the minority of the Dubs) a bunch of Scumbags cos you NEVER heard of any other counties fans behaving like the Dubs did for the first time (the firework incident) please apologise!

Thank you KevIRL..........you've proved so may people with the tar brush in theirs hands so very wrong!

Cheers! :D

Curran wrote:
    AH HA.............now everone who called the Dubs (the minority of the Dubs) a bunch of Scumbags cos you NEVER heard of any other counties fans behaving like the Dubs did for the first time (the firework incident) please apologise!

Thank you KevIRL..........you've proved so may people with the tar brush in theirs hands so very wrong!

Cheers! :D

I think in fairness there are arsehole elements in all sets of fans. This lot of Waterford tits were pointed out to the cops by their fellow county fans (us) and escorted out of the terrace. Good enuff for them too!

KevIRL wrote:
    I think in fairness there are arsehole elements in all sets of fans. This lot of Waterford tits were pointed out to the cops by their fellow county fans (us) and escorted out of the terrace. Good enuff for them too!

Would have done the same myself.....except the incident happened a block away from where i was standing! I couldnt see who it was!
    And if i had see who it was i would have done my best to point the Pr*ck out!
    But gettting down off the Hill would have been a nightmare cos it was jammers...but wuda done my best!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

sorry guys, I have been away and after reading most of this thread I had to get my 2 cent in.

Firstly The fireworks were awfuk ( there were two one on the pitch and one thrown at an official) the most disturbing thing about the firework just before the peno was that it wasnt thrown it was a propelled one ..like a screamer or starburst, which means someone had the intention of launching a rocket firework. im fairly sickeded by that.

second, I dont really mind the booing during free kicks. its my opinion that dublin are creating a massive atmosphear in HQ and I enjoy it. Putting the oppisition under pressure and hopefully helping out team.

Third I have no idea who thinks the dubs booed louder then they cheered byt that person was NOT on the Hill ... NOT even close because we cheered our heads off for the dubs.

Fourth. yes there is a summer time scumbag element on the hill but the kildare and wexford fans I had the craic with will tell you the hill is a good place to be ... just dont stand behind the goals.

as for sorting the problem I think the garda need help from english police who know how to single out the trouble and ban them.

Thank you ALANY

Your comments are extremely refreshing!
    Was getting a lil bit p*ssed off with the comments about the the Booing!
    Certainly doesnt create a Great athmosphere in the HQ and every counties supporters do it!
    And for anyone who thinks we booed louder for the other counties misses than when the Dubs scored........were you on the HILL when Sherlock hit the back of the net..............the HILL went mental.........what a cheer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭madmorphy

Are people seriously trying to suggest that only the dubs boo freetakers,that's a pile of crap.I don't even think it is booing as such,it's more hissing,whoaing,cheering and arm waving.Every county does it,(wexford fans mossy quinn anyone ?)were just better at it !.
    The hill certainly did go mental,we ended up covered in beer.

Alany wrote:

second, I dont really mind the booing during free kicks. its my opinion that dublin are creating a massive atmosphear in HQ and I enjoy it. Putting the oppisition under pressure and hopefully helping out team.

Sorry Alany, but that is just plain wrong IMO. I can understand the booing of freetakers when there has been a plain mistake by the officals in granting the free (really in this case the crowd are booing the decision not the player).
    The GAA is an amateur sport, fans and players alike need to respect that. Booing freetakers is quite simply out of order in the GAA. No two ways about it.

On a side note on this, woudl anyone else agree with me when I say that complete silence actually increases the pressure on a free taker? Imagine having to take a free in front of 82,000 people and not being able to hear a pin drop?

Some people may see it as a scumbag element but I was proud when Cavan supporters started chanting "Go home and pay your taxes to the Queen" at the Tyrone vs. Cavan match.

Why? Because a Tyrone supporter had just been very vocal in roaring "Go home you Free State b@stards". In my book, he's the scumbag. Good to see him shut up after that though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

booing at freetakers is perfectly acceptable...it is part of the game and is a way to put off the opposition/helping your county.

so if you regard booing at freetakers scumbagery...dont go to these games.cheering/booing/jeering is part of gaa,soccer and other sports.it will never go away and there is nothing you can do about it.so stop whinging and enjoy the matches

blackbelt wrote:
    booing at freetakers is perfectly acceptable...it is part of the game and is a way to put off the opposition/helping your county.

so if you regard booing at freetakers scumbagery...dont go to these games.cheering/booing/jeering is part of gaa,soccer and other sports.it will never go away and there is nothing you can do about it.so stop whinging and enjoy the matches

Sorry, but it isnt part of the GAA. Absolutely not. Anyone who thinks it is has never been to a club game. Only goes to the big county matches, and all comentators on the sport would agree it has no place in the GAA.

