Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Charged 56.50 by customs!

• 31-08-2005 12:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭

I have just recieved a car stereo from Japan with a price on the box for 102 euros but I had to paid 56.50 euros to customs.

The sender had written Gift under the price.

Is this a correct amount to pay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭UberNewb

Sorry forgot to post a break down of the 56.50 euros.

Duty = 19.00
    VAT = 32.50
    Post Office charge = 5.00

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭Highlander

UberNewb wrote:
    Sorry forgot to post a break down of the 56.50 euros.

Duty = 19.00
    VAT = 32.50
    Post Office charge = 5.00

doesnt sound right to me, should be

€102.00 x 12% customs duty for Car Radios = €12.24
    €114.24 x 21 customs vat = €23.99

unless customs have added the postage cost to the €102.00, do you know what postage cost is??

and writing Gift on it when there is a price already marked down will not exempt it from duty/vat

There is no postage price on the box anywhere. The only price that is on the box is £70 sterling.

I thought Gift meant you didn't have to pay duty. :o

I've been ringing there office for ages but no one will answer the phones (or is it phone)!! :mad:

051 862850

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭optiplexgx270

Gift over 45€ i think it is you do have to pay customs on once its from outside the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

UberNewb wrote:
    I've been ringing there office for ages but no one will answer the phones
    Good luck
    "hello wall - how are you today" - this only applies to after the tax is done.
    Customs are fine if you ask them before the purchase "im bringing in a package from ......... whats goin to be the charge ......." Get an e-mail saying how much but dont tell them when or from where (just outside the EU) - that way you can i say i was told this price (show e-mail) and they say ok so we were wrong. Becareful kids

Nukem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Duty is added to the overall price of the item INCLUDING postage.
    how do I know? Iwas billed €72.72 for a used electric screwgun that I got on Ebay.
    they calculated it as the deemed value €279 + postage + 2.7% duty on tools +Vat.
    I am in the process of writing back and asking them to recalculate and have included the Invoice and Receipt from Paypal.

CJhaughey wrote:
    Duty is added to the overall price of the item INCLUDING postage.
    how do I know? Iwas billed €72.72 for a used electric screwgun that I got on Ebay.
    they calculated it as the deemed value €279 + postage + 2.7% duty on tools +Vat.
    I am in the process of writing back and asking them to recalculate and have included the Invoice and Receipt from Paypal.

Why are you looking for a recalculation

Because I only paid 39.99 usd for a 2nd hand screw gun and the value that it was assessed on was €279 that the seller put on the box as an insurance price! I don't know why he did it either.
    anyway when it is revalued the customs should realise that it is not worth $279

Highlander wrote:
    doesnt sound right to me, should be

€102.00 x 12% customs duty for Car Radios = €12.24
    €114.24 x 21 customs vat = €23.99

unless customs have added the postage cost to the €102.00, do you know what postage cost is??

and writing Gift on it when there is a price already marked down will not exempt it from duty/vat

I have just got off the phone to them and your right Highlander!! They added the postage on from Hong Kong, so thats were the extra vat has come from! :mad:

Anyway lucky for me the real price of my touch screen DVD car player wasn't on it.. :D

Thanks for everyones help!

Mick

CJhaughey wrote:
    Because I only paid 39.99 usd for a 2nd hand screw gun and the value that it was assessed on was €279 that the seller put on the box as an insurance price! I don't know why he did it either.

Ah I see, good luck anyway with customs, not the easiest people to get money back from once you have paid

Ahhh you see I didn't pay.
    I found out all this and got the PO to send the parcel back with all my paperwork attached.
    I'll let ye all know how I fare.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

I just bought a teddy bear (present for my girlfriend) for 20.98, how much am i gonna pay for customs???

As with anything in this country write 5 numbers on the back of an envelope from 0 to 10 and pick one at random.
    it all depends on whether the parcel gets thru customs/an post without attracting scrutiny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭genie

€5 Post Office charge? For doing what, exactly? :confused:

Yeah thats what I was thinking??

Rip of Republic??

I just bought a teddy bear (present for my girlfriend) for 20.98, how much am i gonna pay for customs???

