Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official "woo-hoo/anti-moan" Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

stargal wrote:
    Going to see the demonically sexy Daniel Craig in Casino Royale tonight. Up until about a week and a half ago I wouldn't have considered going but been reading a lot of the reviews and now I'm looking forward to it. Especially the bit where he comes out of the water in his er, swimming trunks. But that's for a whole other thread...
    What did you think of it?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Ibid wrote:
    Economics Forum!
    Oh dear...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Ibid wrote:
    Oh dear...
    Ooh who's a sexy moderator

Ibid: Mod: Economics

Anyone else remember Kev's 'crazy' suggestion one day about how I'd be a mod of the grants forum, Angry_Banana would be the mod of the Economics forum and someone else would be mod of something else?

Congrats, btw :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Ooh who's a sexy moderator
    You are, honey :D.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

whooo i graduated yesterday, now to sleep!

Ed you bastard.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Ed you bastard.

What did he do?

Well done by the way but isn't the degree a bit crappy? I was expecting wax seals and more gold leaf!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Mighty day, especially getting ranted at in latin for an hour, the mad organ and the clown costume. It had to go down to the pav!
    Ed you bastard.
    AAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA, I was still giggling about that this morning. In between liver, lung and chest pains. 21 drinks over 16 hours is a good way to take out a long term lease on a particular state of mind.

Dead Ed wrote:
    Mighty day, especially getting ranted at in latin for an hour, the mad organ and the clown costume. It had to go down to the pav!
    yeah the latin stuff was just plain funny, that procession at the start couldn't help but laugh at them... that cepter guy looked so bored through it all, just started talking ranomly to people as we went to sign that register thingy
    AAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA, I was still giggling about that this morning.
    Just back from the pub with those girls, your thing came up again.... lol ;)

that was the most half hearted 3 hrs in a pub i've done, just so bloddy tired, no one had the energy to even drink much.....
    In between liver, lung and chest pains. 21 drinks over 16 hours is a good way to take out a long term lease on a particular state of mind.
    Haha, yeah you did struggle with that last pint a bit, you's go on to anyone's gaff's after ? or just find some burnt out car's to do your usual on?

John wrote:
    What did he do?
    The simplest explanation is that he was himself..... highly entertaining, though thank god i know those 2 well.........
    Well done by the way but isn't the degree a bit crappy? I was expecting wax seals and more gold leaf!
    Ye know man i barely looked at it, got it, put it in that envelope and that last i've seen of it, think its gone to clare with my parents but tbh i don't even know....

i thought it was far funnier that they gave that bit of white plastic pipe for the lafaette photo's, i wasn't sure what to do with it when he gave me it, was it to hit him or do a relay race?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

i thought it was far funnier that they gave that bit of white plastic pipe for the lafaette photo's, i wasn't sure what to do with it when he gave me it, was it to hit him or do a relay race?

I'd forgotten about that, I felt like a right knob holding that.

John wrote:
    I'd forgotten about that, I felt like a right knob holding that.
    yep, but coupious amounts of alcohol made me feel so much better... cocktails through lunch(5 with my meal iirc) , then in the pav from 3 till when it closed, mcd's, gaiety till 4, burger king, then further drinking........... woot, i wanna graduate again! ;)

couldn't stop laughing at people from about 3am onwards, though i was probally doing just as many silly things......i learned ed was only 12 was it? then he aged through a traumatic experence over the next sentence to 16... not sure how old he is by now, 60? are ye Father Ed yet?

Hey, I was doing well to string a sentence together by that point. Headed back and collapsed. The parchment went home with the folks. I wanted it outta my sight as soon as possible before I could manage to lose it. Might get a vault for it or something.
    Was trying to convince some female women that Ian here has a bit of a wink-wink/nudge-nudge (boner) for pre-teens in a bid to sabotage/embarass him on the evening. I just remember giggling like an eejit.

The wavin pipe degree thing was interesting. Insert something about ucd here...

Dead Ed wrote:
    Hey, I was doing well to string a sentence together by that point.
    haha, that might explain the repeating sentences, you'd go quiet for a few minutes then start the same line of conversation again, and somehow it was funny every time though i've no idea why..... ;)
    Was trying to convince some female women that Ian here has a bit of a wink-wink/nudge-nudge (boner) for pre-teens in a bid to sabotage/embarass him on the evening.
    If i was even remotely sober that might have actually worked, but no thankfully i was blissfully in my own little world, and catching Cathrine as she kept falling over....

