Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Films you loved but most people haven't a clue of...

• 26-06-2005 5:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭

Based on that chap's mystery film....

I loved, and still do I guess, a film in the 80s called American Flyers. Kevin Costner and Gary something...it was about a bike race and really one to get the adrenelin going..

Now...who's up next?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭mycroft

fade2black wrote:
    Based on that chap's mystery film....

I loved, and still do I guess, a film in the 80s called American Flyers. Kevin Costner and Gary something...it was about a bike race and really one to get the adrenelin going..

Now...who's up next?

Seen it.

Stanley Tucci directed a film staring himself and the very watchable oliver Platt, called the Imposters, has Billy Connolly playing a gay scottish tennis pro "Have yis ever wrestled naked with another man at dawn as the light hits the parthenon?"

• Registered Users Posts: 995 ✭✭✭sinjin_smythe

BAD TASTE, Peter Jackson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

im sure most of you guys will know it, but the producers was one of the funniest films i have ever seen and most of my mates have never heard of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 captina_planet

ok one of them is probly well known enough: the wasp woman, really bad kinda 40's thing. This woman wanted to look young but overdosed and became a killer bee type thing. The acting was funny so i liked it. And so far i dont know anyone who's seen a good film called Clean Shaven, about a schizophrenic guy looking for his daughter. Im also shocked at how many people dont know of the boondoc saints! to quote jimmy from south park 'i mean.. come on..'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭StonedParadoX

heh seen imposters and bad taste .. i think i may have downloaded both a while ago

but american flyers was/is/dont know if still is on sky movies

ok a movie yall never seen but i have? probably Visitor Q?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭shuushh

Scarlet Street, a film noir directed by Fritz Lang

beautiful film that deserves a spot in any top 100 films of all time list but that rarely makes it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 captina_planet

and 'up your stairs' is very odd indeed. Its all these posh english types years ago running around a room and their pants fall down sometimes and a vicar shows up randomly..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

I'd be so bold as to suggest that most people don't know most good/great films. Kids is excellent.

I had never heard of Death To Smoochie (even though it has some of my favourite actors) until 2 friends basically shouted at me to buy it in Laser. It was excellent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

ok a movie yall never seen but i have? probably Visitor Q?

I'd say an awful lot of posters on this board have seen Visitor Q. There's quite a few Miike fans here.

• Registered Users Posts: 238 ✭✭Dr.Feelgood

I love that song Ed Norton sings in the clinic with the old Smoochy suit on him.

He he

Try

House Of a 1000 Corpses

Rob Zombie directing this flick man- I love it but never get to see the end i got distracted by the gorgeous brunette sitting beside me on the sofa, :D or was that a floor? YUM!!

We should get that movie out again and just watch the end ;)
    If anyone saw it all dont tell me the ending.

Super Troopers(under rated)
    Half Baked(class)
    All Over Me(i cant believe its not comedy)
    Moving(i cant get my hands on a copy of this movie if anyone knows where i could get a copy of it i would love to know, its Richard Pryor & Randy Quaid, pure genius)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Clerks by Kevin Smith.
    Office Space.
    City of God.

To name a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭p~b

masters of the universe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

The Black Sheep Affair
    The Avenging Fist
    Creature
    Red Wolf

Theres loads more - but these 4 movies I loved, and my friends had never heard of them when I mentioned them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Board@Work

A fav from my childhood is:

Condorman..

Also Someone already mentioned it but I love Office Space. I think i have a 'case of the Mondays'.. :D

Also my fav movie of all time and doesn't seem to get the credit it deserves is the big lebowski.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Cannibal! The Musical

Especially the version with the director's commentary.

koneko wrote:
    Cannibal! The Musical

Especially the version with the director's commentary.

From parker and stone?

Saw that in HMV there yesterday.....maybe I'll buy it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭herobear

death to smoochie is a film ive been wanting to see for like forever, no real reason other the fact the cover got my attention, same with boondock saints(oh and pecker).

city of god is really well known, as is clerks(i own both on dvd).

my contributions:
    the best of youth(my favourite film ever)
    before sunrise/sunset(about a handful of people here have seen sunset)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

From parker and stone?

Saw that in HMV there yesterday.....maybe I'll buy it :)

That's the one. It's a musical-horror-comedy. It's very odd, very low budget (they did it while still in film school I think, most of the people in the film are friends, girlfriends and people they know - like the Japanese sushi bar guy, he rocks). The director's commentary (I have the R1 disc, I'm not sure if it's on the R2 one) is just them all getting drunk and watching the film again, years later, after South Park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

A few to note are
    Trust - one be of my favourite films
    Buffalo 66
    The Pillow Book
    Erazor Head
    The T7umbleweeds - remember this when a kid and it scared the shte outta me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭disillusioned

Naked Tango is a nice introduction to Vincent D'Onofrio ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Howard the Duck
    What I thought everyone knew but I seem to be the only person i know who remembers it. Please tell me someone else here does too ?

