Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wood out the gate

• 27-07-2005 10:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭

Real Madrid signing last season Johnaton woodgate might never play soccer again after upseting his thigh again in training he has never even pulled on a real jersey and he even took a £50,000 pay cut and now real are taking insurance out in case they have to cancel his contract

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Newcastle really got a sweet deal on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

He really has to see a specialist about f**king thigh. I really want to see what he has to offer at Real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

That's a shame. He was an excellent player and had a very bright footballing future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭RVN10

It was like ten mill for a player that would never play again they realyl saw real comin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭Serbian

According to Football 365 he just injured himself again, but there's no mention of him not playing again. Madrid paid Newcastle £13.4 million for him too.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

andyman wrote:
    He really has to see a specialist about f**king thigh. I really want to see what he has to offer at Real.

He has seen countless specialists over it in a number of different countries. It was looking well for him until it broke down again in training.
    chubb76 wrote:
    It was like ten mill for a player that would never play again they realyl saw real comin

It was £13m that they paid for him and at the time I thought it was an absolute bargain. Being a Leeds fan I have great respect for Woodgate as a player. He never wanted to leave Leeds and he said this himself that he was forced to leave. He is a top class player one of the best around and this is sad news if he never gets to play again at such a young age.

Big loss for Madrid if it turns out that way

According to planetfootball he may never play again

How old is he? 25?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

andyman wrote:
    How old is he? 25?

yeah 25

Ya he is 25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

Sheer waste of talent, Darren "Sicknote" Anderton springs to mind but even he wasn't that bad.

Ya he wasnt but you have to feel sorry for real

Willem D wrote:
    Sheer waste of talent, Darren "Sicknote" Anderton springs to mind but even he wasn't that bad.

There was nothing wrong with him before he got a bad injury. One bad injury is all it takes to end a football career. Some injuries never heal and it looks like Woodgate has picked up one of these injuries. He is nothing like Anderton he picked up countless different injuries. Woodgate got one bad injury which just wont heal for him no matter what he does.
    chubb76 wrote:
    Ya he wasnt but you have to feel sorry for real

Yeah it is all right but its even sadder for the player to give a potentially fantastic career with one of the best teams in the world at such a young age.
    You gotta feel sorry for the man

I feel sorry cos he isnt going to play for one of the best teams in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

How on earth did he pass a medical at Real?
    They are bigger fools for forking that money out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I feel sorry for the Asian Kid he helped kicked the ****e out of.

Feel sorry for real no way I'll have to agree with Kingp35, Ya I suppose his injury is probably more like Marco Van Basten not in the same injury like but in the way such a good player in his prime was stripped of his ability to play.

Keyzer wrote:
    How on earth did he pass a medical at Real?
    They are bigger fools for forking that money out...

He did have an injury going there right???

He did ya but there were some nasty rumours floating around aswell about him at the time.

Ya loads of rumours dodgy dealings and what not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭MooShop

I do feel sorry for Woodgate, he was a great talent at Leeds and was excellent when he played for Newcastle. He had a great future and the prospect of becoming one of the best drfrnder's in the world. I really hope he can recover and that this doesn't spell the end of his footballing career, it would be an awful shame and at such a young age.

his injury was so bad didnt his thigh muscel tear away or summit that has got to be hard to recover from no wonder its gone again

Ya i heard that too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Culchie wrote:
    ya, there was nothing wrong with his thigh that night.... :rolleyes:

This isnt bout him kicking some asian kid we are on about his injury

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Spot on, I am a great believer of what goes around, comes around, nothing has gone right for woodgate since this incident.

I don't think he said he would take a 50k pw cut, he said he would take a cut in his wages of an unspecified amount.

Madrid were daft to sign him really, a medical would/should have shown up these issues

andyman wrote:
    Quoted from Teamtalk
    Woodgate, who started his career with Leeds, has travelled to America and Finland for expert treatment on the injury centred around the femoral muscles that help the knee in bending.

Chubb76 wrote:
    This isnt bout him kicking some asian kid we are on about his injury

Only so much you can say about a thigh injury. Seems more like a thread about how you feel sorry for him, so my point does have relevance then.
    Then with a cherry on top, there is drug misuse.

