Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's the most famous person you've ever met?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,797 ✭✭✭Paddy20

Met osama bin ladin on a hike in the mountains, top bloke!

I like it, I like it :D Was he Drunken & foolish as well ?... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭drunkenfool

Nah, he was saying something about muslims not really drinking that much, i wasnt really listening though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 gazz66

Was visiting a mate in Beaumont hospital and needed to use the jacks. I was standing at the urinal and Bono walked in Shades n all. He took up position next to me and we kinda nodded to each other, well you wouldn't shake hands or anything would you.. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Saw Ellie of Newsround fame today. Didn't talk to her or anything.

John

(She's not supposed to be that nice)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭Shellie13

:( It KILLS me to say this as the foo fighters number 1 fan! But at oxygen this year i was listening to the beautiful south and noticed one of the (perhaps) stoned guys behind me resembled Taylor Hawkins! Anyway not until later on did I find out it was indeed him!
    Best oppertunity of my life missed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

shook hands with Frank Miller and got him to sign my copy of Batman: Dark Knight Returns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭Wex1

Ex boyfriend introduced all his mates to Jack Charlton (he was Irish team driver at some tournament in '92) and didn't introduce me but Jack asked Hoos the young ladaey then, shook my hand and actually talked to me much to the disgust of my all male companions!!!! Best ever celeb experience and one up on the lads!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Fabrizio

Ive met David Beckham, Ryan Giggs, All the Man Utd team of the triple winning season, all the Chelsea and AC Milan team this summer in USA! (Thats another story) Westlife, Jimmy Magee, Jodie Albert, Jason Sherlock - all nice people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

I met brad pitt in bewleys on grafton street he was so fine! he gave me his autograph it was years ago but I still have it.

also the guy from the hot house flowers - I used to teach his son

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,797 ✭✭✭Paddy20

Why, ME of course, silly question ! :D

P. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭TOPDAWG

Stacey keibler from the wwe on grafton street in dublin.

But just before xmas i was walkin down cook st in cork and saw Roy Keane walkin towards me, im a liverpool fan but he's the biggest legend to play EVER imo, and i FROZE!! I got ****ing starstruck :eek: and one of the lads from work was askin me "Whats wrong whats wrong?" and before i could say anything he was gone.

Still hurts to this day. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

I am the real joe dolan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

i beat everyone. im goin over to wales this weekend to go drinkin wit a boyband called 911. lol cant wait :rolleyes: only hope pussycat dolls will be comin wit us. phwoarr etc.

oh ye i met a few other D list irish celebs and JJ72!! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Dilly1

Puff Daddy (P Diddy ?) (iPoddy?) anyway...

He was staying in the same hotel as my Brothers wedding and he arrived
    down to the reception and wished the bride n groom all the best,
    even had a little dance, then left with his bodygaurds to go clubbing.
    All the girls at the wedding were standing on their chairs singing "go Daddy"
    "go Daddy" ... then Jodie Kidd arrived in to take a look, shes not all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

I met ryan giggs yesterday....shook his hand....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭LeNNoX

The best I've read so far are che chevra & John Lennon..

I meet stephen hawking while on a stag in amsterdam - we where in the red light district (14 of us, ErinGoBrath was there - member of boards.ie). One of the lads asked stephen if he had any advice, stephen said (in his computer voice) "stay away from the canal"...
    Was very funny - coz the nite before the stag actual swam across the canal for a bet.

Hawking has been known to like the strip clubs..

