Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Setting up DMZ

2»

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Heads up? Sure!!! :D

I think the problem is we're discussing it from different hymn sheets, yours is RFC 1631 rather than how vendor's impliment 1631 in reality.

So yes it's a pointless discussion, see you in the fitz? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

I'm a newbie with this subject

:confused:

Lads, I get the impression you're all going way over this guys head, he didn't ask who could quote the most jargon in one thread .
    Psychedelik: DMZ isn't a good idea, but it's your choice and you do have a software firewall .
    Check these links http://forum.portforward.com/YaBB.cgi?board=Routers;action=display;num=1103408440
    http://firewalling.com/btvoyager/205adsl-firewall.htm

I'm presuming I've got the right modem??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭gsand

Go for DMZ and a software firewall imo

ITs far easier than messing about with router firewalls...

It has always been my preference since torrents and other such p2ps came out, it just represents a simpler, quicker, non restarting method of controlling traffic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Psychedelik

Well I figured out ( :rolleyes: ..) how to set up a DMZ, on IP 192.168.1.3. It turns out my BitTorrent client uses a random port rather than the standard 6681-6699. I can change the settings, but usually with filesharing software the more ports they have the better.