This fellah threw it all away. I'm not rejoicing in that, but life has a way of dishing out justice.

yop wrote:
    Spot on, I am a great believer of what goes around, comes around, nothing has gone right for woodgate since this incident.

I don't think he said he would take a 50k pw cut, he said he would take a cut in his wages of an unspecified amount.

Madrid were daft to sign him really, a medical would/should have shown up these issues

Lads this has nothing at all to with the attack on the Asian student and if you must bring it up then I have to let you now that Woodgate was acquiied of grievious(sp) bodily harm.

Madrid did give him a medical and they decided that his injury wasnt that bad. Maybe they were right at the time but it has gradually got worse.

I dont know about that cocaine story it sounds pretty far fetched to me in that why would madrid sign him if this was true? It makes no sense

Culchie wrote:
    Then with a cherry on top, there is drug misuse.

This is pure speculation so how can you go around saying he did this when nothing has been proven. Also ill say again that he was acqutted of the major offense by the jury, Did you read the papers or what?

Kingp35 wrote:
    This is pure speculation so how can you go around saying he did this when nothing has been proven. Also ill say again that he was acqutted of the major offense by the jury, Did you read the papers or what?

Yes I read them, but don't consider them as bible either.

So he was acquitted very good, must be innocent then .
    Must have been a mirage that this kid had his head danced on and spent several days in intensive care, I can't believe you are being so naive about the issue.

There is one law for multi million pound footballers, another for working class Asian kids, surely you see some sort of relevance? Same as one law for me and you, another for Politicians , you don't disagree do you?

Culchie wrote:
    Yes I read them, but don't consider them as bible either.

So he was acquitted very good, must be innocent then .
    Must have been a mirage that this kid had his head danced on and spent several days in intensive care, I can't believe you are being so naive about the issue.

There is one law for multi million pound footballers, another for working class Asian kids, surely you see some sort of relevance? Same as one law for me and you, another for Politicians , you don't disagree do you?

I agree to a point but why do you choose to not to believe the papers. Its your opinion that we are talking about here not facts. You seem to be forgetting the guy that did get done for assaulting the student and he went down for it. a 12 person jury and the english legal system cleared him of it.

What more do you want? Do you want him to continuously stand trial until he is found guilty? Tell me

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Kingpin - I understand that he got off and that is fair enough, but smoke without fire and all that.

How many soccer players have gone to court and walked away? Of course there are people who continually chance their arms and bring cases against players but there are always a few who seem to bring trouble.

Kingp35 wrote:
    I agree to a point but why do you choose to not to believe the papers. Its your opinion that we are talking about here not facts. You seem to be forgetting the guy that did get done for assaulting the student and he went down for it. a 12 person jury and the english legal system cleared him of it.

What more do you want? Do you want him to continuously stand trial until he is found guilty? Tell me

No, I want to say I don't feel sorry for him. I am entitled to say that aren't I? You do feel sorry for him, that's grand also.

Just because you disagree with what I say, does not make my opinion irrelevant.

You going on about the English Legal system is actually undermining your argument more than anything, so I'd stop while you are not too far behind in your argument for feeling sorry for Woodgate.

If you talk about the papers, I think you'll find a fair bit of 'surprise' to say the least on his acquittal....at least from the broadsheets anyway, maybe the tabloids think he is a hero .... not me.

You are right to have your opinion culchie and so is kingpin

Chubb76 wrote:

lets just agree to disagree because I know a lot of people are divided over this. Anyway I think we have gone way off topic.

One final thing where are you getting kingpin from? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

Why feel sorry for someone who is a millionaire without ever really earning it on a long term basis, and who is a criminal (yes he was found guilty of affray) to boot (well not anymore cause of his thigh)

BolBill is right

No need to feel sorry for him anymore lads, because Woodgate has denied the stories and said that he is on the road to a full recovery and will join the squad when they tour Austria next week.
    Source:Sky Sports News

Apparantley from his agent Straun Marshall he has no problem and is hundred percent on course and going on tour with real

I heard it on sky sports news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

Real's doctor has also denied he had a relapse of the injury.
    BBC Sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

Lads keep the thread on topic regarding the injury/ non injury.