Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

United v City

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Yeah, it's a shame, Ronaldo is still only 20 as well.
    It could be the best Manchester Derby in years, first since Pearce's arrival. Bit more nervy than usual with them playing so well, glad it's at Old Trafford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Nimrod's Son

Should be a great game. It'll be a big test for Pearce. Pity about Ronaldo's absence. That's a big blow for Utd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Keano_sli

Don't worry guys Park or Giggs will play, more than adequate :D replacements.
    Personally I have no fear for this game, united have started the season very well and the result against Newcaslte shows that we have regained the ability to win dirty by whcih I mean come out of ****ty games with the pioints.
    Rooneys sheer determination won that game for us and I think we will do the same tomorrow but with a little more class, 2-0 to United no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

United haven't been really tested this season, and were lucky to win in matches like the Everton game. City should give them a test but I fancy them to win 1-0.

That said, I'd love to see City win 2-0, both goals for Andy (or is that Andrew now!?) Cole just to stick it to Fergie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Lookinmg forwsard to this one as I have a couple of mates that are big Citeh Fans. There's usually a good bit of crack after this one . It's the Live game on RTE 2 tommorrow, I would have thought Sky would have covered it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

City are above us in the table!
    What better way to set it back to normal than by thumping them.
    It's going to be a tough one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭d22ontour

Lemlin wrote:
    United haven't been really tested this season, and were lucky to win in matches like the Everton game.

I thought united just shaded the 1st half against everton and in the 2nd half everton had nothing to offer tbh.

Lucky. :rolleyes:

United to win 1:0 in a tough game against city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭jubbly

Its certainly going to be a tough one for united .. if they win it will be a real boost for them. I think city can battle for a draw.

Go Ruud! Not sure if he was offside, the rte replay wasn't the greatest. Good instincts to stick his leg out when the free kick was taken, and he was alert after James' save. A lot of the players seemed out of sorts in the first half, hopefully that will lift them. Must say, we're pretty fortunate to be 1-0 up at half time.

Booyeah, undeserved lead imo.
    Quality quality quality play by Van Nist, like serious quality.
    Amazing flick to get the shot into the goal, amazing save by James, such a composed finish.

We need width.
    Take off Park and bring on Richardson/Giggs, perferably the latter.
    Take off Scholes for Richardson I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

wasn't offside but i couldn't be sure, rte are the worst for replays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

How flipping predictable was that? Great performance from City, the Utd midfield may as well not have been there.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭jubbly

Could do with a better camera angle there but I think RVN was played onside. Stupid free kick to give away though, Im sure S.Peirce is having a fit in the changing room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Cutie18Ireland

Sinclair definately played him onside. United need to play a lot better in the second half. Scholes and Rooney no where near their best!

****ing hell :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

Sickened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

C'mon city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Go on the Joey Barton. Have him in my fantasy team. Now for Cole to score the winner....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Deserved goal tbh.

Once again i must ask...Where are all the people who compare Rooney to Pele?? Another shocking display under his belt. Both performance and discipline were not present.

(I'm never going to let it go :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

damn good save from VDS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭Brock

great ****ing save united didnt deserve the 3 points at all poor performance again

Thats a titanic save from VDS

I'm horridly disappointed.
    What happened to not resting players for Europe.
    We've done it again, and again its cost us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Great game, I thought Old King Cole had done it for a second! City will be a tough nut to crack this season.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

I am bitterly disappointed , but Stuart Pearce deserves his Manager of the Month award.

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Devious

DubGuy wrote:
    Another shocking display under his belt. Both performance and discipline were not present.

(I'm never going to let it go :D)

Huh? Were you even watching the match? Rooney was United's best player - he was involved in nearly every attacking play!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭ricey

All i can say is $hit no more 100% record but City did work hard enough
    to get the draw.

RICEY- EDIT YOUR SIG. Your PM inbox is full

I think United's best player would have to be Slyvestre, and thats not a compliment to him, more a showing by the rest of the team.
    Not a single United player had a good game today.
    Park/Scholes/Rooney/Ferdinand were the worst culprits.

Rooney did and created absolutely nothing, except one pitch long run.

United have been missing Ronaldo so far this season tbh, and once he is back playing I will be very happy.
    Without him, we are worse than ARsenal at playing it through the center, and they do it better.
    We need some width, and we didn't have it today.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Problem for United = no midfield. Smith, Fletcher and Scholes were diabolically bad. It has been said before and I'll say it again. If United are to win anything they are going to need players in there like Gattuso, Maniche, Essien and others. These three players don't cut it. Scholes isn't what he was before.