IMDB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,023 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

My big unknown yet loved film would be Stickmen. (not to be confused with matchstick men). Its about 3 kewies in an underground pool tournament, and, well, thats about it! Very funny though, couple of great characters in it.

my others then are probably much more known but probably not as associated as loved movies;
    Braindead.
    Big trouble in little china.
    Idle Hands. (mmm jessica alba)
    James Bond - Never say never again. (the thunderball remake where aging connery is gotten back to replace moore. by miles the cheesiest and most ridiculous bond movie. Has sex with every woman in site, even when he randomly gets onto a random boat and theres a random girl there who's just like "take me now!" classic stuff)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭nadir

pretty much every film,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭film_gonzo

Here's a wierd one that I've caught on tv a few times and it's freakin hilarious

'Kids in the Hall: Brain Candy'.

It's from 'The Kids in the Hall', a Canadian comedy troupe. Dave Foley used be in it. If you can catch it, do!

It's go such classic lines as "It's made from monkey sp*nk you know. They get the monkey to jack off to animal pornography, you know, REAL kinky sh*t like two dogs and a cat or a bat and a pig."
    Now imagine that said in a thick czech accent. It's one of my fav quotes ever

film_gonzo wrote:
    Here's a wierd one that I've caught on tv a few times and it's freakin hilarious

'Kids in the Hall: Brain Candy'.

It's from 'The Kids in the Hall', a Canadian comedy troupe. Dave Foley used be in it. If you can catch it, do!

It's go such classic lines as "It's made from monkey sp*nk you know. They get the monkey to jack off to animal pornography, you know, REAL kinky sh*t like two dogs and a cat or a bat and a pig."
    Now imagine that said in a thick czech accent. It's one of my fav quotes ever

Yeah, remember that movie!!! Funny stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Kazaanova

Yeah Brain Candy is hilarious. I can never get anyone to watch it, I never know when its going to be on. I think Kids in the Hall is like the Fast Show etc. over in America isnt it?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,889 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Brain Candy was great. Saw it by chance on Network 2 ages ago. Was on stupidly early as well considering the content. I wouldn't be surprised if nobody at RTE even watched it :rolleyes:

Fell around laughing at the singles chart bit. The number one song is Cancer Boy whistling 'the fields of athenry' :D

A few months after seeing Brain Candy I was over at a firend's house and we stayed up laughing like hell as I described the genius of the monkey sperm and the, "We've made a pill that gives you worms. You guys just don't get it!" scenes. Oh and the scene where the guy's like, "Well there have been a few fish babies..."

Lol.

film_gonzo wrote:
    Do you mean special effects guru Dave Foley (that was his name I think)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭newgrange

Harold and Maude.

Probably the greatest love story of our time. Heh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭Geiger

'Clue'. The comedy that's based on the boardgame.

http://imdb.com/title/tt0088930/

I found it on an old video years ago. I wish they'd repeat it on tv sometime cause I'm missing the first 10mins or so :\ Great movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

lol....that's a classic alright. Tim what's his face is in it....the clown in IT. good flick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I have a few

3 non-English

La Caza - Spanish
    Story of a Sin - Polish
    The Gods must be crazy -very funny African film

And in English

Eating Raoul - excellent black comedy
    Denise Calls Up
    Lianna

fade2black wrote:
    lol....that's a classic alright. Tim what's his face is in it....the clown in IT. good flick

Tim Curry possibly the most underrated character actor of all time.

I've dreamt of making a buddy cop movie with him and Cary Elwes. Oliver Platt must also be in it as well. Oliver Platt you'll remember him from the Charle Sheen 3 musketters as Porthuous, the three of them are screen gold making whatever dodgy piece of crap they've been cast in as mildly watchable.

is_that_so wrote:
    Denise Calls Up

Dreadful dreadful dreadful new york arthouse ****. The only suprise is parker posey isn't in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

mycroft wrote:
    Dreadful dreadful dreadful new york arthouse ****. The only suprise is parker posey isn't in it.

You gotta be in the mood :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

shuushh wrote:
    Scarlet Street, a film noir directed by Fritz Lang

beautiful film that deserves a spot in any top 100 films of all time list but that rarely makes it

Its a good movie but M and Metropolis are better and are usually in the top 100 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭Geiger

Do any of the Clue fans know where I could find it on video/dvd? I've searched online and in small video shops but there's no sign. I'd really like a proper copy for keeps...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

gee i wouldnt know whats unknown or not cause i naturally assume everyone has seen what i've seen.

but a few i can think of.

The passion of joan of arc

All that Jazz

ahh crap...cant remember the name of it but this real b movie haunted submarine film from the director of pitch black. which had a great time taking the p*ss out of every other horror film by having the crew talk about the *twist* including the great (we are already dead twist)

The War of the Roses

(havnt seen it in years but i remember enjoying a film called toy soldiers in a braindead sort of way)

OH!! Fallen with denzel washington...

ahh cant think...feck it will get back to you later.

