Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Next Ireland Manager

• 19-09-2005 2:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭

Who do you think it'll be and why?

Do you think Kerr has 2 more games left at the helm?

Next Ireland Manager? 46 votes

Martin O'Neill
    0% 0 votes
    Roy Keane
    67% 31 votes
    Don Givens
    10% 5 votes
    Dave O'Leary
    4% 2 votes
    Other??
    17% 8 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Give him another campaign after this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

I would prob give him one more campaign and then maybe get O'Neill in if his wife is better....wouldnt sack Kerr thou....would move him into a Director of footie type of role over seeing the development of the youth teams......also not sure why Don Givens is listed there....dont rate him at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Martin O'Neill if he'd take it. Wouldn't let Givens take over any team other than the U21s (whom he's not doing a great job with anyway).

O'Leary hasn't proven himself yet and needs another few years.

And FAI acting wrongly or not, Keane walked out on his country at a world cup and shouldn't manage them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Don Givens :D

That ****ing pimp should have been sacked over his comments over the Cork City players.

Still hes out u-21 manager and knowing the FAI I wouldnt rule him out :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Lemlin wrote:
    FAI acting wrongly or not, Keane walked out on his country at a world cup and shouldn't manage them.

spot on Lemlin. I think the overwhelming majority of ireland fans would want martin oneill, The question is would he take it? Id be very happy with oleary, I think he could do good things but I agree Kerr should be given another campaign after this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭p.pete

Liam Brady :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Just threw Givens in there to see what the response would be, and that Kerr came from that job.

Surprised that people think Kerr should be given another campaign.... His decisions in the Israel games and at the end against France were brutal I thought. I mean throwing on Doherty and Harte against France - that was playing into their hands.... Elliot should definitely have gotten a run in that game, Boumsong is brutal against someone small + quick.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

O'Neil or O'Leary.
    If we don't qualify Kerr should be sacked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

O'Neill isn't a coach though. The only time he'd be on the training pitch is to ref a training match on Friday afternoon's. Don't know whether he'd be suited to international football and there isn't a hope of the FAI getting him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

I agree that some of kerrs decisions have been woeful but I think the worst is his persistence in playing Gary Doherty. People (even the likes of giles and dunphy) seem to look on him as an average player but I think he's horrendous and well below the standard required at international level. When I saw him come on against France my head just dropped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Those are rather boring obvious choices, what about Sven?! :D

You can have him...please!

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

My choice would be O'Neill but the FAI probably couldn't afford his salary or O'Leary's for that matter. I'm not a big fan of Kerr but you have to feel kinda sorry for the guy, he's got nothing to work with, no players coming through the ranks at club level to challenge for places in the Irish side. Look at Liam Miller, Sean Thornton etc. Even though I can't stand David Connolly, I'd like to see him given a chance to prove himself against the Cypriots. Don't know anything about Kevin Doyle at reading I must say but if he's good enough as some people seem to think then I'd throw him into the squad too. Kerr has to take a chance or two, you don't win friends with salad as they say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭moshpit77

Sam Allardyce anybody?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Allardyce would be ideal for the job. I doubt he'd take it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Martin O'Neill is often touted as to take over Man Utd.
    I honastly doubt a manager with the respect he has would take over Ireland.

Allardyce would be nice, I'd like a foreign manager, some weirdo Spanard or something who will teach them nice possesion effective football that I think we could do well with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Mourinho? :o

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Lemlin wrote:
    Keane walked out on his country.
    Incorrect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭Serbian

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Incorrect.

So he was sent home. The damage had been done at that point. If he didn't want to go, he would have returned when he was invited back into the squad. He may have had some very valid points about the training camp and the organisation of the FAI but he should have made his point without calling the manager an English c**t or whatever the exact wording was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

O'Leary my a**e, hasn't won a sausage as a manager and having to listen to him would surely drive us all over the edge. He's a media whore as well, loves himself and lets face it talks waaaay to much sh*te :)

P.S. You may be able to tell that I don't like him :) Leave Brian in charge for another campaign

Incorrect.

Keane has no experience anyway. Joe Kinnear would have been ideal a few years ago ie. a manager who can get the most from limited players. I'm not sure what he's up to now though.

moshpit77 wrote:
    Sam Allardyce anybody?

Big Sam eh? No way he'd take the job, his sights are definitely on the England one. Wouldn't want him for exactly that reason! Sorry but I'd rather not see another English Manager for the Irish Team.

