Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Shelbourne FC -v- Glentoran CL1QR2L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭finnpark

I read on Aertel that Glentoran fans' buses were attacked through Dundalk.

Also during the game I heard through an RTE mic some Glen fan shouting at Delaney "You Fenian B******d".

Those things will not help calls for a united league. If both leagues join, which will be soon I think, how will Shamrock Rov and Derry City etc be able to play against them? Security fears can never go away.

Anyway, I know that Roy Coyle has called the Irish League to be switched to summer soccer. It makes no difference as their league is very poor - despite their setanta cup win.

Hopefully Longford and Cork will both win next week but it wont be easy in either case.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Congrats but thats as far as I can see Shels going this year in the CL

Ireland Top of European Rankings so far - strange but true.
    http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method3/ccoef2006.html

Over Ranking
    http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method3/crank2006.html

Ireland can really jump up a few places in next 3 years. But 25th spot is beyond them - need total of 13.5 pts which is an average of 2.7 pts per year. This is a very tall order unless some team gets into UEFA cup group stages or CL group stages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

finnpark wrote:

I read on Aertel that Glentoran fans' buses were attacked through Dundalk.

Also during the game I heard through an RTE mic some Glen fan shouting at Delaney "You Fenian B******d".

The first situation would never have happened if the Gardai provided an escort to the buses instead of stationing young wans in Drumcondra to be chatted up by drunken Glens fans before the match. I believe there was no escort through Dundalk, a poor choice if that was indeed the case.

The second incident can hardly be considered typical. The response from the Shels fans when the stadium announcer thanked the Glens team and fans for travelling was heartwarming, as was the Glentoran fan's response, and there was a standing ovation from the Shels faitful for Glentoran as they left the pitch. Both matches have gone a long way towards building bridges.

All in all, a few morons aside the atmosphere was friendly. Just as any football match should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

^^
    Correct, we stood and clapped them off.

As for the "fenian bastard" comment, well, what can you do?

There's always muppets at matches.

There were a group of morons in the Shels end too, trying to get The Fields of Athenry going, not a chance, everytime it started we just started the most simple of Shels songs (Shelbourne clap clap clap...) to drown them out.

No matter where you are, what walk of life, there is always one individual or small group intent on acting the prick. If they aren't given the time of day, they'll soon go away.

seansouth wrote:

There were a group of morons in the Shels end too, trying to get The Fields of Athenry going, not a chance, everytime it started we just started the most simple of Shels songs (Shelbourne clap clap clap...) to drown them out.

Any idea what happened in the corner between the Riverside and Drumcondra Road stands with about 10 minutes to go that prompted the "wanker wanker" chant Sean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Yeah, some "casual" wearing no colours threw an empty naggin(sp?) at a Glens player, reportedly one of the same guys Ollie threw out of Tolka on the day of the Setanta Cup Final. He was immediately identified by people around him and thrown out.

seansouth wrote:
    Yeah, some "casual" wearing no colours threw an empty naggin(sp?) at a Glens player, reportedly one of the same guys Ollie threw out of Tolka on the day of the Setanta Cup Final. He was immediately identified by people around him and thrown out.

Good riddance.

Nice to see such a negative reaction from those around him as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Supporters buses get stoned all over the world every week, Shamrock Rovers buses get stoned every time they go to a game outside Dublin, if we were to let that stop us from trying for an all-Ireland league, we'd be a sad bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

great night, completely enjoyed it,

highlights for the night

the result, great for shels, great for irish soccer

glen crowes goal - top class

eoin hearys performance, brilliant

byrne and crowes link up play

the atmosphere in the new stand

clapping the glentoran team off the pitch

low points
    the "black sheep" gang in the new stand that kept starting non shels chants, total wasters, should be either moved to another stand or an other ground

defending for the glentoran goal

that fool that threw the bottle on the pitch, as to how the gardai let him off is another question, should be banned

the pitch, way too bare, would want a dose of water and manure

the queue for the jacks at half time, it was a killer to see the ladies ones empty!

Cork have all but wrapped up the league title tonight.

People said it would be runaway this year - dont think they thought it would be Cork though. The question now is can Shels qualify for Europe? and Is Pat Fenlon for the chop?

If Shels dont qualify for Europe next season it would be a disaster for everyone - title is gone though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,982 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Well Shels may be gone but Derry are still in the chase and I wouldn't write them off even though Cork are rightfully strong favourites . I happy with the result for Bray but sad that Shels couldn't keep up the race a bit longer to make it more exciting .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Fenlons got something like 5 years left after this year, after signing a new contract extension this time last year. Personally, I wouldn't change him for anybody. At all.

IMO now the best Shels can hope for is second and therefore qualifying for Europe.Bitterly disappointed tonight, not with the result so much as the lack of heart/desire and effort. Disgraceful. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭thejollyrodger

I wouldnt write Shels off just yet. Unless CCFC win all of their matches or something. Its still all to play for.

As for the crowd trouble, there is always going to be that element since both leagues havent played each other in such a long time. As long as its not fans of any signifcant number its ok IMO.

Im not sure if Shels can win against Steua. I cant wait for the first game. If we got the same run as last year it would be great, maybe even getting into the UEFA Cup but its still a few seasons away I think.

Realistically the Eircom League should be aiming to wining both legs of the first round UEFA Cup/Champions League. That would give us a co-efficient of 2 (wouldnt it ?) Over 5 years it would bring us to 10. If Shels started beating 2nd round opposition more often we would be flying way up the table. Easier said that done I know !