Though watching Orla's sneeze attack was one of the funnier things of the night, think it took the guts of 10mins to introduce her to Kerrie........

haha, that might explain the repeating sentences, you'd go quiet for a few minutes then start the same line of conversation again, and somehow it was funny every time though i've no idea why..... ;)
    that's not exactly unheard of. Oddly enough, I remember almost everythin' even to the point that I remember thinking "jesus, I'm drunk as a small cat", about the time the kebab hunting instinct kicked in and the demons whisked me off to amir. Mighty.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

I'm drunk as a small cat

Please explain this phrase. You've used it before and it puzzles me.

I put whisky into a kitten's milk once and he tried to climb up a wall and remove the skin off my arms. Seemed to enjoy himself though.

Dead Ed wrote:
    I put whisky into a kitten's milk once and he tried to climb up a wall and remove the skin off my arms. Seemed to enjoy himself though.
    I'll never let you near my kids (should I have them). For more than one reason...

Pet wrote:
    I'll never let you near my kids (should I have them). For more than one reason...
    emos don't have kids. Like, they symbolise the rebirth of the tormented souls of the, like, sooooo misunderstood parents. Man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Bartron Prime

Dead Ed wrote:
    Pet wrote:
    I'll never let you near my kids

Are you implying that you'll give birth to kittens? You should probably see a doctor about that.....

I'm sure he meant his future lover will since it's medically improbable for a man to give birth. This implies his future lover will be a cat (I say lover cos you can't marry a cat). Or at the very least that his children will be furry, big eyed, go meow and always land on their feet.

Did you know if you throw a cat off a 15 story building it will most likely survive, but if you throw it off a 7 story building it most likely won't? Now that's SCIENCE! (no seriously, it is)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

wasn't it figured that it related to the cat reaching its full speed? while its accelerating, it tenses up, however once it reaches full speed it no longer does.

there was also a theory that most cat deaths from a height result from a smashed head - i.e. the cat is too loose and hits the ground, body fine, but the head slamming straight down smashing the jaw and the head.

&#231 wrote: »
    wasn't it figured that it related to the cat reaching its full speed? while its accelerating, it tenses up, however once it reaches full speed it no longer does.
    Yeah exactly, that's how the theory goes. Acceleration is something you will notice. It disturbs the cat such that it tenses up. This tensing means a fatal fall at about 20m (6-7 stories). However after falling this amount the cat will stop accelerating (gravity force down = wind force up), so it relaxes and it's fall will tend not to be fatal. It will hit the ground at the same velocity whether you throw it from the 8th floor or the 88th. So next time you're in a skyscraper, drop a cat off the top floor. Probably best to drop it on grass to minimise the chance of impalement and head crushing.

Must test this out. Anyone got a cat I can borrow? I'll use a newborn baby as a control splat. We can't be half assed about this now.

Like, they symbolise the rebirth of the tormented souls of the, like, sooooo misunderstood parents.

Whoah, that's like, so deep. I'm putting it straight into my Livejournal.
    Or at the very least that his children will be furry, big eyed, go meow and always land on their feet.

Rofflecopter. I hope they do land on their feet tbh, I don't trust myself with babies, they're waaaay too fragile.
    It will hit the ground at the same velocity whether you throw it from the 8th floor or the 88th.

Is that ACTUALLY true? It sounds improbable. Stupid physics, counterintuitive..

I dunno if it'll be hitting terminal velocity after an eighth storey fall though. if it does though, you could throw the bastard thing from space and still have the same effect on the ground (as long as it doesn't burn up on reentry. We need some russians on this one. they have to have done this at some point, if not with cats then chechnians)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭gymrabbit

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Yeah exactly, that's how the theory goes. Acceleration is something you will notice. It disturbs the cat such that it tenses up. This tensing means a fatal fall at about 20m (6-7 stories). However after falling this amount the cat will stop accelerating (gravity force down = wind force up), so it relaxes and it's fall will tend not to be fatal. It will hit the ground at the same velocity whether you throw it from the 8th floor or the 88th. So next time you're in a skyscraper, drop a cat off the top floor. Probably best to drop it on grass to minimise the chance of impalement and head crushing.

i would go as far as saying this is all theoretical bull****.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,154 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Its not 'theoretically' wrong. I'd just sincerely doubt that a cat would reach terminal velocity from the 8th floor, considering how little drag it would have. No way would there be enough drag in that time to negate 9.8~m/s of acceleration.

gymrabbit wrote:
    i would go as far as saying this is all theoretical bull****.
    Just like all of physics, eh?

Edit: whoah, 3500th post. That's a bit much, to be honest. You'd swear I had no hobbies and was some kind of recluse. I can explain, I can explain!! I don't watch television, ever. Also, I tend to leave my computer on, and flit back and forth in between reading, studying (ha!), etc.

I PROMISE I'M NOT A NERD.

ahem.

~meanders away~

better put down that cd player, phone and computer then...