Here's another name for the pot - David Moyes?

I'm a 'Pool fan, but have been really impressed with him over the past couple of years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

joker77 wrote:
    Big Sam eh? No way he'd take the job, his sights are definitely on the England one. Wouldn't want him for exactly that reason! Sorry but I'd rather not see another English Manager for the Irish Team.

Here's another name for the pot - David Moyes?

I'm a 'Pool fan, but have been really impressed with him over the past couple of years.

Allardyce???? u mental!! sure wasnt it Big Sam who persuaded Kevin Nolan not to change over to Ireland and said it a few times he should stick with the English national team even thought he wasnt getting near any of the squads!! great man to put as manager of the team!!! I wouldnt support them if he got the job

Maybe Moyes if he starts to get Everton back on track!!

Oh yeah didnt O'Neill say a few years ago he would like the chance to manage the Rep Of Ireland team and everyone in North where going mental because he didnt want to manage the North!!!

Big Nelly wrote:
    Allardyce???? u mental!! sure wasnt it Big Sam who persuaded Kevin Nolan not to change over to Ireland and said it a few times he should stick with the English national team even thought he wasnt getting near any of the squads!! great man to put as manager of the team!!! I wouldnt support them if he got the job

Maybe Moyes if he starts to get Everton back on track!!

Oh yeah didnt O'Neill say a few years ago he would like the chance to manage the Rep Of Ireland team and everyone in North where going mental because he didnt want to manage the North!!!

Thank you for refreshing my memory... knew there was something in the back of my mind about Allardyce. There's nothing wrong with him wanting Nolan to represent England, but after doing something like that he couldn't ever be even suggested for the Irish job.

Yeah think O'Neill made noises alright about wanting to manage Ireland - wasn't it after McCarthy left, he said he wanted to do it but it wasn't the right time. As far as I know his wife is getting better, hopefully she makes a full recovery, and something like International management would be a perfect return for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭The Rooster

If we dont make it to Germany, O'Neill should be sounded out. If he's interested, it'll be a one-time only chance, so I'd sack Kerr and bring him in - keep Hughton to do the "work".

If O'Neill isnt interested, then keep Kerr for another 2 years.

Agree entirely with BolBill re O'Leary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭chillywilly

johnny giles;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Lemlin wrote:
    Joe Kinnear would have been ideal a few years ago ie. a manager who can get the most from limited players. I'm not sure what he's up to now though.

He had decent players at Forest :( ... He's a disaster

johnny giles;)

Didn't he already have a go?

He had decent players at Forest ... He's a disaster

Successive managers had problems at Forest, not just Kinnear. He brought the Crazy Gang to sixth in the Premiership. They had limited players but he got the most out of them, maybe he could do the same with Ireland.

The ireland job would be exactly what O'Neil would be loomking for. Part time, a few days a month and the odd training camp, gives him time to be with his wife, he could continue to like in Glasgow and travle to english and scottish matches to watch players, feck it it's only a 40 minute flight to watch Eircom League games (not that any Eircom
    League players are worthy).

International management isn't about coaching, the players get that at thier clubs.
    It's about taticts and picking the right squad and first team, O'Neil would be almost perfect.

Brian Kerr should never be allowed to manage a senior football team out side of the Eircom Leagur again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,178 ✭✭✭beer enigma

Most bookies have O'Neill at 4-1 to take the England Job...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

Kinnear - was also a disaster at luton.

what about George Burley? did work wonders at Ipswich/Derby County and now Hearts. I know that he may not have been as sucessful as O'Neill but he has been successful with 'limited' squads.

Hearts are not a limited squad they signed racks of eastren european players this summer but I get your point. Would he want to manage Ireland though?
    Why not someone like Bryan Robson? he was interested before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭kirn

Kerr is the best man for the job right now.

With every game he's getting better, and is showing that he is beginning to get more adventurous.

the fact is - we have a limited pool of players. thats all.
    a manager can only do so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Despite the fact that I really wanted him to sucseed, I'm not much of Kerr fan after this campaign, I think all the relevant questions were asked of an International manager, and he has critical failings.

