Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phantom FM awarded licence - Launching Summer 2006!

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭joss

That's only deadly. Well done!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭legspin

News of the year as far as I'm concerned. We will finally have something decent to listen to. Radio for radio people by radio people and not some faceless corporate drones:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭QM79

WHOOOO RAAAY! Well done to all involved! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 MissyC

I just logged on to say good luck for the judgement! That's bloody well brilliant, I'd say there'll be some party tonight! Well done everyone!
    Yey, gonna have a celebratory drink myself for all involved!

Cheers!!

Cx :o

• Registered Users Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

nice one.

now get the fizzuk on the radio for petes sake (get it? get it?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Smurfpiss

I just got back from paris (yeah yeah i know) so ive only just heard the news!
    I knew this would be the verdict from thevery start, but by god was it tense for a while there! congrats phantom, you guys deserve it and you'll do us proud!
    now lets all go kick bob in the bollix :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SimonMaher

From www.independent.ie

Phantom FM to be on the airwaves in spring following judgement

15:21 Tuesday November 1st 2005

The High Court today cleared the way for the launch of alternative rock
    radio station Phantom FM.

Mr. Justice Philip O'Sullivan delivered a judgement this morning in the
    challenge taken by one of the losing bidders, Zed FM, which was backed
    by Niall Stokes of Hot Press and Bob Geldof amongst others.

That consortium had claimed that the Broadcasting Commission of Ireland
    had made its mind up from the beginning to award the license to the
    Phantom group and there was bias involved.

Mr Justice O'Sullivan dismissed this claim saying there was no evidence
    to back this up

Simon Maher, General Manager of Phantom FM said he was thrilled with the
    outcome: "We're delighted that it's come, because it's certainly been a
    very long process for us going back a number of years, particularly when
    we were at the point that we were almost ready to launch back in March
    and the delay happened again," he said, "we're obviously extremely happy
    now."

"The plan now is to get back to work. We have a actually started a
    recruitment process, started looking at contracts for news and sales and
    everything so what we have to do now is work really hard to get all of
    those back up and running and get on air in the spring."

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭Nirina

ahh wicked!!!! Damn, twas today eh? Oohs, i know i'm slow and you might've already mentioned it, but have you got the FM number yet? i hope its gonna hav all my faves on it!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭Thomas from Presence

This is beautiful news! Roll on the Spring!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭ozone6280

Roll on spring . History has been made. A long wait but it has been well worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

I'm delighted for everyone at Phantom towers - Ye've come a long way from that oul shed in Sandyford.... :D

• Registered Users Posts: 797 ✭✭✭ergo

YAAAAYYY!

at last some good news :)

roll on broadcast day.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭scarfacemj

My beloved Phantom is back, great news!! Congratulations xxxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 stereo_carol

So deadly well done phantom!!!! Like we all knew you'd get it but tis great to hear it officially at last! Cannot wait to be able to hear ye on the radio again would you believe my preset number one is still blank waiting for you!!!
    Yay again!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

Just seen it in the free paper, wasnt expecting the news til next week.

Congratulations on the end of the farce. Finally you can get started.

As the Kyuss album goes '...and the circus leaves town'.

p.s. do they still have option to appeal this farce?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!! oooooh congratulations!!! I'm sooo happy I've misseed the two petes so much and now I 'll soon have yis all back oh goody!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 JohnBalfe

That's super news! Congratulations to all involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

Congrats
    since listing to phantom my cd collection has risen multiplied by more than 175 times

• Registered Users Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

This is the most orgasmic news I've heard in ages. I hadn't realised the judgement had been brought forward.

And here's something for Bob Geldof:

lemon4he.gif

Bob, it's a lemon, suck it long and suck it hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 eoinfilter

deadly news, hopefully you can be a real voice for dublin music, one that has been sorely missed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 buellershow

ROCK ON!

sorry, that sounds so 80s. :D

I'm thrilled. Can't wait for the launch party!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭JackHyland

Come one and all to the Village venue, Wexford st. on thursday November 17 for Phantasm. We'll all be letting our hair down and boogying the night away! Tis great news! By the way, its upstairs and free in (from Wexford st entrance)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭geekstinkbreath

congrats guys, finally after all the saga- cant wait for the novel to come out! will make for some interesting reading! all the best for the coming months

• Registered Users Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Gerard_Smith

Thank God!

Thank you!

I can get through that yoke next June now, Roll on College and Phantom!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 rose of jericho

Congrats to all Phantom and the best of luck.

Finally I have a reason to turn on my radio again.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

About time, SUCK IT ZED!

Seriously though, by the time I come back to Ireland Phantom FM will be well in its stride, I look forward to finally hearing it legally, and finally (hopefully) getting a good signal!

Congratulations Phantom (again).

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Believe it or not, my stereo has not actually been connected up since the closure.

Congratulations. Must donate some congratulatory pringles and werthers originals ( and some of Uncle Joes Mint balls).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Pete, can those guys appeal against this latest momentous decision? I'm worried. Please reassure me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭TrickyKid

as far as I'm aware they can appeal to the Supreme Court. That's been the standard practice in cases versus the BCI so far - both the Spin Case and the NWR case went there. I don't know how long it takes to appeal but I think they've about 6 weeks to decide whether they do or not.