Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

www.gang-wars.com

• 10-07-2001 9:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭

this online game rocks and no need to download anythin g try it out and maybe we could make up an irish gang!!!!!!!

www.gang-wars.com

routine? expectations? competition? happiness? commitment? infatuation? virginity?
    respect? marriage? adultery? money? carnal knowledge? love?...
    ... blah, blah, blah

p.s i want dsl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

I got this message
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">
    Registration Error

Those who do not agree to accept advertising emails are not welcome to play Gang-Wars. Thank you for your time.
    </font>

It sounds like a good game, but I think I'll give it a miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

so, you have to agree to be spammed to play!!

not exactly the smartest advertising move I've seen. Do they have the right to sell or pass on your address to a spam-o-matic?

methinks I'll miss that one too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

eppp
    run!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SHADOW

Its actually quite good...I think...
    I have a spam mail account that I can access but never use unless its stuff like this. Its a hotmail one, which imho is just perfect cause lets face it Hotmail SUCKS donkey. I have to say I find it strange that you guys dont have spam mail accounts. They only take a couple of mins to sign up for and serve you for years.

Bit like Dope-wars shockingly enuff but with a good bit more detail. You dont just sell drugs, you can attack other gangs etc.

As far as I can tell if you like the game you can make a "donation" and then you wont get any more mails or advertisments on the site. It seems also that then your account lasts for life, whereas if you dont pay you can only play for 8000 turns. ( I THINK that a turn comes every 4 or 5 mins) I really have no idea tho if it keeps ticking after you log out or not.

Anyway theres the heads up...

If the bottom falls out of your world, drink Andrews and the world will fall out of your bottom!!
    games?

ok well there is a gang now called Boards

Here is the spiel I got when I formed it:

The gang "boards" has been created! It's ID is 2727!

I dunno what you need to do to join it. But sure fire away...the game is actually quite well written.

Well worth a look. I especially like the Questions it asks you when you sign up to determine your Skillz as a gang leader.

smile.gif

If any of you ever wanted to be Pablo Escobar this is the game for you.

Brilliant imho. Not that I would ever have wanted to be Pablo Escobar *cough*
    wink.gif
    smile.gif

If the bottom falls out of your world, drink Andrews and the world will fall out of your bottom!!
    games?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

LOL, it's quite a good laugh so far, I've blown prettymuch all my turns at this stage but I'm ranked 8000 smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭Jug-A-Lug

here we have enough for a strip club now lads, AND another restaraunt so go buy them smile.gif

Can everyone who has joined the boards gang please make sure that their gang contributions are the same as everyone elses.

That for some of you means you will have to donate quite a bit to catch up.

If you go into the gang screen over on the right hand side there is a list of all the players in the gang. bedise your name (dues) is the amount that you have donated. If it says OK then you havent donated anything.

DONATING TO THE GANG IS NOT OPTIONAL.
    When you are attacked you are relying on the other members of your gang to defend you. I lost virtually all my thugs (and I had loads) last nite defending Editor and logic.

I have no problem with this except that Editor you have only put in $21k of dues and logic 61k. TheSpanner considering you are ranked no.1 m8, you should be lookin at your contrib aswell.

Essentially if you dont pay dues you are a resource drain on the entire gang. thats the way the game works. If you are a resource drain on the gang then I cant in good conscience let you stay in the gang, because all the players who arent will suffer. frown.gif

Shr3k, Fanj, regi and canaboid, guys you have serious catching up to do. wink.gif

games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Tsk that Editor soungs like a right gangster ... I wouldn't trust em at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

TheSpanner is me, I started a 2nd account because I hadnt a clue what I was at first time round smile.gif

I'll get donating soon, but my thugs got completely wiped out a few minutes ago so I've had to blow most of my cash on mercs, I was ranked 3500 for a few minutes earier smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Loco

i registered and its down...
    sounds like more planetarion-life fun.

Yea there patching up the server for bugs, it is after all a beta version of the game. Its working grand again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭BArra

ok lads u gotta join gangs for 'protection' otherwise u will get all yer moneh and druggies robbed if u havent got enuff thugs , enuf thugs wuld be like 4000 k of thugs u r adivsed join a gang for protection as when u get attcked 1 of your gang members sends thugs to protect u and if say a member has 5000 thugs u might get 1000 thugs to protect u in that attck

an alliance is when 1 gang is in kahootes with each other eg . a big gang is ****in em off then they both can go at em and take all the cash ect

rocking game and im glad its caught on and ppl like it im in the gang
    : r0x0rs and i use Sgt
    so if u r good eg ranked highly and have say m-16 's as yer weapons with kelvar and a bunker for defence apply for the gang or giv me post yer ID up ere and i can check u out we r ranked 600 for 3000 so we r fairly handy

so the leason learned today is join a gang with lots of thuggies

routine? expectations? competition? happiness? commitment? infatuation? virginity?
    ... blah, blah, blah

p.s i want dsl

[This message has been edited by Barra (edited 17-07-2001).]

