Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

European Super Cup

• 26-08-2005 7:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭

The liverpool team is

Reina, Finnan, Hyypia, Carragher, Josemi, Riise, Hamann, Alonso, Zenden, Garcia, Morientes

Subs: Carson, Cisse, Pongolle, Warnock, Sissoko

I predict a Liverpool victory by the odd goal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Its a nice first 11 with Garcia behind Morientes where i believe he has a bigger influence than out wide.

Nice to see Finnan on the right wing too. He's the closest thing we have to a right winger (after Potter) at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Spider_Baby!

What times kickoff, is it on tv?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

RTE 2 right now, 11 mins gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭jubbly

Garcia blazed a good chance over the bar...brutal

RTE got the starting 11 all wrong in the studio. Potter and a load of fringe players were listed. It was a dead weak side and Jonny Giles and Simon dude kept saying how strong it was :confused:

Josemi/Finnan are looking sharp down the right side.

Damn.

Poor goalkeeping.

dreadul goalkeeping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

by who liverpool or cska,keep up with the updates as im at work:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Haha.....pretty poor updating lads...

galwaydude wrote:
    1 - 0 to Moscow

Carvalho sored.

galwaydude wrote:

1-0 to Moscow

**** who scored for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Daniel Carvalho.
    Hyypia's pace (or lack of) exposed, with poor keeping as well. They really need a centre back.
    Liverpool are having plenty of possession in the final 1/3 but are really lacking the quality to put something away. Garcia has been woeful with the ball, Morientes has been pretty quiet.

Morientes must be so pissed with the way Garcia gives away the ball so cheaply. I think a certain Real Madrid striker would be awesome working alongside Morientes, and he certainly wouldn't waste the ball as much as Garica.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Ronaldo? Raul?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

kaids wrote:
    Ronaldo? Raul?

No Robinho ;)

liverpool need a right few players in fairness. They could do with own actually. They are very narrow too. Gerrrard really makes the team

1-1 Cisse

VERY lucky

Jammy goal from Cisse.

Especially since it was handball :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Spider_Baby!

Hand of God!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

1-1, Cisse.

Zenden needs to be put down ASAP, Josemi should never see a Liverpool jersey ever again. Desperately need someone who can cross a decent ball, for both wings not just the right.

Ball to Hand ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

the 3 greatest words on the english dictionary: BALL - TO - HAND :)

Cisse 2 -1 Get In There!

2-1

Cisse again

Shows why he should be playing up front and not on the wing. His greatest attribute, his pace, were what got the goals.

Well, that and Ball to Hand :)

A sweet, sweet header from Garcia.

3-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

And a good assist too.

lord cisse - super sub :)

liverpool fc - sponsored by starbucks "the best football is played after 11 pm"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Back pages tomorrow...

"Cisse - G'Owen nowhere!"

Fair play to the Pool :D

whiskeyman wrote:
    "Cisse - G'Owen nowhere!"

Someone pass me the sickbag! :D

Good to see liverpool winning yet another trophy, let it continue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

re Trevor Stevens on RTE, if Liverpool played the best game of football ever in the history of the entire world. Ever. Would he still have some lazy criticism along the lines of "well, the goal was lucky..."

Goals win games.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Delighted for cisse

trevor stevens is a muppet, crap commentator, remember he played for everton so its doubfull he will ever praise liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ButcherOfNog

The goal liverpool conceded was not down to poor goalkeeping, Reina is an aggressive keeper, he came out but didn't fall on his arse lilke most keepers, made it VERY difficult for carvalho(?), great finish tho. Josemi played quite well, much better than he had been towards the end of last season.

