Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tongue piercing V labret

• 12-09-2005 7:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10

Hey im thinkin about geting either my tongue or under my lower lip pierced- I dont want both- so I was wonderin what ye recommend? Does the labret piercing heal well if you take it out? Or do you get a big scar? And if I was to get my tongue pierced would I still have trouble talking on Monday if I got it done on Thursday? Thanx guys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭eyedrenalin

labret is cool, had it for a while, but ****s up your gums behind it if you don't put in a rubber stud if as soon as it's healed. Tongue is cool but very very very sore!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,086 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Tongue piercings would be easier to "hide" in work without needing a clear retainer. Labret piercings can cause recessed gums and chip the enamal(sp?) on your front teeth. It's up to you which one you get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 DaisyDuke

Tongue or lip involves a week of swelling for just about everyone, and not a huge amount of talking. Or eating solids. (Ice cream is your friend)
    In terms of healing and general pain-in-the-arse factor, I found my lip to be easier, even though the piercing itself is more traumatic to your body.

Tongue is easier to hide, but you can't use an acrylic retainer in it for at least a couple of weeks, and even then, not for extended periods of time, as you'll piss off your new piercing.
    Labret or lip is a little more tricky to hide in the beginning. If your piercer does a good job with the placement, and uses the correct size bar (after the initial big one) then you shouldn't have a problem with gum/tooth erosion.

With regard the getting it done on Monday and talking ok on Thursday....the answer is no.
    Yes, there are always exceptions, but usually on days 3-4, the swelling is at its max. On top of that, the roof/floor of your mouth may also be annoyed at you, as there will be an oversized piece of metal in your gob. This will be changed out after about 10 days, but it will not be the most comfortable thing ever. Liveable, but not comfortable.

Basically, if you plan on going somewhere, getting a piercing on a Monday, and meeting your parents with a hidden piercing on Thursday, get a navel.
    Nothing oral will work that way, I'm afraid.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Isadora

Ice cream is not a good idea unless dairy free. All dairy products have to be avoided after a tongue/lip piercing. For relief with the swelling suck ice cubes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

GEtting me tongue done so there's one good thing about being dairy intolerent!
    Some people say tongue doesn't hurt at all and others say it hurts like hell, but which is the general idea?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

i had my labret done it ****ed up my 2 lower front teeth...they have a gap in them now and my gums are worn away a bit aswell...not a problem from a dental health POV but it looks a bit funny...tongue isn't that sore but it does swell a lot and we all know how annoying it is to have something up in your mouth :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭porn_star

Le Rack wrote:
    GEtting me tongue done so there's one good thing about being dairy intolerent!
    Some people say tongue doesn't hurt at all and others say it hurts like hell, but which is the general idea?
    I didn't think it hurt that much..
    actually it was one of the most painless piercings i;ve gotten and i have a lot! ;)
    dont' worry about it

jcoote wrote:
    we all know how annoying it is to have something up in your mouth :rolleyes:

lmfao!!
    that actually did make me laugh! :o

porn_star wrote:
    I didn't think it hurt that much..
    actually it was one of the most painless piercings i;ve gotten and i have a lot! ;)
    dont' worry about it
    I'm not worried about it, I have a high pain threshold, but just to have an idea. I'm def getting it done, and it'll be one of the many "self mutilations" I have done in the future.
    Getting my first tat at New Years, and you probably won't be able to stop me then, althoguh I'm not gonna go mad on tats, they just look rotten when they're over done, I'm thinking of getting two or three, maybe four...

Speaking of which, ya know the bit of skin there between your index finger and your thumb where you can get a web piercing? Is it okay to get a tat there cuz apparently it can be really dangerous to even cut yourself there? Theres some sort of important blood vessel in the area?

I've seen people with tattoos there...
    every body talks about you're hand web being dangerous to get pierced and what not, cos of lock jaw..blah blah blah..
    I've had mine pierced for nearly 2 years..And every piercer I talked to, said they'd last about 4 months, if at all.lol
    But I've never had any problems with my piercings there...as far as tattoos go..go to a professional and talk to them..I don't see the problem..I know people with tattoos there and they've had no problems...have a quick search on the internet too.
    bmezine.com is always good for info.

as for you're tongue piercing, it wouldn't hurt too much, especially if you have a high pain threshold,you just feel pressure really, nothing else..not so much pain.That's how it was for me anyway, and I have an extremly high pain tolerance!lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭Blub2k4

Le Rack wrote:
    I'm not worried about it, I have a high pain threshold, but just to have an idea. I'm def getting it done, and it'll be one of the many "self mutilations" I have done in the future.
    Getting my first tat at New Years, and you probably won't be able to stop me then, althoguh I'm not gonna go mad on tats, they just look rotten when they're over done, I'm thinking of getting two or three, maybe four...

