Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray Darcy's radio show

• 05-07-2005 10:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14

Hey there i was just wondering who did ray darcy say was gay this morning on his radio show cus my radio turned off before i could hear!! thank!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭oneweb

me

It is what it's.

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭Skitbra

I have to say that is one of the worst shows. All its content is just from text messages. Especially today. With a bit of music thrown in. He gets paid for this! Amazing.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

Personally I think its great. Good laugh most days. Beats the crap out of Gerry Ryan any day,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Rew wrote:
    Personally I think its great. Good laugh most days. Beats the crap out of Gerry Ryan any day,

Oh there's no doubt it beats seven colours of sh*te out of Ryan's show, but D'Arcy, especially on his friday show, brings his own brand of annoying. I like Ray himself, but the show get's railroaded with the same god awful playlists that daytime Irish radio as a whole seems to suffer from....As for that stuck up b*tch that does the...um..what does she do, apart from spew crap in that fake yank accent.
    The fix it feature annoys the hell out of me....I mean it's Google and listener's texts...wtf do they fix?

All Irish radio seems to be is a corporate vehicle for promoting whatever it is the advertisers want to sell. At least TodayFM is self sustaining...RTE however has no excuse.
    Sorry for the rant....the Irish airwaves make my blood boil and I work outside the broadcast range of BBC R1...who's daytime playlists Irish radio stations could learn a LOT from...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Skitbra wrote:
    I have to say that is one of the worst shows. All its content is just from text messages. Especially today. With a bit of music thrown in. He gets paid for this! Amazing.

I have to say I used to like it but i'm beginning to think more like Skitbra now.
    Listened to some of it this morning and it's the usual auld thing.
    Typical text : "well ray, i'm textin from me tractor and it's pissing rain! Tell Jenny i think she sounds quare sexy so she does! I'd say she'd look good in a pair of wellies... ho ho, hah?!"
    Maybe it's the way he reads them that annoys me more. And the music is crap, very predictable. Radio-friendly Irish stuff like Paddy Casey, Damien Rice, Snow Patrol, The Frames...ZZZZZZZZ
    By the way, I've seen Jenny and she ain't sexy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

Ray D'Arcy rocks ass big time, has us pissing ourselves with laughter most mornings, althouh yeah Jenny's accent is darn annoying...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

All Irish radio, without exception, is substandard, amateurish, prurient, and aimed at the lowest common denominator.

Buy a DABS radio and listen to some proper shows from across the water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭shuushh

lies ^^^

plenty of good content on Today FM, Newstalk and RTE, actually ridiculously good content considering the size of this country

shuushh wrote:
    lies ^^^

plenty of good content on Today FM, Newstalk and RTE, actually ridiculously good content considering the size of this country

During the day? Don't make me laugh...we could do a lot better...but right now every Irish broadcaster seems stuck in some sort of rut as far as imaginative output goes.
    I'll not count Newstalk since I've not heard enough of/about it to comment.
    RTÉ? Pfft...2FM is supposedly a "youth" station (or at least it was when I was a kid), yet the average age of it's broadcasters are bound to be in the high forties? To me it's becoem the equivalent to BBC R2...with token additions of better musical content for a few hours in the evening. But enough of 2FM...the rest of the RTÉ stations aim themselves at 35+ demographic, and that's fine for over 35s, but where's the output for the younger generations?
    TodayfM is the best of a bad bunch...it get's a lot better at night.
    ...and that's the point, if they can all play a little more alternative stuff in the evenings, why not stick them in their playlists for daytime? The "groundhog day" effect of the way playlists seem to be formulated and executed is a complete turn-off; when it's on every number on the dial it starts to get very old...

