Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

running track

• 16-08-2005 10:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭

Where is the running track in TCD? How long is it? When would be a good time to use it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭flowerpotfrog

the times i've been in trinity i've never seen a running track. there is a big patch of grass. quite big, were they play cricket in which i've seen people run around. it's not marked well either i don;t think, if at all. maybe it's in santry?

It's in fact a grass track. It goes around here:

http://www.tcd.ie/Clubs/Cricket/DUCCinfo/gallery/Dom's-135-No1.JPG

It's changed it's shape a tad since they put in some pipes. They dug up part of the grass, so it's still a track...kinda. Still is good on the knees, and never gets too muddy, though winter can be a testing time.

If you're interested in Athletics, they usually head out to UCD's track on Tuesdays for some sprint training. Their site is on http://www.tcd.ie/clubs somewhere. I'm not linking, I'm tired...

You always see people at lunchtime running along it, during the evening...I'd go around 7 or 8 at night if you want to get a few laps in. Before the sun runs away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

Thanks for your help. I know where that is.
    Do you know how long it is? I need to see how fast I can run a particular distance. (2.4km)

I can't say I do. May be around 400m, but I'd guess 300m. I'd email the head of the Harriers and they could tell you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

Googling for harriers gave me this very useful map:

http://www.tcd.ie/Clubs/DUHAC/Information/Maps/half_mile.jpg

Thanks again for your help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 ZigBee

pwd wrote:
    Where is the running track in TCD? How long is it? When would be a good time to use it?

Sorry mate, but unless you're a student (and I don't think you are from looking at your personal website), you can't use College Park. DUCAC control all use of the park and allow clubs such as the Harriers, Cricket, AFC etc. use of the facility under strict controls.
    The ground is under heavy use year round and unfortunately, recreational activity and usage by members of the public is not allowed. The groundsmen do a wonderful job and I often feel sorry for them when some frisbee playing type insists on using the cricket crease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 venice_irk

is zigbee that boat club guy?

anyway, it's being resown anyway and NOBODY is allowed on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

I don't know where the above comments come from - Dubliners have used the running track for years, especially at lunchtime. The famous Noel Carroll (athlete, Corpo spokesperson, head of Chamber of Commerce) even used to (by legend) conduct business meetings while running around the track, and I doubt that he checked the DUHAC status of the poor lads who had to come and run with him.

There is no ID check on anyone who wants to go for a run, and I've never known any TCD security staff to stop someone mid-jog and seek a student card! There's a big difference between destroying the cricket area with a game of tip rugby and quietly running around the park.

Furthermore, none of the clubs have any legal rights of control over Trinity open space - it's the college itself (typically via security/grounds staff) that are responsible for enforcing any rules (such as the 'no eating out of doors' - anyone been in Front Square recently?

Basically, if you want to run around College Park, you'll be treated like anyone else - if it's open, it's open, and if it's closed, it's closed. The whole of TCD is private property, and the ten people who hate the rest of the world would like to see that enforced. The rest of the college couldn't care less, as long as you behave yourself.

venice_irk wrote:
    is zigbee that boat club guy?

anyway, it's being resown anyway and NOBODY is allowed on it.

Not true.

College Park is authorised for use and is currently used regularly by the Cricket Club, Ladies' Cricket Club, Museum Players and DUAFC etc. You'll find the rugby pitch is being re-seeded.

EduCat wrote:
    I don't know where the above comments come from - Dubliners have used the running track for years, especially at lunchtime. The famous Noel Carroll (athlete, Corpo spokesperson, head of Chamber of Commerce) even used to (by legend) conduct business meetings while running around the track, and I doubt that he checked the DUHAC status of the poor lads who had to come and run with him.

There is no ID check on anyone who wants to go for a run, and I've never known any TCD security staff to stop someone mid-jog and seek a student card! There's a big difference between destroying the cricket area with a game of tip rugby and quietly running around the park.

Furthermore, none of the clubs have any legal rights of control over Trinity open space - it's the college itself (typically via security/grounds staff) that are responsible for enforcing any rules (such as the 'no eating out of doors' - anyone been in Front Square recently?

Basically, if you want to run around College Park, you'll be treated like anyone else - if it's open, it's open, and if it's closed, it's closed. The whole of TCD is private property, and the ten people who hate the rest of the world would like to see that enforced. The rest of the college couldn't care less, as long as you behave yourself.

If you read The University of Dublin Calendar 2004-2005 - Part 1, section G17 entitled "Walking on lawns", you'll find it says: "No persons are permitted to walk on the lawns, or to cross the playing fields unless they are participating in games or in training authorised by D.U.C.A.C."

The fact that this Noel Carroll person may have used College Park in the past for training is irrelevant and doesn't mean he was ever in the right. There's nothing to stop any member of the public using college footpaths for training on (the College half mile doesn't go onto College Park), but for them to train on College park is against College regulations.

You go on about ID card checking. Well if the security guards were doing their jobs properly, they'd be doing something about it. If College introduced turnstiles, they could use this money to employ a Park attendant whilst at the same time discouraging myriads of freeloaders from disturbing the peace (especially during the summer).

College sporting facilities should be used for competitive sport only. There's too much recreational carry-on which contributes nothing to the reputation of College. This is a university of civilised order that seems to be deteriorating into a tourist hang-out/student playground.

Actually it's section 16 of part III of the general regulations on page G17, if you're checking. While you're there, have a look at section 15, which forbids all consumption of alcohol out of doors (including College Park, which is excluded from the no food/drink out of doors rule, but not from the no alcohol). Been outside the Pav recently?

