Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

San Andreas Banned??

• 20-07-2005 10:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭

Well people have been complaining about this game since it came out but i think its finnaly come to head :eek: , they have stopped producing it.

http://www.gamespot.com/news/index.html

• Registered Users Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Not like they haven't made enough yet :/

• Registered Users Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

*shrug*
    When the world and it's mother already has it... lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Its all these mothers with nothing better to do,they form these little "we hate video games" crew and then try get these types of games banned, they have finally suceeded. It really makes no sense though ??? The game is rated 18, what else can they do ???

PS: I dont have it yet :eek:

And it's not a ban that's on it, it's an ESRB AO (adults only) rating, which is identical to a game getting a 18 rating over here. The big thing is that Wal-Mart and shops like that in the US do not carry AO-rated games. So they'll all be pulling GTA:SA from their shelves. And they've stopped production of the current version and are editing out the Hot Coffee minigame, and the recut version will be out there in the autumn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Could this be a superb marketting ploy to finish the quarter on a high, its in the game so only Rockstar employees knew of its existence.

Every shop still has tonnes of it on shelves in all formats.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭astec123

Is this the same thing that seems to have happened to half life 2 which I cannot locate a source of in cork at all?

Nah, Half-Life 2 wasn't banned. Try your local GAME, it's 20 euro in the sale.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Lol no, There was no sex mini game found in HL2 :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

Try your local GAME

blanchardstown and dawson st were both closed last i checked :p

Henry St, Liffey Valley, Tallaght and Dundrum are open. And Blanch is back open.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Valve aint distributing boxed games anymore it's all to be done through Steam *shudders*. Well except for the EA titles.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭OSiriS

Ciaran500 wrote:
    Lol no, There was no sex mini game found in HL2 :p

You just haven't looked hard enough

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,401 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Did anyone else notice the HUGE 18's rating on the God of War box. It's like a big sign to parents saying 'Can you see me now you ignorant half-wit!'. It will still probably be bought for little johnny. All this political correctness makes baby jesus cry.

• Registered Users Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Moojuice

In fairness though God of War is VERY violent. If parents buy it for their kids then so be it, but they were warned. I bet you will still get parents complaining about it even though
    (1) they bought it and (2) it has a huge 18 cert sticker on it.

As for GTA, well you can go on a bloody rampage, do a hooker, kill her and get your money back, all fine and dandy, but to actually pleasure your GIRLFRIEND in a mini-game? well that is clearly wrong. What kind of message is that sending kids? the violence is ok, just dont pleasure your girl?

People have their priorities seriously screwed up. Hillary Clinton wants an investigation in to who put the hot coffee scene into the game. Does not bode well.

Seems the US is losing the plot again (nipplegate now GtaGate?)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

What am i missing? Whats this hot coffey minigame? Do you have to do something specific to get to it? Im in Las venturas doing the airfield missions well maybe im done as i now make money from it.

To be honest i thought the last GTA was more violent than this one. Some of the touches are missing like walk past a cop and he gives him the finger etc. Though more nice touches have been added. I remember the last one when you fought a hooker they kneed you in the balls :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Oh, dear god...it continues

So the dappy cow thinks that it's magically worse to have bought an M-rated game with all the same violent content for her grandson (who shouldn't have been touching the game in any case, at least if we're going to assume that he wouldn't have already sourced it in its, ahem, internet-enabled "freeware" form) than for the same game to be rated Adults Only for a miniscule amount of sexual content? Even though it was her inability to notice that the game was never deemed suitable for kids in the first place?

Agh. Frankly, this strip says everything worth saying about the subject.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

Fysh wrote:
    Oh, dear god...it continues

So the dappy cow thinks that it's magically worse to have bought an M-rated game with all the same violent content for her grandson (who shouldn't have been touching the game in any case, at least if we're going to assume that he wouldn't have already sourced it in its, ahem, internet-enabled "freeware" form) than for the same game to be rated Adults Only for a miniscule amount of sexual content? Even though it was her inability to notice that the game was never deemed suitable for kids in the first place?

That story says she bought it in late 2004, which means it has to have been the PS2 version. I thought the hack only applied to the PC version??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

And it's not a ban that's on it, it's an ESRB AO (adults only) rating, which is identical to a game getting a 18 rating over here.

An AO rating is moreso the gaming equivilent of XXX (if there isn't such a rating here in Ireland: you know what I mean). The M (Mature) rating is more in line with the 18s rating we have over here.

That's why all the American chains are refusing to stock it; it's a filthy, filthy porno.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Loobz

talla wrote:
    That story says she bought it in late 2004, which means it has to have been the PS2 version. I thought the hack only applied to the PC version??

Through a considerble amount of effort, 'Hot Coffee' IS accessible on the PS2.

I cant believe parents really think that they are not to blame for their kids playing any GTA game. It makes me sooooo feckin angry. Im not gonna continue cos i'll just feckin fly off the handle.

Parents, just do ur feckin job.

FECK!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

Does the film industry get this kinda abuse. I rember seeing Alien toys in kids shops a few years back when all the alien films were 18. I know the newer ones have lower ratings now.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Fysh wrote:

A quite better example is ‘sex isn’t suitable for children, so lets ban sex!’… do you want to do a comic strip on that?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Moojuice wrote:
    As for GTA, well you can go on a bloody rampage, do a hooker, kill her and get your money back, all fine and dandy, but to actually pleasure your GIRLFRIEND in a mini-game? well that is clearly wrong. What kind of message is that sending kids? the violence is ok, just dont pleasure your girl?