I don't blame players like Rooney or van Nistelrooy. Anyone would struggle with that kind of support behind you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

the rte replay wasn't the greatest
    rte are the worst for replays.

um, RTÉ had nothing to do with the replays for todays game. they take a feed

do you really think RTÉ send over an OB truck for each game they take. they would have gotten the pictures from the same place every other country in the world gets them from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭d22ontour

City played well today and well deserved their point and almost snatched all 3.United didn't play very well today and can't have any complaints about the result.Great save from james from RvNs initial shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,657 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Problem for United = no midfield. Smith, Fletcher and Scholes were diabolically bad. It has been said before and I'll say it again. If United are to win anything they are going to need players in there like Gattuso, Maniche, Essien and others. These three players don't cut it. Scholes isn't what he was before.

I don't blame players like Rooney or van Nistelrooy. Anyone would struggle with that kind of support behind you.
    totally agree
    Scholes is not as good as he was

we need Ballack or someone

Heinze had a very bad game
    he just lounges in to tackles instead of just staying on his feet

And i blame Sir Alex not for so much of todays game [well a bit] but he should have bought a midfielder in summer ffs

i blame Alex because he should have brought off Park earlier

Park was just muscled off the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,386 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

FFS fergie starts playing around with the team, resting players and they loose 2 points on the march to Chelsea.

can he not just put out his best team to get the points.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,657 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

BingoBongo wrote:
    FFS fergie starts playing around with the team, resting players and they loose 2 points on the march to Chelsea.

can he not just put out his best team to get the points.:(
    dam right
    this draw really pisses me off

i also would like to say i just dont like the formation

theres just no width

Disappointed with the performance, but can't feel too aggrieved with the result....City deserved something. I know I'm stating the obvious, but the midfield is so suspect at the moment. Smith didn't do anything particularly wrong I thought, but he's not the box-to-box player that Keane was at that age. I hope Fergie's reasons for not getting a player during the summer was because he has something up his sleeve for january.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

I hope Fergie's reasons for not getting a player during the summer was because he has something up his sleeve for january.

January could be too late for this season. I,m another on that thinks we should start every game with our strongest available team. If we get a decent lead then you can make substitutuions to rest players. The PL is more important than the CL to me so if players must be rested they should do it in Europe. I know that's not goint to happen as Europe is more financiallly lucrative for the club.

I know its bad that we are dropping points, but its not like we can have a perfect season lads, I think you guys are going over the top.

We've had two good results against Everton and Newcastle, and a simple win over Villa tbh.
    Then we had a draw in a derby match.

The derby match in which literally anything can happen, and anything nearly did happen with Cole's shot at the end.
    Its not a terrible results, and its better than Arsenals tbh.
    After Liverpool, we have 2 easy games, then Spurs Borough Chelsea.
    Thats a tough three games obviously, and I'd take 7 points without a doubt. Perhaps 5.

Anyway, so if we get to 22-24 points out of 27 I'd be very satisfied.

But after that, we have what I expect to be our best run of the season:
    Charlton
    West Ham
    Portsmouth
    Everton
    Wigan
    Villa
    West Brom
    Brum

I expect 8 out of 8 there, maybe 22, and then we'll see how the table looks.

So my hope for Christmas is 44, and I don't think anything from yesterdays game changed that.
    We were missing our most influencal player in any game, Ronaldo.
    He can still have a bad game and it doesnt matter, because he is double marked, so he creates space for everyone else.

Anyway, 44 :)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

PHB wrote:
    Anyway, 44 :)
    We'll be safe from relegation then so... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    We'll be safe from relegation then so... ;)
    Good to see that ye have set your sights at something achievable for a change then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TheMonster

Not overly bothered by the result - Derby games are always unpredictable. Bit concerned about some players perfromances - Scholes,Park and Giggs when he came on. Rooney tried but had one of those days. Fletcher I though did well - overs an awful lot of ground. Smith was better than I thought he would be but is still no Keane. Van der Saar was excellen in what he had to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

The only player fergie rested was keane. Relax, we didnt loose the match. Chelsea have only had one tough game this season and that was against Arsenal, and maybe Spurs. Apart from that they have played Wba,Sunderland and Wigan. The league is ours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

RasTa wrote:
    The only player fergie rested was keane. Relax, we didnt loose the match. Chelsea have only had one tough game this season and that was against Arsenal, and maybe Spurs. Apart from that they have played Wba,Sunderland and Wigan. The league is ours
    Thas's more like it, back to normal Man U fans.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

Chelsea have been v average so far this season but have still won 5/5. Terry gets injured for two weeks and doesnt miss one league match. Is it me or are they a shower of jammy kants? :D

What peshed me off about the city game was even when utd went one up, city still kept 11 behind the ball sticking with their match plan of being in the game coming into the last ten and then having a go for the point.

Hate the way teams still come to old trafford and as mourihno would say - park the bus in front of the goals, even when behind! (note this is just a rant in frustration at the fact that we are no longer any good at breaking down the 2 banks of four in front of us)