Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has anybody watched Rip off Republic on RTE

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

I saw it too. I was going to record it but missed the first five minutes so didn't bother. I assumed RTÉ would repeat it late some night later in the week, but no, the show is not being repeated. Next week's deals with the entertainment industry.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭Morgans

What I cant believe was the gasps from the audience when the bin tax protestor was carried on the bonnet of the van. It was all over the news for the most of a week when Socialist TD Joe Higgins was sent to jail. It shows to me how many, not all, of those up in arms now after viewing the program are too lazy to find the information for themselves, and in many respects are the people that companies who rip off target. It is shown on prime time tv then we will take action.

It is good that the program should once again bring it to the attention of the public how ripped off we are, but I dont think it will have a shred of difference in the long run.

One poster earlier called out hospitals disease ridden, it may be true to some extent, but no more than hospitals anywhere in the world. Having spent a fair time in hospital lately, I have to say that A&E is traumatic and slow, but apart from that I have been quite happy with the service I received. I'm sure there are harder cases than mine, a week long stay, but my opinion is that it has as much to do with administration as money being pumped into it. From when I first went to college, it took about 4.5 hours to drive to Dublin, it now takes 3 hours. Some of the services that we have got such as hte Luas, Port Tunnell and M50 are obviously late and over budget, but many services have improved dramatically. Vested Interested within services will always complain. Teachers will always want better equipment, hospitals will always want better equipment, even if the services are about perfect. Thats not a bad thing, but it is a little overplayed my opposition in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭Aspro

It was a breath of fresh air to see the likes of that show last night as opposed to the usual dumbed down TV diet of Soaps, Reality TV, and The *cringe* Lyrics Board.
    It was great to see that it was on at prime time as well so hopefully more workplace conversations today will be about how were getting fleeced in this country as opposed to who got evicted from Big Bore.

I read that the show will only air for 4 episodes. Hopefully not. We need a consistent investigative show like that to make people sit up and notice.

We also need a more in depth analysis as to why the likes of stealth taxes are introduced (i.e. privatisation of public utilities) and why we can continue to be ripped off while politicians and their big business buddies try to make us look like delusional fools with their denial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭rondjon

Aspro wrote:
    It was great to see that it was on at prime time as well

It's hardly prime time on a monday night in the middle of summer on the 2nd week of most peoples summer holidays when people are either out of the country, or at least outside, out and about.

If RTE were really serious about it, they'd have it on in prime time at the beginning of September when there's a bigger chance of people watching it.
    Aspro wrote:
    I read that the show will only air for 4 episodes. Hopefully not. We need a consistent investigative show like that to make people sit up and notice.

Only 4 were recorded.

Reaction to this one will presumably dictate whether more are recorded or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭tinofapples

Eye-opening and sickening at the same time

• Registered Users Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Shamrok wrote:
    Next week's deals with the entertainment industry.

Is there gonna be anything discussed about the IRMA's current 'P2P shenanigans', perchance?

ambro25 wrote:
    Is there gonna be anything discussed about the IRMA's current 'P2P shenanigans', perchance?

Why would there be? That's hardly a ripoff. They're merely seeking the enforcement of the law of the land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

ambro25 wrote:

I've been to the RGDATA site as I always like to consider both sides of a debate!

One part of it interested me - the Groceries Order is supported by the StVdeP, Combat Poverty and Cross Care. Why?

Most of the rest was statistics. Not lies, not damned lies, just statistics :)

[QUOTE=SarsfieldOne part of it interested me - the Groceries Order is supported by the StVdeP, Combat Poverty and Cross Care. Why?[/QUOTE]

Was this SVP during the time when the Groceries Order was implemented because H.Williams had been closed because of predatory pricing and it was felt that all low-cost supermarkets might be forced out of the market to the detriment of consumers?

Or is it the SVP of today?

RGDATA are, I'm sure, like most people, willing to pick up on any comment or quote made anytime in the past in order to justify their position.

I can find no indication anywhere of the SVP stating themselves that they are in favour of the Groceries Order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Agent Orange

galwaydude wrote:
    Thanx christ im emmigrating next march to the states for a year after watching that programme. Its crazy how some companies operate and get away with it and then line their pockets.