BlitzKrieg wrote:
    OH!! Fallen with denzel washington...
    It's not that good really. Denzel is good though. And John Goodman is always fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

we were young and the novalty of twists hadnt sunk in yet, i made many mistakes but i never forget the lessons. I enjoyed fallen and its ending got me into the rolling stones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

God where to start...

No Man's Land is one of my faves. Great film bout the war in Yugoslavia in the early 90's... It's incredibly powerful - the ending is just... Words can't describe. Rent this out ppl (that;s how I first saw it after all) they hav it in Laser.
    Simon Callow has a smallish role in it, (as the local UN Commander) but he's brilliant as always.

What To Do In Case of Fire is another. Truly great German comedy bout a group of German anarchists who leave a bomb outside the US embassy in Berlin... But it doesn't go off until 10 years later. Predictably the members hav all gone their separate ways, but now they hav to reform to escape the law... It's really really good, honestly.

Other faves of mine which most ppl wouldn't know (altho maybe a sizable minority would) would be:
    Das Experiment (f**ked up and f**king brilliant - the Germans know how to make good films),
    Divorcing Jack (again, a very f**ked up film... Only this one is a kind of tragi-comedy),
    and
    Harvie Krumpet (Geoffrey Rush, one of my all-time favourite actors, doin the narration. Fantastic).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭cosgrove80

SebtheBum wrote:
    God where to start...

No Man's Land is one of my faves. Great film bout the war in Yugoslavia in the early 90's... It's incredibly powerful - the ending is just... Words can't describe. Rent this out ppl (that;s how I first saw it after all) they hav it in Laser.

Das Experiment (f**ked up and f**king brilliant - the Germans know how to make good films),

Yeah two great films. If Big Brother was like Das Experiment I'd probably watch it.

Etre et avoir was on BBC2 last week. Had seen it before. Documentary (do they count?) about a small french one-roomed school. Great.

Also, The Best of Youth, a 6 hour long Italian film. Was shown in the IFI a while back. Everyone I've spoken too has loved it. Just got the DVDs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭pat kenny

Manhunter, earlier version of Red Dragon.
    Brian Cox as Hannibal Lecter.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

An Asian film called ALIVE. The film was made as a bet afaik, the whole film was made in one week, it has only 3 characters and is set in one room(the entire film). Has bits of martial arts in it and has a good storyline for a film with only 2 main characters. Can't say too much cause its been a while since i saw it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭popey21

c - 13 wrote:
    Howard the Duck
    What I thought everyone knew but I seem to be the only person i know who remembers it. Please tell me someone else here does too ?

IMDB

I used to love howard the duck has a kids must of rented 20 times aleast as a kid. i still kinda rember the howard the duck song at the start and part i used to find hilarious at the start of the film seeing a naked female puppet duck in the bath. very hard to rember i was about 7-8 years old. special effects were top notch at the time. That made me think of other kids films i liked then like

The Monster Squad (1987)
    Glitterball (1977)
    Labyrinth (1986) got this for my daughter last year she loves it
    The Last Unicorn (1982)

also
    Love, Honour and Obey one of the funniset british films ever
    Dawn of the Dead (1978) ive loved this films for years it only when the remade it people heard of it
    The War of the Worlds (1953) I say to alot of people have you seen the orignal and they say ."there an orignal?"
    Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1956) same as the last two

popey21 wrote:
    Love, Honour and Obey one of the funniset british films ever
    Dawn of the Dead (1978) ive loved this films for years it only when the remade it people heard of it
    The War of the Worlds (1953) I say to alot of people have you seen the orignal and they say ."there an orignal?"
    Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1956) same as the last two

Many of us had heard of Dawn of the dead, and the Seventies remake of Invasion of the Body Snatchers is the definitive version.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

Yeah... Actually all of those 4 films are classics, not 'sleeper' or 'cult' films at all, most people will at least hav heard of Love Honour and Obey and Invasion of the Body Snatchers. And War of the Worlds (which is also one of my fave films btw) and Dawn of the Dead are just pure classics.

Don't think much of the Dawn of the Dead remake, and I'm reserving judgement on Spielberg's take on War of the Worlds but not holdin my breath.

Other good films most ppl wouldn't know:
    Denise Calls Up (I know somebody else said it in this thread already, but it is pretty good)
    Tarnation (recent one, saw it in the IFI, one of the most original films I've seen in ages)
    Strange Days (Actually I ain't certain bout this - a lot of ppl might like this film. It's certainly one of my faves. Ralph Fiennes at his finest :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭popey21

Kakushi toride no san akunin, Hidden Fortress (1958) george lucas got some ideas for this for starwars

Seven Samurai, Shichinin no samurai (1954) this is were The Magnificent Seven came from

Samurai Fiction (1998) Only seen this the other day . brilliant very different from anything else iv seen. closet thing ive seen to it is zatoichi mixed with Twilight samurai

Twilight samurai

Ah everyone knows the Seven Samurai, to be honest.