Speaking of which, ya know the bit of skin there between your index finger and your thumb where you can get a web piercing? Is it okay to get a tat there cuz apparently it can be really dangerous to even cut yourself there? Theres some sort of important blood vessel in the area?

A lot of artists wont do hands unless the person is in the industry, it is a bit of a taboo even among them still.

Think LONG and hard about a hand tattoo.

Thank you!

Blub2k4 wrote:
    Think LONG and hard about a hand tattoo.

It's not at all big, probably about one and a half centimeters by the same, its basically a black filled circle, with four tear drop shaped petals coming out of it and then sorta between each petal another smaller black circle. Hard to explain but really cute.

And I've wanted it for ages so no worries there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭Teddi

hey guys..i was wondering why you cant eat dairy products?..not being able to drink tea really sucks at the mo...got my labret done two days ago..

also...i can talk fine with it in at the mo..normal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭Blub2k4

Le Rack wrote:
    It's not at all big, probably about one and a half centimeters by the same, its basically a black filled circle, with four tear drop shaped petals coming out of it and then sorta between each petal another smaller black circle. Hard to explain but really cute.

Just be careful, employers dont look favorably on tattoos and hand tattoos are hard to cover in any way.

If you are already pretty much covered in ink they wont have an issue but if not then I'd be curious if you get an artist to do this for you anyway tbh.

Good luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Isadora

Dairy products are full of bacteria so not recommended while oral piercings are healing.
    A small amount of milk in tea(not too hot) is OK but really would be better if you stuck with soya milk.
    Talking is not usually a problem with labret piercings, it's the tongue piercing leave you speechless.

• Registered Users Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Léan

Do tongue piercings obviously effect your speech or can you get away with it?

I'm seriously thinking of getting one done on Saturday but this is stopping me.
    I have to be able to hide it, and if i'm not going to be able to talk, well, that's the end of that...

you'll be able to talk alright, it's just you might have a bit of a lisp or so for the first few days or talk like somethings in you're mouth!!
    I know people who got it done and were able to talk fine and hide it from the necessary people...
    however when I got mine done, it was obvious my speech was different, which resulted in my parents finding out about 2 hours after I got it done...didn't matter though, 'cos I'da told them anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Léan

Got it done on Saturday.
    Could talk almost perfectly just some "s" words were a bit dodgey. No ones noticed it so far, i'm dead happy with it. My tenth piercing. w00t. :D

well done ;)

Le Rack wrote:

Hey ho! I found this bmegl072397.jpg
    Which is something along the lines of what I want cept mine would be plain black ink rather than UV and it would be my little flower dealy

cool..

id love to get something in uv though, it's kinda fun!!

yeah, I seen a hand done like the guy from the fantastic four, the dude made of rock? Twas cool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Kata

That UV tatoo is pretty cool.. can they be done anywhere?

As for tongue v labret - I have both done at the moment. Am a big fan of labret and the scar is very tiny, you actually cant even see any hole unless you look very very hard. Didnt hurt at all either. Tongue on the other hand was the worst thing I have ever inflicted on myself! Grand total so far is 13 piercings, only one left to get :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 566 ✭✭✭elephamt king

where is everyone??
    this place has been empty all weekend.

Yeah, I noticed that too :(
    stopped by a couple of times...and nothing :(
    looks like everyone's got up and abandoned our ship :eek: :mad:

was in dub yesterday went to Celestial Ring to enquire about me hand tatt and yer man pretty much said I won't get it done, artists just won't do it and yada yada, the guy was lovely though, really helpful and kinda cute! Long brown hair with the bridge of his nose pierced, come tatts on arms, including one that still had the bandage on...

aww.you disappointed..
    I didn't think many people would be willing to do it though!

yep :(:(:(:(
    not fair!
    I'm getting other tatts though and the dude said that artist are more willing to do it if the person has a lot of tatts already so maybe in the future...

yssum.
    there shouldn't be any problem in waiting, cos if you do get it, you'll have it forever