Yeah, because it's completely different in the US. :rolleyes:

davej wrote:
    Hmm. The logic of this sentence escapes me. Sending a nappy to the government IS one way to complain. So you're sentence pretty much reads: "People who don't complain have no right to complain".

To me the point is that people who don't complain don't really have a right to further complain that nothing is being done about stuff.

For example. Joe Blow complains that all restaurants are rip-offs and provide rubbish service to his mates in the pub, or on a forum such as this.

But at the weekend, Joe Blow gets shafted in a restaurant and says nothing to the waiter/manager/owner about the shafting he's just received.

He waits till he gets home to log on, or to the pub to spout further to his mates.

There's no point in that, and it's an unfortunate, but very very common way for Irish consumers to behave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

eoin_s wrote:
    I found some of the facts very interesting, but overall I found the show incredibly patronising - am I alone in this? To me had the feel of a secondary school teacher doing their best to keep their students interested in an economics class.

Yeah I got this feeling too. Maybe I'm just getting cynical in my old age or maybe it's just because I've got a guy who earns €300k+ p/a telling me how 'the man' is keeping me down or maybe it's because I don't believe that posting a packet of 'neeeapeeees' to Michael Martin is going to make a jot of difference.

The whole thing felt like an exercise in self promotion rather than a blueprint on how to 'fight the power' as tho Hobbs is setting himself up to be Irelands answer to Michael Moore or Mark Thomas. Like someone alluded to earlier will Hobbs be doing a segment on TV license fees? Will he put his money where his mouth is and bite the hand that broadcasts him? Somehow I think not.

The only thing I took from this show was that whilst in China people will stand in front of a tank because they wanted the right to vote in Ireland we'll stand in front a truck because we don't want to pay bin charges. Pretty much sums up the mind-state of this country a.t.m. and the zeitgeist that Hobbs is tapping into.

• Registered Users Posts: 190 ✭✭pan

All taken from www.entemp.ie

Office of the Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment:
    Address:
    Department of Enterprise, Trade & Employment
    23 Kildare Street, Dublin 2.

Fax No: 01-6312815

Bridget Flynn
    Private Secretary to Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment (Micheál Martin, T.D.)
    01-6312172
    bridget_flynn@entemp.ie

Or

Minister Micheál Martin,
    Department of Enterprise, Trade & Employment,
    23 Kildare Street,
    Dublin 2.

Telephone: +353 1 631 2121
    LoCall: 1890 220 222
    Fax: +353 1 631 2827
    E-Mail: info@entemp.ie

Sample letter

Dear Minister Martin,

On Monday night the 8th of August 2005 I watched a television programme on RTE where a Mr. Eddie Hobbs explained the details of the Groceries Order legislation that is currently undergoing review by your department.

As a registered voter, consumer and citizen of this country, I would ask that you not betray the trust that I have placed in you as an elected minister of state by allowing big business lobby groups such as IBEC and RGDATA to influence your decision on the Grocery Order in any way.

I would also ask that you repeal the Groceries Order as I feel that it unnecessarily adds to the cost of purchasing everyday goods.

Regards,

Your Name

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

pan wrote:
    Sample letter

Dear Minister Martin,

On Monday night the 8th of August 2005 I watched a television programme on RTE where a Mr. Eddie Hobbs explained the details of the Groceries Order legislation that is currently undergoing review by your department.

As a registered voter, consumer and citizen of this country, I would ask that you not betray the trust that I have placed in you as an elected minister of state by allowing big business lobby groups such as IBEC and RGDATA to influence your decision on the Grocery Order in any way.

I would also ask that you repeal the Groceries Order as I feel that it unnecessarily adds to the cost of purchasing everyday goods.

Regards,

Your Name

PS: Please find enclosed one nappy as a sign of my commitment to this cause.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

I found the stuff about cement to be very interesting, and while it feels like the deadest of flogged horses i did learn some new stuff about house prices (like, i'd never paused and actually thought 'why the heck do solicitors get paid a percentage of the house price to do the conveyencing (sp?)?').

However, i did find the stuff with the kids a little irritating - the selling sweets/apples bits to the children were cutesy, but went on a little too long.