hey Shadow i may join the boards gang how good r ye , btw its better to have a smaller clan of like 10 ppl and make sure u got a load of thugs for defence and it also generarets moneh and drugs for ya thus raising yer rank
    i may join ye if i culd , my guy has 2 crates of m-16'6 , 2 crates of kelvar , 2 bunkers , and my stats are here : ps . i am a thug/druggie
    My main guy is called Sgt

Character Stats
    Strength: 268.2
    Intelligence: 122.1
    Charisma: 14.1
    Turns: 626
    Cash: $94,821.87
    Skills
    Guerilla Warfare: 287.1
    Sexual Education: 25.1
    Women's Studies: 12
    Chemistry: 181.4
    Sixth Sense: 23.3
    Warfare Type
    Thug Rating: 555.30
    Dealer Rating: 326.80
    Ho Rating: 51.20

p.s post up yer stats lads lets see what ye got !!! i just lost 2000 thugs ouch....

... blah, blah, blah

p.s i want dsl

any lads looking for a gang that is good check out my gang : ID 2427

Heh Shadow what u think maybe an alliance for our protection of 1 another , we culd plot to wipe out gangs and get a 'lot' of cash , we culd make around 10 million if we put our heads/thugs together

... blah, blah, blah

p.s i want dsl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭hinch

Character Stats
    Strength: 118.9
    Intelligence: 100.3
    Charisma: 92.1
    Turns: 15
    Cash: $65,560.67
    Skills
    Guerilla Warfare: 104.6
    Sexual Education: 109.5
    Women's Studies: 107
    Chemistry: 100.3
    Sixth Sense: 85.7
    Warfare Type
    Thug Rating: 223.50
    Dealer Rating: 286.30
    Ho Rating: 308.60

I just found out that we are only able to have 20 people in our gang. Then it becomes full and no one new can get in. I had a request from a new player to join this morning.

I have to try to look out for whats best for the whole gang so I had to drop the people who have been playing for a while and havent payed their dues to the gang. Sorry guys but you were warned. There is currently one spot left. Its there for whoever gets there first.

Alternativly one of you could set up a new gang.

games?

whats the difference between a gang and an alliance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

Character Stats
    Strength: 107.5
    Intelligence: 80.3
    Charisma: 116.9
    Turns: 0
    Cash: $108,282.69
    Skills
    Guerilla Warfare: 74.9
    Sexual Education: 85.9
    Women's Studies: 79.1
    Chemistry: 52.4
    Sixth Sense: 76.2
    Warfare Type
    Thug Rating: 182.40
    Dealer Rating: 208.90
    Ho Rating: 281.90

Personal Information
    Turns: 3
    Cash: $108,282.69
    Drugs: $429,813.32
    Total Value: $1,478,046.01
    Attacks Out: 12
    Attacks In: 0

Bleh 0wnars you (anychance of it being accepted to the boards gang btw? Ignore the richindub2 a/c, i made that then ****ed up so made another, ala mills smile.gif )

*cough*
    daves l33t site 0wns j00.

Barra, the original gang is full, and I disagree with you. You are better to have a full gang (20 ppl) than a gang with 10 people in it. The gang can be much more diverse and also benefit from getting assets alot quicker with more people contributing.

We started boards2 because there were still loads of people applying to boards, so if you want to join a gang thats the one to go for.

On the point of the alliance thing, I wouldnt mind except that we are already directly allied with boards2 so that they can benefit from the people in boards, linking the two in a manner of speaking.

The boards gang (the original one) has an enormous demand on you to contribute, so I would ask anyone who isnt comfortable donating as much as some of the top players in the gang to join the boards2 gang.

Guys we have a BBS up now so that we can communicate about the game, cause there is no ingame comms system at all.

The URL is posted in the Gang notice. Have a look. smile.gif (say thanx to Rentz and Dadakopf, cheers lads!)

games?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 764 ✭✭✭linkin

Looks Absolutly Gr8 , I Signed Up And I get This Message And I Cant Play

There has already been 3 characters logged in from this IP address today.
    (Numbers Where Here)
    Annoying huh? Become a registered member and never have to worry about it again!

Upgrade your account today!

Home

Back

Whats All That About ?? frown.gif

=DiE=Linkin****
    =Hb=Linkin

Just on the topic on paying your dues it works out better for all members of a gang to pay regularly into a gang (you pay a certain amount on what you earn but its only small and depends on how much you money you make). Paying your dues allows the gang to build Casinos, Strip joints, barracks etc all of which benifit every member of the gang.

what on earth is up with earning money in this game?
    you only get money from attacking, selling drugs and recruiting new ho's/dealers/thugs - right?

You also get money per hour ... well its random now but most per hour ... from your gang.