Refer to my earlier post on if it actually does put off the opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I too havent heard any great extent of booing outside of the Dublin matches, the ones in Croker only though. The majority of people just watch the player take the goddam free. Ive only heard booing of the ref, not the other team. Its only a pretty recent thing too, perhaps the mentality of other sports creeping into the GAA?

Also some sections of the northern fans are almost a world apart. Of course for them the GAA means something totally different, but thats for another thread i guess...

booing is in nearly every ball game sports there is.its in gaelic,soccer and to a lesser extent rugby.

county games get people booing because you have your average joe soap fan going to croker to watch a game and get passionate and emotional about their team.

booing is acceptable in my opinion as it is a sign from the fans that they are disgusted...and they are entitled to boo.its all part of the game.and its not just dublin who boo either.im sick of people attacking the dubs and the dublin supporters.

what about counties like cork,armagh,meath,kildare,laois etc....who ever criticizes dub supporters should look at their supporters first and realize that their sh*t does stink because im sick of this mentality that the other 31 counties are angels when it comes to their supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

As regards to the shouting/booing the other team, I belive it was Liverpools Bill Shankly who said to his team to silence the opposition fans as it is the same effect of taking out the extra man.

Now all us Dublin fans are well and truly sorry that we have a large supporter base, but in fairness we, like the rest of the country, are suffering with a distinct lack of players through guys playing other sports and instead of bashing each other I personally feel we should be trying to encourage the youth to play this game, the atmosphere that the Dubs create on the Hill is fantastic.

I personally don't agree with booing and feel if someone is aproaching a free and all of a sudden the Hill shuts up to complete silence that would be more off putting, but its not going to happen. Enjoy the games and atmosphere not endure them, atleast you can see them, you are enjoying a sport that no-one else in the world can enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭DUB

hawker wrote:
    While I find the Dublin fans the most entertaining fans in the country, I was disgusted with a certain section of the Hill with their antics last Sunday.

Real Dublin fans are noted for their quick wit and singing not the scences we all witnessed last weekend. I'm surprised this hasn't received more attention in the national media.

I can see a situtation where the scenes we see in certain soccer matches (crowd trouble) will eventually become more prevalent within the GAA. This should be stamped out now before it becomes a major problem.

I'm not condoning it but it passes all the timein soccer without comment. The Dundalk Keeper needed stitches after a game at turners cross recently. Did that hit the media?

Having said that stopping people bringing cans in would be a start, also people who are having trouble walking and anyone setting fireworks off should be arested. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

why is it so bad to put the opposing team under pressure with some distracting noise ?
    sure if you could organise the entire hill to make noise and then be silent just before the kick that might work but that will never happen. being silent does not work. I have been to a few games in landsdown road to watch rugby and the silence had no effect..none. It might be argued that the crowd shouldnt have an effect ? thats rubbish ? it might be argued its disrespectiful ? rubbish, its nothing more than creating an atmosphear.

trying to put off the other team (by cheerings, singing slaping, wistling..that sort of thing) does have a place in gaa... this isnt cricket you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

hawker wrote:
    While I find the Dublin fans the most entertaining fans in the country, I was disgusted with a certain section of the Hill with their antics last Sunday.

Real Dublin fans are noted for their quick wit and singing not the scences we all witnessed last weekend. I'm surprised this hasn't received more attention in the national media.

I can see a situtation where the scenes we see in certain soccer matches (crowd trouble) will eventually become more prevalent within the GAA. This should be stamped out now before it becomes a major problem.

The reason it didnt get any attention was because the irish media are always biased towards dubs. Remember when westmeath beat ye last year? After that match all the papers went on about how bad dublin were and not how good westmeath were.

and there is a biase by the other 31 counties and their supporters against Dublin so whats your point?

westmeath did get credit for beating dublin.were u watching the leinster final last year...great jubilation for westmeath winning it for the first time.as far as the media concentrating on how bad dublin played that day last year...i think its fair to say that it is unavoidable giving the reputation and expectation of dublin who were favorites.