And, i don't need to send a nappy in order to have the right to complain about how our government is running things - i voted in the last election. Anyway, from an environmental point of view all those nappies are just going to end up chucked in the bin - how's about people send letters/emails/faxes/etc?

Pigman II wrote:
    Yeah I got this feeling too. Maybe I'm just getting cynical in my old age or maybe it's just because I've got a guy who earns €300k+ p/a telling me how 'the man' is keeping me down or maybe it's because I don't believe that posting a packet of 'neeeapeeees' to Michael Martin is going to make a jot of difference.

The whole thing felt like an exercise in self promotion rather than a blueprint on how to 'fight the power' as tho Hobbs is setting himself up to be Irelands answer to Michael Moore or Mark Thomas. Like someone alluded to earlier will Hobbs be doing a segment on TV license fees? Will he put his money where his mouth is and bite the hand that broadcasts him? Somehow I think not.

The only thing I took from this show was that whilst in China people will stand in front of a tank because they wanted the right to vote in Ireland we'll stand in front a truck because we don't want to pay bin charges. Pretty much sums up the mind-state of this country a.t.m. and the zeitgeist that Hobbs is tapping into.

It's unfortunate to see so many people here taking the view that they were being preached to. You're lucky that you're all reasonably intelligent and "with it" and know what's going on around ye. Yet, ye know all that and still do sfa about the whole thing except be cynical about it all and use words like zeitgeist.

But you folks are in the minority, and since ye probably are too cynical to even vote as well, it's the regular Joe Blow in this country that now needs to be informed.

These normal people, working away, keeping their heads down, living from day to day, are most impacted by everything that was being highlighted, and to get these people interested, upset, and ready for action, is what's needed to get a groundswell started to try to get things changed.

cuckoo wrote:
    And, i don't need to send a nappy in order to have the right to complain about how our government is running things - i voted in the last election.

More of it.

When invited by the minister to tender your thoughts on the Groceries Order which is artificially propping up grocery prices, did you tell the minister what you thought???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

eoin_s wrote:
    I found some of the facts very interesting, but overall I found the show incredibly patronising - am I alone in this? To me had the feel of a secondary school teacher doing their best to keep their students interested in an economics class.

Unfortunately, I feel it's the only way to communicate with a very large proportion of the general public. It's patronising to anyone with half a brain, but that's a minority of the modern TV audience :(

Mr Hobbs is a bit of a showman. The format emphasises that. A lot of his points were over-simplified. Some were not entirely fair (IMHO). People will start seeing ripoffs everywhere (even where there are none). But if it scares suppliers & Government into doing something, then maybe we'll all benefit anyway.

I support the bin-tax but don't really agree with driving vans over protestors. The fact that the video seemed to surprise the audience shocked me. They were obviously all waching Corrie or Big Brother and not the News back then.

I'm beginning to return to my original position that ripoff Ireland IS our own fault. We haven't bothered to educate ourselves, so we deserve what we get.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Pigman II wrote:
    I don't think the sound of his voice made it any easier to put up with.
    Pigman II wrote:
    An EXCELLENT point - is RTE not one of the best cases of a monopoly in Ireland? Look at the quality advertisement-free broadcaster that is the BBC - that is what I would expect from my TV license. Someone said in this thread to give Hobbs a chance because it was his first program. Why should I? For the money he is getting (again from our licenses) for the program, why should anyone "give him a chance"?
    Pigman II wrote:

I seem to remember that the driver of the van that drove with the guy attached to the hood got off very lightly, as the judge basically said "what do you expect is going to happen when you jump on the front of a moving vehicle?". I had to agree really, whether or not the bin charges were right or not, the manner in which those people protested was against the law, so their recourse is limited.

The good point about the program that it was a new way of demonstrating the rip-off culture over here, and how the government is (seemingly) responsible for it. Everyone knows it is happening, but it appear that a fresh outlook was required. This was definitely achieved by the show, however whether it needed to be as dumbed down and as patronising (as I thought it was is) up for debate.

rondjon wrote:
    Why would there be? That's hardly a ripoff. They're merely seeking the enforcement of the law of the land.

I am not disputing the purpose of IRMA's actions - "enforcing the law of the land".

