Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hoist the Main Sail! Tall Ships Picture Thread

• 28-06-2005 6:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭

If you are in Waterford for the Tall Ships and have a camera - take some pix of the boats, yourself, the crowds, cars being towed away as the owner is restrianed, whatever is happening in fact.

If you have a digital camera post them here. If you need a picture host then sign up to www.photobucket.com its free.

Mike.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,483 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

May I also suggest http://www.imageshack.us/
    no need to even sign up :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If anyone can get some pix from above Passage West and Cheekpoint the ships should look great going up the harbour, plus Woodstown maybe for some rural low level shots.

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭merlante

Kick ass, this is a good idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭Marcopolo85

mike65 wrote:
    If anyone can get some pix from above Passage West and Cheekpoint the ships should look great going up the harbour, plus Woodstown maybe for some rural low level shots.

Mike.

Don't want to be a damp squib, but someone in the know about this stuff says they can't come up the Estuary under sail, as the channel is so narrow.
    They can only go into full sail about a mile off Hook Head. :(

Its not that narrow! Still if thats how they'll sail up fair enough, everyone out to Hook head then!

Mike.

ps does anyone know when the ships will begin arriving?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭solas

heres one I took at the tall Ships in Dublin a couple of years ago.
    tallships.jpg
    just a taste of what's to come...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭jmcc

solas wrote:
    heres one I took at the tall Ships in Dublin a couple of years ago.
    just a taste of what's to come...
    Looks like some of those old photos of Waterford from about 120 years ago. :)

Regards...jmcc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭phelo05

Don't want to be a damp squib, but someone in the know about this stuff says they can't come up the Estuary under sail, as the channel is so narrow.
    They can only go into full sail about a mile off Hook Head. :(
    If your in the know then how the feck did they sail up the river in times of no inboard or outboard motors smart ass :p

On the tide, and with the help of row boats.

Mike.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

balfleet-thumb.JPGDSCN3735-thumb.JPG

U will see these around, not exactly tall ships, more like the minime version ;)

http://www.acse.ie

mike65 wrote:

Mike.
    mike passage west is in cork not waterford :p but passage east is more than likely what the people might be after :D

phelo05 wrote:
    mike passage west is in cork not waterford :p but passage east is more than likely what the people might be after :D

:o:o

I hearby resign from my position as Waterford City mod!

Mike

ps that was inexcusable

mike65 wrote:

Quick everyone post porn and run amok!!!

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Here's two from about 7pm this evening

mike65 wrote:

Mike

ps that was inexcusable
    sorry mike did,nt mean to offend ya boy

phelo05 wrote:
    sorry mike did,nt mean to offend ya boy

No offence taken, the ps that was inexcusable bit was about me geting the two mixed up in my head (thats easily done though!).

Mike.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,483 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Finally got to see the ships this evening and I got one or two photos :)
    images are 1MB each

img00203zv.th.jpg

img00383kw.th.jpg

Their not as good as I'd like...

Im hitting nearly 400 photos atm :)

Rew wrote:
    Im hitting nearly 400 photos atm :)

ah but are they 400 quality photos? :)

No I just checked and its actully 500 quality shots ;)

Im on the water so its a good spot to get pics from.

Rew wrote:
    No I just checked and its actully 500 quality shots ;)

Im on the water so its a good spot to get pics from.
    and what are you doin on the water

Floating around mostly with some rowing in between. We have 6 Bantry Bay Gigs on the water. Noramlly out rowing 2 or 3 times a day for the last few days.

Heres a pic taken just under the bow of the Indonesian ship.

Rew wrote:
    Floating around mostly with some rowing in between. We have 6 Bantry Bay Gigs on the water. Noramlly out rowing 2 or 3 times a day for the last few days.
    alright ye. i should be onthe river meself with the naval service reserves but unfortunately i is workin

Yeah iv seen the NSR lads going up and down alright. AFAIK we (RDF) are getting drafted in to give a hand shortly, obviously not on the water.

I got to say one thing about the Russian's
    They sure do have the biggest ships (or atleast from what I can see)

Cabaal I love the night shot, more pix! :)

Mike.

All my shots are here

phelo05 wrote:
    If your in the know then how the feck did they sail up the river in times of no inboard or outboard motors smart ass :p

Not being a smart ass, Homer! Merely stating a fact - one in which I was proved right! Apparently the reason for this is because the river is very shallow in parts and the boats have to be piloted up. If they were in full sail they could run aground. And you're in the Reserve Naval Force? I'll definitely sleep sounder in my bed tonight!!:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

mike65 wrote:
    If you are in Waterford for the Tall Ships and have a camera - take some pix of the boats, yourself, the crowds, cars being towed away as the owner is restrianed, whatever is happening in fact.

If you have a digital camera post them here. If you need a picture host then sign up to www.photobucket.com its free.

Mike.

One from a different angle... :D