Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lebensraum/find_a_hse

• 08-09-2005 11:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭

I know there are acc. threads going already but they seem to be all gone by now....

anyone hear of any really NICE places going at the mo? I have decided to move outta my house due to psycho flat mate, but looking for somewhere nice that has a bit of life! no offence but past the living with first years stage - any1 know of anything going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

there's was a room free in our gaff > 4 3rd year comp sys and a 1st year biZorg but I need to check with the brother if it's still available. He might have gotten somebody to take it.

it was in College Court btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I'm in brookfield village and Im very happy with it. Rent is 69 per week. Broadband is 75 euro extra per semester but its very fast. They'll put you with postgrads if you ask. Its farther from college than most places but still only 15 mins walk and there's a free shuttle bus

heh. Brookfield upped the prices I see.

E65 last semester/week and E65 for broadband [which I hear has been well improved since the last sesmter we were there]

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

cornbb wrote:
    I'm in brookfield village and Im very happy with it. Rent is 69 per week. Broadband is 75 euro extra per semester but its very fast. They'll put you with postgrads if you ask. Its farther from college than most places but still only 15 mins walk and there's a free shuttle bus

15 minutes? Do you run?

And yes they upped the price. Got rid of that stupid electricity card

/me imagines back to 3 oclock in the morning

*BEEEEEEEEEEEEP* *BEEEEEEEEEEEEEP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

cornbb wrote:
    I'm in brookfield village and Im very happy with it.

what are the rooms like, single etc or more like Dromroe type.

Re college court, cheers for the info, but ive just started a PhD and I reckon living with first years wld be weird, for everyone! Im all up for parties and going mad, but not sure if I have the energy to do it first year style!! cheers tho

rooms are like drumroe.

all ensuite, could get lucky and get the double bed.

btw, there is only 1 first year living with us :) the rest are third years!

where in college court? all guys?

****ed if I can think of the name of the place but tis on CC.

All guys but I'm waiting on word back from my bro. He might have somebody in line to take the room.

9 harvard place or somet, kai

hhhmmmm and how would a girl fair in this house?? :) well let us know what the story is when you hear from your brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

440Hz wrote:
    what are the rooms like, single etc or more like Dromroe type.

Re college court, cheers for the info, but ive just started a PhD and I reckon living with first years wld be weird, for everyone! Im all up for parties and going mad, but not sure if I have the energy to do it first year style!! cheers tho

All rooms are ensuite. The 2 bedroom apartments have one single and one double bed, the single rooms are quite large but the double room is a bit smaller. You get a desk, chair, 2 lamps, plenty of storage.

yea np.

it'll be teh weekendr before I do.

440Hz wrote:
    hhhmmmm and how would a girl fair in this house?? :) well let us know what the story is when you hear from your brother

Well the chick we lived with last year fared pretty well. Just...well yeah....

You'd be grand...you might come out the other side a tad corrupted though!

EDIT: I see you like computers...if so we're all (except for that 1st year) comp sys geeks...a 2 meg line is in the planning too!

I think I'm well past the *corrupted* stage!

As a techy-nerd I don't tend to talk much, I get scared of strangers, I don't like alcohol, boys or fun! - still sound ok??????

oh yeah - and the fact that im old enough to be your granny!!!!!! hee hee

440Hz wrote:
    I think I'm well past the *corrupted* stage!

As a techy-nerd I don't tend to talk much, I get scared of strangers, I don't like alcohol, boys or fun! - still sound ok??????

corrupted == all the better!

I also tend not to talk much, dont like strangers either, i _do_ like alcohol, I like girls not boys and i like having fun!

3 outta 5 not bad :D

is it very obvious when I'm not being entirely truthful?

and the fact that im old enough to be your granny!!!!!! hee hee

some of us but !all.

kaimera wrote:
    some of us but !all.
    really? who is the old guy then?

[only messing btw,¬ that old][also any1 reading the food&drink thread will know the rest is all a lie 2]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

I'm living with Petee & Kaimera. The house is in Harvard Close College court. A girl would get on grand in the house. If you like music & computers you'll get on fine with us. If you want the land lords number you can give me a PM and I'll send it on to you

in descending order from left to right:

me, dave, rory, pete, di

440Hz wrote:
    really? who is the old guy then?

[only messing btw,¬ that old][also any1 reading the food&drink thread will know the rest is all a lie 2]

Dont worry, we can all read your public profile! 24 isn't old at all

Kai is the old guy he's...ummm..... 22 I think. Now 22...THAT's old!

well my degree was comp sci (UCC), just finished an MSc here in Mus Tech, so I reckon the interests wld match alright

and as you can tell... I like my peace and quiet cos i am a very hard worker, who is very dedicated to what I do! I'm not into messing!! at all ....

Oh and btw don't believe any stories Pete or Denis or any of the others tell you about me being dragged out of the jax (its only happened twice) I'm normally very quiet.

