Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Terenure Classic Car Show Thread - Warning lots a big pix!

• 05-07-2005 11:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭

Folks,
    Sorry is this is already a thread..

Looking for the Location of the Car Show in Terenure this weekend?
    Any links also?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭green-blood

its just about the easiest one of the year its in eh, hmmm, Terenure. In the College grounds, opposite Bushy Park

http://www.irishjagclub.ie/gfx/show/terenuremap1.gif

http://www.irishjagclub.ie/gfx/show/terenuremap2.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭camarobill

great day all round and the sun always helps :) nice to meet a few boys off here today ;) anybody get any pictures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭gs39t

Took well over 100 pictures, looking for anything specific?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭ds20prefecture

gs39t wrote:
    Took well over 100 pictures, looking for anything specific?

Yeah - any Citroën? Anything unusual/weird, like Tatra, Škoda, Panhard, Autobianchi, etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭gs39t

Oops - should have mentioned i only took pics of the American stuff :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 CorvetteTom

Great show,
    Nice to see a couple of you there, Great day Some fabulous cars and sights!!

Trying to sooth sun burnt face - I know I hoped for a nice day but did I hope to much!!
    Cant wait to see some of the pics

Tom

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, RicherSounds.ie Moderator Posts: 2,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Ritz

Tom,

That Vette sure is gorgeous, took this in the spare moment when I wasn't drooling........

classiccarshowpictures0057wd.th.jpg

....and who in heaven could resist pink fins like this ?

classiccarshowpictures0174zs.th.jpg

Later,

Sean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

I was just mesmerised by the Mustangs. Gorgeous yokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

there was one or two lotus cortina's in new condition. Lovely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 CorvetteTom

Sean,
    Thanks for the compliment - Cant wait till i get the Hood on (Tuesday) and wiper motor on Thursday / friday - Wheres the deliveryamn!

Anyone else burnt to a crisp!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

I was down at it today.. Great show.. Huge turn out as usual.

yes Tom we are ALLLL sun burnt, you're not that special - did ya not make to the pub in the end then!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Yeah - any Citroën? Anything unusual/weird, like Tatra, Škoda, Panhard, Autobianchi, etc?

There was a lovely Goggomobile 250, and a Borgward (Isabella?) too.
    Some of the Italian display sports cars were very nice indeed. Couple of Alfa Montreals, and a very clean Fiat Dino Spyder.

There was only a single Volvo 1800, a red 1800S in the 'for sale' section, but no price/number/owner to be seen. Would have been interested to see what she was looking for. Beside it there was a guy working very hard to shift a rough Opel GT. I imagine it didn't help that he was parked up beside the shiny €60 grand DB6 :rolleyes:

alastair wrote:
    Cool! Any pics?
    Some of the Italian display sports cars were very nice indeed. Couple of Alfa Montreals, and a very clean Fiat Dino Spyder.

I like that Dino, but the montreal manages to be an ugly Alfa. Even the SZ is more attractive than that :)

Cool! Any pics?

I like that Dino, but the montreal manages to be an ugly Alfa. Even the SZ is more attractive than that :)

Brought my camera, pulled it out when I got there, discovered that I'd left the memory card at home :confused:

The Montreal isn't conventionally beautiful alright, but I like the '70's Bertone styling as very much of it's time. The dash was a real delight. There were lots of regular pretty alfas there too.

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭Jason_G_KE30

Here's some of my photos taken yesterday, all the clubs there should pat themselves on the back for an excellent turnout. I've taken one of the Borgward that ye spoke about, never heard of it before where does it originate from? I'm still stinging from the sunburn yesterday, but it was well worth it. Makes a change form all the normal palefaces :D Where is the Fingal rally next w/e? Anyone here attending?

72MustangFastback.jpg
    1949MorrisLowline.jpg
    AmericanClassics.jpg
    AstonDB5.jpg
    Borgward.jpg
    Corvette.jpg
    Datsun240Z.jpg
    Dodge.jpg
    Ferraris.jpg
    GMCPickup.jpg
    JagE-Type.jpg
    Maserati.jpg
    MinicutN2.jpg
    MK1Mustang.jpg

th_MorrisVan.jpg[/URL]
    th_PontiacStarchief.jpg[/URL]
    th_ToyotaCrownEst.jpg[/URL]
    th_Vauxhall.jpg[/URL]
    th_Wolseley1560.jpg[/URL]
    th_Wolseley1660.jpg[/URL]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Great pix!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

that yellow americian cab ive seen parked around the corner from me for the last few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭kyote00

Some excellent cars there this year. I heard them annouce over 1200. Two or three aston martins

Note sure how a mk1 escort can win a prize given some of the other exhibits, there were many much more original and rarer Fords at the show.

(Hey DS20perfecture : lay off the montreal ! people in glass houses and all.... ;) )

some more photos attached....

a few more

alastair wrote:

Thanks for the pics (Jason?)

That Borgward is stunning. You're right, it is an Isabella Coupe.

kyote00 wrote:
    Hey DS20perfecture : lay off the montreal ! people in glass houses and all.... ;)

Fair enough :) - But I feel my house is made of solid granite compared to the Montreal :eek: Don't get me wrong, I'm a big Alfa fan, but you must admit it's not their best effort.

Thanks for the pics - that's a pretty special Panhard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

Great pics guys!

I didn't go this year - plenty of more shows to come ! :)

When will we see pics of your KE30, Jason ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Sparky_S wrote:
    that yellow americian cab ive seen parked around the corner from me for the last few weeks.

Eaton Square-ish?

The least I could do was stick up the couple of the photos as I had taken them for myself anyway! These cars are a credit to the owners, as the work involved in some restorations was unbelievable. I was looking through the photos of a lovely Merc SL restoration, which was basically from scratch. Dedication or what? I'm afraid my own bessie is not suitable for here, yet anyway as its a "work in progress" at a very slow pace! I'll be on the lookout for the boards.ie run tonight on my way home!!

I suppose its just a case of beauty is in the eye of the beholder....

the guilia's and spyders are beautiful. the montreal too is often described as stunning, matched to the V8 race engine is a mighty package. It was not a commercial success but that was mainly dues to timing of its introduction during the oil crisis in the 70s and its live rear axle which makes handling in corners interesting. The montreal does indeed have its weaknesses and is not for the faint hearted but it suppose that what keeps the classic car scene fresh --- i.e different strokes for different folks.

Roll on Trim !

kyote00 wrote:
    I suppose its just a case of beauty is in the eye of the beholder....
    Absolutely.

It certainly has presence, and I must admit I didn't know it had a V8, which makes it pretty interesting among later Alfas.

I think it is those lids over the headlights that wind me up .....

why is it that a Montreal is limited in the eyes of teh enthusiast by having a solid rear axle but Mk1 and Mk11 escorts are adored for their rear steer handling with the same set up!!!???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

Because Alfa knew, and could do, better................Ford couldn't for another 20 years !

The 2.6L V8 is glorious and with approx 200bhp in 1972 was good value. It has a dry sump,oil cooler, CD type transistored ignition with dual coils. It also fueled by twin bosch electric fuel pumps sending fuel to a Spica mechanical fuel injection system (with adjustments for temperature and altitude !)

The eyelids are vacuum operated and slide down in front and underneath the lights when they are switched on

The live rear axle should not really have been the setup --- given that they went for discs all round and ventilated brakes as standard.

The car's shape hints at being mid engined --- perhaps that is the real crime of the montreal that the front engined configuration with the live rear axle compromised its handling at speed