You won't have to pay any thing as it is ubder 40 euros. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

UberNewb wrote:
    You won't have to pay any thing as it is ubder 40 euros. :)

Sweet, thank you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

CJhaughey wrote:

why in the name of jesus did you hand over 280 quid to the postie! you should have refused it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭JackieChan

VinnyL,
    You need to reread that post. The seller put the insurance price as 279.
    He was charged 72. I don't get the impression that he has paid this either

Correct. I haven't paid anything. I went back to the PO and asked them to send it back to the Customs division of An Post to be revalued.

yea sorry, misread the post, was worried about your sanity there!

some couriers open packages too if they believe them to be undervalued on the declaration so be careful!

i got a laptop from the states, and the fella who send it gift wrapped it, marked it as a gift and sent it over, and i never got stung for anything!

but i got an i pod for 200 off eBay before and he declared it at $100, and GLS chrged 40 quid customs - 20 of which was their own processing charge. bástards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭fjon

Could one of the Customs gurus let me know if I would have to pay duty on this?

http://cgi.ebay.ie/512MB-RAM-MEMORY-IBM-THINKPAD-R50-R51-T41-X40-512-MB_W0QQitemZ6797894247QQcategoryZ80201QQtcZphotoQQcmdZViewItem

I have heard in different places that the item has to be over €40 or €100, I'm not sure which is right.

fjon wrote:
    Could one of the Customs gurus let me know if I would have to pay duty on this?

http://cgi.ebay.ie/512MB-RAM-MEMORY-IBM-THINKPAD-R50-R51-T41-X40-512-MB_W0QQitemZ6797894247QQcategoryZ80201QQtcZphotoQQcmdZViewItem

I have heard in different places that the item has to be over €40 or €100, I'm not sure which is right.

Wont be any duty as its computer parts but will be liable to customs vat if grabbed by customs. As a general rule of thumb if value of goods is over €22.00 a customs entry must be done but if duty due is less than €10.00 and vat is less than €5.00 then the entry can be done duty/vat free.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Yes. Remember the shipping + the buy it now count for the dutyable amount so that would be about USD 80 I'd say.

GLS will deliver here , oooopppps :)

Ok, so can anyone work out how much customs would add if they caught it?
    Also, Sponge Bob - why do you mention GLS?

GLS dont have the USPS European contract anymore cause their shyte, so you should get your package safely enough. ask yer man to declare it under $10 the eBay lads usually do it no problem for ye

Thanks VinnyL! Valuing the item at $10 - can this have any repercussions for me?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

fjon wrote:
    can this have any repercussions for me?

The revenue showing up at your door with a package in their hand and a ' pick a number' final demand letter :) . Be very afraid if you live near a revenue office, especially in Nenagh which is crawling with them.

Glad to hear GLS no longer have the delivery contract at this end as they were woeful shyte as VinnyL put it .

fjon wrote:
    Thanks VinnyL! Valuing the item at $10 - can this have any repercussions for me?

you can actually value it up to like 30, but under a tenner is less noticeable. no reprecussions for you at all - if customs snare it the worse that can happen is you'll pay the Duty, yer man who declared it is the only one who can be done for under - valueing it. when he signs the declaration on the front he signs a contract really..

OK update, after asking politely for the drill to be revalued and enclosing a full receipt and correspondence. I got a new bill of €27 still steep but nowhere near as bad as €72...

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

UberNewb wrote:
    Yeah thats what I was thinking??

Rip of Republic??

Well the courier companies charge over eur15 as their admin charge so maybe the ripoff description applies better to them..

parsi wrote:
    Well the courier companies charge over eur15 as their admin charge so maybe the ripoff description applies better to them..

perhaps you would like them to do it for free, they are in business after all :rolleyes:

Highlander wrote:
    perhaps you would like them to do it for free, they are in business after all :rolleyes:

Indeed. However the point is that if 5euro is classed as a ripoff (to use that throwaway phrase) then how is a charge that is three times the size classified ?

Of course other people would argue that they were paid for the service by the sender... ;)

parsi wrote:
    Indeed. However the point is that if 5euro is classed as a ripoff (to use that throwaway phrase) then how is a charge that is three times the size classified ?

Of course other people would argue that they were paid for the service by the sender... ;)

I would classify a €15.00 admin/clearance fee as being cheap, working in the industry I know of business customers being charged €50.00 for customs clearance. In the majority of cases the sender would only have paid for shipment to arrival Dublin etc, any charges relating to admin/customs processing would be liable to the receiver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Zynks

CJhaughey wrote:
    OK update, after asking politely for the drill to be revalued and enclosing a full receipt and correspondence. I got a new bill of €27 still steep but nowhere near as bad as €72...