My suggestion/question, which I admit should have been more explicit, shall be rephrased as such:

"would there be any discussion of current entertainment pricing and distribution models, in the context (insofar as Ireland is concerned) of the IRMA (and/or Irish parties concerned) taking a big stick approach to digital forms of entertainment distribution (all illegal that they may be) and not promoting/offering much in the way of carrot, e.g. promote/facilitate/assist 'legitimate' online stores of downloadable entertainment media..."

I did not think that I needed to be so explicit, judging from posts in the thread and wrongly assuming comprehension from readers. Happy now? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 660 ✭✭✭anthonymcg

Pigman II wrote:
    because I've got a guy who earns €300k+ p/a telling me how 'the man' is keeping me down

Is he on that high a figure? What's your source?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

I thought the show was very good. And well done to Mr Hobbs for taking his oppertunity to become the champion figure that finally wakes us all up to the ripp-off around us.

Yes the show was dumbed down to speak out to all levels of inteligence that is out there. About time too. If he had to use big jargon, then the TV3 remote control button would have been pressed in many households by 9.45pm.

This show should be ran over the whole year to include all aspects of Irish life. I for one would like to see one on how the courts are run, where all the billions that are invested in health are going... where all this tax - 35billion is being spent - cent by cent!

Fair play to RTE for showing the tip of the iceberg on this one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

anthonymcg wrote:
    Is he on that high a figure? What's your source?
    My source is Hobbs himself.

He was doing an tv interview on that Ryan Tuberdy show a while back in which he was trying to make a point about something or other that I honestly cannot remember what at this time.

Anyway the thing to take from it is that during the interview he threw out a figure of €30k and asked everyone in the audience to hold up their hand if they earnt in excess of that figure. A good few, including Hobbs (tho not Tuberdy iirc :) ) held up their hands.

Then he said "keep up your hands if you earn double that figure". Most of the hands droped. A few still (including Hobbs) still kepttheir hand up.

Next came "Now hold your hands up if you earn 10 times that amount". The remaining hands shot down leaving Hobbs (i'm pretty certain?) as the only one in the room with his hand still up.

Again don't ask me what the point of all this was. I don't remember. But unless my maths is way out of line al that equals a statement of someone saying they earn in excess of €300k.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,867 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Shamrok wrote:
    I saw it too. I was going to record it but missed the first five minutes so didn't bother. I assumed RTÉ would repeat it late some night later in the week, but no, the show is not being repeated. Next week's deals with the entertainment industry.
    I can't even find any refernrence to the program on the RTE website

• Registered Users Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Unshelved

Some stuff about Eddie from the RTE website here -
    http://www.rte.ie/tv/valueformoney/rip_off.html

While I agree with many of the points he made in the programme (if he droped the kiddies and shortened it to 30 minutes it would have made for a snappier show btw), some of the stuff on this site would indicate to me that he's losing the run of himself -

> Reform evidence needed to secure a conviction – if your home is burgled
    > you don’t need to first prove economic damage before securing a jail term.

and

> Introduce mandatory prison sentences, scalable from days to years behind > bars, depending on the offence.

and

> Liberalise bugging and electronic surveillance. Beef up the Competition
    > Authority with more investigators.

I know there's a lot wrong with this country, but I'm not sure that turning it into a police state is the answer.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,519 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Just heard on the 5pm news that there are calls to abolish the groceries order.... Good man Eddie!

May or may not happen, but at least people are talking about it. I'd never even heard about it before Monday night.

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭DannyD

I got my nappies today and will be sending them tomorrow. If people can't be arsed sending them they should happily accept inflated rip off prices in Ireland. Protest or be damned. Be proactive. Complaining here does nothing.
    How many others have sent them ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

Emailed the minister yesterday....heard nothing back yet.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭derek27

haha i had 12 nappies lying around the house... my son came out of them and they were sitting there since, so i posted all 12 in separate envelopes for the craic. that lad will probably end up starting his own nappy business though :) the most striking thing i saw on that program was the "201 conveyances on the one site" he mentioned. definatly a rip off i wasn't aware of.

derek27 wrote:
    haha i had 12 nappies lying around the house... my son came out of them .

No.2s, I hope :D