Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

BOARDS WINS BEST LEISURE SITE!!!

• 31-08-2001 1:37am
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Just back from the zeddies, half of me is feeling bleeeech (coming down with something) but the other half is celebrating Boards first every award!

We won the "Best Leisure Site" category and Regi has it in his pocket somewhere at the moment!

I also won the "Best Internet Slogger" award with great support by all the Boards guys and gals. Thanks, I appreciate it.

So... the award is going to have pride of place on top of our Quake server smile.gif

Well done to all the boardsters, you deserve the recognition for creating a place we can call home on the net.

One very happy,
    DeVore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SHADOW

Wan
    GG lads and all that...
    plyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭Greenbean

Congratulations Boards.ie team, Regi, Devore, Cloud, Vexorg and Tr1n1ty .. its an amazing thing you have built up here and its great to see some commendations finally coming your way.

Also big Kudos to Tom for winning the Best Internet Slogger award. No more obvious man for the award!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Big up the boards!
    well done
    clap.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

A very well deserved WELL DONE to yourself Tom, and Boards.ie for winning the awards.

I was UTTERLY shocked to be called up to accept an award myself for the "I did this" award on behalf of the IrelandOffline.com site... I know I did the site completely myself... I know that I put it up for nomination myself... but NO WAY was I expecting it to WIN! ... (I expected Boards.ie to get it!).

THANK YOU to all of you who voted and to all of you who cam to our seminar yesterday afternoon.

As soon as Zeriously get my award welded back together, I'll be able to enjoy it properly and stick it up on the mantlepiece smile.gif ... meanwhile... WELL DONE to all the winners... especially BOARDS.IE and DeVore... G'WANNNNN!!! (as they say...)

An equally happy (and shocked)
    Bard

Bard
    'First motorbike in the bible ???? ---- a Triumph --- 'Yea verily Moses struck down the ammmanites and all the land heard the roar of his triumph !!!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

Things just get better and better for boards.ie.

Fair play to all the guys/gals that put in the work to make boards.ie an awards winner.

And played to Bard for his award.

Keep it up lads.

-Dave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭zenith

I guess you're home alone then, DeVore. Last I saw you, you had purplepages on your arm.

Guess you can figger out who I am now, then, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

WAN THE BOARDS WHOOT MEEP ETC......

John

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

They didnt have speechs which was a pity cos Regi and I had decided to say
    " we'd just like to thank Benson and Hedges, OCB, Coke and ID Software, without whom Boards.ie wouldnt be here!"

There will be pictures up later...
    DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Winning Hand

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by DeVore:
    They didnt have speechs which was a pity cos Regi and I had decided to say
    " we'd just like to thank Benson and Hedges, OCB, Coke and ID Software, without whom Boards.ie wouldnt be here!"
    </font>

What? No Valve software? No Jonsey? "keeping the muppets of CS banded together under one forum"

Congrats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭chernobyl

well done.
    almost as good as the old episode of EuroTrash tonight.

Ashley Lyn

Ashley Lyn Cafagna

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭El Marco

Theres a reason the boards won the awards, CAUSE ITS THE BEST biggrin.gif

a pity yeah-

I certainly had a couple of people to thank...

on reflection, my "speech" might have turned out to be "jayziz... loike - I'm shocked, lads... fair play t'yiz, and all... a 'thingy' for me...? well- yiz are stars, so yiz are..."...

considering the copious amounts of pints consumed before the awards were handed out (2 hours worth, folks!), it's probably just as well that nobody ended up making speeches...

well done boards.ie again... and POWER TO THE PEOPLE... (ahem!) ... IrelandOffline.com smile.gif

(I'm off to bed... fcuking great night smile.gif)

Bard
    'First motorbike in the bible ???? ---- a Triumph --- 'Yea verily Moses struck down the ammmanites and all the land heard the roar of his triumph !!!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Lucutus

Play it baby!

Ok, here's the story, I'm in the middle of celebrating something else...

...but I just had to come on and check...

Devore, YOU da man... best slogger!!! Mmmmm Mmmm, bet that feels good! biggrin.gif

zenith! Well done, too much of a hint tho wink.gif, I bet you're proud, in a nice 'secretive' sort of way.. *wink*

Niall, well played, I'm proud of yah m8... you deserve it... (yah still can't take credit for the logo tho *smile*)...

DeV, right now I'm very drunk (great night...so far wink.gif, so first and last drunken post to boards....eh, Be late tomorrow...Index can wait a while for a Zeddie lie in celebration? Grand.

Lucutus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭OSiriS

Congrats to the boards.ie team in finally getting public recognition for the hard work you have put in over the past few years.

