Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New WIT Website

• 19-09-2005 1:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭

Hmm,
    Not sure if the boards staff will hav an issue with this, so feel free to delete away lads.

Basically ive been workin on a WIT-students website for the past few weeks, one im planning to launch in the next month.

Basically just gonna start it off nice and simple, and hopefully the userbase will help evolve it in whatever way it seems fit (be it more ents orientated / discussion / slutty image / wotever really).

Just wanna get initial impressions, of what people would be interested in logging on too.

Im doin multimedia in the college myself, and ive been making websites (including some relativingly famous local ventures and professional contracts) for about 7 years now. Was very surprised (and piss off) last year, when i saw the complete lack of community, and could opnly blame a ****e SU and an entire lack of interesting media,for it.

Ive lived in Waterford all my live, and worked in the arts side of things for most of it. I kno how much of a great comradery with Waterford people, and i hate to see it lost in such a vibrant community.

So yea, back on track....wot wud you want on this site?

Cheers
    -Cosmo
    www.witboard.com

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

A place where we can discuss and debate anything WIT releated :) Like some suggestions, comments, etc.

WIT/Boards Event thingys etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Cosmonaut

Just a follow up on this, got a beta shot ready.

It shows the basic outline at the moment anyway.
    Itll hava lot more graphics & flash once its finito.

www.witboard.com/shot1.jpg

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Good work! You gonna use any PHP or any other language besides pure HTML?

I presume your not gonna have a "Club And Society" open day? :P

hehe. cheers :P

TBH - if i knew enough php, i would. But i dont. Im hoping to learn it this yea (we dont cover it in our course untill nxt year - which is a bit crap) cos it make updating so much easier. Especially in terms of articles etc...

Naturally the board itself will be php. But thankfully phpbb means i need only limited knowledge of the stuff to get it up and running.

So yea pure HTML, flash and sum nuggets of Javascript.

What kinda stuff would you want in PHP? I know a bit myself, and am hoping to develop it more (my knowledge)!

eh, simple text inputs that would display a message (like the ones on the main page) with the appropriate image of the person uploading it.

A main text feild, subject feild. ability to do bold etc...

And a similar setup for an articles page.
    Just so people could upload their own stuff without having to go through a manual copy and paste routine.

its hardly a must have.
    but it would be handy.

i think ill start it up initially, as it is.
    and then once the ball is rolling, and ive a better idea of what direction the site is taking place (fingers crossed) then all that stuff could be concentrated on.

If your interested in helping, gimme a PM. the more the merrier.
    Especially if youve got sum code skills.

Grand job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

i was thinking about somehting like that for my 3rd year multimedia project last year. Basically we were gonna create an online magazine for the grapevine. To give them an online pressence instead of crappy paper only. It would have reduced costs, made em more money from advertising, got more people interested from outside WIT since it would have been on the internet and created a commuinity atmosphere around a forum or message board. But we canned it.....A lot of people have tried to do a similar thing to you Cosmo, mostly for college projects, why not ask your head lecturer for advise.

To keep the content on the site up to date you should be using a CMS (Content Management System) there are 100's of free ones on the net to download and install. They are mainly open source and run on php4 and mysql (same req. as phpbb). Just Google dude. Best of luck with the site....

You should try to get as many as the socs. involved as possible, they would update the content for you no bother if you provide them with the necssary technology to do it themselfs. Contact the GAA heads and football socs, and then take it from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭bp_me

screen shot looks good....and oddly familiar....wonder where I've seen that before *cough*

Seriously though, glad to see you back at it again. *thumbs up*

Yea i was looking through a few CMS's, but the problem with them is that they hinder a lot of graphical tweaking. your suddenly pressed into these fixed tables, which u dont dare to alter (if u even can) incase it causes text-pushing or anything that wud look nasty.

Thanks for the advice, i agree with the clubs and socs too.

Ill keep ye posted. Gotta start on it again, ive spent the past 2 days trying to fix my pc that went utterly gaybar on me. I saved the site, but a large chunk of porn is missing :(

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Legend_Killer

Cosmonaut wrote:
    hehe. cheers :P

TBH - if i knew enough php, i would. But i dont. Im hoping to learn it this yea (we dont cover it in our course untill nxt year - which is a bit crap) cos it make updating so much easier. Especially in terms of articles etc...

Naturally the board itself will be php. But thankfully phpbb means i need only limited knowledge of the stuff to get it up and running.

So yea pure HTML, flash and sum nuggets of Javascript.

they wont be teachign you any server side scripting in the multimedia course...... gonna have to go off and do it all alone!!! Its poor, i think they should teach atleast the theory of it from day 1!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

they wont be teachign you any server side scripting in the multimedia course...... gonna have to go off and do it all alone!!! Its poor, i think they should teach atleast the theory of it from day 1!

aii, tis poor! The whole multimedia course is a joke*

*the opinions stated here are entirely my own and in no way reflect any religious beliefs i have or my prejedice against the safe cross code.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

As the mod i wholeheartedly endorse the hate of the multimedia course, but it is good for one thing being an hilarious joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭bp_me

Any update on this??