Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The ballad of shattered illusions

• 19-09-2005 8:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭

Having been away for the weekend
    You might call it a mini retreat
    I returned to my PC this morning
    And settled into my seat

I thought to myself while I sipped
    From my freshly brewed hot cup of tea
    “I know what I’ll do for my tea break,
    Take a look at boards dot ie”

As the pages before me unfolded
    And with each new word that I read
    My mouth fell open in horror
    As I followed the AGM thread

With a plaintive call for a hearing
    It started without much ado
    I’d even found in my own way
    That I’d had a piece to say too

Well the debate it started out slowly
    As polite as polite can be
    The posters involved were myself
    Sparks, Foresight and rrpc

When into the fray rode a new voice
    A chap who calls himself Tireur
    A name without much to tell us
    It’s ‘Shooter’ in French I declare

Well Sparks is a man of great knowledge
    And anxious to share it around
    If one word will answer a question
    More will make a far better sound

But Tireur was not to be outdone
    And with both barrels he let fly
    And around and back they did battle
    Neither one was being a bit shy

For page after page the combatants
    Each one did the other berate
    Until the man we call Civdef
    Had to step in and moderate

But suddenly, out of the blue
    On boards you could hear a pin drop
    Without much ado, our hero flew
    And the posting came to a stop

Our defender of the downtrodden
    The only mouthpiece of the meek
    But on this subject so precious
    He could not find the words to speak

The subject that had them so silent
    It’s gripped the whole shooting nation
    This new bunch in town that’s causing a frown
    Olympic Coaches Association

Well the silence on boards was amazing
    All around were in grave trepidation
    Save an innocent newbie who met with
    A McCarthyite interrogation

Well thinking about it all later
    It came to me all in a flash
    There’s nothing wrong with this concept
    It’s quite good if just a bit rash

You might well ask what good would it do
    To try to find something in common
    Between an air shooting guru
    And a swimming coach from Roscommon

But hold for a bit, ‘cos I’m no twit
    If you think so you’re mistaken
    If you bear with me a minute
    You’ll see my minds not forsaken

Here’s a thought for you to hold on to
    We’d have a shooting medal soon
    If all of our shooters were trained
    By that wondrous Erik de Bruin

Oh think of the glory to come
    The medals galore on the shelf
    If all our air rifle shooters
    Were trained by Sonia herself!

We don’t have to stop there you know
    We’d make our competitors mean
    As we know, he’s raring to go
    We could have them coached by Roy Keane

For that finishing touch, at the end
    To prepare our lads for the fray
    The only man who’s right for the job
    Is Jose Mourinho I’d say

Oh I’m drunk with the thoughts of it all
    The cheers, the glory and praises
    But then I come down with a bump
    I must be losin’ it….. Jaysus!

The words that now ring in my ears
    “What is this Association?”
    And is this the sum of all fears?
    Could this be Sparks’ creation?

The board has gone quiet these days
    Just notices, queries and rantings
    And pathetic cheerleading posts
    From some diehard sycophantics

That Sparks was above all reproach
    Was one of my treasured delusions
    So with heavy heart I take my leave
    Of this graveyard of shattered illusions

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Thanks Clash, but I've just spent Friday afternoon in a crapstorm in work; Friday evening though Sunday morning with my girl, with only five minutes stolen to read the web, and that under protest from myself because I've not had a weekend off in quite some time; and sunday afternoon, evening and night (until 0110 in fact, so I'm a bit punchy this morning after 3-4 hours sleep) doing a little coaching and helping out in Wilkinstown and sorting out my own training plans with my coach. So I've been busy, not quiet, and there will be posts today! :)

But thanks very much for the compliment, following recent events they were heart-warming :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Two comments -

Clash is either way too talented at composing doggerel, or has too much time on his/her hands :)

The boards has been a lot busier than usual lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭Clash

civdef wrote:
    Two comments -

Clash is either way too talented at composing doggerel, or has too much time on his/her hands :)
    I'll take the first one please :D
    The boards has been a lot busier than usual lately.
    My poetic license is right up to date, you can check it if you like!

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Hopefully your illusions are now superglue'd back together Clash? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

ROTFLOL :D

Very funny Clash, Is there a post for board poet laureate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭Clash

Just thought I'd promote this to page 1 again, as it seems some of the issues are raising their heads again :D