Cheers
    Rory

rmacm wrote:
    Oh and btw don't believe any stories Pete or Denis or any of the others tell you about me being dragged out of the jax (its only happened twice) I'm normally very quiet.

Cheers
    Rory

sounds <b>very</b> interesting!!! i'll have to hear more bout that! i wonder who will volunteer some add. info for me?

lol I can add the info myself. Basically it involved me getting drunker than I usually get and ending up falling asleep in the jax. Now the problem is that I've no memory of my time in the jax (aside from a few vague flash backs). But it was Julie who dragged me out the first time and the second time it was either Peteee or one of Brians housemates I can't remember.

Cheers
    Rory

Ehh it makes a better story in person really!

well if you have no memory of feeling violated then it <i>probably</i> didn't happen!!

[] brackets instead of the <>angle brackets for vB code

fools

nobody mentioned anything about being violated. Granted if I don't remember it then its grand.

kaimera wrote:
    [] brackets instead of the <>angle brackets for vB code

fools

cheers! but was *on purpose* just a weird thing I do, some dedication to html maybe who knows?? old-style coder!

440Hz wrote:
    well if you have no memory of feeling violated then it <i>probably</i> didn't happen!!

bbcode tbh! Of course I do have a historical penchant for html tags...funny story behind that too!

Peteee wrote:
    bbcode tbh! Of course I do have a historical penchant for html tags...funny story behind that too!

tell all... sounds *interesting*
    (I was going to say <i>interesting</i> but thought that would annoy Kaim too much!, and interesting is just cliché)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

kaimera wrote:
    in descending order from left to right:

me, dave, rory, pete, di

I'm Di, short for Diarmuid, The guy at the BOTTOM of kai's list there /me mutters under breath...

Anyway, I wholeheartedly endorse this product or service.

440Hz wrote:
    cheers! but was *on purpose* just a weird thing I do, some dedication to html maybe who knows?? old-style coder!

hehe, np.

I wasn't actually calling you a fool, twas figuratively speaking.

btw, forgive my friends, they dont talk to girls that much so a guy pretending to be a girl is as close as it gets.

relax lads ;)

Otacon wrote:
    I'm Di, short for Diarmuid, The guy at the BOTTOM of kai's list there /me mutters under breath...

Anyway, I wholeheartedly endorse this product or service.

the ****ing list is descending order of age ya m00k.

you are teh baby after all bai.

Well it involves kai actually!

He sent me a text message that had something like

<font size=10>hi pete</font>

blah blah. Since (at the time) I didnt know what kinda phone he had, I thouhgt he mighta had a new fangled, superdooper phone, with (for some resaon) HTML enabled in text messages!

Course, I naievely texted back saying, 'Ehh my phone dosent do HTML' (what a bloody idiot I am, HTML on phones, how absurd) and its been a running joke between us ever since!

kaimera wrote:
    guy pretending to be a girl is as close as it gets.

and who would that be then?

see Petee thats funnier than the toilet story! maybe cos im a techy-nerd or mayb just cos its funnier?! who knows

all girls online are guys until proven otherwise :)

tis a known fact.

and all 14-16yo's are FBI agents.

That would be Kaimera and his over active imagination. He has a habit of talking ****e being from Laois and all. Anyway I'm off home I'm going for pints tonight. Let us know if you're interested in the room tomorrow.

Sorry to disappoint guys, but i AM actually female! (last time I checked anyway)

as are you rory.

I know you won't forget that wee fact you neglect to tell people...;)

440Hz wrote:
    see Petee thats funnier than the toilet story! maybe cos im a techy-nerd or mayb just cos its funnier?! who knows

Techie nerd humour is teh best!!!11

Frankly if you enjoy that humour, ehhh well i've forgotten whatever point it was I was going to make, but i'm sure it was funny!

i think you need to elaborate Kaim - bout rory that is

kaimera wrote:
    as are you rory.

I know you won't forget that wee fact you neglect to tell people...;)

Says the person who went home 10 minutes ago, yet mysteriously continues to post!

Yeah, rory's a woman, with a name like rory, he must be! <sarcasm/> (ohh new XML!)

Peteee wrote:
    Yeah, rory's a woman, with a name like rory, he must be! <sarcasm/> (ohh new XML!)

ah less of that new fangled code now - that stuff will never catch on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

*cough* *cough* back on topic :p

are you sure that shouldn't be cough or <i>cough</i> even ??
    sorry - its just getting silly now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

tbh i think you'll fit right in. We're all weirdos in the end, some of us [rory, for example] just act on our impulses. I'm sure peteee has also dressed up as a man once or twice!

<extreme nerd mode on>

#include <iostream.h>

int main(){

cout<<"Yes it has. I've worked on them for the last 8 months. I hate .xml files";

return 0;
    }

</nerd mode>

Ehh anyway! Rory has his quirks alright, but he's not a woman! In fact, I shudder at the thought!

Sure sent us a PM or somet and we'll see!