Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Regional Variations of Hiberno English / Slang

• 23-08-2005 9:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

I'm writing a Irish English phrasebook. It's one of a series so the style and TOC needs to be identical.

The editors favourite section is called Regional Variations and I need some help.

The Aussie one is like this:
    Regions: NSW QLD SA TAS VIC WA
    costume worn when swimming
    cozzie; togs togs bathers; togs bathers; togs bathers; togs bathers; togs

10 oz glass of beer
    middy middy schooner pot pot pot

round slice of potato covered in batter and deep-fried
    potato scallop potato scallop potato fritter potato cake potato cake potato cake

fizzy drink with a dollop of ice cream
    ice cream soda ice cream soda spider spider spider ice cream soda

small red sausages at cocktail parties
    cocktail frankfurts cheerios frankfurts saveloys; little boys cocktail sausages frankfurts

children’s playground apparatus used for sliding down
    slippery dip/slide slippery dip slippery dip/slide slide slide slippery dip

smooth sandwich paste made from ground roasted peanuts
    peanut butter peanut paste peanut butter peanut butter peanut butter peanut butter

non-alcoholic aerated sweet drink
    soft drink cordial soft drink cordial soft drink soft drink

a common black-and-white bird
    magpie; peewee magpie; peewee Murray magpie; peewee magpie; mudlark magpie; mudlark magpie

thin loop of rubber used for holding together small objects
    rubber band rubber band lacky band rubber band lacker band rubber band

mid-morning break at primary school
    playlunch; recess little lunch recess playtime playlunch recess
    =========

Are there any items in a similar vein that have different names in the North / South / East / West / Midlands of Ireland.

An exile stuck in the bog end of Africa would be enternally grateful for any assistance :)

Cheers

Gerry

• Registered Users Posts: 78,436 ✭✭✭✭Victor

There are regional variations, but they might be a bit harder to define. You will certainly have and urban/rural divide and a north/south divide.

North - Northern Ireland and to a lesser extent the rest of Ulster has a distinct accent and draws more strongly from Scottish and British english. For example, the Scottish word "wee" would be used automaticly, whereas for a southerner it would be used in a contrived fashion. The closer to Scotland the stronger the influence.

Dublin - two distinct accents, the middle-upper class "DORT" accent and the inner-city, working-class "Anto" accent. Dubliners have the strong habit of abbreviating even short words to the first syllable and then adding a vowel, Hence "Anthony" becomes "Anto" to his mates. The DORT (after "DART" - Dublin Area Rapid Transit) accents tend to borrow more strongly from Upper-class English English and American English.

Cork - has a bit of a "sing-song" accent that also exists in parts of the Caribbean. Change in emphasis / stresses in words.

Rural "bogger" - can be utterly impentrable in the was certain working class Glaswegian accents can be, but is infamous for changing "vehicle" to "veh-hick=kill" among garda (police). Lots of sub-variants.

costume worn when swimming
    togs or swimsuit, but very much becoming the style "I'm wearing shorts" or "she is wearing a bikini"

10 oz glass of beer
    Glass

round slice of potato covered in batter and deep-fried
    Doesn't exist if it did battered potato slice or potato cake.

ice cream soda

small red sausages at cocktail parties
    cocktail

children’s playground apparatus used for sliding down
    slide

smooth sandwich paste made from ground roasted peanuts
    peanut butter

soft drink

a common black-and-white bird
    magpie

rubber band

recess, small break

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Victor wrote:

Rural "bogger" - can be utterly impentrable in the was certain working class Glaswegian accents can be, but is infamous for changing "vehicle" to "veh-hick=kill" among garda (police). Lots of sub-variants.

A lot more comprehensible than the average Dub tbh! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 gerryza

Thank you all for the suggestions... the aussie ones were intended merely as an example. I know the Irish don't have different words for those items, regionally. Here's the start of my list... perhaps this will jog some input / corrections :)

Cheers
    Gerry

Regional Variations

Being a small country, there are not too many words that do not travel around the country and are used freely "all over the show" but here are a few that have stayed a little longer in some of the larger towns and cities.

extremely pissed off about something
    Limerick: I was bullin' about my stolen car.
    Dublin: I was havin' a freaker about my stolen car.
    Leitrim: I was at the height of it over me stolen car

let's go out and get drunk
    Limerick: will we go on the batter?
    Dublin: let’s go on the piss?
    Cork: go out and get langers, polluted

a complete idiot
    Limerick: a complete ghoul /ghoul bag
    Dublin: an absolute gob****e
    Cork: a total langer

macho or hard-man
    Cork: sham-feen
    Dublin: hardchaw

an elastic to keep your hair up
    Limerick: a go-go for my hair?
    Dublin: a scrunchie for my hair?