Overall pool were by far the better side, the usual problems were there tho, Hyypia is slow, Garcia was worse than normal at giving the ball away and Zenden kept drifting infield instead of providing width. Still won 3-1 tho :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Had to laugh at benitez's repsonse to the michael owen saga to the ITV gimp, "every week you ask me these difficult questions and every week I give you easy answers, now excuse me im off to see the trophy"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭Sooner or Later

Nice to see Carra accepting the trophy.

yes well done cisse, all we need is a winger now. Hope this will give cisse the confidence, i for one was beginning to doubt him and then pow two goals and an assist

The goal liverpool conceded was not down to poor goalkeeping, Reina is an aggressive keeper, he came out but didn't fall on his arse lilke most keepers, made it VERY difficult for carvalho(?), great finish tho.
    I dunno, i mean, he left an awful big gap between himself and his front post.

Anyways. Good win, but the performance not so good. But a trophy is a trophy, so we'll take it :D

the amount of times possession was given away was absoulutely shocking. and its going to result in us being hammered everytime by teams like milan and arsenal.

its simple. the other team cant score if they dont have the ball, and far too often liverpool just hand possession to the other team. thankfully cska werent too inclined to to much with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭zokrez

Noticed that the players who celebrated most were the ones who were new to the club or never got to play in Instanbul. Morientes, Zenden, Josemi, Reina.

Cisse took his luck well with 2 goals and great assist - time to get rid ala Igor & Vlady.

Bring him home.........................

PS - Josemi & Zenden are useless. Garcia will lose us 20 points in the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭seabee

We got d result we wanted but the game was awful muck until cisse was introduced.why was zenden not taken off at half time? he makes nunez look like a class player. garcia is another player not up to much.I was impressed by Sinama Pongolle, he attacked, provided width,helped his defence,tried to win back the ball if we lost possesion....unlike mr garcia....rant over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Josemi, Zenden and Garcia were all useless. Garcia trying stupid backheels everytime he gets the ball and giving possesion away. after about an hour when nothing was working he should have taken off Zenden and put on Warnock (if he was on the bench-not sure cos i missed the first 20 mins)at left full and pushed Riise to left wing. Josemi off for Cisse and switch to 4-4-2 with Ciise and Morientes up front. Sissoko for Alonso was a pointless like for like swap. It was just a downgrade of the midfield. Oops forgot Garcia should have been swapped for sinema on the right.

we won 3:1, what else could liverpool do. Some of the critisim on here is shocking, you would swear we had lost the match. Liverpool are not the perfect team but who is nowadays. All i can say is we won yet another liverpool trophy.

Thats one CL and now 1 super cup in 1 year at liverpool for rafa, not half bad,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

What a shockingly bad game, how many yellow cards did we pickup in a micky mouse cup, they carry into the champions league also. So thats a possible 4 players out. I never doubted Cisse, please do not bring that little whingy p*ick back, ok well maybe do but do not sell Cisse to make way for him.... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

Luis Garcia was the biggest waste of space tonight. liverpool should have scored a few in the first half but he couldnt take one of the million chances he got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

galwaydude wrote:
    we won 3:1, what else could liverpool do. Some of the critisim on here is shocking, you would swear we had lost the match. Liverpool are not the perfect team but who is nowadays. All i can say is we won yet another liverpool trophy.

Thats one CL and now 1 super cup in 1 year at liverpool for rafa, not half bad,

It was always going to be the type of game and opposition that once we scored 1 we'd get a couple more. Theres no denting that Garcia, Zenden and for the most part Josemi were shocking tonight, not that the team as a whole played particularly grea.t, but that only makes it worse costhey stood out as being particuularly bad in a poor match.

Oh and for the record, tonight has done nothing to convince me that Ciise shouldnt be gotten rid of. He's a "crack the ball and hope ot goes in" merchant, theres not finess or skill about him. Him and drogba (along with a few others)are proof that you dotn have to be a naturally good footballer to make a livig at the top of the game anymore. They are basically strong, fast athletes who had a little bit of a touch (not much mind).

galwaydude wrote:
    we won 3:1, what else could liverpool do. Some of the critisim on here is shocking,

You said you were in work during the game.

But trust us - the likes of Zenden, Garica were shockingly bad.