.dNC.OSiriS
    url="http://www.hatstand.cx"]HAT[/urlOSiriS
    http://clans.quake.ie/osiris
    Frag-Net.org

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,467 ✭✭✭jmcc

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by DeVore:

We won the "Best Leisure Site" category and Regi has it in his pocket somewhere at the moment!

I also won the "Best Internet Slogger" award with great support by all the Boards guys and gals. Thanks, I appreciate it.
    </font>

Congrats to Boards, yourself and IrelandOffline. A set of great results. smile.gif

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

fair play to all involved
    did any other company's win any awards @ all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Zaltais

Those swines at boards.ie won our bloody category disgraceful carry on - we were supposed to win - it was a fix I tells ya!!! Erm ... I mean well done guys confused.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Loomer

Pld guys - well deserved smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Kix

Well done all and especially to Tom and Niall. It's very well deserved. I'm surprised that ye didn't win more!

K

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">

I'm in the middle of celebrating something else...

</font>

Regi told me about that... and congrats are due to yourself there, man - well done smile.gif
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Lucutus:
    Niall, well played, I'm proud of yah m8... you deserve it... (yah still can't take credit for the logo tho *smile*)...
    </font>

*sniff*... proud? ... of me? ... Thankya Tony smile.gif appreciated.

- umn- and I think it's the fuzzy globe graphics you're talking about there smile.gif

Bard

[This message has been edited by Bard (edited 31-08-2001).]

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Yo Mamma

Three cheers for Boards.ie

Hip Hip................

Can I get an Amen to that ???

plyd lds !! wink.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Well done Boards. Good stuff altogether.

As a matter of interest who won the fourth cateogry? Did castlebar.ie win?

You can imagine where it goes from here. --- He fixes the cable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭BNC

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Yo Mamma:
    Three cheers for Boards.ie

Hip Hip................

</font>

Hooray biggrin.gif

Hip Hip...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jaarius

congrats...

you guys deserve it.

j

"Why not put the match in a shark tank, with real live sharks, hungry sharks, and the only way to beat your
    opponent is to stuff them down a shark's throat and pin a shark".
    -Kurt Angle to Lilian Garcia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Enygma

Well done Bard and the lads at boards.ie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

Well done, well done!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Well done lads.

adam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,502 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Well done, congrats, all ye vote spammers. wink.gif

clap.gifclap.gifclap.gif
    Kill, kill, kill the laser mice.

[This message has been edited by Victor (edited 31-08-2001).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

good work lads,

now all you have to do is sell www.boards.ie get your money and be happy,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Nice one, and Tom of all the people around you really deserved that award smile.gif

Gandalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Excellent! well done lads! smile.gif

"just because you're not paraniod, doesn't mean they're not after you!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Sweeeet! Well done all you spin muppets!! Leisure?!? You've caused more dossing at work smile.gif

Spin muppettes, Tom, Niall, Tony, fair play ta yis! smile.gif

A good night was had meself last night, cheers to all present!

Al.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Gladiator

this is the main irish comunity on the net, ive enver seen so many people drawn together like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

biggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif
    CONGRATULATIONS
    biggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Nev

Well done lads . pld

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭Paladin

^

and the winners are...!
    <font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">from http://www.thezeddies.com/in.html:

P45.net (for best arts & culture site and for best e-zine)

Tom Murphy of Spin Solutions (best Irish Slogger)

Ireland.com (most popular Irish site)

Brew Crew (best small business site)

Goldenpages.com (best business site)

Webfactory (best design)

Ireland Offline (best small-budget site)

Nixers.com (best return on investment)

Ryanair.com (best shopping site)

Entertainment.ie (most addictive site)

Pigsback.com (best on-line marketing)

E-merge (best use of wireless technology)

Boards.ie (best leisure site)

</font>

Bard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭tobi

Yip Yip Yipee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

We, rule.

Lunacy Abounds! GLminesweeper RO><ORS!
    "[amp] may have the respect of the plebs on the other boards" - WWman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭orangerooster

WWWWWAAAAAAHHHHEEEEEEE!!!!it deserves more but hey leisure aint that bad i know im new but hey the time heres been geat keep it up and i vote over nad over agin next year....
    Rooster

dont open ... that door- resident evil 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

Grats and pld boards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭DrunkLeprachaun

Score.

If there's one thing I hate, it's people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Nice one Niall wink.gifand well done to all the team at Boards.ie.

The frist award of a long line to come me thinks!

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Doc:
    Nice one Niall wink.gifand well done to all the team at Boards.ie.

The frist award of a long line to come me thinks!
    </font>

Thanks bruv! smile.gif

My award has been sent back to the sculptor who designed it for a bit of R&R and repair-work... it'll be another week at least before I get my hands on it frown.gif

Ah well... I won!... heh