LeNNoX

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

Eric Stoltz was in the plane seat behind me on the way to LA last year........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

George Best and Maurice Hennessy (Cognac)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

The most famous person I've ever met was Enda Kenny, John Bruton or Niall Quinn. I'm such a loser.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

all of the dubliners on about 4 or 5 different occasions, the frames, damien dempsey, the muppets from west****e, KEEEEITTTH duffy, drummer from snow patrol (i know, i know), garth brooks, samantha mumba, the cute black one from sugababes, mary robinson, gerry adams, martin mc guinness, packie bonner, brian kerr, jamie oliver, peter aiken, shared a lift with all of the corrs, jimmy white, the lads from Keane (i know i know :D) and i got a hi-there from tina turner as well backstage when she played croker dunno if that counts, the lads from ocean color scene (craddocks head is abnormally massive BTW)

Theres more but I cant remember em I might stick em up if I remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Stompbox

I am a celebrity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

Em I met all of jimmy eat world and got pictures and autographs!! Good times :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Rcuomo

rivers cuomo from weezer back stage at the point, as you can tell by the user name im a big fan!
    &
    alex ferguson at ucd last year, after he got an honourary degree i met him being whisked out the underground exit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭jacko

liv tyler at a gig her boyfriend (now husband) was playing. very nice and polite although not very good looking in real life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

jacko wrote:
    liv tyler at a gig her boyfriend (now husband) was playing. very nice and polite although not very good looking in real life

or on screen IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

I met shadow & Jet from the Gladiators at the holiday show in the RDS one
    year.

Saw Joel Schumacher at the Molly Malone statue.

The chick from "Murder she wrote" in cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Dilly1

My (jammy) mate Tony met Souxsie Sioux from Souxsie and the Banshees
    after a gig in North London, he got to snog her (and other stuff that i wont go into)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Fusion251

Mandella and Ali down the 40ft....weird ****...

Fusion
    :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

Franz Beckenbauer and Eusebio when I was working at Euro2004 in Portugal last year. Mr. Beckenbauer even gave me a Germany 2006 t-shirt. I was delighted.
    Also Michael Douglas, Catherine Zeta Jones, Bobby Charlton, Michael Schumacher at the Laureus Sports Awards in Lisbon last year.

Pierce Brosnan in his Remington Steele days, when i was a little nipper. He was shooting an episode in Roundwood, where I lived at the time. I even got to play a game of cards with him.

Kim Basinger in Stillorgan Shopping Centre!

Kevin Spacey on Leeson St.

Gay Byrne at a wedding reception.

Andie McDowell(4 Wedddings and a Funeral) nearly getting run over on Dame St. I'm not joking it was a real close call! Didn't have much of a chat with her, other than ask her if she was ok - she was visibly shocked at nearly being hit.

Most recent was Dr. Cox from 'Scrubs' around Temple Bar on Tuesday. Had a great chat with him. Apparently he visits Ireland a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Rcuomo

ah good ol' dr. cox, my friend's friend was going out with him for awhile, she was 24, he's whatever 40-odd and just had gotten divorced, and apparently he got really clingy and she 'had to brake it off with him'...maybe it was the other way around...actually that sounds more likely, but anyway that was the story...
    apparently his fav club is tomangos in portmarnock...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Anselm

Eric Cantona - Legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭pugleon

Here's a weird mix, Steve croc hunter Eirwin (very down to earth, its all a show for the cameras) and Stephen "Speeeeel"burg. Those and just about every Comedian worth a crap. Go to ALOT of Comedy gigs. Few singer songwriters, Mark Geary, the Frames. Green Day. That's my lot I think.

Envy the lads who met Billy Corgan (would've lovin to seen the pumpkins live) and Kurt Kobain. And the Foo's. Top stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

i met ron wood in the now defunkt kitchen (underneat the clarence)
    i saw rosanna davidson there the other day...Hot with a capital H

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Rustar

Wolf Marshall (author of many guitar book/cd combos and guitar mags)
    and
    Barbie Benton (Hugh Hefner's 70's girlfriend)

I also stopped the car to let Helen Hunt cross the street in Boston a few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Sarky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I met paul McCartney at a signing. Most famous person I've ran into was Bono.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Peter O'Toole

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Bob Geldof :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