I know it's not fair to compare RTE and BBC; one is much smaller than the other and has less resources.
    But look at the talent this country outputs for it's size compared to the UK...why are our airwaves lagging behind?
    I'll close with this; I first heard the new music of two of this country's current big acts, Snow Patrol and Damien Rice on daytime 1FM...it wasn't until either chart releases or entries by either act, that any of the Irish radio stations gave them airplay during the daytime.
    What others bands ae they not playing out? Sorry but putting them on at 11pm just doesn't get them the market exposure they need.
    So much of our talent has had to go to the UK to break before they can make it any way big at home...that shouldn't happen.

well my comment in relation to Today FM was more pointed towards their evening programming, i can tolerate ray darcy but he plays mostly bad music

newstalk have a very strong and solid weekday schedule (dunphy, kibred, moncrief, hook ) and their sports department is very impressive and its doing a superb job in covering Irish sports specifically the GAA and also the Eircom league

ill agree that rte lag behind on the music side of things but their current affairs, news and documentaries are fairly top notch

Irish radio stations play popular music during the daytime because they need to survive although I agree with you that most of the music is appalling it is an unfortunate fact of life for them to survive they need to get the most listeners possible during the daytime

of course theres bad irish radio but to flat out state that all Irish radio is rubbish is just flat out wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Easily_Irritated

Gawd I love Ray, hes just great!!

How many ppl will watch the rose of tralee this year just cos hes presenting?? I know I will :D

shuushh wrote:
    well my comment in relation to Today FM was more pointed towards their evening programming, i can tolerate ray darcy but he plays mostly bad music

newstalk have a very strong and solid weekday schedule (dunphy, kibred, moncrief, hook ) and their sports department is very impressive and its doing a superb job in covering Irish sports specifically the GAA and also the Eircom league

ill agree that rte lag behind on the music side of things but their current affairs, news and documentaries are fairly top notch

Irish radio stations play popular music during the daytime because they need to survive although I agree with you that most of the music is appalling it is an unfortunate fact of life for them to survive they need to get the most listeners possible during the daytime

of course theres bad irish radio but to flat out state that all Irish radio is rubbish is just flat out wrong

The need for survival should surely be a catalyst for diversification in the music department, no?
    If all the popular radio stations already sound the same and play the same drivel day in day out, how do they expect to stand out from the crowd and attract an audience?
    In trying to appeal to, and aiming at, the lowest common denominator, they bellyflop into the concrete. It resulsts in bland "Smashey and Nicey" type output for the most part...I'm not saying the BBC are perfect but when you can hear diverse music alongside chart music and popular stuff and when the playlists are at least varied to some extent, listening to the radio becomes a little more involving instead of being dwnright annoying.

Of course I'm going on about music; news output is fairly good to very good on the Irish radio stations, but only because you'd nee to be a complete tool to do it badly.
    News writes itself really...as a nation we love to talk...opinions and editorials are rife in our newspapers and on the air as well. TBH when I'm at work, I look for some entertainment from my radio listening; if I want news an hourly bulletin suffices. It's all about the music...which is why, anytime I have to work further south than Drogheda, it's on with the mp3 player.

*shoots Easily_Irritate in the face*
    Rose Of Tralee? D'Arcy hosting? :rolleyes:
    Won't someone please think of the children?

In trying to appeal to, and aiming at, the lowest common denominator, they bellyflop into the concrete. It resulsts in bland "Smashey and Nicey" type output for the most part

Precisely

news/current affairs/documentaries all require skill to achieve a good quality if you choose not to listen to it grand but dont casually push it off its a big part of irish broadcasting

the BBC can afford to be varied for quite obvious reasons the main one being they have the greatest resources in the world and are fecking massive.while im not excusing the music output on Irish radio daytime radio im just giving you the reasons for why it is and the music becomes far more varied in the evening slots anyway. Phantom FM and Lyric FM are the two stations that stick out in terms of their unique music selection

shuushh wrote:
    news/current affairs/documentaries all require skill to achieve a good quality if you choose not to listen to it grand but dont casually push it off its a big part of irish broadcasting

the BBC can afford to be varied for quite obvious reasons the main one being they have the greatest resources in the world and are fecking massive.while im not excusing the music output on Irish radio daytime radio im just giving you the reasons for why it is and the music becomes far more varied in the evening slots anyway. Phantom FM and Lyric FM are the two stations that stick out in terms of their unique music selection