Well done CJ! Nice to see people standing up to protect their hard earned cash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭art

Hi Folks. Some really interesting information here but one thing I'm wondering about - I just bought a Casio watch on eBay, middle of August, that's winging its way from Singapore (I hope), but its three weeks now since the aunction closed and I'm starting to fear I'll never see the thing.

When you say that something might be grabbed by Customs here, how would I know? Do they keep the post somewhere or do they just add a tax on it and the postman still delivers the thing eventually? I've bought one or two things before on eBay and they just arrived fine but this delay is making me wonder that the watch is lying in some office somewhere unbeknownst to me :( (the place I bought it from had good feedback so I think they probably did send it okay).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭wolfman

Sounds very obvious, but has the seller got tracking details to see where it is?
    Normally, once it arrives here, it wont be held up for long for duty calculations etc

wolfman wrote:
    Sounds very obvious, but has the seller got tracking details to see where it is?
    Normally, once it arrives here, it wont be held up for long for duty calculations etc
    That was something that had me confused too! The eBay seller was very good and helpful and promised to trace it from their end. I had a tracking number from them but "An Post" here said it wasn't real. However the seller gave me the link to Singapore Post and I could enter it there no problem and track it as having been sent to Dublin on the 22nd of August...? So I didn't know what to think.

However, all is fine, it arrived in the end yesterday. Interestingly re tracking numbers, it had been given a new irish one (and had its origin set as "Ireland") even though the stamp and registration bar code from Singapore was still very obvious on the packet??? Don't know what that was all about but at least the watch arrived safely and is grand (plus no duty charged :) )

Ah excellent! Nice when you are one of the ones who slips through customs!!
    Have to say, not having a great run myself lately!!!
    Last 6 deliveries were ALL pulled by customs :(

Good to hear you got it anyway

re: tracking number :

Its normal for an inbound tracked package to be given a "new" number. This seems to be a black label which uses internal codes. The idea seems to be to ensure that there can't be any confusion between inbound external parcels and domestic parcels though the country code should take care of that....at the end of the day its a way of joining mutiple systems together.

However the post seems to be dicky at the mo - I'm waiting for a package from Hong Kong that was posted on the 6th - other packages from there that were posted later have arrived. I am also waiting for a few issues of an American weekly that I subscribe to - I haven't had any for a fortnight and theres also a Play.com package outstanding..

(cheers wolfman ;) )

The tracking numbers thing is very awkward when you are trying to track incoming orders so. I've bought stuff from Germany that I knew was going to go via England - Royal Mail tracked incoming and outgoing separately so picked the number up okay. Just another feckin "Irish" thing then, doesn't want to track foreign numbers? :rolleyes:

Agree that the post is acting up, you just reminded me that I'm still waiting for stuff to just arrive straight from the UK too. I've a weekly magazine subscription that hasn't come for two weeks now.

parsi wrote:
    However the post seems to be dicky at the mo - I'm waiting for a package from Hong Kong that was posted on the 6th - other packages from there that were posted later have arrived. I am also waiting for a few issues of an American weekly that I subscribe to - I haven't had any for a fortnight and theres also a Play.com package outstanding..

Good to hear this!!!
    I hope!!!!!!!!!
    I am waiting on 2 parcels from the UK which were sent on the 5th and the 6th!
    I have NEVER waited this long for stuff from the UK
    Fingers crossed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭samo

I've been waiting for stuff from the UK for quite a while as well...both things were posted 6th Sept and one was sent recorded....never normally takes 2 weeks but at least it seems its not just me An post are picking on!!!

hmm.. my stuff was posted on the 6th as well ! One from Play and one from HK (and stuff posted later arrived).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭samo

parsi wrote:
    hmm.. my stuff was posted on the 6th as well ! One from Play and one from HK (and stuff posted later arrived).

Anyones stuff turn up yet from the UK posted 5th/6th Sept ...just out of curiosity?? Just got a call from home to say that the postie only delivered an Eircom bill and thats all :(

Well my Hong Kong letter turned up today - 13 days later. Nothing from the UK yet.

Two editions of my "weekly" UK magazine came in the door together today too... Think we can conclude the post had a serious hiccup this month?