AHEM... pleasure your GIRLFRIEND WITH ALL YOUR CLOTHES ON in a mini-game.

But in one of the first missions where you bust up a crack house they don't seem to have a problem with the woman in the back of the room smoking a salami.

btw, in MA the TV was exactly the same. They show blood and gore on TV but if its got any reference to sex its cut. One example I can remember is Helllraiser (1/2?) being shown saturday morning and the scene where the woman is kissing a guy they cut out.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

wat i just dont get (u have all said it already but its just so annoying) is that they shouldnt have it! plain and simple!
    its the same as if grandma brought little timmy into a pub and bought all his pints for him and he gets drunk who does she blame? the pub ofcourse :D

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Borat_Sagdiyev

Christ almighty folks, what in the name of god is wrong with sex? People react to it with far more vigour than violence.

- Oh there's a new game out that everyone is mad to get? Great.

- Oh its got endless and limitless violence? Hmm, I'll frown upon it, but I can handle it.

- WHAT??? THERE'S SEX IN IT? OH MY GOD! BAN IT IMMEDIATELY! Better yet, have a public hanging of the people responsible for this filth.

Sure look at the current american president - Responsible for countless deaths in Iraq, people of all nationalities. He invaded iraq for no good reason. Do people demand that he be kicked out of office? Course not. But "OH MY GOD!! BILL CLINTON HAD SEX?? GET HIM OUT!"

Come on people, as a friend of mine once said, "Sex is as naturaly as eating, and it tastes just as nice!"

Another thing, everyone involved in condemning the game immediately assume that the game has a negative influence on gamers. Just because I go on a rampage where I kill government agents by blowing their heads off with a shotgun, (Surprise surprise folks) doesn't necessarily mean that I'll go to my local gun shop, blow all my savings on a shotgun and ammo, and head to the FBI headquarters. The same way having sex with a prostitute in the game and then killing her doesn't mean I'll actually go and do that in real life.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

i think the problem is most parents think ALL games are just for children and assume as its been sold next to mario and pokemon it cant have any "hanky panky" in it or just blind to the fact that it has 18's or M written on it.
    but still what gives them the right to sue the developer over them been retarded and still giving an 18's game to a child? why been american, as its an american way of life

• Registered Users Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

Moojuice wrote:
    What kind of message is that sending kids?

Point is kids shouldn't be PLAYING OR OWNING a game clearly marked 18's & if parents aren't going to be responsible, they need to pay the price for their actions...... instead of just smacking babies when they're born now, they should slap the parents too in advance!!!!!!!!

I'm getting sick of this American-led puritanical crusade on the rest of the world when it comes to movies, videos & games.... they need to cop on & start making PARENTS responsible..... it is the PARENTS responsibility to ensure their kids ain't watching unsuitable stuff at home or playing video games not recommended age-wise at home..... :mad: :mad:

::: AmeN-Ra :::

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭Blub2k4

ven0m wrote:
    Point is kids shouldn't be PLAYING OR OWNING a game clearly marked 18's & if parents aren't going to be responsible, they need to pay the price for their actions...... instead of just smacking babies when they're born now, they should slap the parents too in advance!!!!!!!!

I'm getting sick of this American-led puritanical crusade on the rest of the world when it comes to movies, videos & games.... they need to cop on & start making PARENTS responsible..... it is the PARENTS responsibility to ensure their kids ain't watching unsuitable stuff at home or playing video games not recommended age-wise at home..... :mad: :mad:

::: AmeN-Ra :::

What about they start to prosecute the stupid parents that didn't enforce the age laws for their children?
    I think it would be an idea, Rockstar countersuing all the parents for failing to parent correctly and breaking states age guidance laws, I'm sure a shop-keeper could be prosecuted for supplying kids with the games, surely it is the same as adults buying stuff for kids in off-licenses?
    Just a little food 4 thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

Blub2k4 wrote:
    What about they start to prosecute the stupid parents that didn't enforce the age laws for their children?
    I think it would be an idea, Rockstar countersuing all the parents for failing to parent correctly and breaking states age guidance laws, I'm sure a shop-keeper could be prosecuted for supplying kids with the games, surely it is the same as adults buying stuff for kids in off-licenses?
    Just a little food 4 thought.

Sir if we still had that fantastic rep system, I'd rep you silly for that!!!!!! You are a friggin genius!!!!!!!! Lovely food......... :D

::: ven0mous :::

• Registered Users Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭ObeyGiant

Blub2k4 wrote:
    Well... no.

The ESRB (the body that dishes out game ratings) is an entirely voluntary thing. You don't even have to submit your game to be assessed by them - in which case you'll just find it very hard finding a retailer in the US to sell your game. There's no "age guidance laws". Just a set of standards that retailers and publishers have promised to follow.

And this is what Thompson is saying - there is no law right now, so Rockstar/Take Two will get a slap on the wrist and that'll be that. He's pushing for a legally-enforcable rating system for games.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

if you have net sense you can always get what you want ;)