It must be bared in mind we havn't beaten anyone worth mentioning...our biggest scalp in 2 campaigns is Albania, who we failed to beat away, and we beat at home with a completely jammy last minute own goal as far as I remember, we struggled against Georgia home and away, failed to beat Russia, Switzerland (twice so far), Israel (twice), we've dropped about 15 places in the world rankings, and the highlight of his managment of Ireland has been an away draw.

Anything less than qualification for this WC, and I think you could actually class his spell as manager as a disaster.

I would wager money that i don't even have that none of the above mentioned will not be the next Irish manager. First off we couldn't afford any of them (except givns, but even the FAI know not to appoint him, he's been poor at U-21 level), and even if we could afford any of them, I doubt any of them would be interested.

I would imagine we would get someone foregin like philip troussier charecter, or we get a coach, possibly Chris Hughton, but to be honest, I think it would be some suprise appointment from english football...someone like bryan robson, or terry "del boy" venables :confused: either way, regardless of qualification or not...I think this should be Kerrs last campaign.

the fact is - we have a limited pool of players. thats all.
    a manager can only do so much.

I'd agree with you were it not for the fact that Kerr threw away valuable leads in both games against israel. If we'd won those games, losing against France wouldn't have mattered, we'd have four more points and still be in pole position to qualify.

Ireland do have a limited pool of players but we should be able to beat Switzerland at home. If we can't, Kerr should definitely go. We're talking about a team who went to Euro 2004 and were little more than whipping boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Lemlin wrote:
    We're talking about a team who went to Euro 2004 and were little more than whipping boys.
    Only England whipped them and even then, the Swiss were better than England overrall. They were all over them for the opening 60 minutes. I still think we have a better team than them though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Lemlin wrote:
    Ireland do have a limited pool of players but we should be able to beat Switzerland at home. If we can't, Kerr should definitely go. We're talking about a team who went to Euro 2004 and were little more than whipping boys.
    Maybe, but remember that Greece didnt even qualify for WC2002.
    It's amazing how fast a good team spirit and decent tactics can turn a team around.
    The Swiss were only the "whipping boys" for an on-form England and France..... and at least the Swiss qualified for that tournament!!!

That's my point. If Ireland can't qualify ahead of a poor Swiss team, they don't deserve to qualify. What's the point of qualifying if we're just going to go and get hammered for three games and embarass ourselves.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I am Kerrs biggest hater and he has to go. he has no clue about what tactics to play, especially when we go a goal up or a goal behind. He has cost us this qualifying campaign with terrible decisions and if we qualify it wont be because of Kerr it will be in spite of Kerr.

the job would be perfect for O'Neill for the reasons already mentioned but im not sure if we could afford him. Bryan Robson is definitely not the man for the job. If we cant get a decent irsh man then I would like see a foreign coach come in to make is play better football. A Gus Hiddink type character would be perfect although I know he is unavailable at the moment. My first choice would still be O' Neill if the FAI are willing to put their hands in their pockets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

tbh if we dont qualify uit will be because of injurys and suspension at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

joker77 wrote:

But english players are ok? The best man for the job is the best man for the job, regardless of where he's from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭por

Seaneh wrote:
    Why not someone like Bryan Robson? he was interested before.

Robson was a disaster at Boro with all the money he was given he still got relegated a few times. And what he has done keeping West brom up is onlt temporary. If he can't do it with money he can't do it without.
    I recall that it was between he and Kerr for the job a few yaers ago, if the FAI appointed him my Ireland shirt would have been thrown on the fire and I'd be gardening during every Ireland match from then on, thank God it did not happen.

At this stage I'd keep Kerr in place for one more campaign to see if he can learn from his mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

If we don't qualify, I can't see Kerr staying on.

He'll be able to walk away with credibility reasonably in tact.

If he stays he'll be 'dead man walking', press will be out to get him first sign of dropping any points.

I hope he gets us to the World Cup, and then either way if we qualify or not, I hope he walks away after the campaign.

Above all else, he's a nice bloke, he puts 100% into his love for Ireland, and I would hate to see him harrassed and abused if he overstays his welcome.

We're always in Limbo, we've over achieved if anything over the years, we have 4 or 5 decent players (only) yet we do expect to qualify for every single competition, I am just the same :(

The shame about this campaign above any others is that the other teams have been making it as easy for us to qualify automatically as possible, yet we didn't capitalise.

Stekelly wrote:
    But english players are ok? The best man for the job is the best man for the job, regardless of where he's from.

Where did I ever mention about english players being ok??