You can increase the money you make by improving the facilites used by your hoes, transport for your dealers and improving your weapons for your tugs.

i've increased all of those,
    but i don't get any income (except for gang income)

Well go to the war room and start recruiting thugs,dealers, and hoes each of which makes money thugs make the least, fallowed by dealers who also make drugs for you to sell, and hoes who make the most money.

Followers
    Thugs
    Baby Gangster 141
    Punk 63
    Original Gangster 286
    Mercenaries Unknown

Dealers
    Highschool Pusher 881
    College Dealer 218
    Drug Lord 545

Hoes
    Street Ho 508
    Web Cam Girl 130
    Escort 270

All of those make money as you use up your turns not hourly.

Micro as far as I can see you have to use turns for the cash to materialise. With the exception of cash you get from the gang.

The problem with the game at the moment is that there isnt really any guides or a manual worth a toss. The help files in the game are pants as they only go into a basic description and dont answer any of the buckets of Questions you mite have. The forums are a pain in the hole to sign up for and even when you do there seems to be little knowledge there to answer the questions.

games?

And just as an added note, I think what Barra was trying to say (altho I'm not sure) You are defintely better off specialising in one style of gangsta. Be a pimp or a dealer or a thug, but whatever you do you will eventually need to have thugs.

games?

I've a friendly mix of both dealer and pimp and I'm making good money too.

just to give a bit of help , its best to concentrate on 2 area's eg. me thugs/drugs beacuse it will take u so much longer to eventhe hoes , dealers , thugs out , go with 2 or maybe 1 and your rank will go way up , as well as that if all u concentrate is thug stats then u will recruit 300 thugs when u only spent 220 turns

... blah, blah, blah

p.s i want dsl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭klong

hey i've just started playing gangwars myself and i think its great. my gangname is krash if any newbies to the game want to join

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Kensai

Just applied for Boards2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭FunkyChicken

i just applied to boards2 too

it seems renton has seen fit to delete my account from the boards gang message board, while insulting me aswell, so from now on any correspondance with me will have to go through this message board.

to the rest of boards gang, i dont know how you see this, i know hes asked to have me evicted from the gang, he may have invested more money than me (WOW) but i have done nothing wrong so there are no grounds to throw me out.

on the other hand renton seems to be making a shmuck of himself again, and i doubt he'll be thrown out for it either cos of the cash hes donated frown.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Kensai

What did you do Jug?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Renton

**** you, Dadakopf deleted it, cos U removed his access to the ftps, so smfb u twat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

Well I don't see any reason for you to be thrown out Jug.

.logic.

Just to clarify once again,

I did not remove your a/c from the forums, I dont have access to it.

As for your rush to blame me, I suggest you inquire more before you jump down my throat again.

BTW the netshop cs servers just crashed, Mabye you'd like to fix them huh ?

RentZ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭DemonBaby

If theres a board2 gang can I join?.
    DemonBaby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

Yeah, Jag, I deleted your account. It's my website and my board and my good will that got it there, even if it was only intended to be temporary.

I never had any beef with you, I don't have any opinion about you being in any gang even if you are running two different accounts, what I do object to is you removing my access to websites which I put time and effort into for the good of everyone.

I've never had a problem with you, I don't even know you, but since you quite unreasonably removed my access, I'm removing yours. It's quite simple. I don't find it fair that you should use my webspace when I can't use a web account that wasn't even set up by you (they were set up by Gambler for me and Renton), websites that really have nothing to do with you. You're being indirectly vindictive, I'm just being fair.

Spend a few more hundred turns on developing your intelligence and I'll let you back in.

I do nothing to you and I get my work pretty much taken away from me while you complain about not being able to use my board.

Cop on. Please.

[This message has been edited by DadaKopf (edited 20-07-2001).]

^^

RentZ

excuse me but you can just back up a bit there, i did not remove your access, the owners of netshop did.

i may have changed the passwords etc but that was because i was told to, does this make me a bad person? do i want to get sacked?

like cop on yerself ffs its not like i had a choice.

Shup ffs and play the god damn game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

Alls I know is the person who was looking after the server set those sites up, they were getting free advertising on one of them then you and Renton start having a little war with each other and other innocent parties get caught in the fray.

I'm not sure I believe you and your 'motivations' to ban the IP. If you ask me, if what you say is true, it sounds more like inter-cafe rivalry.

Stupid, very, very stupid.

i've just spotted a big sign, and it says

GET BACK ON TOPIC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭DrunkLeprachaun

(getting back on topic)
    Oh, yeah. I joined up.

Character Stats
    Strength: 147.6
    Intelligence: 86.3
    Charisma: 101.3
    Turns: 6
    Cash: $5.40
    Skills
    Guerilla Warfare: 81.2
    Sexual Education: 80.6
    Women's Studies: 37.2
    Chemistry: 52.7
    Sixth Sense: 79.2
    Warfare Type
    Thug Rating: 228.80
    Dealer Rating: 218.20
    Ho Rating: 219.10

I wouldn't mind joining a gang.

If there's one thing I hate, it's people.