Full-time members of the academic staff are required to live within 50k of Trinity (is that by road or as the crow flies?). The Junior Dean has the duty to inspect the rooms of students living off campus (I was involved in the repeal of that section last year, alas). Doffing of caps is required when you meet a Fellow of the college.

Anyone can trot out rules and regulations that are not enforced, or only used as back-up in extreme cases. If you want to cut yourself off from the riff-raff and the real world, go become a hermit. Oh, and try a vow of silence too?

(And for the record, Noel Carroll was one of the best Irish marathon runners ever, and a long-time supporter of athletics in TCD and UCD. Not just some random stranger off the street).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Ha, back in your box Zigbee. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Zigbee2

EduCat wrote:
    Actually it's section 16 of part III of the general regulations on page G17, if you're checking. While you're there, have a look at section 15, which forbids all consumption of alcohol out of doors (including College Park, which is excluded from the no food/drink out of doors rule, but not from the no alcohol). Been outside the Pav recently?

Full-time members of the academic staff are required to live within 50k of Trinity (is that by road or as the crow flies?). The Junior Dean has the duty to inspect the rooms of students living off campus (I was involved in the repeal of that section last year, alas). Doffing of caps is required when you meet a Fellow of the college.

Anyone can trot out rules and regulations that are not enforced, or only used as back-up in extreme cases. If you want to cut yourself off from the riff-raff and the real world, go become a hermit. Oh, and try a vow of silence too?

(And for the record, Noel Carroll was one of the best Irish marathon runners ever, and a long-time supporter of athletics in TCD and UCD. Not just some random stranger off the street).
    Zigbee's been banned. Ban me if you like, but how then can I reply? Now to address EduCat:

You're missing the point. College Park should be reserved for the use of College members competing in competitive sports clubs. People are trying to study in College during the summer months and the amount of racket that goes on is truly unbelievable.

It is only too right to doff ones cap to a Fellow. They've been around a hell of a lot longer than you have (or ever will) and they deserve the respect, they've earned it. And bit of monk-like ethic in Trinity wouldn't go astray either. Of course you wouldn't know anything about that having being involved in promoting liberal filth with the SU for some time now.

Zigbee2 wrote:
    Zigbee's been banned. Ban me if you like, but how then can I reply? Now to address EduCat:

You're missing the point. College Park should be reserved for the use of College members competing in competitive sports clubs. People are trying to study in College during the summer months and the amount of racket that goes on is truly unbelievable.

It is only too right to doff ones cap to a Fellow. They've been around a hell of a lot longer than you have (or ever will) and they deserve the respect, they've earned it. And bit of monk-like ethic in Trinity wouldn't go astray either. Of course you wouldn't know anything about that having being involved in promoting liberal filth with the SU for some time now.

Bye bye...

Now this is starting to sound all too familiar, are you sure you haven't been here under another name before? Nice to catch up with an old friend.

"Liberal filth"? Pah. I've been called a lot worse by a lot better. All I can say is that your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries.

Most of the Fellows that I knew while at Trinity were decent, warm people, who feel no need to have fake pomposity conferred upon them through doffing of caps (or any other item). Try a little experiment - ask ten current Fellows if they would prefer their students to doff their caps to them (hell, most students don't even wear caps, and don't get me started on correct academic dress including appropriate gowns these days!), and see how many of them actually want such nonsense. (My guess - there's always one. Maybe two. But that's being generous).

There's a reason that TCD students/graduates/bored postgrad research students making up user names get a bad reputation. You're looking at it on this thread. Freshers, please believe me: we're not all that bad. Honestly.

Of course you wouldn't know anything about that having being involved in promoting liberal filth with the SU for some time now.

Liberal filth..I am also getting the deja vu. Must be a socialist thing..

I love liberal filth. No, really I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Zigbee2

EduCat wrote:
    Now this is starting to sound all too familiar, are you sure you haven't been here under another name before? Nice to catch up with an old friend.

"Liberal filth"? Pah. I've been called a lot worse by a lot better. All I can say is that your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries.

Most of the Fellows that I knew while at Trinity were decent, warm people, who feel no need to have fake pomposity conferred upon them through doffing of caps (or any other item). Try a little experiment - ask ten current Fellows if they would prefer their students to doff their caps to them (hell, most students don't even wear caps, and don't get me started on correct academic dress including appropriate gowns these days!), and see how many of them actually want such nonsense. (My guess - there's always one. Maybe two. But that's being generous).

There's a reason that TCD students/graduates/bored postgrad research students making up user names get a bad reputation. You're looking at it on this thread. Freshers, please believe me: we're not all that bad. Honestly.

You know who I am EduCat, I know who you are, and if you want to go around slagging my mother and father on a public discussion forum, that's your perogative. (not very sporting either, of course you never were, were you?)

I'll catch up with you again sometime soon and I will recall to you, face to face, just what you wrote above.

I'm terribly sorry, it was a Monty Python reference (link plays audio), I didn't realise we had such a chronic case of humour bypass on our hands; consider my grossly offensive and pointed comment withdrawn. Should I have the pleasure of your company in the future, I'll be sure to avoid sarcasm, rest assured.

You know who I am EduCat, I know who you are, and if you want to go around slagging my mother and father on a public discussion forum, that's your perogative. (not very sporting either, of course you never were, were you?)

I'll catch up with you again sometime soon and I will recall to you, face to face, just what you wrote above.

I'm sure EduCat is quivering. Glad to see you've grown beyond the "why don't you come over here and say it" phase, what with you being an adult and all..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Kappar

Zigbee2 banned.