Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Corny Irish phrases

• 13-07-2005 4:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭

Ever notice that foreign press (outside Ireland) seems to reel out these corny phrases when referring to Irish sports personalities or Irish people in the news?

For instance say an Irish golfer wins a golf tournament or an Irish boxer wins a title fight the headlines usually go along the lines of;

"Luck of the Irish...etc, etc."

or

"Irish eyes are smiling...etc, etc."

Feel free to add your own to this ever growing list...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Laguna

Nah,

My favourites are the ones that are really used, like

"Grand job"

or

"How's she cutting"

or the all time classic

"ah sure he was in the blue jayzus horrors"

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭SirIrish

Top of the mornin' to ye

'tis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭StonedParadoX

whats the crack?

your a star!??

and no iv never noticed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

The thing that gets to me most about the examples I posted is that regardless of whether the sports person was superior and won on his own merits - these hackneyed phrases are still trotted out.

Here is another suspect phrase used mostly by Americans and one that is never heard in Ireland...

"Begorrah"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Whats worse is when the english media "steals" our personalities - I read something recently where they (englander publication) said Thin Lizzy was one of the UKs best ever bands. They'll be claiming that Peig was from Birmingham next.

Begorrah.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 10,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭ecksor

"Begorrah"

My grandfather would often say "By gor" and I notice that I say it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Or how about the one reply guaranteed to confuse the hell out of germans

When asked to do something, the irishperson says "I will, yeah"

/two hours later confused germans are standing around saying "Ja, he said that he would be here"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭jetsonx

those annoying inflight magazines of forgein airlines.

"most tourists come the Emerald Isle for the keole agus crack" argh.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

"Look at the state of ya"

I'm FOREVER saying this, without even meaning to...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hshortt

dudara wrote:
    When asked to do something, the irishperson says "I will, yeah"

/two hours later confused germans are standing around saying "Ja, he said that he would be here"

haha that's deadly. Opps! There's another Irish-ism or maybe it's a Dublin-ism ... "Bleedin' Deadly."

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

"Sure isn't that fella some queerhawk" (queer prounced so that it rhymes with care)

"as strange as a two bob note"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Would ya g'wan outta dat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Paddy1 and Paddy2 meet in the street:

Paddy1: Howya?
    Paddy2: Howsitgoing?
    Paddy 1: You well?
    Paddy 2: How's the form?
    Paddy 1: Any news?
    and so on.......

And people saying "B-B-B-Bye, bye, bye, bye, bye" when hanging up.