All news and current affairs output requires is a half capable journalist/investigator and an editorial/production team. News writes itself IMO...it's for that very reason that there is so much news output on our airwaves. We have a lot of political stuff since this country is so politically diverse...we also have a lot of public opinion in relation to both news and politics, thus we have the ubiquitous phone-in shows.
    I'm not degrading ANY of this output...I'm merely commenting how relatively easy it is to do. It's one thing RTÉ excel at...in fact it's one of the only things ;)

I already said that comparisons to the BBC are slightly unfair for the reasons both you and I gave earlier...but you won't see too many DJs or presenters on ANY of the BBC radio networks earning the extravagant sums that Montrose sees fit to pay many of it's lackeys...surely those resources could be a lot better spent else where...
    How about investing in some new blood or some new ideas for instance? The bland pack of middle aged men that make up the "primetime" face of 2FM are out of touch (with the exception of Larry Gogan)...instead RTÉ groom the likes of Tubridy for a boadcasting career for god knows what reason.
    As I already stated, we have ample talent in this country; why don't we get to see any of it?
    A few months back an unknown girl from Dublin was chosen to host BBC 1FM's midweek dance show...she's a very talented DJ and a pleasure to listen to...she sounds normal and down to earth...not some stuck up twat fresh out of a media studies course. Even their daytime DJs aren't "big names" or established over years and years the way RTE seem to do it - fresh blood, changing schedules, diverse musical content...it's not f*cking rocket science...all it takes is to put someone in charge that actually knows WTF they're doing. We all pay a license fee...is it too much to ask that we can ALL get some value for money in return?

Oh and Magpie; can we receive DAB on the east coast? Is it clear? What sort of prices are we talking about for receivers?

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭StonedParadoX

your right ..he does play the same old Crap day in day out but i love the texting thing and Fix it friday its bloody brilliant

i saw Jenny in the papers in the evening herald BY GOd she was hot
    wasnt that cork lady do something Cam?.. like Beadles about thing?

today they couldnt decide what the **** to talk about and it sucked ass but normally its funny stuff

jesus The radio is very misleading

i thought Will was a small Lad untanned white black haired lad ..but he aint and mary has the voice of a fox but .. heh .. aiint ..and theres the black has me feckin arse

http://www.todayfm.com/photoWallPhoto.asp?wallID=5582&photoID=1062746

and why the **** doesnt jenny have pictures same with Maeve and the other one who works with jenny

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭Ooly

nikkc17 wrote:
    Hey there i was just wondering who did ray darcy say was gay this morning on his radio show cus my radio turned off before i could hear!! thank!!
    I don't think he actually told us who was gay, but Ray Foley was on after D'Arcy & kept saying it was D'Arcy that was gay!!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

So the answer to the original question is?....

was there a question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

Can they pick up X FM American stations ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭moshpit77

Jenny Kelly

560687.jpg

you sure?

what about the otherS?

Yeah thats Jenny alright. There is another bird on the show who is hot though, forget here name.

mairead? or the one from cork?.. is mairead the one from cork?

your talkin about the hyper one aye?

where did u get the jenny kelly pic?

Yeah mairead is the hot one. The pic is on the today FM site AFAIK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭moshpit77

the jenny kelly pic came from this page

http://itof.fimc.net/showdj.asp?djid=19661

this is mairead

760110.jpg

afaik?

maireads the cork one right?

whose the other?

No Maibh (sp?) is the cork one

• Registered Users Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

shuushh wrote:

the BBC can afford to be varied for quite obvious reasons the main one being they have the greatest resources in the world

There is one simple principle that makes the BBC what it is. No one is bigger than the organisation. Unfortunately RTE has been slow in realising this from Gay Byrne is a classic example, Kenny and Ryan another. Culchies love Ray D'arcy . Its inane rubbish if you are into that thing Overall we do chat/current affairs radio far better than than the British (from Morning Ireland to the Last Word). Our daytime music radio is appalling with the exception of Pet Sounds mainly due to Tom Dunne's presenting style in which the music takes precedence.

BBC Radio 1 is by far the best station around with no commercial remit its specialist shows are the best with its commitment to indie,rock and dance unparalleled anywhere. Its being broadcast coast to coast in the states from next month so it should shake up the scene there.