ugly
    Limerick: yer one is kicked
    Dublin: yer one is rottin' lookin

travellers
    Cork: pavees
    Limerick: latchees, scobes, wa
    Dublin: scangers

to hit somebody in the face
    Belfast: lamp / clatter him
    Cork: give him a tullock
    Limerick: puck someone
    Dublin: belt somebody

a lot of people
    Limerick: there was a rake of people in the club
    Dublin: a shower

talking about someone behind their back
    Limerick: I was readin' him last night
    Dublin: havin' a bitch about him

falling aroung the place laughing
    Limerick: I was scittin' myself
    Dublin: I was breakin' my ****e laughing

friendly greeting (for a guy)
    Limerick: how's it goin', sham
    Dublin: how's it goin', head or skin
    Cork: how's a going, cove
    Leitrim: how's it goin', mate

referring to any guy
    Belfast:
    Cork: fiend
    Dublin: yer man
    Galway: yer one

added at the end of a sentence
    Belfast: that's 25p, so it is
    Cork: that'll be 25p, like
    Dublin: that'll be 25p, right
    Limerick: that'll be 25p, so

a gay person
    Limerick: steamer
    Dublin: fag

sports shoes
    Limerick: tackies
    Dublin: runners
    Leitrim: trainers

are you leaving now?
    Belfast: are you away?
    Limerick: are you gonna away?
    Dublin: are ya headin' off?

drunk
    Belfast:
    Cork: polluted
    Dublin: locked
    Galway
    Leitrim: on his way

police
    Belfast: peelers
    Cork: shades
    Dublin: copper
    Rest of the country: guard / garda

the most common greeting in a store
    Belfast: are you gettin'?
    Cork
    Dublin: howaya? or yeah?
    Galway
    Athlone

date with a pretty girl
    Cork: a jag with a lasher
    Dublin:

Haircut
    Cork: Bazzar -

going for a pee
    Cork: a whaz
    Dublin: a slash

girl (derogatory)
    Belfast: minger
    Cork: beor
    Dublin: wagon
    Waterford: bibe

mother
    Cork: old lade
    Dublin: aul wan

girlfriend
    Cork: old doll
    Dublin: mot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

gerryza wrote:
    added at the end of a sentence
    Belfast: that's 25p, so it is
    Cork: that'll be 25p, like
    Dublin: that'll be 25p, right
    Limerick: that'll be 25p, so

25 cent, it should be!

that's exactly the sort of feedback I need .. so that's cent NOT cents? (25 cent, so it is etc)... I'd forgotten there were no more pounds, pennies, pence or punts :)

G

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Did you check out Wikipedia? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page Can be helpful for words and phrases e.g http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skanger

gerryza wrote:
    the most common greeting in a store
    Belfast: are you gettin'?
    Cork
    Dublin: howaya? or yeah?
    Galway
    Athlone
    Don't forget

Cashier: "Are you alright?"
    Response (whiel head twitches): "No, I've severe mental problems."

Yeah right Victor :)

Biko.. who's de man... that's great altogether :)

Cheers

Gerry

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,472 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Some variations on these, namely from Kilkenny/Carlow.
    Victor wrote:
    ice cream soda
    We used to call them ...-cows depending on the drink added, e.g. brown cow for a coke and ice-cream mix.
    Victor wrote:
    soft drink
    mineral
    Victor wrote:
    rubber
    elastic band
    Victor wrote:
    recess, small break
    little lunch

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,472 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

There are thousands of expressions for drunk, and are all fairly evenly spread throughout the country I reckon.

From what I gather 'beor' is actually complimentary, or at least used to describe an attractive girl, whereas 'wagon' is usually a (negative) comment on a woman's personality, akin to 'rip', 'streel' or 'cow' in other parts of the country.
    Also 'yer one', unless Galway people are really strange, refers to a woman, not a man, and is used everywhere.
    'a lock of people' (a lot) seems to be common in Monaghan/Cavan. 'A hape' (heap) is widely used down Kilkenny/Carlow way.
    'scangers' are not travellers, at least not in common usage, it's more along the lines of 'spiv' or 'chav'.
    'hallion' is a poular one up north for what we'd usually term 'eejit' (idiot) down south.

Oh, and it's cents, with an 's' just like any other currency :D

You will see dual usage of both "Thats fifty-three cent, sir." and "Thats fifty-three cents, sir."

Of course, you can't buy anything for 53c anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭PunyHuman

gerryza wrote:
    ugly
    Dublin: yer one is rottin' lookin
    Also, 'in bits', or 'bet down'. The latter is one of my favourites.
    gerryza wrote:
    travellers
    Dublin: scangers
    No, afaik, 'scangers' refers to settled people of a certain quality. 'Tinkers' would be more apposite or, more recently, 'our friends in the Travelling Community'.
    gerryza wrote:
    a lot of people
    Limerick: there was a rake of people in the club
    Dublin: a shower
    Perhaps more accurately, for Dublin, 'a rake of heads'.
    In my experience, 'shower' is more frequently used pejoratively, i.e. 'a shower of w*nkers'.
    gerryza wrote:
    police
    Dublin: copper
    Rest of the country: guard / garda
    I wouldn't say that. Many people in Dublin refer to the Gardai as 'Guards'. This can be traced back to a short period immediately following the civil war during which (if memory serves) the official title of the police was the 'Civic Guards'. People abbreviated this to 'Guards', and the name stuck.

for much appreciated feedback and suggestions.

Cheers

Gerry