Mother Teresa - I felt I was in the presence of a Saint

Geld

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,660 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Jason McAteer, Packie Bonner, Dwight Yorke, Alan Kelly, David Thompson, Gary Flitcroft, Steven Reid, Andrew W.K., the 2 guys from How low can you go that aren't gay, daniel o'donnell, clannad, a load of gaa people and the Irish rugby team. O'Driscoll is a w**ker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

I'd say I'm the most famous person I've ever met, me being God and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

Yeah i met O'Drissicol in Lillies once. Talked to him for awhile and have to say he was a sound prick if you get my drift

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,660 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Yeah i met O'Drissicol in Lillies once. Talked to him for awhile and have to say he was a sound prick if you get my drift

i worked in a certain dublin niteclub that he would frequently attend and i've never met a bigger prick who was so far up his own ass its unbelievable. Aaargh!!! im away to punch a wall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Celebrities/famous people I've met, eh?...

I've met a bunch of local bands here in Dundalk - The End Again, Alan Anderson, The Realm, and a few more... and the very talented New York singer/songwriter Rebecca Hart. All of them have been guests on my radio show in the past year. Still haven't gotten the Corrs though :(

Melanie Chisholm (Mel C/Sporty Spice) - met her in Dublin airport. Very friendly. She was going to London after a Late Late Show appearance, I was going to Washington DC to visit friends. She admired my stuffed tiger. I admired her arse.

Ronan Keating - met him, out shopping in the Omni centre in Santry. He was mobbed by little girls looking for his autograph. Felt sorry for him. Gave him some of my Galaxy Minstrels.

Shane Lynch & other lads from of Boyzone. Met them while tending bar at the christening of one of their babies. One of them had a mildly famous wife who was there too, I believe. All of them were p!ss ignorant to the staff and sh!te tippers. Allegedly.

Mick Lally of Glenroe - met him in the Lambert Puppet Theatre one time. He was either lending his voice to or sticking his hand up the arse of one of the characters... I'm not sure.

I met (then President) Mary Robinson when I was in school... but then again, who didn't? Have also met loads of politicians (mostly PD's - my dad used to be involved with them) including Bobby Molloy, Pat Cox, Des O'Malley and Mary Harney.

Billy Connolly - famous comedian. Didn't exactly meet him, but was sitting with an IrelandOffline colleague (a heavily pregnant Elana Kehoe - a celebrity in her own right!) near him in a hotel foyer, while waiting for the group's first seminar. He was puffing away on a big fat cigar. Was going to ask him to put it out but thought better of it ;)

Derek Flood (Floody from Today FM's "Planet Hits" show) - super nice guy. Only lives around the corner from me. Sold him an MP3 player in work ;)

Gerry Harvey - billionaire chairman and co-founder of Harvey Norman. Met him briefly at a work do in Swords. Very down to earth and easy going guy.

... oh and Michael Flatley onced danced across the street in front of me, in a hurry to catch a train in Pearse station. And I mean danced ... like as if he was just coming on stage in Riverdance... he looked a complete twat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Met Alex Ferguson a few yrs back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Bono, Angelina Jolie and Val Kilmar/

I worked in the savoy for years and worked through all the premiers so got to meet lots of famous folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

Mick Jagger- thanked me for getting out of his way as he tumbled out of a toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The Cardigans. Nina, yum :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

biko wrote:
    The Cardigans. Nina, yum :D
    wanker. she's the only famous person (aside from the members of U2) that i'd like to meet.

had brekfeast with jerri hall. had no idea who she was. very classy lady. i was only 12 or 13 at the time. mick jagger walked into the kitchen as i was walking out (Leixlip castle. my father used to deliver their post).
    marianne faithfull and ron wood in sams chippers in Leixlip. they were hammered drunk. so was i.
    andy cairns on an escalator in the blanchardstown centre. (my friends' joke about him going nowhere would have been funny had he been walking in the opposite direction of the escalators movement.)
    T.D.'s. met plenty of them. emmet stagg was at my fathers funeral.
    i know there was a few others. just can't remember them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭gaf1983

Dermot Morgan, God rest him.